Sledging and blocking

Replying To Gael85:  "is sledging not a blackcard offence? Rarely enforced but i think Neil McGee got blackcard for sledging against Down in league?"
It is a black card offence and since the start of the national league up till Saturday night across the country only two players have been given black cards in all games played.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2016 14:51:50    1898846

Replying To gotmilk:  "From what I gather the Tipp one was a bit OTT from tipp. When it comes to dead family members, race, sexuality or serious illnesses I think it's off limits but anything else I would have no issue.

I can't say I've noticed Brogan but I will keep an eye out for it. You a basketball fan Joxer? What you make of Durant? If you can't beat them join them."
Yeah Durant's a top player but Curry is the man. Neither are Larry Bird though. Watch out for Brogan and McCauley's ball handling next time. Brogan senior was a basketball player, that's where Heffo got him. I presume that Bernard may have played a bit also as the technique is there.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/08/2016 14:52:32    1898847

I see the refs chief coming out with the usual, that provocation is very hard to prove well they had no problem dishing out a yellow card to Sean cavanagh on Saturday night when he was thrown to the ground and lying flat on his back with Keegan on top of him holding him down. You would need a bench full of lawyer's to prove cavanagh deserved a yellow card in them circumstances but it didn't stop them giving him one without any proof of him deserving one.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2016 14:57:24    1898849

Replying To avonali:  "Yeah...it kind of reminds me of the time Fitzmaurice was whining about the 'pillage and rape' that was going on in the Dublin full back line while forgetting the fun and games that his own Kerry defenders get up to."
At least fitzmaurice waited till after the game and untill he had all the FACTS before he said anything. Gavin is pressing the panic button a bit early IMO.
Gavin obviously can't control dermo so he's trying to put it on the opossision , make it our problem.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/08/2016 15:03:24    1898854

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It is a black card offence and since the start of the national league up till Saturday night across the country only two players have been given black cards in all games played."
That is amazing as it was going on non-stop in the games at the weekend. Just to be clear, all four teams were at it and in some cases right in front of the umpires. If any posters from Mayo, Tyrone, Dublin and Donegal say otherwise they are deluded. In fact cynical play was in evidence from all four teams as well.

It is time for the refs to implement the black card for sledging. The umpires can see it in front of their faces.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 09/08/2016 15:37:12    1898884

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah Durant's a top player but Curry is the man. Neither are Larry Bird though. Watch out for Brogan and McCauley's ball handling next time. Brogan senior was a basketball player, that's where Heffo got him. I presume that Bernard may have played a bit also as the technique is there."
I've noticed Donaghys ridiculous quick hands and always put it down to basketball. Was brogan snr a basketball player? You learn something new every day.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/08/2016 15:39:04    1898886

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "At least fitzmaurice waited till after the game and untill he had all the FACTS before he said anything. Gavin is pressing the panic button a bit early IMO.
Gavin obviously can't control dermo so he's trying to put it on the opossision , make it our problem."
Did you actually listem to what he said?
Clearly not as he said there's four men in black and four umpires and they are letting down the players on BOTH TEAMS

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2016 16:04:17    1898904

Replying To gotmilk:  "But do you really expect players to go out and stay silent?"
Nobody has to be silent haha but what buisness have they to be talking to the opposition, like come on there hardly asking did they go out last weekend.
Why would you need to be talking to a guy your trying to beat? There's no reason to be talking to a player off the opposition

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2016 16:16:55    1898913

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Nobody has to be silent haha but what buisness have they to be talking to the opposition, like come on there hardly asking did they go out last weekend.
Why would you need to be talking to a guy your trying to beat? There's no reason to be talking to a player off the opposition"
To put him off his game so you can beat him.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/08/2016 16:52:17    1898945

Awful lot of sensitive people around here, either that or a lot of lip readers and psychics!

Grown men talk nonsense to each other in most if not all team sports so can I ask where we draw line?

Is it no talking at all? Is it not saying anything nasty, something which i'd call impossible to police for a ref.
Maybe lads could just grow up and overcome it, there's a fairly swift way to silence a mouth and we all know what it is....surely that's what should be done!

