Kerry v Dublin

KingdomBoy1

Donaghy was taken off as a blood sub hughhunt because he was bleeding from his mouth and from the big gash on his knee, Jeez I wonder how that happend he must have head butted o'gara with his mouth I guess.
Ffs it's round 3 of the poxy national league and you'd swear it was the allireland final or something.

-----
Bleeding from his mouth. It didn't seem to stop him from mouthing out of him, as expected, the whole game. No time for him, never have, never will. All that aside, well done to Kerry. They ground out the result. Disappointed that we pulled it back to two points with ten to go and didn't kick on to win. Our forwards didn't play at all yesterday. Good game for us though and puts it up to us now for the rest of the league.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/03/2015 18:19:24    1698465

To be honest I thought Jim Gavin's post match interview was incredibly poor.

You see real character when you loose and the mask slipped yesterday.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 02/03/2015 21:34:13    1698549

apologies for above post, poor choice of words,

I was just surprised with post match comments by Jim.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/03/2015 09:00:17    1698566

dont agree wayno
somebody has to come out and say it or it will continue on
it was baltently obvious how poor the offcials were on sunday
and I havent been to a match or seen one even on tv where the officals havent made major mistakes
the gaa are keen to continue clearing up problems in football but miss the glaring one
the standard of refs linesmen and umpires is diabolical
they are the single biggest problem in the gaa in both codes at the minute
and nothing is ever done about it
in fact the tipp manager got suspended for trying to speak his mind
when the linesman could come in and get fitzimons red carded
why couldnt the umpire in the interest of fairness do the same
for both donaghy head butting and maher striking brogan in the face
its nothing short of cheating as the umpire clearly saw it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/03/2015 09:14:36    1698571

Now lads there was 12 cards shown and 8 of them went to Dublin!

I think its a bit ridiculous that two days after a bloody league match there are people on this site claiming that Kerry went out to beat up Dublin and what not. Just have a look at the other trend on here; talking about media conspiracies and how Kerry have always been dirty and are far more so than poor Tyrone or their like ever were, FFS some people need to get a grip.

Kerry and Dublin is a massive rivalry there was a bit of pride at stake for both teams and the weather was atrocious. Do you not think you might keep all that in mind when your talking about a bit of harmless pulling and dragging? As I said on that trend where the looney's seem to have congregated, has everyone forgotten about the Dublin/Tyrone league games around 2008-2010, did anyone see the thuggery Monaghan decided to indulge on in Castlebar two days ago??

And as for some people on here saying Star head butted someone, well show me the evidence, because I was at the game and I watched the highlights after and if pressing your head to another fella's constitutes a head butt than some of ye boys must never have been a scrap in yer life!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/03/2015 10:50:37    1698602

Hill for me that wasn't a headbutt but I agree with everything else you said and it's getting very frustrating watching Donaghy do whatever he likes and nothing being done about it but for me he did not headbutt O Gara.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2015 11:03:56    1698610

the hermit

I not for one minute called kerry dirty or gave out about kerry or anything of that sort
the point i made was crystal clear
its the officals that are to blame
they clealry decided not to inform the ref of what they saw which is down right cheating.
I dont care if thats a league game in march an all ireland final in september or a challennge game in may
its the same thing being dishonest and needs to be cleared from the game immediatly.
the same thing happened against us the last game in croke park
gallagher off donegal punched johnny cooper right on half time
the umpire was 3 yards away from it and was looking directly at it
cooper remonstarted with him to tell the ref what he saw
then went to the ref and told him to talk to the umpire
neither went near each other.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/03/2015 11:44:00    1698627

clondalkin

i was standing right in line with the incedent about 15 yards away
and clearly saw him headbutt him
o gara was already on the deck donaghy won the free out for catching the ball
then tryed to goad the player instead of fist pump in hurling when the free was awarded
he went down into o gara saying something
o gara responded and donaghy clearly didnt like what he said and butted him
he obviously hit him poorly as he cut himself doing so.
its a straight red card offence
the umpire didnt even inform the ref of it
thats blatent disregard for the rules of the game and cheating.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/03/2015 11:48:24    1698629

Ah lads, I have to agree with the Kerry boys here. It's a round 3 league game in all honesty, get a grip. How would you have been if you had gotten what we got in the AI semi final, ye would still be starting threads about it by the looks of things!

