AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

It is quite satisfying to see some posters, Dubs particularly, hoisted by their own petard. Dublin gave 70 mins of the most dirtiest cynical play you will ever see on a pitch and their fans cannot stomach this fact or their own hypocrisy. Their way to deal with is denial, denial, denial.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/08/2015 20:29:18    1778340

benched

It appears Mes that in this instance yous are destined to play Tyrone to Mayo's Monaghan

Ha! Very good. You might be right!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 20:30:51    1778344

Poor game, cynical fouling etc..... Still was a great occasion and am lucky to be able to watch 3 semi finals. Good luck both of ye.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 30/08/2015 20:33:50    1778348

Dublin's penalty .... foul committed outside the box but Flynn blatantly tripped.. where was the bkack card?????

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 30/08/2015 20:42:33    1778352

Any notice that Paul Flynn was fouled before entering the square. Should have been a free in & not a penalty. Referee was poor today.

geoffmcgonagle (USA) - Posts: 54 - 30/08/2015 20:43:38    1778354

A lot of Dublin fans on here blaming Mayo for not cometing fouls in front of the goals McQuillan probably called half of what Dublin cometided Have to admit the black card was ridiculas Not near the worst

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/08/2015 20:43:58    1778356

was impressed with Patrick Durkin Today. for a newcomer he did not look out of place at all. also thought Drake played quite well. (where did he come from ?)

Mayo's subs actually made a bigger impact than Dublin's. I think it was a mistake by Dublin mgmt taking off Rock. I know he missed a free but that will knock his confidence and as was shown, you can't rely on Cluxton any more. If Connolly is missing the next day then Rock will have to play.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/08/2015 20:58:42    1778380

A mix of emotions after todays game to say the least. Delighted that we got back into it at the end but can't understand how we didn't push up and pressurise them until the 60th minute. When we did Dublin didn't really know what to do. The shot taking by us today was really poor as well.

Clondalkindub, you would want to get your eyes checked. I do not get this argument about foul counts seeing as Mayo were fouled constantly when we got into the 45, which was stupid since we were not going anywhere fast, and the ref let ye away with a lot more. Don't think either were penalties either personally. O'Sullivan should have got yellow carded in the first half (technically not a black) which would have meant a deserved sending off in the second but there was no way MacCauley should have got black carded. Long story short the ref was poor in my opinion.

I have to say I was really disappointed with some of Dublin's play, especially Cooper and McMahon and I'm under no illusion that we are angels. The stamp on O'Connor was very bad in all honesty and how the ref gave a yellow is beyond me. Not a clue what happened with Connolly or O'Carroll incidents. Will have to watch again though

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 30/08/2015 21:00:06    1778381

First off yes it was a cynical game and that is something i don't like seeing, cooper should have got straight red, mayo player (name escape me) should also have got red , neither penalty was a penalty actually oshea probably was more close to call than either given (wasn't either but that could be excused) McMahon clearly went to headbutt aos and id say it will be looked at by cccc, roc needing 10 stitches is a disgrace and i hope somewhere there is a vid of this so culprit can be punished. As a neutral i enjoyed the last 30 mins some excellent scores by dubs a brogans was class, then the mayo fight back and dubs collapsed, great to watch, but both teams need to cop on for replay, i am hoping to get to go next Saturday.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 21:07:19    1778389

Well played muckross mr 3700 posts. I wonder would you say that to my face?

jbez2ezy (Longford) - Posts: 7 - 30/08/2015 21:07:26    1778390

Clondalkin
Dublin's indiscipline in the back line was the reason 1-10 came from placed balls. Mayo's defence and tackling was much better and had a bit more discipline
J Cooper was reckless today , very dangerous. When Connolly was sent off he looked like a man itching for a fight.
To me ( and I might be wrong) Dublin were to blame for a lot of what went wrong. I know it takes two to tango but after all the talk over the last two years about Dublin ( pure footballing team , no dirty play and all this) I wonder where it has all gone wrong? Did the rot set in last year when Donegal beat them.
Also a poster on the HS blaming J McGuinness for all that is wrong in football now , please cop on
Nobody asked any other county to copy J McGuinness's style of play plus he is not coaching any of these teams.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 30/08/2015 21:09:33    1778398

