Kerry v Dublin

The writings on the wall already. Sorry to be pessimistic. But Kerry will do anything, and the GAA allow them.
4 matches to all Ireland success:
1. Munster final against Cork- tough but doable
2. Quater final against Connacht / Ulster team. A one point win
3. Semi against Mayo or Cork. Mayo / Cork down to 14 players and Donaghy gets a last gasp peno.
4. Final against Dubs. Kerry play down this lot of injuries/ But Tommy Walsh and Cooper deliver the goals for a 3 point win.
Wake up GAA!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 01/03/2015 19:11:27    1698048

Clondalkin I won't get into a slagging match put coopers reaction to the hand in the face was embarrassing.

it reminded me of Aidan's reaction against cork a few years back.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/03/2015 19:18:16    1698055

It impossible for us to compete with us been a dual county.kerry dont have hurling problem.plus they have the financial backing from kerry coop.Talking to a kerry lad,says they go on training camps at least once a month for a few days. Do the players work?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 01/03/2015 19:18:52    1698056

Thought Donaghy and Sheehan were very good today. Tommy Walsh didn't have much impact.

Dublin will get better, unfortunately for us they'll really be up for two points next week.

There was a fair bit of fouling. The rules really should punish that more. The reality is that despite all the cards no team was really disadvantaged at any point from a card and that is the case in most games.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 01/03/2015 19:25:56    1698062

galwayford

Fairly ominous for rest of teams this result. Kerry have only 4 games to retain the All Ireland
1. Munster final against Cork (preceded by warm up against Tipp/Clare etc

I'd probably have Clare or Tipp rated above or there abouts with Galway....

john3seven (Kerry) - Posts: 15 - 01/03/2015 19:30:23    1698067

If it was a push then no problem And if he dived then get up Jonny but from where I was sitting it looked a punch but I'll have to see it on the telly, but if your saying that Westkerry what about Donaghy dive in our squad embarrassing but it's Keiran Dinaghy he can do whatever he likes.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/03/2015 19:34:03    1698070

If it was a push then no problem And if he dived then get up Jonny but from where I was sitting it looked a punch but I'll have to see it on the telly, but if your saying that Westkerry what about Donaghy dive in our squad embarrassing but it's Keiran Dinaghy he can do whatever he likes.

-----
Was running for cover at the time but looked a clear red card, strike to the face. Don't understand Donaghy getting away with swinging Carroll around the neck right in front of the umpire and nothing given against. Crazy stuff. I've no time for Donaghy, none at all, but well done Kerry on a deserved win. Good tough game for this time of year. Real scrap now for the Dubs. Have to beat Tyrone next week and then tough trip to Castlebar.

Ulsterman - what did you think of Monaghan's 12 rounder in Castlebar today? Even the advertising hoarding wasn't spared.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/03/2015 20:05:13    1698081

Clondalkin, Kieran can be quilty of getting involved is silly stuff ( 2011 I was disappointed in him ) but he gets a fair bit off the ball stuff too.

plus he is fouled something shocking, in fact because of his size refs let way more go than they would anyone else.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/03/2015 20:16:49    1698083

Poor showing that from Dublin.

Not a great atmosphere.

Poxy weather.

Woeful game in general.

Meh, Disappointed. Didn't live up to the hype.

Back to Croker next week

WE GO AGAIN!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/03/2015 20:43:45    1698093

Sure the likes of Clare and Tipp are as good as Kildare or Math at the moment

kerry4sam (Kerry) - Posts: 51 - 01/03/2015 20:47:34    1698094

There is a handful of posters on here who I am starting to question have they ever played football. Anyone who has played in these sort of conditions knows that players will go down a lot easier I don't think a lot of them were cynical fouls. The ref got the black card decisions correct, Fitzsimons deserved to walk and Donaghy is lucky he wasn't gone aswell but O Carroll is no angel in full back either. Right before Paul Murphy dragged Cooper down Cooper let an elbow fly into Murphys jaw that was clearly a yellow and he go away with it.

As for hughhunt24 yes our players do work and they give up most of their spare time. They only go on maybe 3-4 training camps in the whole year which is nothing compared to some teams and I know of a club team who go on more. As for kerry hurling we have won the last 3 minor b titles, got to a christy ring final last year and won division 2a league, we are pumping alot of money into kerry hurling so please pipe down on matters you have no idea about.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 01/03/2015 20:56:14    1698101

Not long back from the drive down .Great Dub crowd . On the game the Better team won ,no point in whinging about refs . We were sloppy with our passing ,Goalie cost us 5 points ( but i felt sorry for him) Kev mc had one of his worst games and D rock was anonymous in my opinion.
Plus for us was Jack mc Caffrey and Shane Carthy who we will need in the summer , because Cian or Bastick wont be enough in middle against tall midfielders if opposition push up on our defenders and we have to kick it long. Kerry held onto the ball better than we did and thats what won it for them.
A lot of handbags and pushing during the match and Silly black cards .Each team as bad as each other.
Amazing what a year makes. this time last year Kerry were finished and we were told we had 2 or 3 men for every position.
Tonight we are told Dublin conveyor belt are not as good as what came before and Kerry have an unreal squad of players.
Dont ye just love March ;0)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/03/2015 21:07:58    1698106

