Dublin v Meath

WaynoI

''This game is all about Dublin, It really is.''

Erm okay, explain that one if you will?

It's all about Dublin....

Simply put, Dublin can make this game as easy as they want for themselves, Or as difficult as they want. We will either start like a train and destroy you early on, Or we will just keep ourselves ticking over until Meath run themselves into the ground, then pounce. Either way the result come half 3 on Sunday will a Dublin win, And nothing Meath will be able to do, Will stop us. In my opinion.

I've been wrong before, I could be again. Either way the talking is almost over.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2014 21:48:15    1621373

Best of luck to Meath on Sunday. Nothing against the Dubs but we need someone other than Dublin winning Leinster for a start.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 18/07/2014 21:51:02    1621378

I will be surprised if both Kevin Mac and P Andrews start.

Rest of the team picked itself.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 18/07/2014 21:56:41    1621380

That suits us fine all the pressure on Dublin. All this talk about Dublin at their best would steam roll Meath. Well let me tell you Dublin will have to be at their best actually very best

Here listen bud,

Dublin wont necessarily "have to be at their actual very best" to get over this test.

We weren't at our very best last year by any means, Infact we where average, But we just waited until ye wore yourselves out and pounced and won. Don't see how Meath have improved that much (or Dublin declined) to suggest it'll be any different this year.

I dont envisage a great Dublin display, I can see us doing enough. But we will still have extra gears to find after this game.

We've played better teams than Meath in recent years, not played at our very best and won including last years all ireland final. We are well capable of beating you boys without having to play out of our skins, Think we proved as much last year, And we will prove it again on Sunday.

As for pressure all being on us, Meh, There is a little bit of pressure on us. But we're experienced. We've been here before and got the job done. Those players know what to expect on Sunday. They wont be kept away with fear or pressure of expectation tomorrow night.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2014 21:58:10    1621382

I'd expect at least one change in the forwards. Mannion could count himself unlucky. Gavin obviously starting with power and then bring on the faster players when the game opens up. I still think Kev Mac is more effective when introduced, O'Gara definitely is. We must do better from the start and establish a foothold in the game early. We will only get away with so many lethargic starts. Good strong side, a change or two likely but we have a lot to add to it as the game progresses.

Blue win for me!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 18/07/2014 22:00:07    1621386

Paddy Andrews must be absolutely flying in training, to be keeping Mannion, Costello, Rock and O'Gara out of the starting 15.

Adds some physicality but a very clever footballer also.

Expecting Alan Brogan and Connolly to make a big impression tomorrow.
Both have been relatively quiet so far.

We have some speedmeisters on the bench with Jack and Mannion, and fully expect Costello and EOG to play a big part during the game as well.

Lots of options which is great.
Gonna be an energy sapping game in this humidity so our bench will be needed for sure.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 19/07/2014 08:16:13    1621389

Nothing spectacular about the Dublin team no Costello in particular. 2 brogans should be kept quite by Reilly and keoghan . if Meath want to lay down a marker this is the perfect opportunity.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2014 08:44:53    1621397

Waynol from your perspective its all about Dublin from mine its all about Meath . do what you want it won't make a difference, if Meath play for the full_70 we will be damn hard beat, that's all we can ask at this stage of development.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2014 08:54:31    1621399

Hope the ref keeps on eye on Mcmenamen on sunday,he tends to overcarry the ball an awful lot.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/07/2014 10:25:21    1621412

Gamble starting Brogan

Bernard Brogan's 2014 season to-date:

League semi final vs Cork, 26 mins, 0-4 (0-3f)
League final vs Derry, 70 mins, 1-6 (0-3f)
Leinster championship vs Laois, 23 mins, 0-1 (0-1f)

A total of 119 mins competitive action coming up against a Meath defender, maybe Reilly or Keoghan, who have been training for this since last October and have played all the league games and the championship games.

I really can't see Brogan having much of an impact with that kind of preparation. He might make a sizeable contribution from frees and perhaps he'll get on the end of a few attacks if things pan out well for him.

However this is one-sixth of the attacking threat and I think Meath will cope with it.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 19/07/2014 10:30:25    1621414

Suppose I better get this out of the way, prediction = Dublin to win handy.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2014 10:42:22    1621416

Meath by 3...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/07/2014 11:26:50    1621422

ziggy320001

Hope the ref keeps on eye on Mcmenamen on sunday,he tends to overcarry the ball an awful lot.

You forgot to mention that he also likes to bounce the ball twice!!

link Skip to 1:09:30

link Skip to 9:50

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 19/07/2014 11:29:23    1621424

Royal

If thats what you think then fair enough. Its your view, I cant dismiss that.

At the end of the day one of us will be right, One of us will be wrong. Thats all. No big deal.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2014 11:43:00    1621433

I really can't see Brogan having much of an impact with that kind of preparation. He might make a sizeable contribution from frees and perhaps he'll get on the end of a few attacks if things pan out well for him.

Write him off at your peril.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2014 11:44:19    1621434

Htaem let's hope your streak continues :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2014 11:57:16    1621440

Waynol I'm not saying Dublin won't win but if Meath play for 70+ they will be hard to beat. The confidence is high that we are a match for Dublin. Only after tomorrow will we know exactly where we are in the building process.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2014 12:05:05    1621442

royaldunne

Htaem let's hope your streak continues :).

Dublin will win though, be it the easy way or the hard way, streak?, what streak? ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2014 12:06:30    1621444

royaldunne

Tell you what RD, the omens get better, I'll be wearing the same jersey I wore for the finals in 2010 and 2001 (which incredibly still fits me even though it's only a medium, I generally wear XL). Wasn't able to wear it in 12 or 13 because I got a little too fond of the salt and pepper chips out of the chinese but I decided to be in shape for this year's Leinster final and have dropped the pounds, let's hope all my hard work pays off :-)

Lads and lassies if yous have a KEPAK, wear it!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2014 12:38:12    1621451

Htaem the streak since armagh. Or was that you in Carlow :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2014 12:38:54    1621452