Financial Doping in the GAA

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.
By the way where did the Dublin county board get the idea for the spring series ? Maybe by coppying the premier league or afl? So ye didn't invent the idea ye adapted it .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4274 - 11/10/2016

Pretty sure the Premier League doesn't have a Spring Series.

Think they might have gotten the idea from a ballet show in Philadelphia."
Well the dubs didn't invent it , that's what I'm saying and jumbo ye can't have a spring series with out all of us being involved. It's not just the dubs that draw the crowed

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2016 16:21:34    1924987

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.
By the way where did the Dublin county board get the idea for the spring series ? Maybe by coppying the premier league or afl? So ye didn't invent the idea ye adapted it .

Well the dubs didn't invent it , that's what I'm saying and jumbo ye can't have a spring series with out all of us being involved. It's not just the dubs that draw the crowed"
Well it's certainly not Kerry that draw the crowd to Croke Park for the Spring Series, their fans don't turn up till the Championship starts.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 11/10/2016 16:31:41    1924991

Well the dubs didn't invent it , that's what I'm saying and jumbo ye can't have a spring series with out all of us being involved. It's not just the dubs that draw the crowed"
"They didn't invent it"

Dear oh dear.

How petty can you get

No Dublin didn't invent playing sport on Saturday

Well pointed out..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 16:38:11    1924994

Thought it was my dog scratching at the door but it was kingdomboy going at the bottom of the barrel

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/10/2016 16:56:46    1924999

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.

Thought it was my dog scratching at the door but it was kingdomboy going at the bottom of the barrel"]Hahahaha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/10/2016 17:31:13    1925021

Replying To Jaden:  "So you are an active member of an organisation, whom you believe is not acting in your best interests in return?
And your plan of action for this is to complain on an internet forum? To what end?

You seem to understand this is an issue for the GAA to address (of which you are a part), but demand explanations from Dublin members as to why things are the way they are. Surely, you can see how it is possible that others might see this as thinly-veiled begrudgery."
I have never blamed the DCB for what has transpired over the last decade, I'm just stating when these facts come to light people involved at the grassroots aren't go be too happy and will vent, so to speak.

It's only paranoia from Dublin fans that infers that neutrals are blaming them or the DCB , they (I) are certainly not , we are within our rights as to why 1 county has received such extortionate funding (over a 10 year period) in relation to the rest, that is a fair and legitimate criticism the GAA has to answer to

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 11/10/2016 18:47:38    1925055

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.

Thought it was my dog scratching at the door but it was kingdomboy going at the bottom of the barrel"]I don't get your west Brit humour lad, now you better let that bulldog out before he destroys the place ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2016 19:38:34    1925075

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To keithlemon:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.

Thought it was my dog scratching at the door but it was kingdomboy going at the bottom of the barrel"]Hahahaha"]What's ye'r problem with being the golden boys of the GAA?
Will ye just accept that ye'r their favourites and they want ye to win and move on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2016 19:54:26    1925085

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "I have never blamed the DCB for what has transpired over the last decade, I'm just stating when these facts come to light people involved at the grassroots aren't go be too happy and will vent, so to speak.

It's only paranoia from Dublin fans that infers that neutrals are blaming them or the DCB , they (I) are certainly not , we are within our rights as to why 1 county has received such extortionate funding (over a 10 year period) in relation to the rest, that is a fair and legitimate criticism the GAA has to answer to"
So if you don't blame the DCB, or Dublin in general for the current state of affairs, then why are you asking them to explain themselves?

"Can Dublin posters please explain why they are the Golden Child of the GAA? Why their kids are so special and deserve 10-15 times kids elsewhere both rural and major urban areas elsewhere in the country?

Why don't kids in Limerick, Cork, Galway, Belfast get such enormous funding, it's been a closed shop Re:funding for far too long as we can see with the monopoly the GAA have created - which all started with the abnormal funding levels to go with all the other advantages they already had".

It's pretty clear whom you are directing your ire at.

I politely suggest that venting at the wrong people, within the wrong forum, is probably not going to be of any use to you.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 11/10/2016 20:12:51    1925093

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "I have never blamed the DCB for what has transpired over the last decade, I'm just stating when these facts come to light people involved at the grassroots aren't go be too happy and will vent, so to speak.

It's only paranoia from Dublin fans that infers that neutrals are blaming them or the DCB , they (I) are certainly not , we are within our rights as to why 1 county has received such extortionate funding (over a 10 year period) in relation to the rest, that is a fair and legitimate criticism the GAA has to answer to"
Jimbo you are ridiculously defensive about all of this.

I'm sure a part of that is that you don't like any sort of implication that Dublin might be accused of 'buying' all Irelands.

