Cork to win Liam

Relly looking forward to hearing from BlackrockEddie.
All in all a great performance by Tipperary it has to be said that defensive performance was superb & Cork had no answer.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 18/08/2014 10:16:49    1638191

Nothing seemed to click right for Cork yesterday at all.
Too many wides, easy frees missed, off the pace, lost key battles..
Hard luck yesterday lads.

Their fans bring some colour to the terraces it has to be said.
I love when Dublin v Cork meet - craic on the Hill is 2nd to none...

Young enough team and I am sure they will be back next year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 18/08/2014 10:25:31    1638207

We are going to come back next year. There is no doubt about that. Cork will have a team and hopefully guys like Patrick Horgan won't have bad a game again.

However, some things are not going to change for a while:

1) Our back line - they are very poor. I have been consistent in this all along. I thought Alan Cadogan and Patrick Horgan would be better than they were yesterday but the dismal performance of our backs was coming. Our county championship is throwing up nothing for us so we will have them again next year.
2) Our underage set up is not all bad - we do quite well in the Tony Forristal (under 14- won it last year), we won the All-Ireland under 17 last year as well and are generally quite good in Munster divisional blitzes - however, we don't win the big ones. Minor, under 21 and colleges (Harty and Croke cups). These ones are the confidence boosters, the headline makers and we are well off. We are getting confidence shattering hammerings in them (under 21s v Clare, our two colleges in the Harty semi-finals this year etc).
3) Hurling is popular in the urban areas - there are loads of kids out in the greens of estates pucking balls all over the place, loads of practicing going on. Rebel Og has also seen as an 'improvement' (with more needed) in underage affairs after decades of stagnation. This needs to be harnessed as kids will always follow the latest fad. Harnessed means putting resources into something. We are getting a stadium for Garth Brooks to play in.
4)Our county board will always put a 'face that fits' in charge of our teams rather than the best person for the job. Anybody that has been a critic of the board will never get in. We will never have people like Ger Cunningam, Donal Og, Donal O Grady (again) in charge of any of our teams. They are qualified but not 'county board' people.

As a result of the above, optism is low.

Point 1 above must not take away from Tipp forwards. They have been brilliant all year long. Well done to them.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 18/08/2014 11:21:21    1638247

I hold up my hand i got it wrong not sure what happpened Cork
but hats off to Tipp they were brilliant I think the Cork dual
players will have to stick to one game from here on

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 18/08/2014 12:29:55    1638295

I would agree with most of that Benny Bunny, especially around Point 4

As a defensive unit we are not good enough, there are some good hurlers in that backline & on the ball some of them are as good as you will see, when not on the ball however its a different story.
Big problems in attack too, Pat Horgan is a skillful hurler but is not aggressive enough to win his own 50/50 ball, Cadogan can be well marshalled too. Cooper to be fair mixes it well physically but did a lot of poor things yesterday too, Lehane was well marshalled but he came more & more into the game & finished as Corks best forward by far. 1-07 from play in an AI semi final is a frightening scoring stat.

A Munster win over a fine Limerick team is welcomed but a lot of work to do no doubt & some Division 1 Hurling to look forward to also.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 18/08/2014 16:02:35    1638430

This is why i did not write straight after game and waited for things to calm down and get a perspective on the situation,firstly congraulations to tipperary worthy winners and there fans are the best,on this site they have not put the boot in or been patroising major respect for the blue and gold hopefully they can go on and win it,as i said tipp worthy winners but pure and simple we did not turn up now i know some cork supporters doubted the team and they will say they were right,i however never doubted them and people will say i was wrong,some of the things i have read heard on radio has been disgraceful from a cork view on this site alone if your face fits you get the job,so now jbm is not good enough for job give me strength, also on cork fm some people questiong jbm GOOD GOD REALITY CHECK,kerry 2001 hammered by meath came back to win 3 all irelands that decade WE DID NOT TURN UP YESTERDAY the same as kerry in 2001,im hurting so are alot of cork lads but i said and i stand by it this is a real good side NOBODY SEEN THAT COMING YESTERDAY AND I MEAN NOBODY a great season NO but all in all a good season we will be back lads mark my words and not in 25 years either