Do we expect the man getting sledged to strike out and rightly so or what is it?

In terms of targeting, I really can't believe some of the things people say about the bigger or in some cases vastly more skillful players. Sean Cavanagh and Aiden O Shea BOTH get the benefits of being bigger stronger more powerful men and absolutely nothing is done when they start throwing themselves around in inappropriate ways. The best example from the weekend is likely Murphy's "tackle" on Fenton if he's just another player he's off, we've already seen it this summer in the Connaught final, not to mention the fact Murphy is a much bigger man than O' Connor....there's a perception issue with the better players like they're less likely to do something nasty or feign injury for the good of the team.
It's an unpopular opinion, but why does Ryan McMenamin have to let the Gooch get the best of him, i've personally never seen this dirty play against the Gooch, i've seen him talk to him all day long, maybe nip the arm....Do you not think as a Tyrone fan i've watched our famous victories more than some other fans?

I'm sorry I don't see that behaviour as abhorrent or uncalled for, I call it psychological warfare, I call it not rolling over and giving in. Tyrone were the only team that rumbled that Kerry team in their prime...they did what needed to be done, it didn't effect the spectacle, Gooch never got injured, Gooch never even really had a bag game, he did lose though and that seems to be the ultimate offence to some

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/08/2016 17:32:41    1898984

I think your forgetting that mc manus came out and said he would have done the same. Don't blame micky harte when when have a selective memory as well. Beside that was a clear foul and he received a yellow card for it.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 09/08/2016 17:38:25    1898987

Replying To gotmilk:  "I've noticed Donaghys ridiculous quick hands and always put it down to basketball. Was brogan snr a basketball player? You learn something new every day."
Yeah I remember reading about senior's basketball days in I thnk 'A Brilliant Mind", Hayes book on Heffo. He played for Ireland at schools level having gone to St Declan's on the Nephin Road. Declan's has a decent basketball and GAA pedigree. The Caffreys, Brogans, Senan Connell all involved there.

Decent read here on Bernard...

http://www.gaa.ie/news/the-gaa-gene-the-brogans/

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/08/2016 18:01:07    1898992

Replying To kevin03:  "I think your forgetting that mc manus came out and said he would have done the same. Don't blame micky harte when when have a selective memory as well. Beside that was a clear foul and he received a yellow card for it."
It was the third foul of it's type that he had committed in three successive championship matches that year. He did it against Kildare. Then he did it against Meath and then he did it against Monaghan. Subsequent to all of that he stated in an article that he would do it again. Allied to that he constantly grabs opponents arms and hauls them down on top of him and looks for a free . He tried that again on Saturday. Thankfully Gough saw it for what it was and penalised him.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 09/08/2016 18:03:48    1898995

Replying To Greengrass:  "It was the third foul of it's type that he had committed in three successive championship matches that year. He did it against Kildare. Then he did it against Meath and then he did it against Monaghan. Subsequent to all of that he stated in an article that he would do it again. Allied to that he constantly grabs opponents arms and hauls them down on top of him and looks for a free . He tried that again on Saturday. Thankfully Gough saw it for what it was and penalised him."
This is different than the topic. If a player fouls then they get carded. The issue is the targeting off players that either goes unpunished or results in both players yellow a cop-out yellow card. With all the officials in a match ref,linesmen and umpires this sort of thing shouldn't happen as all it would take would be for the ref to solely punish guilty players. It would soon stop if linesmen and umpires reported these things. What is the point in having them if they are going to ignore it?

