AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Great finish to the game, but I have to say Pilly McMahon's dive was another embarrassment comparable to Tiernan McCann. It's another example of why the Gaa need to bring out a ban for such pathetic behaviour!

Anyway great to get a replay out of it and hopefully it will be better than yesterday, surprisingly Mayo really held back for long periods, if they come out and play they might actually win the next day, looking forward to it anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/08/2015 12:02:55    1778827

the problem most dublin supporters and management have with the frees in one word is consistency
they are deemed to be frees against dublin thats fine
but the same tackles are happeneing from the opposition and the ref is not awarding dublin the free
thats the main gripe I have as a dublin supporter with the frees situation.
a clear instance in the match was the situation for the mayo goal
alan brogan was clearly pushed in the back going down to pick the ball up
its a free anyway a ref looks at that
then 30 seconds later he is awarding mayo a penalty for a much more debatable tackle.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 12:10:34    1778836

I enjoyed the game,it was intense and a hard match to referee,I think if that had been Donegal Kerry or Tyrone with that lead with time nearly up they would have closed out the match,worrying from a Dublin point of view,I think it's vital that Dublin have Connolly back for the replay,he's a great footballer but I think he was provoked and suppose shouldn't have reacted but it's easy saying that sitting here.
Great mental strength from Mayo to fight back at the end, I think the replay will be a better match and couldn't call it, depends now what the cccc do.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 31/08/2015 12:48:09    1778894

31/08/2015 12:48:09
TirChonaillabu2

I enjoyed the game,it was intense and a hard match to referee,I think if that had been Donegal Kerry or Tyrone with that lead with time nearly up they would have closed out the match,worrying from a Dublin point of view,I think it's vital that Dublin have Connolly back for the replay,he's a great footballer but I think he was provoked and suppose shouldn't have reacted but it's easy saying that sitting here.
Great mental strength from Mayo to fight back at the end, I think the replay will be a better match and couldn't call it, depends now what the cccc do.

Your right in what you say about not letting a lead slip but I promise you if it was Donegal or Kerry the ref would never have given the peno like he gave Boyle yesterday not a hope

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 13:10:04    1778924

I can't say that I enjoyed the game for large parts of it, too tense and too involved with so much at stake but in the end, I enjoyed the result. We clearly overthought this one too much and showed Dublin far too much respect, especially in the first half and we really only played for about 10 minutes at somewhere near our rampaging best. When this happened, we almost snatched a win from the jaws of defeat. Fear and panic gripped the dubs and their supporters and understandably so, as a defiant Mayo showed they will not yield. We're coming for you Dublin to finish the job! Come on Mayo!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 31/08/2015 19:25:22    1779352

Okay the dust has settled slightly & I've had time to reflect on yesterday's game. If I was a Dub I'd be absolutely gutted, to fail to get home when 7pts clear with only 10 mins left on the clock is as poor as it gets. The way they fell apart was nothing short of spectacular!

I've not seen Mayo play as poorly as that since Donegal turned them over in 2012. When the shackles were off though & they had no choice but to go for it the real Mayo of 2015 finally appeared. They will feel fortunate to get a 2nd chance & I sense will have learnt a real lesson.. They possibly should have even sneaked it but that would have been gready..;)

The Dubs were cynical & the ref was leaning there way on a lot of 50/50s but I didn't expect it to be any different TBH..

So to the replay I just think Mayo can only play better & the Dubs looked shellshocked. Mayo will have gained so much belief from what seemed like another 1 that got away.. This team is different to other Mayo teams as I was saying earlier, I tried to warn you Dubs & even when of colour the lads proved they will not lie down.. Mayo will win the replay & Kerry you will be next lads!!!!

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 31/08/2015 20:29:19    1779419

Dessie Dolan has to go for the replay. Just watching it back here and I think I might have to turn the sound down.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 31/08/2015 21:30:50    1779494

Hope Rory O Carroll is fit to play next Saturday as the poor lad suffered a nasty injury irrespective of how it happened..his early departure forced Dublin to re jig the match ups which upset their balance.
Mayo did not employ their strong running game until the last ten minutes .. expect to see more of it next time.
Thought MDMA black card forced Dublin into a substitution that should have happened much earlier as he spilled possession needlessly leading to 2-3 Mayo points and Bastick made a bigger impact in his short time on.
Hoping for no further injuries/suspensions on Saturday as the winners are back in action 15 days later.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 31/08/2015 21:42:08    1779507

Dessie has marked Michael Fitzsimons on a couple of occasions himself! Thanks Dessie. By the end of the year we'll know everyone you've ever marked. Very helpful for viewers

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 31/08/2015 21:45:51    1779512

Locked back on the game last night. How the hell did we get a draw? Dublin in total control with 8 mins left of normal time. I think Dublin played the better football throughout, were more adventurous than us. Only in the last 10mins, when we ran at Dublin did we look like causing real damage.
Dublin were poor in the tackle on their own half and mouthing at the ref resulting in free's being brought closer on two occasions.

