Cork to win Liam

with annalyst like that will you turn up wildcatpundit,talk about defeatist attitude its a long long time since I seen a bad Tipperary side and this is a side that will put it up to cork for sure

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 05/08/2014 12:47:50    1631743

Monk we are just being realistic about our chances, there are question marks about us all over the field, now we hope the lads go out and prove us wrong against Cork but it is I feel a big ask. Cork look very strong this year. Full back is very problematic position for us and despite what Jamesie thinks Tipp are not any closer to solving that problem after the Dublin game. Wild pundit is 100 percent correct aswell when he talks about us giving away too many frees in the half back line, Horgan will punish us every time he gets an opportunity. I could go on but wild pundits analysis of us is pretty much the same as what I think, as I said I hope the lads prove us wrong but it's hard to see

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 05/08/2014 14:26:55    1631832

tipptothetop I would like to ask you a question a lot of cork lads including myself think jbm is a real good manager but as a outsider this is were I feel tipp have failed for many years,let me explain in 2007 tipp beat cork in a round robin under babbs next game they get walloped by wexford with respect to wexford nobody seen that coming,next year under sheedy munster champs semi final against Waterford 2009 imo unluckily lost to kk in 2010 won it sheedy goes you get ryan and o shea and the wheels have come to a slow halt/grind or is that been unfair?they also had problems for many a year since babbs left after his first term really, the man on the line is very important or am I over complicating things ps still think your trying to pull the wool over or eyes lol

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 05/08/2014 14:49:27    1631849

Df hurlgaa i beleive or team will be extremly competitive over the next few years and i expect two liam macs minimun from the next four years that may not reckon us a force but i also mean a fear factor like clare had between 95 and 99 even though they won nothing after 97 it was the name you did not want to draw but time will tell

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 05/08/2014 15:00:35    1631859

Monk if you look at Tipp over the past 4 years since 2010 its been all downhill. A bunch of players win an AI and we are happy nuff with that for the next 8 r 9 till we get another good bunch of players. Even in 2010 we did not have a great team. Cork walloped us and KK got over hyped bout the 5 in a row. We were better in 2009 and left that one behind so we'll take 2010 one!!!

2013 was a disaster from the start.I was in P.U.Rinn for the league game and left after 45 minutes. Didnt attend another game until the Limerick game in the Championship that year. We played KK in the league final and to only lose by 3 points was flattering. We got ahead of ourselves again talking up the team and less than 2 months later we got our holes handed to us again in Nowlan Park and we exit the Championship.

We should have been relegated in the league this year. A goalkeeper error gave us a win over Waterford. A poor decision by Dublin handed us a place in the quater finals. After 5 mins we were 2-04 to 0-00 up on Cork in that QF and it was pegged back to nothing and Cork even led for a period.Starting to see the trend yet......???

The dogs in Thurles knew our tactics for the Limerick game and we pretty much played into their hands.We had a chance to close out that game multiple times and blew it. Tipp dont do tight games. Our players are not up to it.

We have been papering over cracks all year. I dont think I have had actually any confidence we would beat anyone this year. I know 2 players personally on the team and yes they give serious commitment and I am jealous I am not in there instead of them but by god Tipp's attitude amazes me. The things this team gets up to and I can tell you a certain player did not retire last year due to commitment issues by himself it was the commitment and drive of the other players on the panel.

I really hope they prove me wrong but if they are to get beat I hope they go down fighting and not like a whimper as they have done so twice against Limerick in 2013 & 14 and KK in Nowlan Park last year.

Even looking at that Cork team puts the fear of god in me.It will take an almighty collapse from Cork if Tipp are to win this one. I'm not just saying that its my honest opinion of where Tipp hurling is at present.

If Tipp win the AI I will run a marathon for charity as punishment for my lambasting of them.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 05/08/2014 15:21:07    1631880

Monk you are spot on, I felt like crying the day Sheedy withdrew his services, he had them buzzing. JBM is IMO the best manager out there with Cody, but I think he is even a bit better than Cody. Sure ye know yerselves how much of a difference a manager makes JBMs 2 stints in charge and Donal O Grady, fair enough John Allen aswell but Donal O Grady had that team setup when he left, confidence is everything, you can see the difference when a team goes out and plays with no fear and I feel there is a fear in the Tipp team and they just can't seem to get past it. I think that all comes from management and that is why The rebel tide is rising again. I don't think anyone thought that the hurlers weren't in Cork when they were having a few lean years. It is pretty much the same Tipp team from 10 except a couple, after winning in 10 we needed Sheedy to stay on for at least one more year just to keep the lads grounded but it didn't happen so what can you do. Now O'Shea is good but he does baffle me at times with his tactics and subs but I will give him this his heart is in the right place and I don't hear any mumblings of discontent in the camp like there was with Ryan and Dunne so who knows maybe they will surprise us and get it right but trust me monk it will be a surprise!

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 05/08/2014 15:29:23    1631894

Wildpundit I really don't know what to say to your last post it amazes me that yourself and tipptothetop have so little confidence in your side I genuinely thought you were playing it down,but judging by your last post I know your speaking the truth as you are speaking from the heart,One poster here has said he has the utmost respect for Tipperary I don't agree with everything that poster says but I echo that as there is a great rivalary and respect between cork and tipp ,tipp would have been my selection at the start of the year but I will admit there is a few cracks there that I have noticed myself,i honestly think it will be hard work for cork and im hopeful but no more than that as I don't think were bomb proof either half back line lets just say jurys out this side is probably/possibly the weaker side of the draw,then again wildcat maybe you will be getting those runners out as a marathon might be waiting for you lol

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 05/08/2014 15:44:11    1631910

I will probably regret that one Monk but I'll stick to my word!!