Players in every team do it but it has got to be addressed by the officials.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 09/08/2016 18:26:18    1899001

Replying To Dangerman17:  "It's a part of the game that isn't going away..iv seen and heard it at underage..it's a mans game these things are taken on the chin and you have to move on..if a bit of sledging causes a man to lash out well then in my opinion the person who lashes out is in the wrong..not mentally strong enough to realise the game is more important than what's coming out of someone else's mouth.."
I agree. There seems to be a lot of fans, managers and players cribbing and whinging about just about everything nowadays. Everyone is so preoccupied with blaming opposition for their own shortcomings rather than manning up and accepting more responsibility. And worse, everyone seems happy to bitch and moan about it among the opposition, but don't want to acknowledge the same amongst their own ranks. Some of these people need to just grow a pair and stop being such cry babies. The GAA is supposed to be hard hitting, if you can't handle it, get out. And if you lose your head, that's no one else's problem but your own.
Who gets to decide what "targeting" is anyway? Some players seem to have gotten into their heads that being outplayed by the oppositon is amounts to being "targeted" now. Some seem to believe that simply doing a good man-marking job on someone is targeting. Like or not, many spectators love a match with a bit of bite and a bit of antagonism. Some of the most memorable matches down trhough the years have been like that. Man-marking is a great part of the games and often brings out these brilliant one on one battles.
Long may the antagonism continue. And long may the Philly McMahons and Lee Keegans of the world, men who want to come out and bring the game to the opposition and play on the edge, continue to reign.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 09/08/2016 18:26:32    1899002

Replying To Greengrass:  "It was the third foul of it's type that he had committed in three successive championship matches that year. He did it against Kildare. Then he did it against Meath and then he did it against Monaghan. Subsequent to all of that he stated in an article that he would do it again. Allied to that he constantly grabs opponents arms and hauls them down on top of him and looks for a free . He tried that again on Saturday. Thankfully Gough saw it for what it was and penalised him."
Also the old tactic of grabing a players arm and falling for a free is very old. You see it happening in every single game. You would think it's just Sean that does it. I don't have as big of problem with this as it is very hard for the ref to spot. If you watch all forwards do it.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 09/08/2016 18:28:40    1899004

hard to punish sledging but it was obvious from the Tyrone lads on Saturday. Jim McGuinness seemed to condone it at half time by saying it is part of the game

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/08/2016 18:55:34    1899027

Replying To tiobraid:  "From Tipp or you mean against TIpp?"
Not sure of the team but Peter Harte was taunted about his cousin Michaela in a game. This type of stuff is just wrong wherever it originates from. Nobody should be talking about such things to any player.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2016 20:07:36    1899060

Replying To maroondiesel:  "hard to punish sledging but it was obvious from the Tyrone lads on Saturday. Jim McGuinness seemed to condone it at half time by saying it is part of the game"
Lord almighty the hypocrisy of some of you boys is laughable. Aidan O'Shea was talking as was Keegan and others. It's funny how you all seem to see the wrongs of the others but not your own boys. Wise up ffs. The most laughable of all are the lip readers who simply know that nasty things are being said to poor so and so. A bit of verbals is not big deal if it's not crossing the line and we all know what would constitute that. It's not an arbitrary notion,if Ye give a guy a bit of stick about poor performance or not getting a sniff all game etc that's fair enough. Talkin about deceased family members and highly personal stuff is not admirable at all and most people know this but unless Ye want the lads to wear microphones Ye need to wise up with all this nonsense. If an official hears something then fair enough he can bring it to the attention of the ref. Otherwise some of Ye shouldn't be involved in any kind of contact sport as you are all too fecking fragile! A serious bunch of cry babies are growing up these days and it's a shame. Everybody needs a "safe space" and to be "understood" or else they're not being looked after properly. Why don't we introduce a time out rule so players can be afforded a few minutes to "compose" themselves after being subjected to such heinous abuse as "Yer a useless tit today Paddy,couldn't score in a *****house with a 50 in yer pocket" or some such colorful riposte. Either that or man up a bit for gods sake. We know what crossing the line is when we hear it and you can only tell the younger ones it's not on.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2016 20:25:16    1899075

Replying To maroondiesel:  "hard to punish sledging but it was obvious from the Tyrone lads on Saturday. Jim McGuinness seemed to condone it at half time by saying it is part of the game"
And Aidan O'Se didn't open his mouth once? Pull the other one

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/08/2016 20:54:28    1899093