Kerry v Dublin

I think he played ok in the 2013 semi final against you

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 24/02/2015 19:46:15    1696492

Ah for jaysus sake lads surely yous know a wind up when you see one? the man has destroyed us countless times im just having the craic The Owl Hermit knows the craic.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/02/2015 21:42:06    1696567

Clondalkin
I know this game against us is a big deal for ye guys in Dublin but it's only another game for our self to try out a few young lads before the real heavy weight battle between our selves and our biggest rivals Cork on Sunday week, I'd say we'll be keeping our powder dry for the real Darby.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/02/2015 21:47:44    1696575

I think even Hermit and Kingdomboy came off the bench and kicked a couple of scores that day!

Yerra I took on the great Ciaran Whelan that day myself, although it was in the Raheny GAA bar at 11:30pm!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/02/2015 21:54:00    1696580

It must be great being from kerry they don't care about the league so they don't take it serous then they play in a provincial championship were the other 5 teams are hurling counties so they've no worries really unless every so often Cork come with a good team and beat them but then they only go into the last 12 ha can you make it any easier for a county in all fairness, sure how could you not win when it's made that easy for yous?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/02/2015 09:55:42    1696620

1696620 It must be great being from kerry they don't care about the league so they don't take it serous then they play in a provincial championship were the other 5 teams are hurling counties so they've no worries really unless every so often Cork come with a good team and beat them but then they only go into the last 12 ha can you make it any easier for a county in all fairness, sure how could you not win when it's made that easy for yous?

correct hard for us to compete when down our hurlers. Kerry are the only Munster county without duals issues. Their hurlers have lads imported from Clare,Tipp,Cork & Kilkenny because they havent enough bodies. Who was the last Kerry player to play football and hurling championship??

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 25/02/2015 11:17:27    1696645

Different Years but Bernard McElligott and Conor Kearney come to mind, they both played Football with then Brick Rangers and Hurling with Abbeydorney, they were on the football panels around 1993-1995 and then played a bit of hurling after with Kerry.. no one in recent memory.. of course there was Johnny Culloty but that's going back a bit.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 25/02/2015 12:56:53    1696679

It must be great being from kerry they don't care about the league so they don't take it serous then they play in a provincial championship were the other 5 teams are hurling counties so they've no worries really unless every so often Cork come with a good team and beat them but then they only go into the last 12 ha can you make it any easier for a county in all fairness, sure how could you not win when it's made that easy for yous?

What's the Dubs excuse so??? 2 miserable All Irelands in 20 years and they in a provincial football championship which is probably weaker than Munster's at this stage!!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2015 13:20:39    1696691

There is no doubt about it.

Kerry have a massive geographical advantage. Always have.. always will have

The points you make are spot on CD

They don't have to worry about the league or even losing to Cork in Munster... the system in place overwhelmingly benefits them

Sure they've even won through the back door.. on the odd occasion when Cork did win...

Now they don't even have to worry about that.. it's a care free existence until August for Kerry

This advantage has resulted in them winning as many titles as they have.

To deny this is ludicrous.....

Now...

What also has to be recognized is that they have produced many of the best footballers / managers this country has ever seen - true greats, but it helps being described as such simply because they won a lot.

But there's that advantage again...

Winning breeds winning... which brings us back to their massive advantage of being a football first province in Munster

It's this advantage and the success garnered from such that has kept that conveyor belt going... generation after generation

Focusing almost entirely on one code

People talk about Dublin's recent financial advantages... but really that's so narrow sighted to the much greater problem in the GAA that has existed almost since it's foundation.

The Championship is completely lob sided... it's not a fair system.

There's a massive amount of ignorance in the GAA world... so much of which has to be ignored to truly enjoy the thing

So many glaringly obvious problems exists that makes for an unfair Championship - Year after Year... and generally it's the same few benefiting

Until the Championship is restructured we'll all have to continue to bury our heads in the sand...

It makes a mockery of the whole thing... you have to ignore a lot being a GAA fan... because when you think about it... it's as dodgy as hell.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/02/2015 13:35:44    1696700

There's nothing fair in the GAA world...

Logically

You even have to question the merits of winning All Ireland's

All of which are tarnished

I mean for some... of course they should be winning them... considering everything that have going for them

Dublin very very much included... in all of this

Some counties will never stand a chance.. zero chance...