Tipp Cork rivalry is one of the best and a first championship meeting in Croker I hope is not quickly put to bed with you rebels roasting us.

I will be there of course more in hope than expectation and a Corkoian travelling in my car wont be easy!! I just hope there is no fine for driving with ear phones as if Tipp lose my Cork friend will burn the ear off me!!!

Also my other half is from North Cork and I can safely say the spare room will be mine for a few days after the 17th!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 05/08/2014 15:56:36    1631922

tipptothetop either side or not bomb proof and im glad that you agree with me that the man on the line is priceless,this is the MAIN REASON but there are plenty of others also that kk stand as number 1 CONTINUNITY,while cork and tipp were winning all Irelands they changed managers,what did kk do paid a couple more quid and kept there man,tipp and cork county boards want to learn from this and have a long look at themselves as for the game I make cork slight very slight favorites it will be tight no quarter given but il only be happy when I see tipp going one way down the road with no return ticket im nervous but excited may the best team win

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 05/08/2014 15:58:07    1631923

The tipp lads are right to point out some frailties however I will point out some improvements.

Paudi Maher started at 3 against lk and Galway I don think he will against Cork. COM is far better.

They also ahve more competition in their back line with stapleton Barret and Curran all now in contention.

As for Brenadan Maher if he not a 6 then he an 8 and that should help thier midfield.

For me though Bubbles and Callinan make this tipp team. Bubbles is far more consistent that Callinan so Id expect bubbles to go to town on McLoughlin, Cahalane or Joyce. Now Callinan is hit amd miss but unless you ahve a top abck to mark him he will be a hit and I dont see any option that McDonnel to mark him and I dont think McDonnel with snuff him out. Now if those two tick then Ryan and McGrath will find their feet. If all of them and Bonner fir then I really can only see one out come. If u throw a 5 week lay off into the mix then Im more inclined again to go for tipp.

When I factor in that Lehane and Harnedy did v little before Munster final and P Maher and BArry/Bergin/ MAher Barret will do better than our 5 and 7 then Im even more inclined to go for tipp.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 05/08/2014 16:03:42    1631928

OR it could be a picture and no sound wildpundit lol all joking aside may the best team win by god I hope its us and as you said first championship game in croker glad its a semi and not a final I don't think the nerves would take it,tipp are the team I hate more than any for 70minutes but by god I respect there fans there hurling there ethics history and pedigree but most of all the rivalary and good fair banter between the fans cork beat hay saved tipp beat hay saved answers on the 17th of august

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 05/08/2014 16:13:19    1631939

disillusionedfan thank you for bringing this to my attention maybe these tipp lads are leading me up the garden path,i was just about to relax but I should have known better,personally it will be tight no more than a puck of the ball between them and as I said earlier it will be won and lost in the cork halfback line maybe just maybe the man on the line might swing it for us go with the heart cork by the minimum

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 05/08/2014 16:28:36    1631954

Thoughts lads?..Snould we go out and play 15 v 15 and have a right go, man for man, are we good enough to beat kk this way? I think so! Or do we drop man back and try beat them this way by crowding out etc? Dublin failed badly and gave impetus to kk straight away,i dont agree with this. I think its better to take them on and concentrate on ourselves.

hurlgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 05/08/2014 16:41:47    1631961

Apologies I posted on wrong forum.

hurlgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 05/08/2014 16:52:57    1631972

Same to you monk best of luck mate may the best team win. Just food for thought if limerick are to win the all Ireland they have to beat kk cork and maybe tipp again!! That wud b some achievement in the one year!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 05/08/2014 20:49:36    1632153

They were a bit better the last day but to be honest Dublin were poor and the Cork half forward line is a different class to Dublins. Best of luck monk aswell I'm sure we'll be talking again before the game, Croker will be some craic that day I always enjoy the banter with the Cork lads and lassies it's always a good day out.
Btw Limerick have to go 15 on 15 anything else would be playing into kk hands plus it serves to put doubts into yer heads before a ball is thrown in that ye can't beat them

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 05/08/2014 22:01:04    1632217

wildpundit tipptothetop two sound men all the best let the best team win,if its not us I would not begrudge tipp it no way,but I suppose nobody in the land could also begrudge limerick it also, also agree on the limerick annalyst tipptothetop if they don't match up it could be a long day for them,but I have a feeling limerick will put it up to them wheater there good enough only time will tell

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 06/08/2014 12:14:02    1632356

Tipp to beat Cork by 5 points

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 07/08/2014 11:46:52    1632872

An average Tipp team vs an average Cork team only difference been that imo Tipp have the better forwards and croke park will suit them better. Not sure what midfield Tipp will play, I go with woody and Mcgrath. on form after the last two games.
Full back looks dodgey for both teams and ide fancy the Tipp half back line over the cork one, Plus in the Munster final it took Cork 10 minutes to score or win a free even.. if they start like that against Tipp they will find them 5 or 6 points down at half time.
The bookies have it 50/50 so for me as a betting man and the fact that Tipp have won 5 of the last 6 championship meetings with cork ill trow down 20 on Tipperary to win by 4-6 at 11/2 and that should pay for a good nights drinking and coppers after.

Dan Breen (Tipperary) - Posts: 165 - 09/08/2014 17:42:38    1633864

A fool and his money dan breen are easily parted I never seen a bookie on a bicycle yet and with silly wagers like that I won't be seeing them ride a bike for a while,still whatever makes you happy lol

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 09/08/2014 18:24:13    1633889