Cork to win Liam

I will take the 13/2 on Limerick. It could be a very big price come 6 o'clock on the 10th of August. If we play to our best we have a super chance against Kilkenny.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 30/07/2014 09:42:36    1628322

Blackrockeddie
(1)The six week break does make a huge difference as several Munster Champions have found out and it is ye who will have to deal with V Tipp (2) Cork were very shaky at different periods in that game (3) If Harnedy's goal should not have been disallowed and Mulcahy was unlucky, as he was, to have his not allowed we are in seriously close territory (4) Both Hannon and Breen have been out injured all through the Spring and they would be far better players if were to get over KK. (Hannon was clattered in the very minute last Sunday but went on to have a fine game in his more suited central position) (5) We would have ye in a neutral venue which must count for something. In saying all this I know Cork will improve but we would have not gone back much either if we both up in Croker in September

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 30/07/2014 09:55:57    1628325

'Cork were a better team all year' Maybe but what have they really done to support that argument. They beat a Clare team, with some difficulty, that had 180 minutes to beat Wexford and could not do so and as I said above Lk were six weeks without a competitive game in the Munster Final.I agree they were the better team on the day but as Galway found out, in 2012, and Kilkenny, in 98, winning the provincial final does not guarantee victory against the same opposition if you meet in an All Ireland Final. Cork footballers among others have found out this also. However this is all conjecture until after the Semi Finals are decided

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 30/07/2014 10:10:13    1628331

Theraltmo and Tipptothetop
Ye are playing blinders, keeping the Tipp lads under the radar and blowing up Cork. I have watched this particular derby for many a year and the underdogs often come to the top in it. If Tipp come prevail here they will be very hard to beat in the the Final. It could be 2010 all over again

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 30/07/2014 10:18:38    1628336

This is how I see the Cork team at present. I will try and avoid cliches.

Goalkeeper: Nash is the best in the country in my opinion. Brilliant puck out, brilliant shot-stopper and chips in with the odd long distance point. We don't need his penalty taking skills either.

Full back line: Cahalane is ok/good when teams pull one of the full-forwards out the field. That allows him to play as a sweeper behind O'Neill and McDonell. He does this well. Against Limerick when he had to man-mark somebody he was cleaned out and taken off. He was poor in the air and his skills are not up to the speed of intercounty level. His confidence must be shattered after the football. McDonnell is one of the most improved corner backs in the country. O'Neill is a very good corner back but is a little inconsistent. I thought he played well against Limerick.

Half-back line: Ellis is doing ok but is very inexperienced. He also lacks pace. He must stick to the centre. An injury that he is carrying won't help him. Christoper Joyce - don't what to say about him. he drifts through games anonymously. Lorcan McLoughlin is playing reasonably well but overall this is our weakest line.

Midfield - Kearney - outstanding. If Cork do win the All-Ireland, he could be player of the year. His work rate is incredible. Walsh - the odd moment of magic where he grabs the ball out of the sky, goes on a solo run and belts one over and does a bit of fist pumping seems to mask, the constant need to put the ball on his hurley to go on a solo-run, getting dispossessed most of the time and the brainless sideline cuts that give the opposing keeper the opportunity to launch pressure on our defence when we should be putting pressure on their backs.

Half forwards - Lehane is coming into his own. Much more efficient with the ball these days. Maybe out of the game for periods but is deadly when given a chance. Harnedy continues to get better. Cooper - he is better than Cian McCarthy. He is not a new player. he has been on the scene in Cork for a while. He is not a bad player. I wait to be convinced that he is top-class intercounty. I want to be convinced.

Full-Forward - Cadogan has been a revelation for Cork this year. Deadly first touch, great speed and gets his quota of points every game. Horgan is outstanding as well. Did not get much from play the last day but given the mans point in the All-Ireland final drawn game last year, he barely needs an inch of space to be able to score. He is sublimely skilled. There maybe as players as skilled as him but none more skilled. Cronin - he wins frees (whether they are fouls or not is another thing). He is on the edge of the square that is best place for him - there or the bench.

Cork are poor down the centre as far as I see it. There are other places where we are very strong. Other teams have their weaknesses too. Guessing who will win is half the fun of it. Tipp of momentum and I think Cork were only good against Clare this year - the Munster final pace was slow (Limerick have recovered). Therefore I think Tipp will win. I hope I am wrong though.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/07/2014 11:09:18    1628352

Hoover78
County: Limerick

I will take the 13/2 on Limerick. It could be a very big price come 6 o'clock on the 10th of August. If we play to our best we have a super chance against Kilkenny.

agree there thats a ridiculous price
cannot see why on anything other than past reputation kilkenny would be that far ahead in the betting.
limerick have performed beter this year in my book
kilkenny will concede goals against limerick
against us the last day we played one man inside their 45 for most of that first half yet
we still got a goal and in the second half should have added at least one more
limerick have better forwards than us and can take longe range points
i think they will run kilkenny backs around that day as they wont have the luxury of having two spare
men at the back to sweep up ,it is set up perfectly this year for limerick as the whole favourites tag and hype
lead them into a false belief,this year they will be underdogs and will be confident not over confident like last year.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/07/2014 11:42:58    1628364

bennybunny

Blackrockeddie

KK - the team that have won 9 out of the 14 All-Irelands so far this century are not in Cork's class!!!????????????

