Dublin v Fermanagh

Fermanagh kept going to the end fair play to them. Dublin were very good, Bernard Brogan was excellent, with Connolly and Rock not far behind. The first Fermanagh goal was a joke, Cluxton was clearly pushed into his own net,not a fair challenge in the small rectangle. How did the ref decide to give that one, brings back bad memories.
Dublin fans may be disappointed with the mini comeback but no one got injured and they took off some key players at that stage. Kerry look dangerous and have many options, but they probably lost JOD today when there was no need. We will wait and see.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 717 - 02/08/2015 19:22:20    1762679

Good post Thomas Clarke'

These Stats sometimes would make you give up the will'

The Goal was a foul on Cluxton all day long' but it was also very funny as was the 2nd goal' had me in stitches.

Fair play Fermanagh' Well beaten but a brave display against the mighty Dubs.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 02/08/2015 19:44:28    1762700

Dublin were on a hiding to nothing whatever the result. Destroy Fermanagh and the no test cliche gets throw about and a closer margin yields a theres a chick in their armour line. The fact remains that things currently stand as any sane football supporter would of predicted at the beginning of the year. Dublin and Kerry safely into the semi finals and Mayo/Donegal and two other counties now being Monaghan and Tyrone trying to join them.

The football system is flawed but the championship only begins next weekend.

Dublin and Kildare were never going to lose today. I give credit to Fermanagh for their pride and effort, Kildare on the other hand were a shambles.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 02/08/2015 20:13:39    1762728

I wouldn't read anything into the game.It was over after the first goal and Dublin just went through the motions after that.

After Fermanaghs first goal Dublin just waltzed down the field and scored a goal of their own which tells you everything about the game.

Gavin will be able to get them to focus for the semi final now as he can pinpoint the sloppiness in Dublins defence and have them focussed on clearing that i for the next day.In a way the sloppiness is just what Dublinn needed as they will have zero complacency for the semi final.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 02/08/2015 20:22:36    1762738

Delighted to be through to our 6th all ireland semi final in a row
It really is a brilliant achievement
I thought we were very buisness like today and never came out of first gear
as we never really had to in all honesty
the scoreline completly flatters Fermanagh if being honest
they kicked some fabulous scores to give them credit
but not at any stage of the game did they threaten to win it must be said.
I felt we dominated the middle of the park and the changes before throw in worked perfectly.
fenton and bastick lorded the aerial battle (although some times players didnt read the breaking ball not their fault though)
paddy andrews had a really good game right from the off he made himself available for everything.
bernard kicked some great scores, connolly and kilkenny both had super performances too.
cian o sullivan was a rock in defence.
anyday you can take two of your most influential performers off at half time means your doing something right
and kilkenny and bastick were quickly joined by connolly and cooper being rested
four of our best players this year all off ment it was inevtibale we would go through the motions a bit.
clearly took foot off gas in last 20 minutes
and second goal was a shambles but its exactly the type of game you want to make these mistakes in
and not games where its tight.
The ref today had to be the worst I have ever seen against a team.
ONE FREE IN THE ENTIRE FIRST HALF and thats anywhere on the park.
the first fermanagh goal terrible form from all three officals
he clearly pushed cluxton over the line and whats worse they actually talked about it and still gave the goal.
Its not good enough at this level full stop.
Four week break now till the all ireland semi final
Exactly where we want to be with complacency out of the way.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/08/2015 21:04:00    1762784

Well done to Fermanagh, put a smile on my face yesterday, their fans , players and manager were a breathe of fresh air . They were never going to win this game, but scored some lovely points , got an outrageous decision go for them, made Cuxton and Fitz look silly and at the end of game had Dublin players with smiles on their face. We have bigger games to worry about where we will need to be a lot better than yesterday where we huffed and puffed at times.Our midfield is a worry and we will need to be better in defence, although I feel we will be stronger and more focused for the semifinal, where Flynner will give a lot more and Connolly will be bursting to have big game.
Yesterday was a big day for Fermanagh and they enjoyed the occasion their players gave everything and their fans appreciated that.
I think the game and occasion has to be put into context,when analysing the game .
Fermanagh are a div 3 team with a small population who have had a great year, they finished the year by coming to Croker to play one of the favourites for the All Ireland in their home
Town, it could of been a disaster for them, Div 1 teams have received bigger hammerings by us and other teams have simply come not to get beat and got hollow moral victories because they kept the score down. but this was different the game had a bit of atmosphere,Fermanagh have one of the best managers in the game and he allowed the players enjoy the occasion but still be focused on not conceding to much, yet let them express themselves.
Although they lost ,sometimes certain types of defeat can be savoured and this one can be enjoyed by the Fermanagh fans.
To a few lads here getting their knickers in a twist over the poor ref and Fermanagh players smiling and winding up a few of the Dubs.
As the Joker says in Batman
"Why so Serious"

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2015 08:49:03    1762838

Win as expected but lots to work on for sure. Fermanagh will go away and feel they can challenge for higher grade football next year.
Would be really concerned with the standard of referring when you can still have a goal allowed like that.O Kelly and his cronie umpires displayed complete ignorance of the rules and brought back memories of Martin Sludden.I suppose that's not surprising though considering where he's from. Needs to be dropped from higher level.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/08/2015 10:28:22    1762894

Yea,Fermanagh were a breath of fresh air.P McGrath is a shrewd operator.Paddy Power was the big winner with the awarding of Fermanaghs first goal.Im sure quite a few were on the 14 point handicap.That goal made it very difficult and Fermanagh gained confidence.
Good to see B Brogan shooting the lights out.Thats the Bernard we are going to need to see in next game,although he will be up against better opposition.I think Mayo will edge Donegal & well have to play better than yesterday to make the final.The real action starts now.Going into a semi final untested is not ideal.Time will tell.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/08/2015 10:53:30    1762907