Sledging and blocking

Not all players engage in sledging and in my experience those who do are nasty individuals on and off the pitch - I have yet to meet someone who engages in this crap and thought to myself afterwards "he's a decent lad".
All teams have them, some counties more than others but where I am totally lost is when Mickey Harte stands pious like along the side-line or chatting to a non-RTE TV station or worse still his ramblings in print media about players targeted or worse his faith - don't make me laugh, complete hypocrisy .
This is not an anti Tyrone thing, they are no worse or better than other top teams but there is so much irony in some of their recent comments

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 10/08/2016 14:31:16    1899418

Replying To hill16no1man:  "That's a lazy ridiculous way
if your not good at something work your socks off to get better at it.
Why should anybody that plays the game be subjected to any sort of abuse physical or verbal just because The other player ain't as good as you.
It's a sport at the end of the day with a huge message being carried for the last five years by the gaa in give respect get respect.
Id hate to see you coaching kids if that's your mentality"
Look Hill man, all these players work just as hard and have worked just as hard.

I grew up to be 6 foot 4, 14-15 stone...I'll never be a Colm Cooper, i'll never have his low centre of gravity and quick feet because put simply he has less to move.

If i'm an inter county player and i'm out there in the bad weather of winter then I sure as hell am going to do absolutely everything to win in summer, you don't put in all the hours to lose, if you go skill for skill with a player like Gooch you'll lose every time because he's an all time great but if you don't want guys like that getting treated physically go and watch soccer because Gaelic football isn't that and never will be that.

Sport is on a 3 way spectrum to me anyway between the physical, mental and skill levels. If you're a competitor you don't just go ahhhh sure I'll try and beat Gooch for skill, I'll try and beat Aiden O Shea for physicality, I'll try and undo Lee Keegan mentally. You'll lose all those battles, but maybe you have the edge on them in one of the other areas...if you don't attack that weakness you lose, nobody plays to lose

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 10/08/2016 14:52:02    1899431

Replying To Tim_Burr:  "Not all players engage in sledging and in my experience those who do are nasty individuals on and off the pitch - I have yet to meet someone who engages in this crap and thought to myself afterwards "he's a decent lad".
All teams have them, some counties more than others but where I am totally lost is when Mickey Harte stands pious like along the side-line or chatting to a non-RTE TV station or worse still his ramblings in print media about players targeted or worse his faith - don't make me laugh, complete hypocrisy .
This is not an anti Tyrone thing, they are no worse or better than other top teams but there is so much irony in some of their recent comments"
You're absolutely right and Tomas O Sea's article is a fairly great piece I have to say.

It annoyed me to no end seeing what happened with Cavanagh happen but I have to say I was about 4 cans deep and 10 minutes into the Donegal Dublin match when I realised I cheered Ricey on for 10 years or more doing the same.

It hurts but it's a spoonful of our own medicine no doubt!

One comment I would make though is no cards at the end of the half or when they're out for the second half, look if things happen in that period they never ever benefit the game and unless it's a straight red offence I think it should be ignored as hand bags

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 10/08/2016 15:01:55    1899438

Replying To Seansy48:  "Look Hill man, all these players work just as hard and have worked just as hard.

I grew up to be 6 foot 4, 14-15 stone...I'll never be a Colm Cooper, i'll never have his low centre of gravity and quick feet because put simply he has less to move.

If i'm an inter county player and i'm out there in the bad weather of winter then I sure as hell am going to do absolutely everything to win in summer, you don't put in all the hours to lose, if you go skill for skill with a player like Gooch you'll lose every time because he's an all time great but if you don't want guys like that getting treated physically go and watch soccer because Gaelic football isn't that and never will be that.

Sport is on a 3 way spectrum to me anyway between the physical, mental and skill levels. If you're a competitor you don't just go ahhhh sure I'll try and beat Gooch for skill, I'll try and beat Aiden O Shea for physicality, I'll try and undo Lee Keegan mentally. You'll lose all those battles, but maybe you have the edge on them in one of the other areas...if you don't attack that weakness you lose, nobody plays to lose"
Well first off I doubt you would be marking him as a guy like your size and not paddy wouldn't be out on him, so your manager would have you playing in a different position possibly centre field where your attributes are more suited.
just because your born different to him and don't have his ability doesn't make it right to use verbal and physical abuse to get the better of him.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2016 18:51:45    1899576

Replying To mike03:  "Sledging and blocking - simple way to solve it. Players and supporters man up!!"
Like it or not it's a black card offence.
so all your nehandratal language don t hold any weight.
what's manly about degrading another person or physically abusing them.
more manly to shame the guys hand after and admit he beat you fair and square if your not good enough to beat him playing football

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2016 18:54:21    1899578

Replying To gotmilk:  "Ah come on hill. Have you never played 5 a side and tried to put someone off? I was playing a charit game and a fella got a penalty. I was up slagging him before he was going to hit it, saying that it was a pressure kick, that the eyes of the parish etc were on him. It was all in good form but it done enough to put him off. It was only a charity game for craic but I didn't want to lose. I'd imagine you would try the same. What's the difference in trying to put someone off by talking to them and going out and letting a player know your there like cooper or mcmahon?"
No I never have its called having a bit of respect for myself and the other guy.
if I'm not good enough to beat him in playing football what good is fooling yourself by resorting to that muck.
You done nothing other than mentaly abuse the guy to miss how does that make it a great achievement for you?
I'D rather win properly or take the bearing like a real man

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2016 18:57:42    1899581

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Well first off I doubt you would be marking him as a guy like your size and not paddy wouldn't be out on him, so your manager would have you playing in a different position possibly centre field where your attributes are more suited.
just because your born different to him and don't have his ability doesn't make it right to use verbal and physical abuse to get the better of him."
OK, that was hypothetical about me marking him as i'm sure you well know!