Yet I see a couple of days ago on some stupid thread started about 'geographical doping' you dismissed Kerry's 37 All-Irelands are being down to nothing more than Kerry being in a traditionally hurling province!!! So you expect others to be mature about this while you aren't?

But back to this 'debate': you and other Dublin posters on here have still not addressed the basic point I and others were making.

That is the huge multiples of development money that are annually earmarked for Dublin over the other counties.

Remember the figure are based on money per registered players in each county. So the sums are even more galling.

Now you've ranted about stadiums in Cork etc - Not relevant. While most of us would agree with you that it is a white elephant, the GAA sets aside certain funding for infrastructural projects and any county with a proposal can apply for funding. Its not as if the GAA just decided to throw millions at the Cork GAA. Also I'm sure if Dublin ever wanted to upgrade Parnell Park or build a new stadium both the GAA and Johnny tax-payer would be expected to front up the cash.

You've also talked about how much more money the Dublin GAA brings into the Association - Again not relevant Firstly its only natural the capital city, given its population, would have the biggest support base/market. Secondly Kerry bring in more than Leitrim, yet I don't expect Kerry to be given multiples of the funding that Leitrim receive, It should all be shared equally - that is the ethos which the GAA is supposed to operate by. Lastly, surely what ever Dublin lose out on in terms of what they contribute is also compensated by the vastly more lucrative sponsorship Dublin can attract?

You've also talked about some counties spending as much preparing their senior team as Dublin - Not relevant - that's down to the sponsorship counties can attract, their funding raising activities etc, it has nothing to do with development funding.

To reiterate what I said yesterday, another major argument you are relying on is this notion that only the Dublin GAA have well thought out plans, programmes etc as regards their development structures worthy of receiving such disproportionate levels of funding.
As I offered, Kerry have a very well planned and robust development programme, why aren't they or other similar counties with such plans not getting what your getting?

I will repeat what I have already said before, how you or others can try and justify this gross inequality is baffling.

Again just to state this is not about having a go at Dublin, all they have done is take what's been offered.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/10/2016 20:14:58    1925098

Replying To Jaden:  "So if you don't blame the DCB, or Dublin in general for the current state of affairs, then why are you asking them to explain themselves?

"Can Dublin posters please explain why they are the Golden Child of the GAA? Why their kids are so special and deserve 10-15 times kids elsewhere both rural and major urban areas elsewhere in the country?

Why don't kids in Limerick, Cork, Galway, Belfast get such enormous funding, it's been a closed shop Re:funding for far too long as we can see with the monopoly the GAA have created - which all started with the abnormal funding levels to go with all the other advantages they already had".

I politely suggest that venting at the wrong people, within the wrong forum, is probably not going to be of any use to you."
I posed the same question Jaden. I find it interesting that a whole host of "new" posters arrive on the scene shortly after the AI final too. Timing, as they say, is everything.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/10/2016 20:20:29    1925105

Replying To Jaden:  "So if you don't blame the DCB, or Dublin in general for the current state of affairs, then why are you asking them to explain themselves?

I politely suggest that venting at the wrong people, within the wrong forum, is probably not going to be of any use to you."
but you could engage with the points made instead of acting defensive no?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 11/10/2016 20:25:03    1925112

Replying To alano12:  "

but you could engage with the points made instead of acting defensive no?"
What points?

I'm asking a specific poster, a specific question. The question follows the lines of "Do you think that the DCB or Dublin in general are to blame for a perceived state of inequity? - If not, then why are you demanding explanations from them?".

I would not care one iota about defending the funding Dublin get.
They ask, they get, they invest, they get results.

No-one in Dublin owes anyone an explanation or an apology. Dublin no more decide how much funding they get, than they do with where they play their home games in the championship. To suggest that somehow they are calling the shots, is simply paranoia.

The crazy bit, is that this is the GAA we're talking about - an organization that most of us are members of. It's not some faceless corporation run by fat cats - and if it is, who needs to shoulder the responsibility for that being allowed to happen? That's right, everyone.

Tell me where I'm wrong, and I'll gladly listen to you.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 11/10/2016 20:55:33    1925133

Replying To keithlemon:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share.

Thought it was my dog scratching at the door but it was kingdomboy going at the bottom of the barrel"]I don't get your west Brit humour lad, now you better let that bulldog out before he destroys the place ;-)"]That dog doesn't listen to me at all KingdomBoy
But I'm not surpised, he's too busy trying on his fancy jackets and even has a collar with a dickie boy on it
Yep, Galvin is a stubborn old mutt ;-)

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/10/2016 21:04:44    1925137

Yes I'm blaming GAA HQ (GAA created a monopoly - GAA not the DCB!) they have treated Dublin very favourably thats the point , any CB would take what it can get.

