Financial Doping in the GAA

This thread really highlights one thing to me. How f8cking parochial some of you are.

The money that Dublin have received has gone into getting more children playing and staying with Gaelic games. How is that not a good thing.

No other county has the size to have had that large an impact.

There are a lot of well intentioned people in other counties but to be fair a lot of counties have probably gotten their priorities wrong over the years. Building centres of excellence and the like. Dublin have gone in with a plan to work on the absolute grassroots of our games.

Now a similar model is going to be rolled out to 6 other counties.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 12/10/2016 20:09:08    1925505

So lads why do the dubs get more money than the rest of us? We still haven't got a proper answer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4288 - 12/10/2016

Have you asked any of your own club officers this question? Maybe see if they can raise it at a county convention or at provincial level?

I'd imagine that'd be a better place to get an answer than an internet forum.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/10/2016 20:42:57    1925513

Replying To Whammo86:  "This thread really highlights one thing to me. How f8cking parochial some of you are.

The money that Dublin have received has gone into getting more children playing and staying with Gaelic games. How is that not a good thing.

No other county has the size to have had that large an impact.

There are a lot of well intentioned people in other counties but to be fair a lot of counties have probably gotten their priorities wrong over the years. Building centres of excellence and the like. Dublin have gone in with a plan to work on the absolute grassroots of our games.

Now a similar model is going to be rolled out to 6 other counties."
agreed but lets just hope a similar plan can be put together for each county up to a certain point

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/10/2016 20:50:57    1925517

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "So lads why do the dubs get more money than the rest of us? We still haven't got a proper answer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4288 - 12/10/2016

Have you asked any of your own club officers this question? Maybe see if they can raise it at a county convention or at provincial level?

I'd imagine that'd be a better place to get an answer than an internet forum."
So if in doubt pass the buck. I tought this forum was to discuss these kind of things? But I suppose if the thread touches a nerve it must be hard for ye , So il let ye get back to towing the party line.

By the way who runs the GAA ? Is it the president or is it pauric Duffy ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/10/2016 02:15:25    1925577

So if in doubt pass the buck. I tought this forum was to discuss these kind of things? But I suppose if the thread touches a nerve it must be hard for ye , So il let ye get back to towing the party line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4289 - 13/10/2016

I'm all for discussion and debate, but it's almost as if you're asking posters on here to justify the spending authorised by the GAA. Unless anybody on here is involved directly in dealings taking place in Croke Park or at provincial level they aren't going to have the types of answers you're looking for.

I think sometimes (rightly or wrongly) some of us seem to forget that it's people like us who make up the GAA, we mightn't be privy to the finer details on things like tv rights, sponsorship deals or grant payments but as members of the GAA (which I assume a lot of people on this site are) we do have the power to question things and invoke changes to the organisation - by that at club, provincial or national level.

I could just as easily accuse you of passing the buck. Asking for answers here instead of trying to get them from your own county board or the GAA itself...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 13/10/2016 09:47:25    1925605

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "So if in doubt pass the buck. I tought this forum was to discuss these kind of things? But I suppose if the thread touches a nerve it must be hard for ye , So il let ye get back to towing the party line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4289 - 13/10/2016

I'm all for discussion and debate, but it's almost as if you're asking posters on here to justify the spending authorised by the GAA. Unless anybody on here is involved directly in dealings taking place in Croke Park or at provincial level they aren't going to have the types of answers you're looking for.

I think sometimes (rightly or wrongly) some of us seem to forget that it's people like us who make up the GAA, we mightn't be privy to the finer details on things like tv rights, sponsorship deals or grant payments but as members of the GAA (which I assume a lot of people on this site are) we do have the power to question things and invoke changes to the organisation - by that at club, provincial or national level.

I could just as easily accuse you of passing the buck. Asking for answers here instead of trying to get them from your own county board or the GAA itself..."
Well my county board aren't the ones getting all the millions from crokepark so I wouldn't think they can tell me too much about how the dubs are managing to do it.
There should be an inquiry in to this financial doping and the head man who sanctioned it should be expelled from the GAA .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/10/2016 10:55:20    1925631

While I don't blame the DCB, Some of the Dublin arguments for the funding are so arrogant they need to be seen to be believed. One argued that the funding was a great idea because Dublin had been doing so badly in the late 90's. I wish every county that was struggling for a few years could call on a few million in development funds to get them out of a hole!!

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/10/2016 11:58:36    1925663

Conversely, we can say that your county boards are not getting millions from the GAA, and we would like you to tell us why.....

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 13/10/2016 12:04:18    1925667

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's not deflection

It's using an example to bring perspective into this argument

40 odd million of GAA and tax payer money is going on a stadium that will be lucky to be full 2 times a year for GAA purposes, that very few around the country will gain any sort of benefit from

That above figure dwarfs the 12-13 years of games development that was sought for and secured by the DCB for games development

Imagine what €40 million could do around the country for struggling CB's

It's not deflection, it's the truth and perhaps there's a few that need to get a slight reality check

But no.. we'll have another grand vanity project sitting around empty to go with the rest of them!

And some call this "progressive" and then bemoan actual investment into GAA people?!?

"what's the point" is right on the fecking money

Cork GAA nearly spent just as much as Dublin in 2015 on their Inter County teams winning swett FA in the process and are being handed €40 Million on a grand vanity project, good knows where the other €30 Million is coming from, but it's certainly not being spent on games development.

