AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

You're right JimmyK everyone else was watching the All Ireland Semi Final between Mayo and Dublin You should let us know what match you were watching

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/08/2015 19:14:07    1778264

I'm looking forward to hearing the two Leinster mouthpieces on The Sunday Game tonight - will they call out all the cynicism displayed by Dublin today? Similar to Tiernan McCann's totally inexcusable dive, Philip McMahon went down holding his head after minimal contact this week. Also I find it interesting how the Black Card was introduced to address what was seen as "Tyrone cynicism " and yet it seems to be the other high profile counties that should be impacted most by it but are consistently let off. Kerry could/should have had 4 black cards last week and Dublin got off very lightly today.

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 30/08/2015 19:19:27    1778267

Well that was stressful, advantage Mayo, I think we've missed the boat, serious implosion and Connolly gone, Mayo big favourites now!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/08/2015 19:28:52    1778274

MuckrossHead

The biggest talking point for me would not be the cynicism shown but instead the collapse at the end.

How did the Dublin lads see it?

Throw the book at us. We've always been like this to a certain extent since the Gilroy days.

From my reading of this board though I think we're baring the brunt of the criticism for what was an awful cynical game from both teams. I'll admit to having not watched it back but all the talk is about the dirty cynical Dubs (fair enough) whereas Mayo played their part in that side of the game imo.

Mayo should win the replay because as it stands they are the better side in my opinion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 19:29:21    1778275

Floops

The ref gave wrong decisions against both sides, also rough stuff from both sides which suited Dublin less. The hand wringing going on here is embarrassing. it was a hard fought game and fair draw but Mayo have lost their chance I feel - that's two bad performances in a row from Dublin wont happen again.

I love the optimism man! I hope you're right but cannot see it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 19:33:02    1778281

Mesamis you're probably right.

And to back that up. He gave two penalties that shouldn't have been given.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 30/08/2015 19:34:52    1778286

I don't watch games with hatred glasses on, cluiche..

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 30/08/2015 19:35:10    1778287

How can we win when the ref gives the opposition everything Cilian O Conor 1-11 from place balls shocking , we can't buy a fee in front of the posts. 2 black cards and a red for what? Nothing. Posters somehow only see one way , the scores we took all day were class Mayo kicked frees all day shocking.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2015 19:40:32    1778293

MesAmis

You are right that Mayo were also guilty of some cynical play (there was dive for the penalty and an incident involving Rory O Carroll) and we should call those Mayo players up on that. However from watching on TV, I would objectively say that Dublin were the main culprits today.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/08/2015 19:46:21    1778299

The peno out the end was a joke he runs into 4 Dublin players and hits the deck and the ref gives it my god almighty.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2015 19:50:46    1778303

Jack_Goff

Mesamis you're probably right.

And to back that up. He gave two penalties that shouldn't have been given.

I thought are peno was just outside the box from the replay I saw.

Haven't seen the replay of Mayo's one yet.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 19:51:48    1778305

With regards the Connolly red- sky showed it from the camera behind the goal and although it was a distance away you can see Connolly punch at least twice when the pair were making out on the ground. Two decent punches too as he was slightly up on his knees at the time and you just saw his arm raise and come down with force on two occasions that I saw. Gotta love skys coverage...

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/08/2015 19:53:10    1778307

bennybunny

MesAmis

You are right that Mayo were also guilty of some cynical play (there was dive for the penalty and an incident involving Rory O Carroll) and we should call those Mayo players up on that. However from watching on TV, I would objectively say that Dublin were the main culprits today.

Fair enough man.

I haven't seen it back as of yet.

In anyways we'll see what happens in the week with suspensions for the Dubs, as it seems everything that Dublin did was caught on camera. We're probably looking at 3 suspensions versus none but I think even with a full compliment Dublin just aren't playing well enough at the moment.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 19:56:09    1778312

Clondalkindub, here's my take on it, you might disagree? Mayo got 1-9 from placed balls, 1-8 from frees or penalties. Only missed one free on top of that which was one taken quickly and it came to nothing. Dublin 1-1 from frees and penalties plus 3 misses by Cluxton. So scoreable frees/penalties, Mayo 1-9 Dublin 1-4. Probably fair enough on the balance of it given how clumsy and reckless Dublin's tackling was at times.