So... I guess that's it for me.. no more watching GAA... see ya's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/02/2015 13:48:28    1696706

TheHermit

What's the Dubs excuse so??? 2 miserable All Irelands in 20 years and they in a provincial football championship which is probably weaker than Munster's at this stage!!!!!

Exactly my good man. Now i hope everyone remembers that when our 21s runamok this year( they are stronger than last year) and our Seniors win Sam (they are still sick over the Donegal game and will be fired up this year ) I dont want to be hearing all this talk of splitting us up ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/02/2015 14:10:48    1696724

The Dub posters are at it again the last two AI Dublin won wre handy
they have no oppposition in Leinster for a number of years when there
was oppoaition they could win nothing. Kerry have Cork to deal with
and now Tipperary. Kerry win AI because they have the best players in
the country take it on the chin

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 25/02/2015 14:16:44    1696730

Ok let's look at the Leinster championship over the last 20 years; Meath have won 2 all Irelands 96 n 99 and were runners up in 01 they've also won Leinster in 96 99 01 10 and were also semi finalist in 07 n 09, kildare were runners up in 98 and Leinster champs in 98 and 00 aswell as being an inch away from the all ireland in 00, Offaly 97 laois 03 Westmeath 04 have all won Leinster and Wexford made it to an all Ireland semi in 08.... Yes right now Leinster isn't great but I promise you without doubt these counties will come good again especially meath and kildare now we all know in Munster that clare Tipp Waterford and limerick will never be good ever cause there massive hurling counties so basically it would be crazy if you weren't winning Munster and all irelands cause you don't have a tough game all year so your players are fresh all year round.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/02/2015 14:47:25    1696745

Where do most Kerry people in Armenia live?

Yerevan :-)

I'll get me coat .....

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/02/2015 14:56:39    1696756

hurlingdub

Where do most Kerry people in Armenia live?

Yerevan :-)

I'll get me coat .....

-----
Yer Evan a laugh! I'll get me coat too.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/02/2015 17:48:43    1696853

Ah lads, do we need to do this every 6 months on here: Kerry have an unfair advantage, they have no competition in Munster, they are guaranteed to be the Final every year, every All Ireland they win is 'handy' etc etc, yawn, etc....

Firstly, no county in recent memory has dominated a province the way Dublin have dominated Leinster in the past decade. Anyone from Dublin who goes on about the above, has a great big rock in his hand while walking around a glasshouse. You have not had to leave your own city to play anychampionship game since 2006 FFS!

Secondly, the hurling/football question in Munster works both ways. Kerry hurling suffers as much due to the success and dominance of Cork, Tipp, Clare, Waterford and Limerick as e.g. Waterford's footballers do because of the dominance of Kerry or Cork.

Thirdly, why is it that Kerry, of any county in either code, is only signalled out for 'they get an easy ride' handy 'All Ireland's' argument?? For most of the past 15 years there was nothing in the Leinster hurling championship to touch Kilkenny. They don't even play a Q-final but go straight into a semi-final each year. Where are the people up in arms about how easy Kilkenny have it??

It seems to me most hurling fans have the good grace to acknowledge the Kilkenny's teams great talents and fortitude, why do football fans never extend the Kingdom's teams the same courtesy?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2015 17:51:36    1696856

Jimbo i agree 100% with your post.Everything about Kerry is plainly obvious.And our championship is farcical.Hence why i have proposed the amalgamation of various counties to try and even out the championship.Ive yet to have a taker yet on this subject,but the current format is a joke.And has been for a long long time.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/02/2015 18:13:22    1696866

Kilkenny have been more dominant in fairness than Kerry ever were.
Ye both get handy all Irelands so I see your point.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/02/2015 18:35:19    1696873

have the teams been announced yet?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/02/2015 19:43:04    1696892

Not really dubh linn. When you take into account the fact that only Cork and Tipp have ever really been forces in hurling, and the fact that Kerry have won a similar amount of all irelands to the cats, I think that the kingdom have the better tradition.
As for the handy all ireland stuff, why dont Mayo and galway have a huge amount of all irelands, seeing as how being from a small province is such an advantage.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 25/02/2015 19:51:40    1696893