Would it be ok if I started throwing myself around like a bull in a china shop? Palm striking lads when a frees been given or just shouldering a few out of the way even though the whistles been blown for the free? To me you can basically assault the player who's holding the ball if he's on the other team and your team has been awarded a free....I know lads mess around with the ball to slow things down but it's rare so why's that not policed, players shouldn't find themselves on their backs for simply holding a ball a second too long!

That's what the bigger players do all the time like and there's zero punishment.

What's physical abuse to you? I'm not condoning anything outside the rules physically here. In terms of mental abuse I draw the line when it becomes personal but when it's about the game itself it's open season

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 10/08/2016 22:00:14    1899659

Has anyone seen a player black carded for sledging? I haven't, it is as rare as lotto winning tickets or maybe Dublin Litter wardens.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 10/08/2016 22:37:51    1899678

Replying To hill16no1man:  "No I never have its called having a bit of respect for myself and the other guy.
if I'm not good enough to beat him in playing football what good is fooling yourself by resorting to that muck.
You done nothing other than mentaly abuse the guy to miss how does that make it a great achievement for you?
I'D rather win properly or take the bearing like a real man"
Should someone not talk to a player on the opposing side then?
What's your views on someone using their physical strength to their advantage?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 11/08/2016 09:49:12    1899751

Replying To gotmilk:  "Should someone not talk to a player on the opposing side then?
What's your views on someone using their physical strength to their advantage?"
No I don't think they should what need is there in the game for somebody to speak to a member if the opposition? There's no need as the game stands to do so.
using your physical strength haha that's an attribute and is within the rules of the game

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2016 17:00:15    1900002

Replying To hill16no1man:  "No I don't think they should what need is there in the game for somebody to speak to a member if the opposition? There's no need as the game stands to do so.
using your physical strength haha that's an attribute and is within the rules of the game"
But what's skill full about busting a fella with a clean shoulder? Surely when you clean a fella out of it with a shoulder you are admitting you aren't as skilful as he is

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 11/08/2016 19:02:40    1900038

Replying To gotmilk:  "But what's skill full about busting a fella with a clean shoulder? Surely when you clean a fella out of it with a shoulder you are admitting you aren't as skilful as he is"
Haha come on don't play silly now.
to use your physical strength doesn't neccessearly mean busting somebody.
You can disposess somebody of the ball using strength like Paul Flynn for example did against Donegal.
You can use your physical strength to hold off a player and take a score.
but the main thing is the rules allow you to use your physical strength by a certain means like I suggested that's the most important thing.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2016 20:35:28    1900067

Tyrone

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/08/2016 22:05:01    1900116

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Haha come on don't play silly now.
to use your physical strength doesn't neccessearly mean busting somebody.
You can disposess somebody of the ball using strength like Paul Flynn for example did against Donegal.
You can use your physical strength to hold off a player and take a score.
but the main thing is the rules allow you to use your physical strength by a certain means like I suggested that's the most important thing."
There is nothing in the rules against busting a fella open with a shoulder. Francie Bellew done it in 2002 against the Gooch. As a result of that the gooch done nothing in the second half. Surely that shoulder meant Francie knew he wasn't as skillful as the gooch

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 11/08/2016 22:15:06    1900121

Where do you get snow in august for sledging?

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 11/08/2016 22:50:06    1900129

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Tyrone"
Is this supposed to be a sentence? Just saw Mugsys comments about being targeted during his career - now how did he react? He played his player off the pitch and that's how it should be rather than all this victimised whining that people are coming out with in this forum. I've played football on both sides of the pond (in NY, Boston, Chicago and Toronto and trust me it's worse there than in Ireland) and it goes on in every game and anyone who says it doesn't hasn't played the game.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 13/08/2016 18:09:03    1900620

Think sledging reflects horribly on the perpetrator, and reflects horribly on the sport.
Good hard honest physicality are part and parcel of the rules of the game.
Taunting your marker about his personal bereavements/problems is not.
Any manager who allows his players to do this type of thing is morally bankrupt, whatever way he portrays himself to the media.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 18:30:57    1900626

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Is this supposed to be a sentence? Just saw Mugsys comments about being targeted during his career - now how did he react? He played his player off the pitch and that's how it should be rather than all this victimised whining that people are coming out with in this forum. I've played football on both sides of the pond (in NY, Boston, Chicago and Toronto and trust me it's worse there than in Ireland) and it goes on in every game and anyone who says it doesn't hasn't played the game."
Great post!

Play the mans game like a man, simple as that

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 13/08/2016 18:53:45    1900633

Replying To Seansy48:  "Great post!

Play the mans game like a man, simple as that"
Rubbish whats manly about degrading somebody?
It's a sport we are playing and its not allowed in the rules.
there's a black card offence.
Mulligan talking rubbish, what about his old team mate Sean cavanagh he didn't react at all he let the guy throw him to the ground and let him hold him down by the neck and what good did it do him? He got the exact same punishment as the guy who did it to him.
so sometimes by doing nothing at all you still get punished

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/08/2016 19:18:39    1900637

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Is this supposed to be a sentence? Just saw Mugsys comments about being targeted during his career - now how did he react? He played his player off the pitch and that's how it should be rather than all this victimised whining that people are coming out with in this forum. I've played football on both sides of the pond (in NY, Boston, Chicago and Toronto and trust me it's worse there than in Ireland) and it goes on in every game and anyone who says it doesn't hasn't played the game."
No it's not. It's supposed to be an alternative title for this thread.

It's kinda like if you said Rugby I think New Zealand, football I think Brazil, sledging and blocking I immediately think Tyrone.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/08/2016 21:18:31    1900678