Financial Doping in the GAA

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "So basically the rest of the country are a bunch of illiterate and thick gombeens who aren't worth the time of day let alone significant financial resources as they quite simply couldn't use the money as diligently as the wizards in the DCB

Now, I mightn't be a sophisticated genius like them but I know one thing peppering a vast proportion of national resources into one team over a long period of time will create a monopoly that no one else will have a chance of competing with over the mid to long term and thus a reduction of interest and crowds at games due to the sheer and utter predictability of the competition. I wonder why the geniuses at GAA HQ haven't seen and rectified this issue."
Last time I looked

Several CB's have run themselves into dire debt situations

Spending well above their means, while ignoring games development structures within their county

So yes I would question several county boards current state of affaird.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 09:43:10    1924771

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "So basically the rest of the country are a bunch of illiterate and thick gombeens who aren't worth the time of day let alone significant financial resources as they quite simply couldn't use the money as diligently as the wizards in the DCB

Now, I mightn't be a sophisticated genius like them but I know one thing peppering a vast proportion of national resources into one team over a long period of time will create a monopoly that no one else will have a chance of competing with over the mid to long term and thus a reduction of interest and crowds at games due to the sheer and utter predictability of the competition. I wonder why the geniuses at GAA HQ haven't seen and rectified this issue."
The poor mouthing in this post would give the Healy-Raes a run for their money. The "Us Vs them" sentiment expressed in it flies directly in the face of everything the GAA stands for, and tries to be - an inclusive all Ireland sporting organisation.

To think that one county board is somehow subverting the intentions of the entire GAA is solidly in tinfoil hat territory.

But not to worry, if you don't feel like improving your own lot, you can always post on an internet forum, and begrudge the success of others who are trying (and succeeding).

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 11/10/2016 10:07:18    1924780

The US v Them sentiment has been created by the GAA themselves. Not helped by some of the downright arrogance in some of the posts made by certain individuals on here.

Obviously some can't see the wood from the trees and instead are using the so called White Elephant in Cork GAA as a means of deflection.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 11/10/2016 10:49:18    1924808

Replying To buttybrennan:  "The US v Them sentiment has been created by the GAA themselves. Not helped by some of the downright arrogance in some of the posts made by certain individuals on here.

Obviously some can't see the wood from the trees and instead are using the so called White Elephant in Cork GAA as a means of deflection."
Enjoy your 40 odd million of ludicrously wasted money down there

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 11:06:33    1924816

It's not deflection

It's using an example to bring perspective into this argument

40 odd million of GAA and tax payer money is going on a stadium that will be lucky to be full 2 times a year for GAA purposes, that very few around the country will gain any sort of benefit from

That above figure dwarfs the 12-13 years of games development that was sought for and secured by the DCB for games development

Imagine what €40 million could do around the country for struggling CB's

It's not deflection, it's the truth and perhaps there's a few that need to get a slight reality check

But no.. we'll have another grand vanity project sitting around empty to go with the rest of them!

And some call this "progressive" and then bemoan actual investment into GAA people?!?

"what's the point" is right on the fecking money

Cork GAA nearly spent just as much as Dublin in 2015 on their Inter County teams winning swett FA in the process and are being handed €40 Million on a grand vanity project, good knows where the other €30 Million is coming from, but it's certainly not being spent on games development.

Priceless stuff

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 11:17:53    1924821

Replying To jimbodub:  "Last time I looked

Several CB's have run themselves into dire debt situations

Spending well above their means, while ignoring games development structures within their county

So yes I would question several county boards current state of affaird."
Yeah that's easy to say when ye don't even have a county ground to upkeep.
Unfortunatly we don't have the luxury of been given free stadium or centre of excellence.
In Kerry we have had to spend 5 million on Fitzgerald stadium and 1 million on Austin stacks stadium in the last 6-7 years plus another 7-8 million on a centre of excellence.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2016 11:38:28    1924830

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Yeah that's easy to say when ye don't even have a county ground to upkeep.
Unfortunatly we don't have the luxury of been given free stadium or centre of excellence.
In Kerry we have had to spend 5 million on Fitzgerald stadium and 1 million on Austin stacks stadium in the last 6-7 years plus another 7-8 million on a centre of excellence."
We do have a ground to upkeep

Problem is we're too busy making the GAA millions of additional revenue playing in Croke Park, that wouldn't have existed in the first place without the DCB spear heading the Spring Series games, thus bringing in huge TV rights revenue into the organisation, because the games have been picked up year after year, which led to a bidding war the last time the rights became available amongst Irish a number of Irish broadcasters to secure the rights, making the whole exercise even more successful and lucrative.

