Kerry v Dublin

Don't wake the beast Horsebox77 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/02/2015 20:23:16    1694542

True.. like poking a dead animal with a stick...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/02/2015 21:00:23    1694572

Jesus they have really latched onto my 33 years statistic, me thinks the Dubs do protest too much, it must still grate with them.

As for the 1990-95 period Jimbo; didn't ye only win one all Ireland in the end during this 'glorious' era, and wasn't that only through robbing poor Peter the Great and some of ye not leaving the pitch when ye were sent off.

I wonder how the Dubs would have done coming up against the great Kerry side of 2004-2009: oh ya that's right: tanked in 2004 and humiliated in 2009. In fairness ye managed to keep it some bit competitive in 2007 until Cluxton had his brain fart that is and threw the game away for ye (give me Diarmuid Murphy's reliability any day).

Ah but sure ye managed to finally topple the Mighty Kingdom in 2011, fair play to ye. I suppose we had to gift ye one to keep you interested. Just as well ye got the couple of all Ireland's in while we were rebuilding. Till be slim pickings this year, just like last year now Kerry is back on top... ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/02/2015 21:03:37    1694575

Nice to see a Kerry man bigging up his team for a change :)

Refreshing to see...

Cant see it catching on anytime soon.. ;)

Kerrymen have a terrible problem with their pants self combusting

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/02/2015 21:23:50    1694588

That's the spirit Hermit :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/02/2015 21:27:17    1694590

Ah sure I'm not talking up any Kerry team, sure we are only getting around to a bit of training now. The all singing all dancing Dubs will surely be coming down to Killarney with a point to prove and put our 'average' side back in its box!

Yerra we will just have to keep it as close as we can against the mighty Dubs and hope we can do enough to stay up in Division one...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/02/2015 21:42:22    1694597

I think Dublin will win on Sunday week because they are league team simple as that.
Dublin always go all out for the league but who could blame them , they have been so starved of national success in the last 20 years, we'll put out a mixed team of young lads and guys that are on the fringes of the team, Jim Gavin will want the 2 points more than we do so he'll put out a strong team IMO. Dublin are a serious team of athletes and the old heavy wintery ground will suit their rugby league style of football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2015 21:52:21    1694602

Kingdomboy read Paul Galvins book and you might learn something about how kerry take the league.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/02/2015 21:55:47    1694606

Eamon Fitz still yet to beat Jim Gavin as Kerry manager.......

He'll want to put that right.

A great opportunty to get that monkey off his back...

AI Champs on their hom pitch.... pressure is on in front of a demanding Keery faithful

Oh yes... another loss to the Dubs wont go down well

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/02/2015 21:58:48    1694608

Doesn't really matter what time of year Dublin play Kerry, its always something to look forward to, but as some other posters have mentioned, this isn't the real deal - too many players being rested, and new guys being tried out. So whatever the result, its hard to read much into it.

Have to say, even as a Dub, I've always liked the way Kerry conduct themselves after an all Ireland win. By the following Tuesday its usually forgotten about, and there's very little gloating (except from Pat Spillane). Contrast that to Armagh's win in 2002, and Donegal in 2012, when they spent the next year going on about how they'd reinvented the game. They were a right pain in the a**e to listen to!

What's anyone's opinion on best ever game between the two? Im going for the 2013 semi final, nothing tops it. I've watched the 1977 game on YouTube and can't see what the fuss was all about. Everytime a ball was taken by a full back, he just lamped it as far down the pitch as he could, not necessarily looking for a team mate! Not much skill there.....to be honest, I thought the drawn game in 2001 and the 2007 semi final were better games than 1977. But 2013....well, that match had everything!

Ballboy (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 18/02/2015 08:13:42    1694612

personally lads I have always enjoyed the relationship with the Dublin fans,
Many visit west Kerry in the Summer and they help our economy and that's very important down here.
Most families come every year and its great and we certainly love all the visitors they make this place a great place in the summer.

