Dublin v Meath

cuederocket

1620887 Well said doublehop.Its ridiculous any poster sledging another because of what county he/she comes from.Or because of the lack of success a county has.Pathetic really.

+1

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 18/07/2014 09:58:42    1620933

I didnt realise Newman would be fit. A serious plus to Meath. Do Meath supporters feel that David Bray should start or is he not fully fit?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/07/2014 10:41:25    1620963

tiobraid

I didnt realise Newman would be fit. A serious plus to Meath. Do Meath supporters feel that David Bray should start or is he not fully fit?

He is fit but he's had hamstring problems all year so fingers crossed that he last's the full 70, David Bray has been plagued with injury since 2010 as far as I remember which is hard luck on any player and he's lost his place as a result but he is a talented footballer so I'm happy enough to have him on the bench.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 10:53:17    1620975

I'm happy enough with the team MOD has named, I think we'll line out pretty close to what was selected unlike the Kildare game where there was raft of changes. I'd expect G. Reilly to move further out the field with Bray and Newman definitely in the FF line possibly joined by McMahon and Carroll taking more of an 11 role. G. Reilly really needs to step up this year because the Dubs have plenty of other Meath forwards to watch for not just him so there's no excuse for having a poor game, he won't be getting any special attention.

I don't think we're particularly weak from 1-9 but there two main concerns are the full back line without Keogan and our fitness around centre-field. The FB line will be in for a busy day no question but that goes for every FB line in Ireland who comes up against the Dubs so I just hope ours hold out strong, centre-field is more of a worry because if the lads get tired after 50mins I'm not sure what we're going to do.

Finally = C'MON THE ROYALS!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 11:02:45    1620987

Meath team named, As expected to be fair.

Dublin team named between 9pm and 10pm tonight!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2014 11:50:56    1621028

Kenny , Flanagan , David Bray , Joey Wallace and McDonagh will need to make an impact when they come on

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 18/07/2014 12:44:58    1621082

stekhli

Kenny , Flanagan , David Bray , Joey Wallace and McDonagh will need to make an impact when they come on

Ah it'll probably be too late for us by the time most of them come on but sure look it, it's a bit of experience for our young players and it's meant to be a nice day aswell on sunday so we'll enjoy the day out.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 12:58:11    1621085

No disrespect to the current meath players or posters, but if this current Dublin team cant beat an under strength meath team, then we don't deserve to go on and win SAM.
Simple as that in my opinion. Bit harsh but that is an honest opinion.

This young meath team are missing a few and are relatively inexperienced, so for them to beat the current Dubs team will go down as a massive achievement for them. And good luck to them if they pull it off. They are progressing nicely and will be ahead of schedule if they win Leinster on Sunday. Most level headed royal fans will agree to this also.

All we need is for us to have an off day and for meath to play out of their skins.
Stranger things have happened...

Should be a great occasion either way, as most Dublin v Meath encounters are.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 18/07/2014 13:09:12    1621098

Fionn

No disrespect to the current meath players or posters, but if this current Dublin team cant beat an under strength meath team, then we don't deserve to go on and win SAM.

I have no issue with Dublin's confidence, you's should win the game handy enough but I don't think we're too under strength, ok we're missing two regulars in Wallace and Gillespe (who will be a loss around the middle).

But on the plus side, we have O'Rourke back for the first time in 3 seasons which is a big boost around the middle, we have Tobin back who was in Australia last year, D. Bray is back from a long list of injuries and we also have some good new players in McDonagh and McMahon. So we do have a better squad than last but the big problem for us is obviously that Dublin are on fire and have beaten every top team in the country and more often than not quite comfortably, so we have a task on our hands.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 13:26:52    1621114

Htaem,

Meath are only going to keep improving imo with the crop of youngsters on your panel
MOD is doing a good job so far, and a blind man could see he is making progress with ye.

I just think this year is a year too early for this crop of meath players.

In saying that, not too many teams will fancy playing meath this year in the knockout stages.

Just an honest opinion. In no way meant as arrogant or over confident.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 18/07/2014 14:08:27    1621146

Htaem

Fionn

I have no issue with Dublin's confidence, you's should win the game handy enough but I don't think we're too under strength, ok we're missing two regulars in Wallace and Gillespe (who will be a loss around the middle).

