AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Thought mayo started trying to close out the game with 20 minutes left, madness.
Very harsh on seamus o Shea , Cooper made a meal of it. More football cr@p! Great bench, us, substitutes a1. Up the dubs!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 05/09/2015 20:57:16    1783024

Seamie o'shea going off was the turning point. Dublin got a foothold in midfield and mayo collapsed.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 05/09/2015 21:22:02    1783047

Mayo threw the game away, all our midfielders off the pitch and then kicked long ball down to midfield where Dublin had no opposition and they ran riot, the Mayo management are to blame for this defeat, they showed their lack of gameplans and tactics in the League where Dublin hammered us and Tyrone frustrated and beat us, the Connacht matches were a smoke screen, Donegal were tired after beating Galway 1 week earlier so it was a false dawn, Dublin are no world beaters and Mayo should have beaten them on both days, again management are to blame, sick of this nonsense 'we'll be back next year' bull, these lads are 5 or 6 years giving up their lives for the cause, will they have the stomach for another year, I don't know but either way I don't support this current management setup, you can be as fit as you like but you need gamelan and tactics from management to win titles and they don't have that, time for them to go? Yes

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 06/09/2015 09:19:12    1783106

Mayo don't have the firepower to win an AI. Again the free count kept them ticking over. Dublin brought on a few rolls royces, pressed the turbo button and ran riot. This is an excellent Mayo team but lacking the killer edge up front. Dublin can afford to have their top forwards, like Flynn and DC, not playing and still nail 3-15. A lot of people question their strength in depth but I think that was answered on the pitch yesterday. Mayo still very much a top 3 side and with the likes of Parsons and DOC coming through will still be in the mix next year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/09/2015 09:50:33    1783115

And thats how ye do the Ballymun Walk :))) g'wan the lads!! Thrilled to get the chance to take on the mighty Kerry. Gonna be some few weeks. My MOTM prob Fenton....or MDMA....what a time to return to form. Hopefully he finds that form again for the final. Commiserations to mayo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2015 13:05:02    1783229

The key moment was when Mayo scored the goal and went 4 points up, they had the chance to capitalise further, but got sloppy and wasted a few potential scoring passages of play. This a period where a team should kick on and win, but this is ultimately where the game turned.

Like it or lump it, there was very little between the two sides up until the Mayo goal. Once Dublin got their first goal, it was curtains for Mayo as Dublin got a new lease of life and are extremely potent when this happens. Overall Dublin's scores seems to come a lot easier than Mayo, and generally the sides who score more easily wins.

Dublin were the better side in the end, and fair play to them. It's great to see Ciaran Kilkenny back to his best, a superb footballer.

Shidoshi (Donegal) - Posts: 85 - 06/09/2015 13:14:06    1783236

Seamus O se going off was a blessing. He was way out of his depth and we went 4 points up after he left

sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 06/09/2015 13:21:23    1783242

Absolutely gutted.. I truly believed Mayo had shown they had enough gile heart & never say die attitude along with enough quality to do it this year but no.

For 55mins they looked spot on, it was strange really as SOS going off was the catalyst to us going in front but also us being wide open at the back I felt.. I would agree he hasn't had his best 2 games in a Mayo shirt against the Dubs but it was the fact our cover in the middle Barry had started.. & then Tom P is subed & the engine room that has been the focal point of the season is gone..

The shape disappeared & the decision making also became inept almost a twin of the Dubs of last Sunday in the last 10...;( I thought Andy Moran was a big plus coming on up top but you always knew that holes might appear at the back as we risked more forwards. As Brolly said we had to keep the sweeper covering in our half back line & we just didn't which was very poor IMO...

But anyway fair play to Dublin they deserved the win & I hope & think they'll go onto win it..

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 06/09/2015 14:02:52    1783262

A good win for us considering 2 of our big game players Connolly and Flynn weren't really at the races. I'm sure they'll both be back to their best for the final which would be a huge boost for us, Kerry tend to bring out the big performances in us. Fingers crossed COS isn't carrying too serious a knock.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 06/09/2015 14:10:03    1783264

What a game - fair play to both sets of players. Ultimately the best team won out.

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 06/09/2015 14:21:34    1783273

giveballaghback

Connollys name did not appear on the 26 player list named by Dublin, under the new rules the penalty for playing a player not named on the panel of 26 is forfeiture of the game

You'll have to try something else to satisfy your disappointment.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 06/09/2015 14:25:53    1783275

It pains me to say it but I have to agree with Brolly. Poor last quarter from Mayo. They just seemed so disorganised and didn't know how to deploy the sweeper. Don't appear to have the mental toughness required when the chips are down.

Another year gone, and sad to say, "everyone's favourite losers"

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 06/09/2015 14:32:13    1783279

I think the dubs will have to be worried about the high free count! Ya have to play the referee who ever it is and it seems ye a too susceptible to fouling especially with in scoring range which was a big help for us in both games. I can see Kerry exploiting it you watch donaghy and Aidan O'shea play full forward O'shea doesn't get a lot of the call from the refs whereas if the full back wins the ball against donaghy it is near always a free in!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/09/2015 14:32:23    1783280

People of Dublin I love you......

Philly McMahon = hero

Hard luck to Mayo four points up I thought you's had it but goals win games.

Buzzing for the final bring on the Kingdom

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/09/2015 14:46:14    1783291

Well done to the Dubs. Better team won in a good clean game. Philly McMahon really put us back in our box!

Mayo's marking of Philly was shocking to say the least. He had the freedom of Croker. Aidan O'Shea wasn't bothered with picking him up. No midfielder on pitch for last 15 mins was shocking decision by the management.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 07/09/2015 08:40:56    1783653

Delighted to get over the line and especially being 4 down I thought Mayo might close it out but we stuck in there and got a sniff of a goal and took that chance and got the momentum to push on finish off Mayo this time. Excellent game overall and some fantastic point scoring from both sides. Dublin v Kerry to renew the rivalry on Sunday week :) Bring them on.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/09/2015 09:41:05    1783693

Delighted to get through to the all ireland final
great game of football
end to end stuff first half and second half we used our bench to great effect.
Always felt we were playing far better than last weekend
even when mayo went 4 points up
there was still 20 minutes, we were far more composed on the ball than the week before
and mayo used their trump card andy moran after only 3 mins of second half
whereas we kept 3 for the last 20 mins.
paddy andrews was brilliant for the second week running his accuracy was lethal.
kilkenny again stood up in the first half and took the game to them.
Thaught fenton had a really good game was more composed and dictating play.
mccauley delivered a big performance when he came in and looked really up for it
and had a big part in the first goal and scores after.
felt gavin made a great call bringing fitzimons in for cooper, as moran had made big impact on cooper
and fitzimons done really well on him.
what can you say about kev mac, some finish.
Hard luck to mayo.
A great win and a third all ireland final in 5 years to look forward to.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/09/2015 11:20:27    1783803