Connolly absolutely agree, no penalty but clearly a black card for the blatant trip outside box, he got it wrong on both

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 21:12:05    1778402

Bad game in every respect, most common sense Dublin fans know we got lucky with Philly and Johnny today staying on the pitch .But a mayo lad got lucky after what he did to Roc . Some of our tackling was schoolboy, at 7 points up we blew it, anyone blaming mc Quillan for our inept display bad tackling and hits should watch a different sport. We were the authors of our own downfall. We needed that draw today because we would not have beaten Kerry with that sort of attitude.
I understand Ulster lads frustration because some on here had lectured ye, we were muck today and now have to stand up to the criticism.
Although the Meath boys starting threads about us is hilarious. I'll take it from a Tyrone or Donegal lad because they have been at the but end of it all year , but not them boys.
Dubs won't go hiding we will take it on the chin and move on.
Ulsterman you can now have your 10 min's of fame and I probably won't be able to argue with a lot of your points.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/08/2015 21:18:56    1778413

jbez2ezy
County: Longford

Jaysus man.

Give over.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 21:19:19    1778414

30/08/2015 21:07:26
jbez2ezy

Well played muckross mr 3700 posts. I wonder would you say that to my face

Cop yourself on man its a forum your on. If you cant take it dont dish it.

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 30/08/2015 21:22:37    1778418

jbez2ezy

Tough words from the Longford Slasher!!

Listen laddie, HS is for grown ups who can take it as well as hand it out. If that is too much for you then check out The Den which has a forum more in keeping for someone your age.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/08/2015 08:30:22    1778461

Well, just coming down after all the excitement of yesterday!

First off, Dublin will be very disappointed that they aren't in an All-Ireland final today, as they were the better team for most of the game, but became obsessed with preventing Mayo getting to goal, rather than simply playing their own game. The referee was poor for both sides IMO (both penalties were iffy, while there were a series of incidents which went unseen) and I suppose the CCCC will be pretty busy this week.

From a Mayo perspective, it's hard to know what to make of that performance. Dublin evidently had their homework done on the Mayo attack, as they were trying to make them shoot from range. That approach was undone a bit by some over zealous tackling inside the 40. Mayo didn't seem to know how to respond in the first half and lobbed too many aimless balls in the direction of AOS, and even when he won the ball, he had no support breaking off the shoulder (best seen in the first-half penalty claim). Their shooting was also shocking and was a throwback to the bad old days of missing simple chances in front of the posts.

On the other hand, some of the Mayo subs really made a huge difference when they came on, Barry Moran foremost among them. When they started running at the Dublin defence towards the end, the Dubs weren't sure what to do (Cluxton plainly imploded). It should perhaps be a lesson to the Mayo management that they should tweak the overly cautious approach they adopted yesterday.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/08/2015 08:36:17    1778466

No matter what, it has to be said this was a very exciting game with a packed house again for the replay. Disappointed with the Dubs for blowing their lead, disappointed with a few eejits that should know better. But still got a chance to redeem ourselves in Semi-Final MKII.
But it does seem like now after every big game there is a load of nonsense about borderline criminality being committed on the pitch. Every decision is dissected, missed calls, blah blah blah and people wonder why the game has such negative air about it - because it was always there. So welcome to the modern game get over it and enjoy.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 31/08/2015 08:58:19    1778485

A mighty game of football. Pundits were saying the first half was poor. I loved it - big hits, incident, some decent scores.

An excellent game, well done to both sides.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 31/08/2015 09:01:39    1778490

Good and fair summary Gleebo. I would go along with all of that. Dublin could have problems next week if ROC, Connolly, McMahon (if cited) are all out. I would expect Mayo to kick on if that is the case. Mentally Dublin will be happy that they held on under those conditions but too many star players didn't do it, Flynn, Connolly, MDM. Looking forward to another tussle. Some atmosphere yesterday.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 09:06:37    1778496