AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

AthCliath you are spot on. We got lucky with some decisions yesterday regarding our discipline which is iffy all year imo. Unless you were at game its difficult to explain just how much sledging and off the ball tussles were going on from throw in. I've never seen anything like it. From both teams i might add. Philly was constantly in AOS ear. Keegan never stopped at Comnolly all game either. He started the tussle that got Connolly sent off. Similar to the Keane incident with Murphy and he got off so ye never know. With regard to Coc swinging out at Roc, what did he think would happen. Rememver James McCarthy got a straight red for a similar offense in castlebar a few years ago. He might be in a bit of trouble if the CCCC decide to go after everybody.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2015 09:06:58    1778497

jbez2ezy
County: Longford

Well played muckross mr 3700 posts. I wonder would you say that to my face?

Look like you have a lot to offer the forum.....

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 31/08/2015 09:31:25    1778526

Muck.be careful,id say this Longford lad already goes to the Den.Like Millwalls Den!!Facking natter!!"You want some ya mag?Come on!".

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/08/2015 09:32:40    1778529

strange kind of a game yesterday
dissapointing to be 7 points up with 8 minutes to go and not win the game.
but when the 5 minutes of injury time flashed up and they had just equalisied
you would have taken a draw at that time, so its a weird feeling today.
didnt think we played well over the 70 minutes yet controlled the game on the scoreboard for almost the entire match.
Our best period of the game came when bastick came in for mccauley
in that 10 minutes we kicked 1-03 without reply and were dominating the middle of the field.
the two black cards were very poor decisions, mccauley actualy played the ball with his hand
didnt think it was a free never mind a card of any colour
then bastick clearly didnt intentionally trip he mayo guy
as he tumbled on the ground and wasnt even aware of where the player was.
we finished the game with lowndes and brady in midfield as all three of fenton, mccauley and bastick were gone
that was a big problem. you look at players who had been playing in the league
carty and o conghaile werent even on the subs bench
also nicky deveraux or costello werent on the bench either, which was strange.
felt the key decision one of many that went against us wasnt highlighted at all
on the sunday game or any media outlet
just before they got the penalty, the ball was down the hill16/cusack stand corner
and alan brogan went down to pick the ball up and was clear as day pushed in the back
he waved play on when it wasa blatant free, lone behold 30 seconds later
the ball went up the other end and he was giving a penalty.
that was a huge swing and turning point in the game that undoubtably cost us for me.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 10:48:21    1778695

Draw fair result, ref was awful for Mayo in the first half, Dubs should have had a straight red and a black card, we were the better team overall but wasted too many chances. Should be a cracker next week.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 31/08/2015 10:58:32    1778708

we were the better team overall

Really? 6 points from play = the better team overall?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 11:00:57    1778712

Draw fair result, ref was awful for Mayo in the first half

Well he certainly made up for it in the 2nd half.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/08/2015 11:07:55    1778729

I think a lot of Tyrone people's frustrations are because Dublin's antics yesterday was much worse than their side all year and a lot of their nonsense only got a brief mention .

Johnny Coopers challenge was nasty in that he could of broke his opponents leg .

What was Philly Mac at ? Embarrassing stuff .

I thought Dublin would win yesterday but now surely Mayo hold the edge .

I actually thing DC will get off because the precedent was set last week .

COC will be okay if DC will play .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 31/08/2015 11:10:04    1778740

Cooper & McMahon should have both walked.
Dublin's persistent fouling was reason for Mayo's lack of scores from play.
We should win the replay comfortably.
Dublin's lack of fitness towards the end was very promising for the replay

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 31/08/2015 11:15:25    1778753

slayer
County: Limerick

A mighty game of football. Pundits were saying the first half was poor. I loved it - big hits, incident, some decent scores.

An excellent game, well done to both sides.

I agree, edge of the seat stuff all through the game.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 31/08/2015 11:18:01    1778759

Mayo would have scored far more from play if they weren't consistently fouled anytime they got near the Dublin 45..

Jimmy192 (Mayo) - Posts: 107 - 31/08/2015 11:19:15    1778762

Jesus lads relax, yes ref tried to even it up in the second half and yes Mayo owned the second half, just because they missed chance after chance doesn't change that.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 31/08/2015 11:20:31    1778766

Dublin will win the replay. Still confident about that. With or without Connolly and McMahon

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/08/2015 11:29:54    1778785

For the second game in a row Dublin were unable to last the seventy minutes. McCauley should not have got a black card but Cooper and McMahon should both have got red. McMahon always plays on the edge but he lost the plot altogether yesterday and was a liability for Dublin. Whelan had a difficult time on the Sunday Game last night and showed how hard it is to be objective when discussing your own team. Didn't realise that Brogans effort in the first half was wide or that McM double hopped the ball before scoring. It was an action packed game from start to finish. I hope that there is no carry over of bad feeling into Saturdays game and that we will get a highly competitive but relatively clean game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/08/2015 11:36:03    1778792

waynoI
Dublin will win the replay. Still confident about that. With or without Connolly and McMahon

Exactly wayno. No point getting bogged down in it. The game is done. We can wait to see Connolly's subsequent appeal and whatever else, but we need to remember, we are 5 days away from the replay of the all Ireland semi. Better to look forward than back.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/08/2015 11:41:27    1778798

1-12 of our scores were from play compared to Mayo's 1-11 from place balls we had two black cards and a red and posters are crying about the ref and that were the bad guys, hard to believe.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 11:46:27    1778807

Shpuld not be losing a 7 point lead, simple as.. In reality mayo shpuld have went on to win.. actually thought dublin showed character when game levelled up, we won the ball in the middle, attacked and won a free to win the game which we missed

We were very indisciplined in the tackle but how can mayo complain? 1-9 from placed balls..

We concentrated more on stopping mayo getting goals than scoring... hard to find the balance

People saying mayo should have one more frees but it is not a foul standing up to your man and slapping at the ball.. I thought we defended quite well..

Connolly must get off, keane got off for a clear strike.. keegan had been trying to get connolly sent off all day..

Both teams were poor enough, we have plenty to correct before next week..

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 31/08/2015 11:47:47    1778810

clondalkin - so if a team doesn't score from play because they are being continually fouled they don't deserve their scores? Is that your argument?

Also, just because you got one red card doesn't mean you shouldn't get more. A red card offence is a red card offence regardless of how many previous cards a team may have. Connolly punched, Cooper stamped, McMahon Headbutted. These are all red card offences. Explain to me how you think they aren't?

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 31/08/2015 11:54:05    1778814

no need to split Dublin in 2 now but they should play in Ulster, just like the Galway hurlers play in Leinster

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 31/08/2015 11:54:47    1778816

Clondalkin - are you having laugh and trying to wind people up ??

Mayo scored frees because Dublin couldn't tackle to save their life ?

Can your defenders not tackle properly ?

I'd question why their tackling was so poor ? Can they not defend ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 31/08/2015 11:56:14    1778818