Sledging and blocking

Replying To Seansy48:  "Awful lot of sensitive people around here, either that or a lot of lip readers and psychics!

Grown men talk nonsense to each other in most if not all team sports so can I ask where we draw line?

Is it no talking at all? Is it not saying anything nasty, something which i'd call impossible to police for a ref.
Maybe lads could just grow up and overcome it, there's a fairly swift way to silence a mouth and we all know what it is....surely that's what should be done!

Do we expect the man getting sledged to strike out and rightly so or what is it?

In terms of targeting, I really can't believe some of the things people say about the bigger or in some cases vastly more skillful players. Sean Cavanagh and Aiden O Shea BOTH get the benefits of being bigger stronger more powerful men and absolutely nothing is done when they start throwing themselves around in inappropriate ways. The best example from the weekend is likely Murphy's "tackle" on Fenton if he's just another player he's off, we've already seen it this summer in the Connaught final, not to mention the fact Murphy is a much bigger man than O' Connor....there's a perception issue with the better players like they're less likely to do something nasty or feign injury for the good of the team.
It's an unpopular opinion, but why does Ryan McMenamin have to let the Gooch get the best of him, i've personally never seen this dirty play against the Gooch, i've seen him talk to him all day long, maybe nip the arm....Do you not think as a Tyrone fan i've watched our famous victories more than some other fans?

I'm sorry I don't see that behaviour as abhorrent or uncalled for, I call it psychological warfare, I call it not rolling over and giving in. Tyrone were the only team that rumbled that Kerry team in their prime...they did what needed to be done, it didn't effect the spectacle, Gooch never got injured, Gooch never even really had a bag game, he did lose though and that seems to be the ultimate offence to some"
Excellent post. The last sentence sums it up.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/08/2016 21:38:01    1899123

Tackling a player without the ball is illegal in most ball games including gaelic football, but gaa officiating standards are so inconsistent some officials wouldn't even know what we are talking about. As for Sledging, baiting, riling, goading, walking on a players heel, pinching and even biting and spitting all within 6 yards of the end line, not a peep out of the umpires. Yet a handbags exchange 80 yards out and the umpire is your only man. If the GAA wants the rules to be applied consistently then start by getting rid of the friend of the ref umpire old boys network especially for big games. But I suspect the powers that be it suits them to leave it the way it is, it is a "part of what we are!". And no, better officiating shouldn't mean time wasting or stop/start I mean your average sideline cut in hurling takes about 60 secs, a free about 90 secs ditto in football.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 09/08/2016 21:39:43    1899125

Replying To gotmilk:  "To put him off his game so you can beat him."
So effectively for people who aren't good enough to play the game with skill or ability

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2016 21:46:38    1899133

Some people on here must be very poor footballers if they condone a guy having to resort to school yard bullying of a kid for his lunch money tactics as manly.
what's manly about throwing out insults about another players wife mother gf or daughter. To me that's just sad that they feel they cannot get the better of their opponent through their own ability to play the game.
For those who say its good to see it well it's not within the rules as it is a blackout card offence.
I would love to see these guys get flattened by the victim they are saying it to but guess what it's not within the rules for the player to do that either.
sport is about skill and ability on the field not trying to intimidate physically or verbally to get the better of the opposition.
I would hate to see these tactics being coached to kids by some of these guys

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2016 21:57:08    1899143

The problem is surely the two related issues of targeting and faking/simulation
From lower Hogan on Saturday I saw Lee Keegan blocking, linking arms, attempting to trip, pushing, shoving, talking to and laughing at Sean Cavanagh I saw Cavanagh appealing to Coldrick to no avail ( what did he expect there! No surprise)
I genuinely saw nothing much like that from Cavanagh in response until the shoulder after half time when Keegan then upended and knelt over Cavanagh while holding him down I think at one stage with hands at his throat ( see pictures also) .
If the match officials acted as a team at the time Keegan would I believe have been rightly booked after 5 minutes and that might have quietened things.
Rerun Keegan's goading of Connolly lying on him and sledging at same time similar to his carry on at the start of second half on Saturday. It is not as though he had no form and in an article I read I think in Mayo News last year Keegan acknowledged in reality he does whatever it takes and he is not the first with that attitude by 100 years and more but if that attitude, targeting and equally dishonest faking are not dealt with firmly by sendings off in this modern era those behaviours will do much more damage that any passing fad of defensive tactics.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 09/08/2016 22:26:45    1899166

Replying To hill16no1man:  "So effectively for people who aren't good enough to play the game with skill or ability"
Nope, not everyone has the same talent and ability that some players have. If you can put him off his game within reason then why wouldn't you? There are certain things which should never be said and any decent human with a moral conscience could work out what is acceptable. If some fella gets thick because you slagged his mother then I think he needs psychiatric help. I think the your mother stuff stopped working on me when I grew my first hairs where there was no hair before.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/08/2016 22:26:51    1899167

if the slagging of the mother stuff got people hit id have no friends left but deceased family members is definitely a line that shouldn't be crossed and Iv heard about this sort of sledging a few times.