Priceless stuff"
I think we need to stop mixing up discussion on development funding with capital funding for infrastructure projects. There is a clear plan by GAA to have top class facilities in Belfast / Dublin /Cork and move away from more rural venues (Clones / Thurles). You can argue with the plan, but overall I can see their logic in having top class stadiums around the country. If the new stadiums are used properly commercially and by fixture makers neither needs to become a white elephant (move more games out of Croker etc.) You never know... maybe someday Dublin will get to play away from home in these venues more regularly

They are getting the Belfast stadium for free thanks to her majesty (I'm sure planning will be sorted eventually) and there is a lot of Govt funding for Cork too. They would be foolish to turn down that cash.

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 13/10/2016 12:24:24    1925672

Replying To Jaden:  "Conversely, we can say that your county boards are not getting millions from the GAA, and we would like you to tell us why....."
Lack of money one would presume, if there was a bottomless pit they would give everyone millions.

The GAA took a decision in the early to mid noughties to prop up Dublin GAA from then till now. Investment = success. I don't know what the GAA's long game (beyond having one county that almost no one can compete with) is in this particular strategy.

Maybe the GAA are stupid and didn't realise the economics of the investment they made or maybe they actually are very smart and are thinking of modernising the game into professionalism and franchises.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/10/2016 12:30:04    1925677

Replying To Jaden:  "Conversely, we can say that your county boards are not getting millions from the GAA, and we would like you to tell us why....."
To explain better; there is a lack of money so not every county can get millions.

So why did the GAA choose to financially prop up/dope ( the first term if you are kind, the second if you are not) one county and not others. Well the GAA would have correctly calculated that Dublin was the area in the country where they would get the greatest return on their investment. The reason for this is that it is the fastest growing area of the country in terms of population and it would have a lower than average GAA participation rate in the 2000s so it made sense if they wanted to expand the sport to invest in the Capital.

The problem with this strategy is that it is killing interest in the intercounty game in the rest of Leinster and isn't helping it in any other part of the country apart from Dublin.

Now the GAA are pursuing the same strategy by investing in kildare, meath and two other satellite counties of Dublin. These are the fastest growing areas of the country after Dublin so the GAA will again get the biggest bang for their buck in those counties.

It all boils down to economics but thinking purely in an economic context regarding sport as the GAA did is a dangerous strategy to pursue.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/10/2016 13:00:38    1925688

Very simple, because the money isn't there to fund 2 counties to the scale of funding that Dublin receive , let alone 32

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 13/10/2016 13:40:35    1925707

aaaah, cos Dublin is getting it???

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 13/10/2016 13:52:23    1925718

In some ways funding Dublin more than the rest is a good idea but they just overdid it. There should have been a rule that Dublin couldn't receive funding above any province. Instead Dublin received a lot more funding than each province did for a lot of years.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/10/2016 14:07:56    1925728

Stop deflecting with all this unsubstantiated talk of no money. Why is your County Board not receiving millions in funding?

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 13/10/2016 14:21:10    1925737

Replying To Jaden:  "Stop deflecting with all this unsubstantiated talk of no money. Why is your County Board not receiving millions in funding?"
Unsubstianed talk of no money...there is no money, you think the GAA are putting large profits in the bank???

Here you go from the 2015 gaa accounts if you need proof: http://www.gaa.ie/news/gaa-annual-accounts-for-2015-published/

key points from the opening paragraph...

Drop of €0.5m in revenues to €56m
Gate receipts down by €2.7m
Central Council championship attendances drop by 40,000
Commercial revenues increased by €2m
Distributions to units similar to 2014 at €12.5m
Games development increased by €1m to €10m
Net result is break-even

you convinced now??

Anyway read my post further up the page if you need to know why Dublin were financially doped.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/10/2016 14:30:39    1925747

Replying To Jaden:  "Stop deflecting with all this unsubstantiated talk of no money. Why is your County Board not receiving millions in funding?"
aaaah, cos Dublin is getting it???

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 13/10/2016 15:00:52    1925756

Now that the dubs are raking in millions on their own through their AIG deal well shouldn't they start to pay back the multi millions they received from the GAA so the GAA can help the smaller counties ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/10/2016 15:02:31    1925757

It was because the Dublin CB came up with a strategy that was so sweet, so brilliant, so revolutionary that the GAA had to stop themselves from handing over the entire development budget lock stock and barrel to those wonderful gents saving the GAA..

And as for us simple country folk down the country....well we would just spend the money on magic beans so they knew they couldn't entrust us with any more than a few coppers from the precious booty...

Its something like that is it?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/10/2016 15:26:22    1925774

Replying To realman2:  "In some ways funding Dublin more than the rest is a good idea but they just overdid it. There should have been a rule that Dublin couldn't receive funding above any province. Instead Dublin received a lot more funding than each province did for a lot of years."
Listen I agree with many of your points but just to add Dublin was greatly under funded for decades

The GAA's inaction across the decades resulting in many areas of Dublin being Soccer/Rugby only, and where you'd find it difficult to find a GAA pitch!

The GAA are playing major catch up in Dublin, because almost half the county was ignored for decades. It was given up on as "West Brit" land

But 100% - Reduce games development grants now by a good 20-30% - Dublin GAA will be able to absorb that loss and continue the good work, while others can benefit

The Southside of the City is in a better state now compared to 10 years ago, but there's still areas that will always be rugby/soccer first and if we all want our sports to thrive it's important that the GAA continues to have a presence in this densely populated area.

That's where most of the progress has been made, GAA in Dublin used to be working class, now it's both working class/middle class and in some areas almost upper class now.

It's right across the board and it's time for Dublin GAA to build on that and move away from the current level of funding

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/10/2016 15:27:26    1925775