Dublin v Meath

Fair play Htaem.

Ye will recover v Armagh.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 21/07/2014 11:40:32    1622684

The Dublin bench is unreal. They brought on Dean Rock but they could have brought on Dickie Rock at that stage such was their supremacy.
Interesting few weeks ahead.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 21/07/2014 12:00:31    1622719

@muckross and athacliath. Yep tough day at the office and while Meath never got off the bus. It cannot take away from Dublin's brilliance. Joe Sheridan said in a interview few weeks ago that Meath are 10 years behind Dublin. After yesterday very few can disagree with the big man. But yeah I came on here after match to congrats the dub fans. Oh and well done Donegal yesterday too muck I'm very happy for you in particular. As htaem said no one died. I wish Dublin and indeed Donegal well for remaining championship and I mean that sincerely. As for Meath, I think the armagh game is by far the biggest game Meath will play thus far under mod , win and the ratification at 2 year review will be a formality, fail to win and I see a few within county will call his stewardship into question (especially the way media thing was done yesterday) the last thing we need is another manager hunt.
But ever the optimist I see a quarter final against either Donegal or god forbid dubs :).
Well done again.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2014 12:14:26    1622743

I think, The one thing that struck me about Meath yesterday, Was that they looked out on their feet, completely exhausted after only 25 minutes. I remember thinking that these lads must be over-trained. I know it was a dead heat, but I still couldnt believe it. Dublin players just walking by their opponents. There was two points yesterday where James McCarthy got the ball (in the first half) and he literally stopped. Had a look around to see where the runners where, Then kicked the ball. Not a Meath player in sight.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 12:21:03    1622752

Yeah Wayne I agree they looked out on there feet after 25 minutes, we targeted Shane O Rourke after seeing the last day that his match fitness wasn't there Cian O Sullivan brought him on a road trip all around Croke Park he was out on his feet after half an hour.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/07/2014 12:26:10    1622764

Can't take anything away from Dublin's performance which was top drawer stuff, congrats to the blue horde! Far too easy for Dublin players to pick out passes and scores without a Meath player touching them. Before the match I had concerns about fitness and physical capability of Meath players but didn't expect that performance or rather non performance. Lot of players out on their feet in latter stages of first half. If anyone has a sensible explanation, I'd love to hear it. MOD could have made 10 changes yesterday such was the paucity of the display. Will make for very uncomfortable viewing in the video analysis for a lot of Meath players. Anywho, upwards and onwards, 2 weeks to Armagh, get the head right, a fresh batch of sambos, some vocal lubricant and away we go. Hon the royal and well done Dublin!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 21/07/2014 13:08:50    1622854

Yeah Wayne I agree they looked out on there feet after 25 minutes, we targeted Shane O Rourke after seeing the last day that his match fitness wasn't there Cian O Sullivan brought him on a road trip all around Croke Park he was out on his feet after half an hour.

Couldnt agree more. Most people saw against Kildare that a few of their players died in last 20 mins. None more that O'Rourke. Surprised G. Reilly was picked at midfield beside him. Has done nothing of note for some time

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/07/2014 13:09:46    1622857

Can't do anything other than sit back and admire the Dubs when they play like they did yesterday.

There's literally no room for error from the opposition when up against a team firing on all cylinders.

It was a complete performance for the most part, attacked at pace and with runners on the overlap, mixed direct and diagonal balls into the fullforward line with short handpassed breaks from the back.

It's not often Gavin makes subs at the back but even with Cooper and Brennan out they still have some good options to bring off the bench.

Great to see Alan Brogan back, the chap is just pure class, excellent movement off the ball, seems to make space for himself easily when he's in possession and great vision with his distribution too.

Meath just never really got into it. It'll be a hard defeat for a lot of the young lads to take but to be fair to them it's not the only hammering this Dublin team will dish out, probably a bit tactically naive at times but you'd be hopeful that they'll learn from it.

They're not as bad a team as they were made to look yesterday, likewise Kildare aren't as bad as Meath them look for large parts of the semi final. The real worry is Dublin are as good, if not better than they looked yesterday. They could easily have had another couple of goals after hitting the post and the bar, and went about ten minutes at the end without scoring, lads looked to be taking on shots from ridiculous angles - probably in an effort to impress and stake a claim to start the next day.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 21/07/2014 14:07:23    1622939