Derry v Donegal

Donegalman

I disagree, Derry never even tried to attack at pace some of that was down to Donegal fouling in the Derry half to stop the play however even that allowed they had ample opportunities but continued with their slow patient buildup. The one time I saw one of their players attacking the middle in the first ten minutes he had his own player jogging in the middle in front of him. I don't believe Derry went into the game with any game plan.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 26/05/2014 12:28:39    1593487

I think Donegal did well in sparadic bursts yesterday. Impressive 15mins after half time effectively won the game for them with some great scores. I wish Donegal would attack like that more often as with M.Murphy inside they looked far more dangerous. The Donegal half back did very well imo. Overall lots of postives for Donegal id say. Derry will get through a few qualifers but i dont think they will make the quarter finals.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 26/05/2014 12:33:55    1593489

There can't be much confidence in some of the Monaghan lads when they are predicting Donegal v Tyrone final. So have thought they would be thinking of getting one over Tyrone for a change ( take a leaf out of our book like, I'm not saying beat Tyrone 3years running but at least beat them in this years championship , then win your semi and with a bit of luck we can beat Antrim/Fermanagh. Then you have what Donegal supporters/Monaghan supporters want :::: Ulster final between us. Lots of old scores to settle. A game worth winning.
Seeing that we are supposed to be one season wonders(according to some posts)well we have not done too bad. Lots of teams would love to win one All Ireland. Many tried but few succeeded. Lots of teams without an All Ireland, lots of teams gone 30/40/50 years without one.
As regards yesterday once again JIM got things right. We play as we want , get a result for our own supporters not trying to please people on what they would like to see also wrote off yesterday by P Spillane/C oRoarke and then Spillane has cheek to say during the game::: They have not going away. You are right there Pat.
As regards O Roarke well what he said about B Dooher is enough. That was a few years ago and he still is getting it wrong.
If we can score a bit more ( we missed at least 2goals yesterday plus a few points) and tighten up a BIT MORE on the Defensive side the world is our oyster Up DONEGAL

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 12:37:16    1593491

Another thing this year we might have to add a few new lines to that old Anthem :::Jimmy's winning matches.
What about these lines Donegal Fans:::

We beat the Monaghan man::

We beat the Dublin man ::

That would be the song completed then as I think we have all the giants of Gaelic football included:::Tyrone, Derry,Down,Mayo, Cork andKerry.
What do you think Donegal fans. ????

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 12:47:21    1593501

well done to Jim, and the boys,it did not look good in the first half,Donegal can improve, hard luck Derry, it was not to be today,but if you boys stay together, yous wont be far away in Ulster next year, i expect Derry still to do ok this year yet. even Down,Tyrone v Monaghan will be some game, Armagh v Cavan will be another, hard to call, not forgetting Fermanagh v Antrim, who have nothing to lose and will put it up to us, and we have to take either, very seriously, anything can happen in Ulster.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 26/05/2014 12:47:59    1593503

very impressed with Marty McElhinney when he came on yesterday, I felt he made a big difference to Donegal. Also impressed with Lacey and NcGlynn. It seems they are back to their best and gone is the rustiness of last year (or the injuries or whatever).

I thought Derry would beat Donegal but I was wrong. It seems that Donegal are back.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/05/2014 13:09:07    1593516

Donegal will do just fine so long as they don't meet monaghan

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 26/05/2014 13:13:15    1593520

Thats a factor as well jimbodub but there is more than one way to skin a cat.

Switching codes Real Madrid and all their Galacticos shut up shop and let Bayern have all the possession in the Champions League semi finals and hit them on the break - just because you have skillful players does not mean that you don't also have to use your brain and come up with a game plan to beat the opposition.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 26/05/2014 13:20:36    1593524

We all know Donegal play to there strengths and don't have the players to play a style like Dublin's but if a poster wants to call it boring or rotten that's his choice and shouldn't be accused of having no clue. Paddy Mcbreaty is a Dub by the way so Donegal should be nice to us this summer when we meet in the semi's

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2014 13:26:53    1593532

We all know Donegal play to there strengths and don't have the players to play a style like Dublin's but if a poster wants to call it boring or rotten that's his choice and shouldn't be accused of having no clue. Paddy Mcbreaty is a Dub by the way so Donegal should be nice to us this summer when we meet in the semi's

Clondalkin,
I thought of you more than once yesterday as the yellow bus purred into action.

