Galway v Kerry

The best player in the country over the last 10 years is Declan O Sullivan. If you take him out of the Kerry team, its fair to say they are the worst Kerry team in many's a long year,

I would have said Gooch is. That statement is a bit harsh especially as we are rebuilding. You can only beat what is in front of you at the end of the day. We ran the Dubs very close last year and were leading for a lot of that game. In fact we gave them a much better game than any other team last year. including Mayo. Even though we lost the Gooch, Tomas O Se and Galvin this year I think we have a much better squad of players, a better bench and are playing better football. It won't say much for Mayo if we were to meet in the AI semi and ye don't beat "the worst Kerry team in many's a long year"

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 28/07/2014 15:18:58    1627364

Mayoforever How in god's good name do you think this Kerry side offer nothing only Declan O'Sullivan. You do realise this team also contains Marc O'Se, Killian Young, Bryan Sheehan, Darran O'Sullivan and certain young fella called James O'Donoghue to name but a few. Player for player there as good a side as any in Ireland Gooch or no Gooch. If we do manage to get over Galway believe me Mayo will know all about it...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/07/2014 15:24:37    1627369

Mayoforever

I think you are slightly over estimating Kerry there Traleenative. It can be argued that Walshe, Cummins, Conroy, Armstrong (if started)and Lundy will go to town on that Kerry defence. The best player in the country over the last 10 years is Declan O Sullivan. If you take him out of the Kerry team, its fair to say they are the worst Kerry team in many's a long year, and a Munster final win over a Cork team which did'nt function on the day is merely disguising that fact

Jaysus mayo, that is one of the silliest posts I've read on HS in some time.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2014 15:28:48    1627371

The '08 quarter-final was a cracker of a game in atrocious weather conditions. Kerry are the favourites going into it alright but sure it was the same ahead of Down in '10. Kerry struggled to get through at this stage last year, the long gap between Munster final and quarter-final is always a hindrance. Three years ago when Kerry won the first quarter-final of the day, Mayo caused an upset beating Cork. There could be an upset in the second game but in favour of the Munster runners-up.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 28/07/2014 17:11:19    1627446

mayo will take cork with no problems

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 28/07/2014 17:28:41    1627465

the long gap between Munster final and quarter-final is always a hindrance.

It is if you meet a very strong team, but usually kerry come good as the quarter final back door teams are not the top drawer, ie cavan last year, limerick in 2011 etc. The reality is that if you go in the back door you are in trouble unless you are particularly good or lucky.

This game will hinge on goals and I think that galway will be out to test kerry in this department.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/07/2014 17:38:32    1627475

I've a good feeling about this one.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 28/07/2014 17:54:23    1627487

Thehermit: beautifully written post. Fair play to you.

I don't think anyone expects anything but a Kerry victory, but there are a few people here who have been wrong on Galway everytime so far, so keep it up lads!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 28/07/2014 18:15:30    1627507

28/07/2014 17:54:23
ahsure.

I've a good feeling about this one.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good lad - hold onto it! :-)

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 28/07/2014 18:17:19    1627509

Galway always seem to me to be a flaky and mentally weak team.

Kerry are no great shakes there win over a very poor cork team is overhyped.

Kerry to win this one by 6+ pts but will be found out in the semi final

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 28/07/2014 18:31:14    1627518

Physically weak as opposed to mentally weak, I'd say. Bit of a joke to say that a young team with EIGHT u21 winners from 2011 and 2013 is flaky or mentally weak. Where have those guys earned this daft reputation for being mentally weak. None of them have ever played in a Galway team that's been remotely as good as Mayo yet, so that flaky bs is just out of date nonsense.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 28/07/2014 20:14:16    1627632

Galway folk what is the story with your corner forward Micheal Martin? From what I have seen his championship so far this year can be best summed up by the missed free early Saturday, but I presume as he is a starting forward he must have some talent. Is he one likely to improve in Croke Park?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 28/07/2014 20:27:14    1627650

bloody hell just because dublin have won the allireland
you you seem to think have the right to ridicule other teams
not so long ago people were asking questions about dublins fortitude

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 28/07/2014 20:31:15    1627658

He had a terrific game v Tipp, Soma. Took all the right options, and played a key role in the first two goals. Wasn't far off MOTM, indeed local radio gbfm gave that award jointly to Lundy and Martin. Sky on the otherhand know that Walsh is boxoffice. Perhaps the Tipp no4 isin't top notch, but I'd say Martin had his best ever championship display at the weekend. If Mark O'Se is no4 on Sunday, MM will have it all to do though, obviously enough.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 28/07/2014 20:58:30    1627683

I only had the one look at the game Pope, and even that was in the pub over here, so I may have done Martin a disservice in the original post. Now you mention it, both midfielders took their pass for the goals from his corner so I presume he was involved with that. Maybe my judgement was clouded by his early free attempt, will be interesting to see how he does next week. Marc O Se is one of the countries best defenders over the past 20 years so if they are paired up then he has his work cut out. I thought Walsh was deserving of his MOTM last week - every time he got on the ball he used it productively and the point got people with no interest in gaelic football in the pub I was in looking at the tv with admiration, though I thought Galway could have involved him in the game more.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 28/07/2014 21:32:15    1627716

pope is totally correct. the poster who says galway are mentally weak obviously does not know much about emerging sides. as pope says we have physical deficiencies in defence and I would stretch it to say we have often been naive but mentally weak absolutely not. many of our players were not involved in those many 1 point championship defeats of recent years so I can only gather the poster is confused or knows little of the transition in our playing personnel. also the cricket score lazy posters are ripe. keep thinking guys as we know where we are and sense where we are going.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 29/07/2014 09:20:50    1627757

jacktheDub Dublin were fairly flaky for years. One big win changes all of that.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 29/07/2014 16:13:38    1628027

I fancy Galway to produce the shock of the season and defeat Kerry.I think Galway were a lot closer to Mayo in Connaght Final
than people give them credit for,They missed goal chances and made silly juvenile mistakes.Galway play their best football in Croke Park
and while I rate Kerry as a real quality outfit I cant help but feel that they may have their minds on Mayo and I think this
coupled with a coming of age performance from Galway could be enough to see Galway home.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 31/07/2014 17:04:45    1629043

Galways defence could be destroyed here,another big Kerry win..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 31/07/2014 17:41:43    1629068

I think galway have a great chance of beating Kerry, I believe Kerry were made to look a lot better than they are because cork were so bad in the munster final.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 31/07/2014 17:46:23    1629073