I don't mind the physical side of football and the odd dirty hit and drag BUT I won't let the hypocrisy and double standards go. Kerry GAA folk, and their cheerleaders in the GAA and media, are in complete denial about Kerry football. Yes it is often very good to watch but Kerry are as cynical and brutal as any side as they showed today and all of last season. However all the negative criticism will be saved for Ulster teams, sure they are Nordies and good for it. That's the mantra of the typical Southern GAA fan, county and media outlet.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 01/03/2015 21:51:35    1698125

il start with the football yesterday
fair play to kerry a socring burst 10 mins either side of half time effectively won it for them
I think it was 7v4 dublin
which turned into 8v14 in that period.
from dublin point of view the killer was our kick outs plain and simple cost us the game.
when bastick was carded that changed everything
cian o sullivan didnt look ready to play at all and himself and carthy were hammered from their in.
currier and the two midfeilders are equally at fault I feel
as yes curriers kicks were woeful
but time after time he looked up to find no movement at all which resulted in the ref warning him to kick the ball.
now to what was the most dissapointing thing leaving killarney yesterday the officiating.
I felt it was an absolute disgrace that the umpire behind the goal dublin were shooting into yesterday
wouldnt stand up and be honest and tell the ref what he saw.
when donaghy caught a ball under the crossbar near the end he got a free out
then went down into o garas face goading him
o gara said something back to him and donaghy clearly headbutted him
the umpire was two yards away and saw the whole thing but wouldnt inform the ref and have donaghy sent off
straight away kerry took him off. Now im sorry but thats just wrong its down right cheating not to have him sent off.
there was a camera right behind that post aswell so if they could not pick that up and have him done on it
its also showing a clear biased officiating.
then in the last melee which saw fitsimons red carded
its amazing how the same umpire refused to have anthony maher sent off again
that whole melee started because of maher striking brogan in the face and both umpires saw the strike
it had to be a striaght red just like fitzimons.
maher was somehow still on the pitch at that stage when he shouldnt have been as in the first half
when bastick was carded maher clearly struck cooper up the field and again cooper went to the linesman and nothing
was done about it.
All we ask for going to matches is fairness from the officials to me that was shamefully one sided.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/03/2015 09:21:10    1698150

01/03/2015 17:33:02
HughHunt24

1698000 Did Kerry use 7 subs
BJ Kane for M.Geaney
Alan Fitzgerald for Sheehan
Peter Crowley for Sherwood
Tom Welsh for P.Geaney
Killian Young for Murphy
Padraig OConnor for O'Brien
Shane Enright for Kilkenny

Should Kerry have been down to 14 when Sherwood got blackcard? Peter Crowley shouldnt have been on pitch. GAA need to clarify sub rules. What if they happened in knockout championship? Players can use 21 players(are blood subs included in 21 or can teams use a additional player?)

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 02/03/2015 11:37:33    1698234

Blood sub is not counted as a sub. Any squad player not on the pitch can be used to replace the player with a blood injury.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 02/03/2015 11:52:43    1698245

Galwayford cant believe the Anti kerry posters are at it again who ever
is good enough will win the top prize be it Dublin Kerry Mayo just alot
of the time Kerry are better the AI is there for Galway to win we know
thats not going to happpen for a while because they are not good enough
to beat Roscommon or Mayo i mean Kerry must bee a thorn in your arse
waking up everyday thinking my county are not good enough but Kerry are
you need to grow up

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 02/03/2015 13:04:14    1698281

As if the result in Killarney wasn't bad enough yesterday, This morning i read that Jim Gavin is whinging about Eddie Kinsella

JIM, JIM, JIM!!

What are you doing FFS ?

Give it over man.

Even if you think it, You DON'T come out and say it.

School-boy error.

NEVER come out whinging about officiating

Some of the Dublin players there yesterday need a rocket up the backside.

Very poor this year so far.

No refereeing can legislate for being outfought like we where yesterday.

Second time we've had to travel a 650 - 700 Km round trip where the players unfortunately just didnt look "up for it". And lets be honest, The scoreline on both occasions (Cork and Kerry) flattered us, Especially after second half no-shows in both games.

Discipline so far this year has looked extreamely poor. 3 or 4 red cards this year and a couple of black cards, There was none of that last year.

We need to get our act together. Good thing there is only a few days til Saturday and hopefully we can bounce back against Tyrone..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/03/2015 13:11:51    1698288

Hill16 - Funny to see the Dubs blaming the ref - it was a grand open game until Basticks body slam on donaghy changed the mood. Didnt see anything in the Donaghy V O Gara incident and if you want to single out incidents I notice you forgot to mention Costello sliding into Pa Kilkenny with a raised boot - surely a red card? Delighted to see that when it did get physical Kerry stood up to it and kicked some good scores after half time.
Will agree with you tho that Dublin have serious midfield issues and Gavin seems to be struggling to improve things.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 02/03/2015 13:36:19    1698309

Donaghy was taken off as a blood sub hughhunt because he was bleeding from his mouth and from the big gash on his knee, Jeez I wonder how that happend he must have head butted o'gara with his mouth I guess.
Ffs it's round 3 of the poxy national league and you'd swear it was the allireland final or something.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2015 17:07:22    1698439