Other thing is some people are questioning the penalties. My take on it. The contact with Flynn may have been outside but for me he was almost certain to score a goal. Colm Boyle was less certain to score and as a back would be much happier winning a penalty than taking a shot on himself. I thought he went down softly enough. I like to see penalties given where a certain goal chance is denied more so than a clumsy tackle inside the penalty area where there's barely a goal chance. So Mayo possibly benefitted.

Lots of off-the-ball incidents too. Yellow cards, ball cards, red cards, rumours of a disputed Bernard Brogan point. All things considered, the refereeing decisions while incorrect at times, seemed to balance themselves out with Mayo coming out better in the second half and Dublin in the first.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 30/08/2015 19:57:58    1778313

Just in.

Gutted.

Absolutely gutted.

Feels like we lost the game today.

What was Connolly sent off for ?

When you are at the game there are things you can't see that people at home can see via replays. I notice there is alot of people talking about Philly McMahon and Johnny Cooper ?

Didnt see the incidents people are talking about but needless to say if any of them did take place then i cant and wont condone it.

Will have to watch the game back.

I woke up this morning wanting to be in an all ireland final first and formost tomorrow morning, But i didnt want to get up tomorrow with that horrible feeling of not having a final to look forward to either, So i suppose i'm happy we are still alive.

That said, You should not be dropping a 7 point lead in the last ten minutes. Its as simple as that.

Mayo will be buzzing after this and we will be deflated.

Will be a tough ask to pick ourselves back up from that. Fairly demoralizing to be completely honest.

That added to the fact we will be missing Connolly and probably Cooper and McMahon again and its a disaster.

We will likely go into the game as underdogs and everyone will expect us to lose.

So, Give it everything again next week and lets just see what happens.

Up the Dubs.

I wish the Mayo people a safe journey back home.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/08/2015 20:02:26    1778319

It was 7 to 1-7 at ht 6 of Mayo's scores were frees in front of the post all ours were out on the half way line he kept Mayo in it with soft frees all day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2015 20:09:06    1778325

The peno out the end was a joke he runs into 4 Dublin players and hits the deck and the ref gives it my god almighty.

Both penalty calls were dodgy to be fair.

To blame the ref for what went on in this game is truly laughable.

It wasn't the ref that went out to me the game ungovernable, it was the players.

Some of the antics & behaviour today, from both teams, was disgraceful. I have never watched a game of 70 minutes that contained as much bad sportsmanship as this one.

You could line up the Ulster Championship from end to end and it would have been nowhere near.

Muck, I believe, is the term you like to use clondalkin.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2015 20:09:33    1778326

It appears Mes that in this instance yous are destined to play Tyrone to Mayo's Monaghan

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 30/08/2015 20:11:31    1778328

Dublin's indiscipline cost them a place in the final against Kerry that they are hardly ready for, so in that sense they were lucky that it was a draw, because if Mayo had not made a comeback Kerry would beat them easily. If you were to look at last weeks semi both Tyrone and Kerry played more as a team that were sure of what they were doing, neither of today's teams would have beaten either Tyrone or Kerry on today's performance.
Whichever team improves in this area will win the replay and you would have to think that Mayo have more room to improve, both from developing their own strategy and exploiting some obvious Dublin weaknesses. Couple of the Mayo lads went missing today (one important player got drawn into a macho battle at the expense of his own performance), being ruthless is not all about the physical battle.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/08/2015 20:21:32    1778335

MesAmis

I love the optimism man! I hope you're right but cannot see it!

Have faith MesAmis, it was Dublins actions that dictated the game not visa versa.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/08/2015 20:27:30    1778338