Big Money. Which is then spread out to every club in the country

Yeah.. sorry.. our bad... we're dreadful

PS

YOU'RE FECKING WELCOME

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 12:02:39    1924843

I appreciate your honesty Jimbo, others may pretend they don't look down their nose at the 'thicko gombeens' and see them as inferior but honesty is refreshing no matter how insulting it may be to others

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 11/10/2016 12:16:17    1924855

As I've said, swanning into this thread and blaming the Dubs or calling out county boards around the country is not helpful in any way. The situation is what it is at the minute - get over it. County boards, for whatever reason, are not getting the support they need from the GAA. The GAA need to invest in the right people and infrastructures to improve our games across the entire island. That is their responsibility. If county boards invest in so-called vanity projects that do not benefit the development and sustainability of the games within that county, then they should be held to account by the GAA.

There is absolutely no point bleating on about the Dubs supposedly getting a free stadium or free ride from the GAA, and no point pointing at some stadium in Cork as proof that you're somehow justified with the current funding infrastructure. It's playground stuff, the lot of you.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 11/10/2016 12:32:09    1924860

Replying To JoeSoap:  "As I've said, swanning into this thread and blaming the Dubs or calling out county boards around the country is not helpful in any way. The situation is what it is at the minute - get over it. County boards, for whatever reason, are not getting the support they need from the GAA. The GAA need to invest in the right people and infrastructures to improve our games across the entire island. That is their responsibility. If county boards invest in so-called vanity projects that do not benefit the development and sustainability of the games within that county, then they should be held to account by the GAA.

There is absolutely no point bleating on about the Dubs supposedly getting a free stadium or free ride from the GAA, and no point pointing at some stadium in Cork as proof that you're somehow justified with the current funding infrastructure. It's playground stuff, the lot of you."
Fun though, and important to bring a bit of perspective

Perhaps you're not getting properly funded because the GAA/Government care more about bricks and concrete

€40 MILLION.... it's serious money that would be much better spent at present

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 13:09:01    1924879

Replying To jimbodub:  "We do have a ground to upkeep

Problem is we're too busy making the GAA millions of additional revenue playing in Croke Park, that wouldn't have existed in the first place without the DCB spear heading the Spring Series games, thus bringing in huge TV rights revenue into the organisation, because the games have been picked up year after year, which led to a bidding war the last time the rights became available amongst Irish a number of Irish broadcasters to secure the rights, making the whole exercise even more successful and lucrative.

PS

YOU'RE FECKING WELCOME

:)"
Yes down thumb 100% facts

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 13:10:04    1924880

Replying To Jaden:  "The poor mouthing in this post would give the Healy-Raes a run for their money. The "Us Vs them" sentiment expressed in it flies directly in the face of everything the GAA stands for, and tries to be - an inclusive all Ireland sporting organisation.

To think that one county board is somehow subverting the intentions of the entire GAA is solidly in tinfoil hat territory.

But not to worry, if you don't feel like improving your own lot, you can always post on an internet forum, and begrudge the success of others who are trying (and succeeding)."
How do you what work I'm doing (or not as your slur would indicate) ?

Well I do lots of work helping at underage and I can tell you that there aren't loads of paid coaches swanning in and out working with the kids we have to do everything and contrary to what Dublin people think there is enormous competition from other sports down here particularly in the city area.