The Drake experiment failed adn it was clear to see after 10mins it was failing. How Big Barry was not introduced earlier was amazing. Il admit some of our players didn't cover themselves in glory, Keegan has a habit of looking for trouble. As has been said maybe you need a guy like that in a winning team? We have been accused of it in the past. One thing TV viewers will not have seen was the constant dragging, pulling, and god knows what was being said on the field.

Look I hope Rory O Carrol play in the reply and if Connolly gets off then so be it too. I have seen comments online by both sets of fans which borders on hate. These players have been training all year, are highly charged and in that atmosphere you are going to see sparks fly.
I also kinda feel for northern teams....if yesterday was the Ulster final, the uproar would be deafening.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 01/09/2015 09:21:45    1779554

Clondalkin - so it was man to man was it ???

How come Mayo playerd lateral for most of first half and at times there were four on O' Shea ?

There are some excellent Dublin posters on here , sadly your knowledge ain't at that level !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/09/2015 09:57:58    1779581

My first time seeing this Mayo side live.
They are huge lads and very fit, but, I thought they were very limited technically.
They obviously rely on bulldozing through teams and when it doesnt work they dont have a plan B

Saturday will come down to what shape the two squads are in after the few days rest

Mayo just seem to expend more energy for little return.
Dublin seem more fluid once they get going and have a stronger bench

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 01/09/2015 10:25:43    1779619

Yew Tree - fair play to you . You are an excellent and well balanced poster .

Ulster folk cannot make comments without being graded as paranoid .

Posters think there is balance because Whelan and McStay briefly highlighted the antics of the players . They are wrong .

The sledging by the players on Sunday was shocking : particularly aimed at A O' Shea . McMahon must have a sore throat today .

The word sledging was reinvented when Donegal played Tyrone in May .

Yew Tree - there is no balance whatsoever .

If that was two Ulstser sides on Sunday , there would probably be rule changes brought in .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/09/2015 10:30:29    1779628

Spot on RightStuff an excellent post from Yew Tree - On the money fella.

The North has had to suffer from so much tripe about there teams generally for so many years. The Provence has brought a whole new level of professionalism to the games led by Mickey Harte & Jim McGuiness predominately and fair play to them…

But back to the replay got to believe Mayo can only improve this Saturday & how deflated will the Dubs feel??? The Kerry Mayo drawn game last year mirrored the game Sunday so much, will we get a repeat in the replay….;)

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 01/09/2015 11:25:29    1779697

I think a lot of the negativity towards this game is way over the top. Yes both teams concentrated on stopping the opposition rather than went out to win the game which was a pity but we finally got a close game between 2 of the genuine contenders. I have to say while some of it was a little bit OTT it was great to see some old school hard hits going in as in recent years the game has been sanitised so much. Before next year's season the GAA needs to bring in rule for retrospective suspensions for diving as this is an embarrassment to the game.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 01/09/2015 12:22:42    1779777

The amount of threads on this match is crazy, embarrassing stuff. Move on is right. The only thing that really annoyed me was the Cooper incident, the other ones I can forget about. Connolly will probably get off and if he does it doesn't bother me, I don't want to be talking about ifs and buts, may the best team win, end of story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 01/09/2015 13:37:04    1779873

http://bit.ly/1KDD3Lx />
Mayo Dublin lads things are getting a bit heated over the game but don't forget it is ONLY a game of football , here's a video to show we all had the craic together after the game with Elmo and Shane Lowry with no bad blood whatsoever between us that's what it's all about at the end of the day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2015 17:40:50    1780143

Don't mind Elmore and Lowry. Fat Larry and DB are the main men when it comes to all things GAA.

Anyway, back to this match. Aido is going to score 3-2 on Sunday and Cillian to score nought 11 from frees. Should do the trick nicely. Will Kerry be able for us I wonder......

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 01/09/2015 21:06:01    1780273

I actually think Dublin are missing O Gara at the minute, a bit of force up front. With all due respect to Rock, he is a fantastic footballer but I have little doubt an O Gara would have pierced holes in the Mayo defence. Mayo would have had no one defensively to deal with him, Cafferkey probably would have been given the job. I think Dublin are missing that bit of power inside. I can't believe I am picking holes in the Dublin forward line but I do think it is an area they are lacking.

Elvisahaha (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 02/09/2015 08:47:55    1780348

Yes EOG is missed. Amongst all the posting on non football stuff, have to acknowledge that Dublin forwards did hit some great scores from play. Kilkenny /Connolly/Brogan/Andrews hit lovely scores.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 02/09/2015 11:21:54    1780488