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 18/08/2014 17:14:04    1638476

That's a fair post Blackrockeddie. Which must have been hard to do. Id agree I don't think many people seen that coming yesterday. Tipp should be given the credit for really approaching this game and executing their plan very well.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/08/2014 17:20:38    1638481

Fair play blackrockeddie. Could happen to a bishop as one of my Cork friends says :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 18/08/2014 18:03:49    1638505

Fair BlackrockEddie

Good post. I still admire your optism.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 18/08/2014 18:50:45    1638528

Blackrockeddie fair play to your huge confidence in this Cork team,but i didnt know where you were getting it from.I was one of the few who predicted a Tipperary victory.Bennybunny has constantly highlighted the lack of quality in the back line.I agree 100%.It is a very average back 6.I felt Clare should have beaten Cork well in both last years All Ireland finals,bar Nashs ridiculous 21 yard frees keeping them in the game.Aidan Walshs skill levels need serious improving.Great athlete - average hurler.He and Cahalane will have to choose which game to play next year.Corks forwards are nice,silky,skillfull hurlers.Cleaned out by Tipp on Sunday though - out muscled,out fought.10 years now without an All Ireland now for Cork.An eternity for for the blood and bandage.
Tipperary are in a great position now,going into the final.Goalkeeper looks solid.Barret looks a quality corner back.Hell be around for a long time.Micky Cahill will be fighting for his place back.Two Mahers in half back line are on top of their game.Woodlock and S McGrtath will take a lot of confidence out of their cleaning out of their Cork counterparts.Although the forwards racked up a nice score,there is still plenty of room for improvement.G Ryan,Bonnar and Lar failed to score.N McGrath has had better days.And will need one in the final.Callinane and Bubbles continued their fantastic form.Bonnars workrate is exceptional.He was unlucky not to get through for a couple of goals.He will need to finish these chances off in the final.
Great couple of weeks to look forward to another Tipp v KK final.A modern epic rivalry.Shefflin and Cody looking to win their 10th final.Tipp doing everything in their power to prevent this and level up the scores 2 apiece in the 4 finals played since 2009.It wont be for the feint hearted.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 19/08/2014 18:45:35    1639017

Beennybunny
Were you at the Munster Minor Semi Final? Lk have gone on to easily qualify for the All Ireland Final yet they only beat Cork by two points in their own pitch in what was as good and tough a minor game as I have ever seen. So Cork had no bad Minor team this year

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 19/08/2014 20:09:16    1639052

Ath cliath hurlingdub cuederocket thank you for your magnaimous comments,as i said before this is a forum you give your opinion you live or die by that not everyone will agree with your comments and that is good that is why we debate about it,cuederocket i look like a fool now after sunday but i genuinely beleive we did not turn up and we are way better than that and i am sure we will prove that sooner rather than later that team that beat limerick was not on show on sunday,but take nothing away from tipp they were different gravy and deserve all the plaudits,but i beleive in my team my county and our manager jbm and i will shout louder next year i promise you no i swear it we will be back

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 19/08/2014 20:27:43    1639063

Ive no doubt yell be back next year eddie.The only problem is,so will Kilkenny,Clare,Limerick,Tipperary,Dublin,Galway,Waterford and Wexford.There are no guarantees on anything.It is so hard to reach the summit.So many top teams of similiar standards.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 19/08/2014 20:41:19    1639074

Cuederocket think u really need to be more objective on last year. Ppl forget after last years AI final most ppl went on about a wonderful couple of games n Clare's projected dominance in years to come.

Cork on the other hand decidied it wasn't good enough and they IMPROVED their team by adding 6 new players. Given the improved corks performance last Sunday should u not reconsider this blind faith u have in Clare?

