pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 26/11/2011 13:20:08 1075964 Link 0 |
Have no problem pennypincher they were just after winning a leinster title and kevin ryan told them they only had to turn up at gym but when they got there they had to do a full gym session.So get down off your high horse before you fall off it pennypincher !!!!!!! They should be left alone and by the way is there not suppossed to be a ban on collective training til january ????For good of county and club they deserve a break and these players are not happy as kevin ryan never showed up at session. Clux (Carlow) - Posts: 72 - 26/11/2011 15:09:28 1075999 Link 0 |
Well then they shouldnt go the next time clux. All i was doing was replying to your post that players had a gym session last week. if you had posted all the facts first time we wouldnt be having this conversation. I agree with you bout players not being happy as its not thr first time that he hasnt turned up for training, but the problem lies with co. board for not insisting that he turn up. After all he who paysthe piper should be calling the tune. pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 26/11/2011 15:44:04 1076008 Link 0 |
Few people on here said last week that Mount Leinster Rangers will be playing Moycullen in the All Ireland semi final,well they got bet today by Robert Emmets of London.Going to take a huge effort to beat them but hopefully they can get over the line.Game is weekend of 21/22 January. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1105 - 27/11/2011 16:54:25 1076335 Link 0 |
yeah, i for one wrote them off as i d heard moycullen were a decent team. makes it more of an unknown for rangers. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2624 - 27/11/2011 19:38:32 1076428 Link 0 |
Can't say we weren't warned. Pity I ignored this. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1243 - 27/11/2011 21:53:13 1076510 Link 0 |
Fixtures up on the home page for all the semi finals.Looks like the semi final will be on London soil. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1105 - 28/11/2011 16:36:31 1076765 Link 0 |
thats a tough one. having them over here, even on neutral soil would be something but its going to be a right battle there. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2624 - 29/11/2011 08:32:23 1076984 Link 0 |
I honestly thought we played Moycullen and the winners would then meet Robert Emmets, looks like I took my eye off the ball, either way from what I gather Robert Emmets are at least as good as what's left in it, and further more I think this my even be the final, as in, who ever wins this one will more than likely win it out, a one point win for MLR will be good enough for me. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2187 - 29/11/2011 19:41:50 1077488 Link 0 |
Mlr were informed by leinster council yesterday that the match is in Ireland probably parnell park and that no fixture has been put in stone as of yet.They said fixtures on GAA.ie is the only official site with definate fixtures.Rangers dont mind where it is they have played away so far in the competition and have done ok but would be nice to have venue for supporters to access easily.A trip to London would be costly and with the 4000 euro fine handed down to them for their part in the county final replay brawl things will be tight in the club with training costs such as lights and food to be supplied over the next couple of months.Naomh eoin also recieved the same fine.Handy 8000 for county board TopFan (Carlow) - Posts: 166 - 29/11/2011 21:04:06 1077570 Link 0 |
are u serious? thats a huge amount of money. a bit over the top. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2624 - 29/11/2011 21:16:08 1077585 Link 0 |
Yes was handed down at last thursday's county board meeting.Think it is steep to in these times.Im a rangers man and probably looking at it with rose tinted glasses but was the row that bad ?????.The man that recorded the match got a year from recording games in dr cullen.4000 would go a long way in any club and there is some amount of raising on that kind of money. TopFan (Carlow) - Posts: 166 - 29/11/2011 21:42:42 1077611 Link 0 |
It's fairly simple. Don't pay it. The row was dealt with by the ref on the day, end of story. Neither club should pay it. Wouldn't think there was too many Rangers or NE members on that committee. It would be interesting to have a look at the makeup of it. Both clubs should exert as much pressure as possible to overturn that decision and come to a fair fine that is reasonable to all concerned. 4k is completely over the top. aragorn1 (Carlow) - Posts: 156 - 30/11/2011 12:15:05 1077769 Link 0 |
thats pure ridiculous! i know we were tight enough with things in our club this year but our hurl/sliothar bill was around the 2k mark, so 4k would run a fair bit of most clubs for the year.. were there any players banned? i didnt hear a thing til i read the forum here - have to get around to papers yet! i m galled by that. considering what has gone on in other counties of late and attacks on refs - to me is far more serious. and did brendan get a ban?? for what? thats the best ever! old yellar (None) - Posts: 2624 - 30/11/2011 12:25:41 1077776 Link 0 |
ye must be kidding?? nothing in paper! old yellar (None) - Posts: 2624 - 30/11/2011 14:59:27 1077903 Link 0 |
I think that the fine imposed on both clubs is worth commenting on. I posted soon after the County final about the incidents at the start of the game. I dont think that there was much comment on the incidents by anyone on what happened. carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1556 - 30/11/2011 18:48:57 1078100 Link 0 |
thanks rats for your comment, insightful as ever.. As for the fines thing, well firstly let me say that i agree with the idea that punishment should be handed out to the clubs and perhaps even players involved. I totally agree that we ve no place for these scenes in our games. but i think the amounts are woefully wrong. i think both clubs would be generally sporting in their behaviour both this year and in others. it was out of order but a lot of it was handbags - its not an excuse/condoning it. am just wondering what fines did pal get the time with the match v rhode in leinster club or in eire ogs case when a linesman was adjudged to have been hit? i dont rem them being as severe. the fines are one thing, but if video evidence was used to support the case, how mant players are going to be handed bans? or those the "oh the the ref dealt with it on the day" type of rule come in?? i mean if it its serious enough to extract 8 grand of fines, surely some players are going to be banned?? and if not, will the ref have been adjudged to have handled it ok, not menetioned it in report and have it dealt with in the board offices? it wasnt a good advertisement for our sport and i m all for having these incidents stamped out but i feel this is way over the top on the money side of things.. whilst letting those involved go! old yellar (None) - Posts: 2624 - 30/11/2011 19:36:20 1078137 Link 0 |
Agree with you yellar in a lot of ways.... players have not been handed bans.... perhaps there is a case to answer here for the referee and his report in that it seems that it did not make reference to the situstion and as result it looks like 'others' took up the situation. So perhaps referees need to be told how to deal with such situations... and players need to take the rap too. The referee probably thought that the best thing to do was to 'get on with the game' ... perhaps that is not what he should have done and now referees need to learn from this. carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1556 - 30/11/2011 21:37:12 1078251 Link 0 |
its a load off bull thats what it is. oki (Carlow) - Posts: 38 - 01/12/2011 09:34:58 1078312 Link 0 |
Carlowman- As regards the ref on the day. I think everybody that I spoke to after the match agreed that he did a very good job on the replay. He let the game flow and the players got on with the match after the first minute or two. If what you want is to referee the game like it was refereed the first day then I say that I didn't pay in to watch the referee. I paid into watch a hurling match which I got the second day. The first day I got a referee who ended up ruining the game as a spectacle. In fact I believe that as a result of the poor job done the first day that the Rangers lads decided that they were going to have to deal with the Myshall tactics themselves and that's what happened. aragorn1 (Carlow) - Posts: 156 - 01/12/2011 09:36:35 1078313 Link 0 |