But on the plus side, we have O'Rourke back for the first time in 3 seasons which is a big boost around the middle, we have Tobin back who was in Australia last year, D. Bray is back from a long list of injuries and we also have some good new players in McDonagh and McMahon. So we do have a better squad than last but the big problem for us is obviously that Dublin are on fire and have beaten every top team in the country and more often than not quite comfortably, so we have a task on our hands.

I agree with not missing many but we can't afford to miss any. Gillespie is our best midfielder and Wallace is a very dangerous forward. We're also missing Davy Dalton and Cillian O'Sullivan. Both would have been pushing for a starting place.

I'm also happy to have O'Rourke back but he doesn't have the legs for midfield. Neither himself and Meade are very mobile so who's going to track MacAuley? I think thats are biggest concern. Dublin will over run us in midfield leaving spare men free in the forwards. We have two fetchers in midfield but what we really need is someone with mobility and strength. Dublin won't need to field ball as MacAuley and Cian O'Sullivan will be able to sprint out to the space on the wings in front of their counterparts and collect Cluxton's accurate kickouts easily.

If you can prevent the sort kickouts to Dublins midfield and defenders they will then switch to trying to pick out Flynn and Connolly who are both excellent in the air. Tobin and Menton have the height to do this but they need to be very fast on there feet to track them. I think Tobin will impress a lot of people in this game as he's a very tight marker for a half back. Looking forward to seeing him compete with either Connolly or Flynn.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 18/07/2014 14:10:47    1621147

It's about the here and now for me , I hate hearing "ah its too early for this young team but it's a team for the future" bs IMO it's all about Sunday for Meath cause you never know what's gonna happen in the future.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2014 14:21:01    1621151

Fionn

Oh I know, I don't find anything arrogant about your posts at all Fionn and you may be right, this may be a year or two too early for this Meath team. But where we differ slightly is that I think our biggest problem is how bloody good the Dubs are, not so much our own inexperience.

As for us improving, I hope you're right, I hope we do continue to improve and properly challenge the best teams in the country over the next few years but there's no guarantees. Certainly the mentality in the squad is better than it's been for many years under MOD but talent is what it all boils down to and unfortunately that doesn't grow on trees, but fingers crossed anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 14:23:18    1621153

Fionn,

You hit the nail on the head.

Call it arrogance, Call it cockiness, Call it what you like. (don't care either way)

But deep down, every single Dublin fan going into this game will be thinking the same way as you there. If Dublin have any serious asperations of retaining their All Ireland crown, They will dispose of Meath.

This game is all about Dublin, It really is. Htaem, I'd like to think you and I have a bit of a rapport on this through the years, so i hope you in particular dont take offence to that view..

Dublin can make it as easy, or as difficult as they like for themselves. That's the bottom line. It really really is.

Individually, This Dublin side ranges from good-sensational in all positions, They have a bench that ranges from good-sensational also. There are no, what i would call "average" footballers on this Dublin panel like in previous years where any number of average players would get on the Dublin panel. But also as a TEAM UNIT, This is a sensational TEAM. And while teams win games, individual moments from sensational players in games can be the difference too, For me, Dublin have too many of these types of players, for them to lose. And Meath, unfortunately for them dont have enough.

Meath are coming on, But they are not in the same calibre as The Dubs yet.

Alot of posters here use the term "If Meath are to win, They will need this Dublin side to have an off day" - I'd agree. But this isnt Pillar Caffrey era. This is a focused bunch of players. They have won so much already and the hunger is still there. They have had off days and still scoring upwards of 24 25 scores a game. They are still coming out with "we have to improve" quotes. This is not a team willing to sit and read the papers and let their heads grow. This team is focused and they will not be looking further than Meath, Any hope that Dublin will maybe not be as focused on this game and their heads may lie further down the line, Is wishful thinking.

This Dublin side is on the ball. From the starters to the guys on the bench. The management. There is no chance that this game will be taken lightly. Fans can get carried away, It will make no difference to the players. The players control the destiny of a game, And Dublins players are ready.

Class and experience will prevail once again in my opinion. And Dublin will book their quarter final appearance on Sunday, Winning their 9th leinster in 10 years in the process.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2014 14:28:18    1621157

highkings,
I think Tobin will impress a lot of people in this game as he's a very tight marker for a half back. Looking forward to seeing him compete with either Connolly or Flynn.