One thing that hasn't been mentioned is the dubs have gotten an example of what it can be like in games outside croke park. Maybe now they can appreciate more, why people get so bent out of shape about them playing at home all the time. You can get caught very easily.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2015 12:15:51    1698652

Do you mean the incident when he caught the ball and then went into EOG's face with his head straight after which the camera's showed or is it something the camera's didn't pick up?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2015 12:30:00    1698663

hill16no1man, I'm not saying you were calling Kerry dirty and in fairness almost all the Dublin posters on here have acknowledged that both sides were getting involved. My frustration is with the 'neutrals' who use any old excuse to have a cut at us and in fairness they usually do it to ye as well.

Your broader point about the standards of officiating is valid. And if it can be this bad for the biggest game of the League, what is the standards the likes of the Offaly and Waterford footballers put up with for Division 4 matches??

In my opinion the rules are adequate to deal with everything we complain about, they just need to be enforced. Pull a jersey, black card. Bark at the referee, black card. Linesmen and umpires need to be given the authority to direct a referee's attention to something. I've also got an issue with over-carrying. It seems to be getting far worse in the last few years, now once you are anywhere near the gaols you seem to be able to take 8 or 9 steps.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/03/2015 12:54:22    1698678

1698652 Ah lads, I have to agree with the Kerry boys here. It's a round 3 league game in all honesty, get a grip. How would you have been if you had gotten what we got in the AI semi final, ye would still be starting threads about it by the looks of things!

One thing that hasn't been mentioned is the dubs have gotten an example of what it can be like in games outside croke park. Maybe now they can appreciate more, why people get so bent out of shape about them playing at home all the time. You can get caught very easily.

Think if we played outside of HQ and it actually mattered you might see a different starting 15 . no comparison , but I don't blame conties for wanting us out just wished theyd vote that way .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/03/2015 13:04:53    1698686

Agree with TheMaster.

Its tuesday, two days after the game.

A league game in early March with Dublin in particular without alot of players (Kerry too in fairness)

Time to dust ourselves down.

We've a chance to right the wrongs of sunday, on Saturday evening.

The whinging and moaning about referees is sad.

Especially from Jim Gavin. But its done now. Time to move on.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/03/2015 13:18:45    1698701

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/fitzmaurice-cries-foul-as-kerry-fade-away-again-257467.html

Whats good for the Goose...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2015 16:41:25    1698812

Have you ever heard the saying 'an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind' jimbo? Always trying to justify what your manager or player does, regardless of them being right or wrong, undermines your own credibility.

I was surprised with gavin myself. I know a manager will look out for his team, but he can be a bit too biased sometimes, in a kind of a mother hen - my boys can do no wrong, kind of way. I don't think it is a positive thing. I recall after the AI final in 2013 he had a similar complaint, after just winning the all Ireland. Both games were intense affairs, Id argue there were as many calls mayo didn't get as dublin didnt, just like on this occasion there was plenty flying both directions. Sometimes you have to call it straight.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2015 17:03:16    1698822

Aye Westkerry...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2015 17:04:40    1698823

The thing is waynoI, is Kerry had lost that game do you think they would care half as much? We beat them and there wasn't a mention, and they are dead right too.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2015 17:05:03    1698824

themaster

I agree

Just winding up westkerry a wee bit...

You've possibly seen my own views on the game

I agree with you and Wayno on this one.. think there's just a bit of dented pride going on at the minute

Onwards and upwards for all concerned... all I care about is not getting soaked again as per the Kerry game

Think my brother is sorting posh tickets for Tyrone match...!! Heat, carpets, double glazing... the whole works

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2015 17:34:05    1698844

Did you write that storey jimbo? I se Jim Gavin was giving out about the reff in that game as well for what I don't know , I was sitting in front of 3 Dublin lads in that game and they were totally baffled by coldricks decisions as was the rest of us fans from the kingdom. But I remember leaving crokepark that night and I wasn't devestated I actually left wth a lot of hope we were after playing a strong dublin team in their own back yard and the reff as well and we only got beat by a point and us with a bunch of young lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/03/2015 17:45:37    1698849

The thing is waynoI, is Kerry had lost that game do you think they would care half as much? We beat them and there wasn't a mention, and they are dead right too.

-----
No master, but Kerry are not going for a treble of back to back league titles. I'm glad to see Dublin supporters and managers upset because it means we are treating these games seriously. I'd be much more worried if we were ambivalent to be honest. I'm also glad to see Gavin have a moan at the officials. You need to build up an 'everyone is against us' mentality. It's what made Heffo and Micko great. They both despised the media and were untrustworthy of game officials. It's what made Alex Ferguson and Jose Mourinho great managers in English soccer. Nice guys finish last.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/03/2015 18:24:12    1698872