Dublin v Meath

As Meath ever lost three Leinster finals in a row and have the Dubs ever beat Meath three years in a row in a Leinster final?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/07/2014 12:58:05    1621455

I have a sneaky feeling for Meath, going on past games there's usually very little between the sides. Meath have no fear of Dublin and won't be rattled if Dublin get a few scores on them either. Wallace is a huge loss but I think Meath and Kerry were the 2 teams that did their homework on Dublins game plan and were the 2 teams best equipped to nullify it with their scoring power up front.If Meath can win enough breaking ball and put enough pressure on Dublin's kickouts I think they might just have enough to snatch it.
A loss for Dublin wouldn't be the worst thing in the world, it might give them a gentle reminder that nothing is for definite in this game.
Dublin to be ahead at half time, Meath to win at 12/1

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 19/07/2014 13:17:01    1621463

Waynol I'm not saying Dublin won't win but if Meath play for 70+ they will be hard to beat. The confidence is high that we are a match for Dublin. Only after tomorrow will we know exactly where we are in the building process.

If Dublin play for 70+ minutes (which they never do, Its purple patches in games since Jim Gavin took over in the championship, Which there is nothing wrong with so long as we're winning) But yea, If we play for 70 minutes, And dont take our foot off the gas, Then we will win easily enough wether Meath play for 70 mins of not.

While ye played well for 50 mins against us last year, You'd swear we where shooting the lights out. We where only decent against ye in the first 50 mins last year. Nothing special.

At the end of the day, We can only second guess. There are lots of ifs.

If Dublin dont turn up, Meath could beat us.
If Dublin turn up and play in patches, They could win
If Dublin turn up and run amuck, It'll be handy.
If Meath turn up it could make for a difficult afternoon for Dublin

etc etc etc, We wont know for sure till tomorrow.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2014 13:18:58    1621464

As Meath ever lost three Leinster finals in a row and have the Dubs ever beat Meath three years in a row in a Leinster final?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/07/2014 13:24:01    1621465

It's hard to look past Dublin Region. Even though they are well capable of winning the game comfortably I'd be reluctant to bet on it. It'll be great to see a performance like the Meath of old and really put it up to the Dubs. As someone correctly pointed out, Meath are the one county in Leinster who are not intimidated by the Dubs but it's really time they deliver.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 19/07/2014 13:24:15    1621466

OLLIE

No we've never lost 3 Leinster finals in 3 years OLLIE as far as I know, we did lose 5 Leinster finals between 73 and 84 without winning one with the Dubs beating us in 74, 76 & 77.

But interestingly we have beaten the Dubs in 3 consecutive Leinster finals = 86, 87 & 88, the Dubs came close in the 90s though beating us in 94 & 95 but we got over them in 96, so there's plenty of history there. They probably will get the job done tomorrow though, hard to see that Dublin beaten.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2014 13:25:45    1621467

Dublins starting 15 is based on who they want running at a tired defence later in the game as opposed to who's doing better in training!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 19/07/2014 13:28:22    1621468

Royaldunne what players do you think should be starting to make it a spectacular Dublin team?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2014 13:39:05    1621474

Very quiet on here. Could be an ambush in store tomorrow?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 19/07/2014 14:07:10    1621483

Htaem so the Dubs will be looking to make history tomorrow if they beat the Royals for their first three in a row Leinster final victories over Meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/07/2014 14:15:33    1621486

Apart from bluff & bluster from the usual faces everyone else knows tomorrow is going to be a tough hard championship game that could go either way.

The hop of a ball, a bad mistake, an inspired moment or, worst of all, a poor refereeing decision could be the difference.

Best wishes to all the Monaghan posters, see you all tomorrow.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/07/2014 14:45:30    1621494

OLLIE

Htaem so the Dubs will be looking to make history tomorrow if they beat the Royals for their first three in a row Leinster final victories over Meath.

Yep looking that way OLLIE and I can't see our lads stopping them either but fingers crossed.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2014 14:54:01    1621501

Where's jimbo? sometimes he gets premonitions and they can be very accurate, I just remembered this one out of nowhere, so thanks to the wonders of Google:

Meath 2014 Leinster Champions

02/11/2013 21:43:33

I feel it in me bones... I called the rise of Donegal

Now me magic bones are telling me it'll be a great year for Meath
Meath will build on what was a vastly improved 2013
They have players returning from injury I heard O'Rourke Jnr played very well in a challenge match v Kildare

They'll adapt to a Dublin style of play seen under Jim Gavin

All out attack with a sting in the tail

Pace, power... Penetration

I think they'll build on a promotion back into Div 1 in 2014 and with this belief and with a drive that lays the foundation for success

They'll take some stopping in Leinster
The fear of losing 3 in a row to their arch rival will feed the flame

Meath will be back, Leinster Kings once again.

I feel it in me bones.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2014 15:06:22    1621502

I love the way every journalist says Meath can beat Dublin and beat them by doing this or that but at the very end they predict a Dublin win ha

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2014 16:16:41    1621523

Dublin are a phenomenal outfit.. nothing wrong with that

Im hoping Meath do a 2010 on it and hit goals and rattle Dublin

I can see dublin winning by 7+ but the Royals to earn respect and fear

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 19/07/2014 16:58:29    1621532

If Dublin forwards are on form we will be hammered so let's hope they are not

shrek95 (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 19/07/2014 16:59:22    1621533

Shrek9
It's unlikely that ALL of Dublins forwards will be off tmw. Even if 2 of starting six are poor there's enough in the other 4 to fix it. All match winners. Then there's always options off bench. It may be a long afternoon for yous. This is the least nervous I've been in a long time going up to play Meath. Don't think your lads have the juice to stay with this Dublin team for full 70.
A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 19/07/2014 17:21:49    1621545

Aido actually I'm the same. I think Meath could do another shock and awe job. Maybe 6 past cluxton? Can't see bray / Newman/ mcmahon not getting at least one goal each . then the goal machine himself mcdonagh to come on. Also tormey and Carroll could rattle net, Newman will be steadfast in free department , biggy sor Meade will all get a couple of points. Supremely confident.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2014 17:31:45    1621546

I can see dublin winning by 7+ but the Royals to earn respect and fear

How can a team losing by 7 points or more earn respect and fear ?

If you want teams to stand up and take note of you boys, You have to beat us.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2014 17:46:48    1621551

Yeah read a least seven eight pundits saying how Meath will put it up to Dubs, only to finish by saying Dubs will win by at least five. No good putting it up to them for 55 mins. I will be reasonably satisfied if we stay the full 70+. It will show we are headed in right direction. All is not lost after Sunday, if we can stay with the Dubs we can beat anyone else, this is just another step in what is hopefully the right direction. Not been defeatist, just think it may be too soon for Meath. After all Dublin are rightfully ranked number one. But having watched Meath since the sixties, nothing will surprise me tomorrow, so here's hoping. Don't think Newman will start, probably be McDonagh

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 19/07/2014 17:54:44    1621557