If that happened to me or a teammate I would like to just walk off the field.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 10/08/2016 08:31:46    1899211

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-tyrone-want-sympathy-don-t-make-me-laugh-1.2750925

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 10/08/2016 10:01:49    1899246

Replying To gotmilk:  "Nope, not everyone has the same talent and ability that some players have. If you can put him off his game within reason then why wouldn't you? There are certain things which should never be said and any decent human with a moral conscience could work out what is acceptable. If some fella gets thick because you slagged his mother then I think he needs psychiatric help. I think the your mother stuff stopped working on me when I grew my first hairs where there was no hair before."
That's a lazy ridiculous way
if your not good at something work your socks off to get better at it.
Why should anybody that plays the game be subjected to any sort of abuse physical or verbal just because The other player ain't as good as you.
It's a sport at the end of the day with a huge message being carried for the last five years by the gaa in give respect get respect.
Id hate to see you coaching kids if that's your mentality

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2016 10:05:39    1899251

Replying To dstuction:  "if the slagging of the mother stuff got people hit id have no friends left but deceased family members is definitely a line that shouldn't be crossed and Iv heard about this sort of sledging a few times.

If that happened to me or a teammate I would like to just walk off the field."
What need is there for a player to be saying anything to an oppossing player full stop. Its amazing how people think somebody who is getting knees in the back of the legs and said all sorts about family members is at fault if they turn around and react but the person who is doing that stuff in the first place is quite entitled to.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2016 10:09:25    1899255

Sledging and blocking - simple way to solve it. Players and supporters man up!!

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 10/08/2016 11:31:36    1899313

Replying To Tim_Burr:  "http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-tyrone-want-sympathy-don-t-make-me-laugh-1.2750925"
Don't think many people picked up on this but the tackle he refers to on o'shea by colm was when colm dispossessed o'shea then o'shea threw himself to the ground looking a free. It looked like colm was annoyed at this and was basically saying to him to get the f up.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 10/08/2016 12:56:36    1899363

Replying To hill16no1man:  "That's a lazy ridiculous way
if your not good at something work your socks off to get better at it.
Why should anybody that plays the game be subjected to any sort of abuse physical or verbal just because The other player ain't as good as you.
It's a sport at the end of the day with a huge message being carried for the last five years by the gaa in give respect get respect.
Id hate to see you coaching kids if that's your mentality"
Ah come on hill. Have you never played 5 a side and tried to put someone off? I was playing a charit game and a fella got a penalty. I was up slagging him before he was going to hit it, saying that it was a pressure kick, that the eyes of the parish etc were on him. It was all in good form but it done enough to put him off. It was only a charity game for craic but I didn't want to lose. I'd imagine you would try the same. What's the difference in trying to put someone off by talking to them and going out and letting a player know your there like cooper or mcmahon?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/08/2016 13:00:51    1899365

Sledging will never be stopped Possibly reduced Blocking has to be very significantly reduced for the game to flow and frustration to be stopped to help prevent players taking the law into their own hands. At same time victim mentality is retrograde silliness and doesn't help. Must go to practice my long range frees.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 10/08/2016 13:34:38    1899382

Replying To dstuction:  "if the slagging of the mother stuff got people hit id have no friends left but deceased family members is definitely a line that shouldn't be crossed and Iv heard about this sort of sledging a few times.

If that happened to me or a teammate I would like to just walk off the field."
You left out the bit where you'd be breaking their nose with a head-butt first. I'd gladly take a red and an assault charge if someone sledged me about a deceased family member.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/08/2016 13:35:07    1899383

Replying To Brolly:  "You left out the bit where you'd be breaking their nose with a head-butt first. I'd gladly take a red and an assault charge if someone sledged me about a deceased family member."
Why? Don't get me wrong, it's a pure scumbag thing for someone to "slag" another person about but how is you ending up on an assault charge helping you or the situation? I'd agree with the previous poster who suggested walking off the pitch and I'd also be letting the ref know why.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 10/08/2016 13:39:37    1899385

The bottom line is everyone condones/accepts it when it benefits their own team, no exceptions.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 10/08/2016 13:41:48    1899387

I have to say I probably played better when someone was sledging me or when they tried to get in my face. It always helped me concentrate on the next ball, I just wanted even more to show them I was better than them.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 10/08/2016 13:46:04    1899390

maybe the players should start a conversation about this instead of surgically installing super-charged cochlear implants for refs

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 10/08/2016 13:55:32    1899398

Black bin bags or an old biscuit tin lid

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/08/2016 13:56:40    1899399