Unless you clarify that rubbish, nobody is going to take seriously. Take your head out of your arse lad.

In reality, Tipp will win the semi-final - I predict they win by 7-8 points. Cork are a patched up team. Cahalane, Joyce, Ellis, Walsh, Cooper and Cronin are not intercounty standard hurlers. They are good hurlers but they do not have the real skill, speed of thought of a top class intercounty player. They will be found out. Bringing on guys like Egan, Moylan, McCarthy is also a waste of time.

Cork are being dragged through because guys like Kearney, Lehane, Horgan, Cadogan and Harnedy are dragging us through games. These fellas are all top class. The championship only starts now. Results up to now mattter not one iota.

Christ with support like this who needs support.

Adain walsh Has made hogans stand team three out of four week he has played. Ellis and cooper have done a brilliant job since they came into the team. No team has 15 top class players and cork are no different. I agree that kilkenny are the team to beat no doubt. But cork have a great chance against them. I dont know why your so hard on cork jasus they have beaten the regining munster and all ireland champions. The have brough us our first munster title in 8 years. Jasus almighty man give them some credit. If they do loose the semi final they still have gone forward a step from last year and thats all we can ask of them. No one gave them a hope last year either and they came with in a whisker of winning the all ireland.Also dont forget last year cork were comprehensively beating kilkenny in the q final. Dont forget sheflins sending off offence happened on kilkennys 30 meter line. Thats how frustrated they were.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 30/07/2014 12:38:15    1628399

Limericks and kk is shaping up to be a mighty tussle, it should be tight enough unlike what I fear our game against Cork will be. My opinion is that Limerick need to keep tabs on Hogan in midfield, he is playing super stuff and my hurler of the year so far. My fear for Limerick is that kk haven't opened up this year, they haven't had to as of yet, every game has been comfortable for them so far. Limerick will definitely be a step up from anything they have played this year though. Heart says Limerick but head says kk, hope the heart is right.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 30/07/2014 12:43:08    1628406

Limericks and kk is shaping up to be a mighty tussle, it should be tight enough unlike what I fear our game against Cork will be. My opinion is that Limerick need to keep tabs on Hogan in midfield, he is playing super stuff and my hurler of the year so far. My fear for Limerick is that kk haven't opened up this year, they haven't had to as of yet, every game has been comfortable for them so far. Limerick will definitely be a step up from anything they have played this year though. Heart says Limerick but head says kk, hope the heart is right.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 30/07/2014 12:44:23    1628407

Ritchie

I have been supporting Cork a long time (as have you no doubt). I call things as I see it. I admire all the players. They are all vastly superior players than I ever was and more dedicated than I ever was. I make comparisons based on what I see and I give reasons for them. They are my opinions. Nothing more. They don't mean I do not support Cork.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/07/2014 12:49:45    1628415

So hard to call.

Kilkenny are flying but have a weakness which could be exposed by the strengths of the remaining 3. Have always loved Kilkenny hurling and wouldn't begrudge them another title

Limerick. The team Id most like to win it as they have been waiting he longest! I reckon if they get Cork again they'll beat them. Fancy them to upset the cats

Tipp. Moving nicely like Id fancy Limerick to beat Cork id fancy Tipp to beat Limerick in a rematch. Werent tested by us which might count against them

Cork. Flying. Hard to see what there weak point is at present. So much skill and pace I think they'll beat Tipp by a few and would probably beat Kilkenny. If they meet Limerick in a final well...