The GAA is the custodian of the game in the 32 counties, I wish they would act that way rather than funnel a big proportion of resources into one

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 11/10/2016 21:16:06    1925147

Replying To Jaden:  "
Replying To alano12:  "[quote=Jaden:  "So if you don't blame the DCB, or Dublin in general for the current state of affairs, then why are you asking them to explain themselves?

What points?

I'm asking a specific poster, a specific question. The question follows the lines of "Do you think that the DCB or Dublin in general are to blame for a perceived state of inequity? - If not, then why are you demanding explanations from them?".

No-one in Dublin owes anyone an explanation or an apology. Dublin no more decide how much funding they get, than they do with where they play their home games in the championship. To suggest that somehow they are calling the shots, is simply paranoia.

The crazy bit, is that this is the GAA we're talking about - an organization that most of us are members of. It's not some faceless corporation run by fat cats - and if it is, who needs to shoulder the responsibility for that being allowed to happen? That's right, everyone.

Tell me where I'm wrong, and I'll gladly listen to you."]but why are you coming across as so entitled?..you could try to understand why other counties feel this way instead of acting so defensive about it no?

and it does help the debate when us dubs acknowledge there has been failings in the gaa in regards funding instead of resorting to cheap shots about stadiums and other things which are simply not relevant

all im saying is there is no need to be so defensive....we do not need the funding at this current level that is a fact due to the revenue we create elsewhere through sponsorship

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 11/10/2016 21:22:11    1925153

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jimbo you are ridiculously defensive about all of this.

I'm sure a part of that is that you don't like any sort of implication that Dublin might be accused of 'buying' all Irelands.

Yet I see a couple of days ago on some stupid thread started about 'geographical doping' you dismissed Kerry's 37 All-Irelands are being down to nothing more than Kerry being in a traditionally hurling province!!! So you expect others to be mature about this while you aren't?

But back to this 'debate': you and other Dublin posters on here have still not addressed the basic point I and others were making.

That is the huge multiples of development money that are annually earmarked for Dublin over the other counties.

Remember the figure are based on money per registered players in each county. So the sums are even more galling.

Now you've ranted about stadiums in Cork etc - Not relevant. While most of us would agree with you that it is a white elephant, the GAA sets aside certain funding for infrastructural projects and any county with a proposal can apply for funding. Its not as if the GAA just decided to throw millions at the Cork GAA. Also I'm sure if Dublin ever wanted to upgrade Parnell Park or build a new stadium both the GAA and Johnny tax-payer would be expected to front up the cash.

You've also talked about how much more money the Dublin GAA brings into the Association - Again not relevant Firstly its only natural the capital city, given its population, would have the biggest support base/market. Secondly Kerry bring in more than Leitrim, yet I don't expect Kerry to be given multiples of the funding that Leitrim receive, It should all be shared equally - that is the ethos which the GAA is supposed to operate by. Lastly, surely what ever Dublin lose out on in terms of what they contribute is also compensated by the vastly more lucrative sponsorship Dublin can attract?

You've also talked about some counties spending as much preparing their senior team as Dublin - Not relevant - that's down to the sponsorship counties can attract, their funding raising activities etc, it has nothing to do with development funding.

To reiterate what I said yesterday, another major argument you are relying on is this notion that only the Dublin GAA have well thought out plans, programmes etc as regards their development structures worthy of receiving such disproportionate levels of funding.
As I offered, Kerry have a very well planned and robust development programme, why aren't they or other similar counties with such plans not getting what your getting?

I will repeat what I have already said before, how you or others can try and justify this gross inequality is baffling.

Again just to state this is not about having a go at Dublin, all they have done is take what's been offered."
Great post the hermit but don't expect a reply from jimbo , he's only here to stir the pot and deflect attention away from the dubs financial advantages.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2016 21:32:58    1925164

Replying To alano12:  "
Replying To Jaden:  "[quote=alano12:  "[quote=Jaden:  "So if you don't blame the DCB, or Dublin in general for the current state of affairs, then why are you asking them to explain themselves?

What points?

Tell me where I'm wrong, and I'll gladly listen to you."]but why are you coming across as so entitled?..you could try to understand why other counties feel this way instead of acting so defensive about it no?

and it does help the debate when us dubs acknowledge there has been failings in the gaa in regards funding instead of resorting to cheap shots about stadiums and other things which are simply not relevant

all im saying is there is no need to be so defensive....we do not need the funding at this current level that is a fact due to the revenue we create elsewhere through sponsorship"]I'm pretty sure you're mixing me up with someone else at this point. It's cool.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 11/10/2016 22:01:39    1925174

So lads why do the dubs get more money than the rest of us? We still haven't got a proper answer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/10/2016 19:34:29    1925492

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So lads why do the dubs get more money than the rest of us? We still haven't got a proper answer."
They applied and their application was successful.

The money has been well spent too, same can't be said for a whole lot of other expenditure in the GAA.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 12/10/2016 19:55:16    1925501