Dublin v Fermanagh

Dublin should be too strong in this one and only complacency can cause them to get a scare. Fermanagh , Kildare and Sligo to exit stage left shortly with Galway likely to take the other spot. Donegal v Galway should be the pick of these.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 31/07/2015 13:38:12    1761683

I'd imagine this is the draw Dublin really didn't want.
This will be another double digit turkey shoot.
Fantastic achievement for Fermanagh with such a small pool of players, McGrath is a top coach.
Will the Dubs go in to a semi v Mayo/Donegal under cooked?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/07/2015 16:01:48    1761756

this thing of dublin not being tested is a myth. you want the easiest draw you can get until the final. look at donegal in ulster. played tyrone, armagh and derry before the final and were then probably exhausted. monaghan beat cavan and fermanagh and were waiting for donegal. dublin will be loving this draw amd its foolish to say otherwise.

NYCcavanman (USA) - Posts: 204 - 31/07/2015 16:26:38    1761771

Cavanman completely disagree, are you telling me that beating a team by 15/18 points is beneficial?
How much dose Gavin find out in a game like that?
That's not Dublin s fault of course.
Easy route yes, but you want some competition to see where you actually stand.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/07/2015 16:39:59    1761775

I think this is the perfect draw for Dublin. They are coming up against a defensive system which is a lot better than anything they have faced so far. It could be good practice for them and should stand to them if they come up against Donegal or Monaghan.

So_it_is (Fermanagh) - Posts: 40 - 31/07/2015 16:51:49    1761784

West kerry

How many times have Kerry cakewalked to a final or semi final? You know well it done you no harm! KK in the hurling an even better example!

The media won't portray us as unbeatable if we hockey fermanagh and if it is close well then people will say we are not as good as made out to be which will suit us!

I think we would have hammered Cork and then it would have been similar last year after the Monaghan game where the media said we were unbeatable!

Plus another crack at a defensive side!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 31/07/2015 17:20:12    1761793

We never gave teams hidings in June/July.
It was a slow build up rather than hammering teams.
We always got a good game against cork, never got anything easy there. Apart from last year.
My point is I don't think it's ideal, I believe you will end up against Mayo and I've a feeling Mayo might catch ye cold.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/07/2015 17:35:18    1761804

I don't believe this 'under cooked', 'untested' nonsense. The best teams are never tested until they come out of their provinces. Mayo have been untested for several years yet have strolled to semis and finals. Dublin came out of Leinster supposedly untested last year yet blitzed a much fancied Monaghan in the quarters. Granted they fell at the semi but Donegal who had a tough game there fell at the final hurdle. Were they therefore 'over cooked'. It's swings and roundabouts. Dublin have some good friendly matches under their belt and have had very competitive A v B games so I don't think they will be worried about been under cooked.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/07/2015 17:49:34    1761807

agree with all except westkerry!!

there is no chance of dublin being 'caught cold' especially after last year. if cork beat kerry in the final, dublin could well be playing kerry sunday. so you are saying dudlin would prefer that, just so they would be ready for mayo or donegal?? its crazy. dublin will be training hard at present preparing for a donegal or mayo game and fermanagh merely provide a bit of shooting practice, i hate to say!

NYCcavanman (USA) - Posts: 204 - 31/07/2015 18:57:22    1761825

Joxer would Gavin prefer competitive games or mauling the likes of longford?
Would that be the best prep for bigger tests?
Don't disagree regarding not having a decent challenge until you get out of your province but I'd imagine playing cork would have been a better test.
Sure we will see....

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/07/2015 19:22:44    1761836

And then there were 6. 2 more for the drop today.
Safe travelling to all concerned,enjoy the day.

Up the Dubs!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 02/08/2015 08:46:55    1762231

This being "under cooked" notion is a loada me hoop.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/08/2015 09:18:05    1762237

Travelling up to the capital in hope today. The lads have done Fermanagh proud and whatever happens today we are in a better place now than we were at the start of the year. That first Ulster title is possible in the years to come if we can keep this momentum going. That is the dream! Who knows what can happen today lets go and give it a lash. Fear Manach Abú!

Ultan. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 78 - 02/08/2015 09:45:43    1762249

All the best to all 4 sides and supporters today! Hope it's a good one and the rain holds off!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 02/08/2015 09:50:18    1762253

Lads who kicks the frees for Fermanagh? Boylesports have Quigley and Corrigan both to score over 1.5 points at 10/11 and 6/5 respectively.Surely someone will kick 2 points from frees at least?

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 02/08/2015 12:13:24    1762337

Fermanagh not reading the script ass Cannon fodder holding their own so fear

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 02/08/2015 16:11:12    1762494

Brogan is a great player to watch..great movement off the ball

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 02/08/2015 16:21:39    1762498

Welcome to the Leinster championship Fermanagh.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 02/08/2015 16:36:39    1762505

maybe theyre not reading the script, forty five , but the script is being read to them.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 02/08/2015 16:48:11    1762510

Fair play to Fermanagh, they are totally outclassed but have never given up the fight.

Kildare could learn a thing or two.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/08/2015 17:24:22    1762527