At to your post, I have no problem with terms like boring dull or even negative even if I would take issue with them.

However "disgusting" is in another league & will get the response it fully deserves.

As for McBrearty being a Dub, that does not give you guys the right to try & take him home one mouthful at a time.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/05/2014 13:47:54    1593558

clondalkindub it is entirely one own prerogative as to what they find entertaining but with a little open mindedness and understanding one could still appreciate what they are watching - as many of the posters on here do.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 26/05/2014 13:50:05    1593562

I wish the Derry manager had watched last years Ulster Final, Monaghan beat Donegal with the use of the Diagional Ball. Nearly every pass they did was diagional.....it worked a treat.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 26/05/2014 14:05:34    1593573

Like I hate this Donegal team I think there terrible for our game but I respect them and understand that's what they have to do to win games. I'd actually love to see them go man to man just to see how far off it they really are. Murphy is class act he must have touched the ball 8 times yesterday but nearly every touch is a score or great pass or catch. If McFadden and Mcbreaty click they will be a very hard to stop.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2014 14:09:18    1593575

Muckross/royaldunne:

My point is that by trying to defend the lead, Donegal might have lost the match. They would not have deserved to but Derry might have sneaked a goal when they were on top near the end.

Whereas had Donegal kicked on when six points clear the match would have been over after 20 minutes of the second half. One passage of play illustrates to me the dangers of what they were at. They had broken a Derry attack but instead of sending the ball in quickly and long as they had been doing they handpassed the ball across their own 40 and that resulted in Gallagher (I think) being dispossessed and a Derry attack. Only the poor qulaity of the Derry attack limited their scoring when Donegal fell back.

Anyway thats just my take. I do enjoy watching them and thought they were brilliant in 2013. I just don't think they can defend with that intensity any more against the better teams.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/05/2014 14:11:47    1593581

Clondalkindub
What about MD McAuley and E o'Gara, ever checked their background?? Plenty of Donegal blood there

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 14:14:19    1593584

prideof85
County: Monaghan

Donegal will do just fine so long as they don't meet monaghan

Have to say I Find the arrogance of some Monaghan posters on here laughable, you would swear that yous have been winning ulster championships all your lives, as for the big one yous can only dream of that....... I really do hope that we play yous in the final, but I'm afraid that ain't gonna happen, as you will come a cropper against Tyrone or Armagh.... Yous beat donegal in the last two outings, fair play to you for that but a fresh hungry donegal team this year will finally put paid to this hoodoo you have over us, that's provided we both win our matches.......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 26/05/2014 14:21:23    1593594

Pride of 85
Donegal will do fine and that includes meeting Monaghan. Would be a great Ulster final to win and it's probably 1983 since we beat Monaghan last but we can bridge the gap. I think Tyrone will see to it that we won't meet Monaghan but I can see a real tough, toughUlster final if it concerns Donegal vTyrone or Monaghan After yesterday I am happy enough where Donegal. Lots of positives and less injuries than last year. We should be at full strength from now on in barring injuries I would be more confident of beating Monaghan in the final than Tyrone. Past results will mean nothing on the day.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 14:26:55    1593600

SamOnErrigal

1593584 Clondalkindub
What about MD McAuley and E o'Gara, ever checked their background?? Plenty of Donegal blood there

Cue, 10 pages of where players parents are from. Sure Brogans are Kerry , Kev mc Galway blah blah blah.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/05/2014 14:27:12    1593601

Interesting comments about donegal yesterday. I still believe the tactics were 100% correct, and despite what a wexford poster suggests, there was no systematic fouling by our lads.. the ref was on top of the action for the game, and he didnt get much wrong in fairness to him. It is a physical game, and the players are entitled to defend hard and fair, if this line is crossed, they will get punished for it.

I do agree with a lot of posts here about the players relying on the system in order to win games, but I do think there is some talent at our disposal. If this were not the case, you would have seen a lot more of the likes of derry, kildare, meath, galway etc over the past few years, successfully adopting a system, no question.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/05/2014 14:31:31    1593604

Mcbreaty is born n bred in Dublin his uncle played for the Dubs he lives with his granny in terenure while he goes to college in Maynooth.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2014 14:35:49    1593609