So tough to call it really is. Ill say Cork to make up for last year

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 30/07/2014 13:36:01    1628459

At last a fellow countyman who is singing from some of the same hymm sheet as myself fair play ritchie,oldmantour you list out some points but your last point you say we would have ye in a neutral venue take it from me you wouldnt,limerick are a good side for sure but there not as good as cork and thats what it boils down to you talk about goals given and disallowed that is part of hurling always has been,as for the six week break i wont be using that as a excuse last week wexford played to many now cork havent played enough,dont buy it these guys are athletes they will be ready take it from me, benny reading your pros and cons on our team dont really agree with your annaliyst on joyce walsh or cronin but everyman to his own opinion

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 30/07/2014 14:06:44    1628467

Cork to win Liam ? 'Fraid so.
Got their kick-in-the-ar5e off Waterford and have been progressing steadily since without trouncing anyone or no more lucky escapes.
No stand-out names on the team but if any one was out you'd miss him. Last year will be a huge motivation for them too.
Limk were the better team v Tipp but they lost their only test since, the Mun Final. WX were jaded going into the QF leaving Limk none the wiser afterwards. KK by about 4 in the semi.
Tipp lost to Limk for a 2nd year running, not a good sign of them. Beat a jaded Galway in Thurles, Offaly are off the radar for now, and an ageing Dublin that's heading for a lengthy transition. Again in Thurles.
The KK of their '00s peak would've gone on to beat Galway by 15pts if they were 10 ahead with 7mins left. They certainly wouldn't let it go to a replay. Not what they were, can't be motivated year-in-year-out. Hope I'm wrong but I can see either KK players with mileage, or those lacking experience, being found out on AIF day.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 31/07/2014 15:43:18    1628990

AnFearDonn
County: Kilkenny

The KK of their '00s peak would've gone on to beat Galway by 15pts if they were 10 ahead with 7mins left. They certainly wouldn't let it go to a replay. Not what they were, can't be motivated year-in-year-out. Hope I'm wrong but I can see either KK players with mileage, or those lacking experience, being found out on AIF day.

Nice effort at playing down the fact that ye are league and Leinster champions, easily accounting for all the teams that ye have played thus far...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 31/07/2014 16:36:49    1629031

Bennybunny:

You say Cork are weak down the spine of the team, but surely you have to agree that the spine is stronger this year then it was last? I agree with you that Ellis is slow and Cahalane is a liability but Walsh has got stronger each game imo. Cooper had a fine Munster final also.
There are question marks over a few Tipp players aslo. Time to be positive!
If I am honest I think Limerick are the team we should all be fearing. I fancy them to shade it against KK.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 01/08/2014 08:36:21    1629233

Dunno about the easily seeing off everyone we've met Benny - Tipp took us to extra-time in the Lge Final ( I know, the League ...)and we won by 1pt. Galway drew with us and went 3up in the early stages of the replay, who knows what if indiscipline hadn't cost them so many frees afterwards ?

The Waterford draw aside - and ye were lucky - ye've looked comfortable since.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 01/08/2014 10:19:55    1629263

I wouldnt think any of the cork supporters or team would agree that the munster final was comfortable.Ridiculous statement. That match was tight and could of gone either way if everyone was being honest,well done however to cork for winning!! I will say that if we beat kilkenny and i give us great chance then either cork or tipp will have there work cut out winning an all ireland this year!

hurlgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 03/08/2014 18:36:45    1630816

Hurlgaa if we beat kk then we will most prob fail to win the final because of a blaze of hype and media frenzy. Three posters on our home page (which i find difficult to even read at the moment and certainly wont post on) are asking for a Limerick song. A SONG FOR AN AI SEMI???? Where were these people last year when our management fuelled the hype that cost us an AI.

What other county in Ireland would have a song for a semi???? We would be a laughing stock AGAIN. Bet u Davy made a big deal of the limerick song to his team last year. I will get lambasted for this but potentially we are the best team in it but our bandwagon will fuel a hype like no other team will have to deal with. We only have to look back 12 months to see a liability that I doubt Cork or Tipp would have to deal with.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 03/08/2014 19:07:06    1630845

Thats gas but i mean it in the sense that i was going to post about it on our forum just a half an hour ago but i decided not to because i knew the spiel that would come of it DF! Its sickening to see it, you would have to question what is the mind frame of some of the people of our beloved county? Have you heard any of the other semi finalists mention something so preposterous..NO..its laughing stock material but some never learn! Its a shame, a hinderence and ultimately a disgrace! Interviews with media, over use of media for in my opinion limelight,especially one who i wont be mentioning but im sure others think also! Too many distractions! Emphasis should be on focus from everyone, lets have some poise!!!! Never see any of remaining semi finalists carry on like this or other counties as well! What you will hear is the likes of: What difference does it make,its only fun and banter, move with the times..Probably coming from the same that dismissed limerick of chances of LIAM after munster final loss...I did NOT let me add! Its all well and good to be relaxed surrounding our hype ploys etc.. but it has cost us before!!!Surely we could learn from our mistakes in the interest of capturing a well overdue LIAM!

hurlgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 03/08/2014 19:49:58    1630900

After seeing the latest post on home site i eventually posted. Im perplexed, Cork would not do this do ye agree? Who would do this in right frame of mind?

hurlgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 03/08/2014 20:20:26    1630931