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/08/2014 09:40:21    1639154

Df,after last years 2 finals,i said Clare were the far better team on both days.Nashs goals kept Cork in both games.In general play,Clare hurled Cork off the field in both games.Im not sure,after last Sunday,how much Cork have improved.
As for Clare,i think they are the real deal.Forget about this year.Lots of teams find it impossible to retain an All Ireland.Especially a very young team,after winning their first.I would be surprised if they dont reach another final,over the next 2 years.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/08/2014 11:13:31    1639215

U may be right cue they r v young but I saw nothing last year that would suggest they could be on a pat with this years kk n tipp performances.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/08/2014 12:38:27    1639276

Some of these Clare lads have won 2 Munster Minors and 3 Munster u21 in succession.Their going for their 3rd u21 All Ireland and have already won the Liam McCarthy.Every once in a while a special group of players come around at the same time.This is Clares greatest crop of players.Theyve already won everything in the game.I wouldnt worry in the slightest about them leaving the championship early this year.I see,even Tony Kelly today,says how hard it was for them to get up for it this year.I guess that was predictable,even if i did fancy them giving a better account of retaining Liam.This extended summer break this year will do them the world of good.They will,more than likely,win this years u21 All Ireland.This is a very talented,young,honest group of players.There is a lot more to come from them.I am quite sure about that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/08/2014 13:36:24    1639318

What happened to Clare this year happened to Tipp last year in 2013. No championship win and all summer / winter to reflect on a poor year.

Clare will be back and some of those U.21 team will be in with a shout next season. Hurling as never been as strong as Clare since probably late 90s / early 00s.

I feel Kilkenny's dominance has come to an end but I would not rule them out winning the AI at least once every 2 r 3 years. Starting this September.

Despite Tipp & Kilkenny in the final again this year both could easily have been beaten and exited the Championship.( Tipp by Galway & KK by Limerick )

2015 could be another en-thralling year already.

Munster will be hard to call between 4 teams.

Leinster will have Galway & Dublin looking for redemption and a rejuvenated Wexford capable of pulling off a shock or two.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/08/2014 14:24:59    1639357

Exactly Wildpundit.All traditional hurling counties are in decent shape,bar Offaly.There is not much to choose between 7/8 teams.Kilkenny s era of,near total dominace,is slowly coming to an end.There is no fear of the stripeymen enduring a famine though.They may have to settle for winning an All Ireland every 3/4 years or so.Something every other county would consider a golden period.Tipp are strong,with recent good underage teams to pick from.However,if they lose their 3rd All Ireland to Kilkenny in last few years,its hard to know,what detrimental effect it would have on them.
Cork,regardless of Sundays no show,are in good shape.They will always have the numbers.The tradition.The self confidence.I would like JBM to have another year.Gentleman Jimmy deserves a better way to bow out.This year will bring their young players on a lot.Cork always seem to be able to find a couple of players out of nowhere.
I think Clare are slightly ahead of every team,bar Kilkenny.Proven winners already at every level.Youth on their side.Embarrasment of riches.It will be interesting to see will they fullfill their potential.
Limerick are just 2/3 players short of having an excellent team.These players may come through from the last 2 minor teams.
Wexford are on a steady upward graph.2 successful,Leinster winning u21 teams,will be the backbone of their team,over the next few years.
Dublin are in for a few years of rebuilding.This team has gone as far as it can.Fresh blood needed.2/3 new top forwards needed to really threaten the top teams.Need to become more adept at scoring goals.
Galway lack cutting edge upfront also.If Canning is not on his game,one wonders where the match winners are.Consistency is a big factor.Or lack thereof.On their day,a match for anybody.However these days are far too infrequent.
Waterford are in transition also.Again,2 good minor teams and successful colleges teams coming through,but will take a couple of years to mature into good seniors.
Offaly - the less said the better.The only way is up.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/08/2014 15:12:09    1639407

Hurling is in great shape at the moment & the final is a really mouthwatering prospect.

Proud to be a GAA man even though I never played a hurling match in my life.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 15:17:17    1639413