Regarding the football, most fans have been decent on here with exception of jackeen & Clondalkin who are quite
ungracious but to be fair they are the minority.

I think Kerry will win on the 3rd, think our players will want a win more to get one over a team
that have had the better of us tihe past few seasons.

I think that difference is midfield, I think we are stronger here and that might make the difference.

either way, enjoy the Kingdom on your visit down..

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/02/2015 13:35:35    1694711

Bit early for this love-in lads.Get a room!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/02/2015 14:40:46    1694735

Not ungracious at all ive said well done a million times my favourite none dub player is the Gooch for me he's the greatest of all time I rate the two best teams ever as the kerry 70's and 00's teams but for me last years Kerry team we're average and very lucky, why is that ungracious ive said well done but this is a forum were you give opinions.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/02/2015 14:52:21    1694743

Who ever wins Sam in any given year deserves it and are worthy champions.
As part of which they should be given that respect that all Champions deserve.

You started a thread the day after the All Ireland calling us lucky & average and that Dublin
really would have beaten Kerry in that final.

That is ungracious to say the least.

I remember how Dublin followers felt after 2011 when they felt that they didn't get the respect they deserved or that they were lucky.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/02/2015 15:18:32    1694751

Sure Dublin in 2011 were the luckiest, most average side ever the climb the steps of the Hogan!!!! It was gifted to them!!!!!!

....lobs the grenade and sits back to watch the sparks fly ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/02/2015 16:17:10    1694766

TheHermit

Sure Dublin in 2011 were the luckiest, most average side ever the climb the steps of the Hogan!!!! It was gifted to them!!!!!!

....lobs the grenade and sits back to watch the sparks fly ;)

----
You've got to look at the teams we beat on the run in that year Hermit to realise that 2011 was one of the hardest won AIs of our time.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/02/2015 16:57:31    1694785

Very true Joxer

We had to beat Tyrone.. which we easily did, and with great skill - one of the performances of the Championship from any team

Donegal... incredibly difficult - went onto win it the next year beating Cork and Kerry along the way

Kerry... a team with so much experience on the big day.. a team full of AI Champs... they even gave it their best in the 2nd half for a time and we still won!

So well... fair enough - it may not have been technically the most gifted of Dublin teams.. but they only lost 1 game all year... The NFL Div 1 final...!

That average team narrowly missed out on a treble... lost one game all year... but we got it in 2013...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/02/2015 17:16:37    1694799

Jim & Joxer,

my point exactly, That's why Clondalkins thread and comments by others are very ungracious.

last year we beat Cork,Mayo and Donegal, Hardly a lucky All Ireland.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/02/2015 17:32:20    1694808

Lads, I think that there is a big difference between certain individuals bigging up a teams achievements, and the entire county doing it. After 2012, it was Brolly who was on and on about us, and the following year, he was quick to jump from the sinking ship. The pattern here? opportunistic journalism.

We were just happy to win the thing, and while we didnt reinvent the wheel to do it, we definitely won it the hard way. I would also say that we wernt given much credit for winning it in 1992, as it was down to the Dubs being too complacent rather than us having a decent team. That did not matter one iota to us, we just enjoyed the experience irrespective of who said what.

I dont understand why it annoys some people about comments on forums about your team being lucky. It shouldnt mater once you have won the all ireland who says what, it is just special to have it.

As for the game on sunday week. I fancy Dublin.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/02/2015 18:16:21    1694822

westkerry

Jim & Joxer,

my point exactly, That's why Clondalkins thread and comments by others are very ungracious.

last year we beat Cork,Mayo and Donegal, Hardly a lucky All Ireland.

Last year was the most impressive All-Ireland I think I've ever seen Kerry win.

Genuinely didn't think they had it in them at various stages against both Mayo and Donegal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 18/02/2015 18:36:52    1694828