I wish the GAA acted as an all-island body and looked out for the interests of all as opposed to the preserve of the wealthy

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 11/10/2016 13:23:50    1924889

Replying To Jackeen:  "I never once said anybody was a gombeen my friend nor do i agree with that sentiment. I'm simply pointing out that all of this outrage is misdirected at Dublin."
its directed at the gaa..we shouldnt need to feel so defensive

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 11/10/2016 13:45:22    1924899

Replying To alano12:  "its directed at the gaa..we shouldnt need to feel so defensive"
Link 0 0

Can Dublin posters please explain why they are the Golden Child of the GAA? Why their kids are so special and deserve 10-15 times kids elsewhere both rural and major urban areas elsewhere in the country?

Why don't kids in Limerick, Cork, Galway, Belfast get such enormous funding, it's been a closed shop Re:funding for far too long as we can see with the monopoly the GAA have created - which all started with the abnormal funding levels to go with all the other advantages they already had

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts:21 - 10/10/2016 17:25:14 1924628

This is not directed at the GAA. Far from it.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/10/2016 14:02:34    1924914

Replying To JoeSoap:  "As I've said, swanning into this thread and blaming the Dubs or calling out county boards around the country is not helpful in any way. The situation is what it is at the minute - get over it. County boards, for whatever reason, are not getting the support they need from the GAA. The GAA need to invest in the right people and infrastructures to improve our games across the entire island. That is their responsibility. If county boards invest in so-called vanity projects that do not benefit the development and sustainability of the games within that county, then they should be held to account by the GAA.

There is absolutely no point bleating on about the Dubs supposedly getting a free stadium or free ride from the GAA, and no point pointing at some stadium in Cork as proof that you're somehow justified with the current funding infrastructure. It's playground stuff, the lot of you."
Well said. I earlier stated on several occasions that my frustration is directed at the GAA not DCB. Each time I get defensive replies from Dublin posters. It is ridiculous at this stage. Very hard to interact on any reasonable level with some on here. Expect people to disagree on things but to do so with some level of understanding and respect. This is not about Dublin v Kerry or any other county. This is a wider GAA issue.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 11/10/2016 14:05:03    1924916

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "How do you what work I'm doing (or not as your slur would indicate) ?

Well I do lots of work helping at underage and I can tell you that there aren't loads of paid coaches swanning in and out working with the kids we have to do everything and contrary to what Dublin people think there is enormous competition from other sports down here particularly in the city area.

I wish the GAA acted as an all-island body and looked out for the interests of all as opposed to the preserve of the wealthy"
So you are an active member of an organisation, whom you believe is not acting in your best interests in return?
And your plan of action for this is to complain on an internet forum? To what end?

You seem to understand this is an issue for the GAA to address (of which you are a part), but demand explanations from Dublin members as to why things are the way they are. Surely, you can see how it is possible that others might see this as thinly-veiled begrudgery.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 11/10/2016 14:21:33    1924929

Replying To jimbodub:  "We do have a ground to upkeep

PS

YOU'RE FECKING WELCOME

It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.
By the way where did the Dublin county board get the idea for the spring series ? Maybe by coppying the premier league or afl? So ye didn't invent the idea ye adapted it .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2016 14:29:31    1924937

It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.
By the way where did the Dublin county board get the idea for the spring series ? Maybe by coppying the premier league or afl? So ye didn't invent the idea ye adapted it .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4274 - 11/10/2016

Pretty sure the Premier League doesn't have a Spring Series.

Think they might have gotten the idea from a ballet show in Philadelphia.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 11/10/2016 15:02:00    1924949

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.
By the way where did the Dublin county board get the idea for the spring series ? Maybe by coppying the premier league or afl? So ye didn't invent the idea ye adapted it ."
Yes

We're sorry for generating additional millions for the betterment of the organisation, and will continue to do so above every other county for as long as we exist. The Spring Series will continue to rake it in for all, and the next rights process I'm sure will be even more lucrative

But sure

Where's that inconvenient truth ignore button that you culchies have to keep pressing on the side of your heads to suit a certain sour agenda.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 15:08:15    1924955

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yes down thumb 100% facts

Ha

More sheer ignorance

Keep it up lads

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 15:10:57    1924958