What do you think the match ups will be.?

I think Tobin will be put on Connolly.

Cooper on Bray with ROC on Mickey Newman.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 18/07/2014 14:31:54    1621159

Yeah we probably a year behind realistically winning Leinster and 2/3 before we could even be considered challenging for the big one
With that all been said there is something about this year that reminds me of 96 . bunch of young lads written off by most. Expected to not reach final and certainly not win it, facing reigning Leinster and all ire champ. Hind sight is a great thing and it is well known now that 96 came too soon as 2 all Ireland's was a bad return for the quality of that team. So if we get beat we can take comfort in that :)
But never look a gift horse in the mouth we in final let's go out to win it.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2014 14:35:43    1621162

wayno

No I take no offence at all wayno lad, honesty is always welcome over false modesty, this is a Dublin team who as you said has no average players on the field, they are either good or sensational and I don't see a problem with a Dub saying that about his own team when it's true.

Your confidence is fully justified, since we beat the Dubs back in 2010 Dublin has only lost 2 championship games and by a combined total of only 4 points and of course you have to go all the way back to 2004 for their second last defeat in Leinster, stats don't lie, that's a fantastic record.

Also there's no reason for Dublin to fear anyone much less Meath because there is an obvious steel to this Dublin team, it's a team bursting at the seams with talent and more importantly champions, the days of Croker capitulations are over.

I'm looking forward to sunday just as much if not more so than last year, I can't wait for it, I love it but being honest while I'm confident that this is a better Meath team than last year, unlike last year I'm not confident about the result, now there's a contradiction I know but that's what I'm thinking.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 14:52:12    1621169

doublehop

You talk a lot of rubbish considering you're from a county that has little to shout about.

You lost the argument in the first sentence bud. The minute you reject an opinion because of the county of the poster you're done as far as I'm concerned. As for the jousting for the top thing I never said that was happening now. I was comparing the unpredictability of the rivalry then as opposed to now. It isn't a fixture which is wildly unpredictable in my opinion but then as you said I am from Kildare so maybe I just don't understand the two teams we constantly play every year.

Okay yes perhaps wrong to dismiss your argument on the basis of your county, but if you look at the evidence of Meath and Dublin games, the fact remains that we still possess a never-say-die attitude despite lacking quality of previous teams. I understand what you're saying that small aspects divided games in 1990s/early 2000s but the games still have an extra spice to them compared to other games in Leinster due to the history of the fixture. Certainly not the same as previous great teams but still, tradition plays a part in ensuring that we will get a performance with the hope of getting a result. I would emphasise hope there as of course Dublin are clear favourites, but sometimes grit and determination can count for a lot and contributes to Meath's refusal to capitulate against Dublin.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 18/07/2014 14:54:42    1621171

HighKings

Centre-field is certainly a concern, particularly on the Dublin kickouts, Kildare ran riot around the middle when our lads got tired and Dublin have the capability to do that all day on sunday. I'd imagine our half backs and forwards will have to a lot of work tracking MDMA and O'Sullivan out to the wings because Meade and O'Rourke won't have the stamina to do that for 70mins, no way.

As for tracking MacAuley's marauding runs, again that could well be a task for the half backs, particularly Keogan who's been put in at 6 to shore up what was a porous half back line. It's all very interesting stuff but we'll only really know when we see the lads line out on sunday who's going where and to do what.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/07/2014 15:00:01    1621173

I'm looking forward to sunday just as much if not more so than last year, I can't wait for it, I love it but being honest while I'm confident that this is a better Meath team than last year, unlike last year I'm not confident about the result, now there's a contradiction I know but that's what I'm thinking.

This is it

We are confident about Dublin winning.

Meath fans like royaldunne are confident Meath will win.

I've no problem with that.

All results are possible right now 2 days the game throws in

We know one of these will happen - Dublin win, Meath win, Draw.

How we feel before the game doesnt matter a jot, Wont affect preperation for either side.

Hopefully itll be a nice day, a big crowd, and a good game of football with a Dublin win (from my perspective, Meath from yours)

Either way we will be back here on Monday debating what went right or wrong for our sides.

I know if we lose i'll be back to congratuate Meath and the lads on here.

Thats what sport and fora is all about.

Very excited though.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2014 15:21:23    1621192