Derry v Donegal

If we think back to last week a lot of us did not know what to expect from Donegal and I was unsure myself. But yesterday answered a lot of questions. Don't forget Derry are no bad team and I can see them doing well in the qualifiers ( hope so ) Derry raked up big scores in the league but yesterday their attack was well held. I was impressed with the Donegal setup and the half backs played well, no5 to no 6 for the goal, same two players put PmcB through and should have been a goal. Plus points from Lacy and A Thompson So all in all 1-3 from the backs and with C McFadden being well held I think we done ok. We can improve no doubt and I can't see how any Monaghan person could be confident of beating us. If we do meet (and I don't think so) in the Ulster final , they will be meeting a different Donegal team this time. Monaghan have to play teams that can easily beat them. Tyrone or Cavan could and they would get no easy game from Armagh. As it stands Donegal are in the better place at the moment but we cannot take either Antrim/Fermanagh lightly and the game has to be won irrespective of who we play. Antrim /Fermanagh will have nothing to loose against Donegal so let's be on our guard.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 14:46:04    1593616

Mcbreaty is born n bred in Dublin his uncle played for the Dubs he lives with his granny in terenure while he goes to college in Maynooth.

Bang on! One of our CEM excuses wha ;)

Sure Murphy and Durcan have plenty Mayo blood in them and that new young fella they'd playing yesterday's Da's played for Roscommon!

Culchies need to learn that this goes both ways!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/05/2014 14:53:22    1593623

I wouldnt be too concerned with what monaghan's track record is or isnt against donegal. We have another team to play on s differing side of the draw, and the percentages are such that monaghan have a chance in 4 of getting to the final. Not ruling them out, but not ruling them in either. Same goes for tyrone/armagh/cavan. There is a HELL of a lot of football to be played on that side of the draw yet.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/05/2014 15:05:15    1593629

All this talk about blood is nonsense, does that mean your man Donnaghy from Kerry should have played for Tyrone or O'hAlpin from Cork should have played for Fermanagh? or maybe Doherty and O'Boyle should have been playing for Donegal yesterday since they obviously have Donegal descent somewhere down the line?

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 26/05/2014 15:35:34    1593657

I am all for tough defending but do not want to see the 'choke' tackle coming into Gaelic football.Witnessed it in the game yesterday any one that was at the game or watched it on tv will know the incident I am on about.

aidan1000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 106 - 26/05/2014 15:54:41    1593675

Mcbreaty is born n bred in Dublin his uncle played for the Dubs he lives with his granny in terenure while he goes to college in Maynooth.

McBrearty's football comes from his father & was nurtured & brought to fruition by his club Kilcar. As for living with his granny, I stay with my sister when I am working in Dublin, does that make me a Dub?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/05/2014 17:32:52    1593753

MesAmis

Sure Murphy and Durcan have plenty Mayo blood in them and that new young fella they'd playing yesterday's Da's played for Roscommon!

Culchies need to learn that this goes both ways!

There isn't a Dub alive who doesn't have gallons of culchie blood flowing in his veins, most of them from a number of culchie strongholds.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/05/2014 17:44:06    1593761

Donegal will do whatever it takes within the rules of the game to win. It was evident yesterday and helped in no small part by a poor referee. When Donegal lose possession they quickly revert to the 3 banks of four, and limit the amount of available space for the opposition. Then add in the fact that if the opposition try an attack at pace their first instinct is to foul that player as far away from their goals as possible. This happened on so many occasions yesterday and went unpunished by the referee. I argued with Donegal supporters yesterday about their use of the 'choke tackle' and I was told to 'wise up' but on no fewer than 3 occasions yesterday Donegal blatantly used the 'choke tactical'.

Also the Donegal fullback McGee was fouling Derry's full forward from the start, this wasn't seen on TV but he constantly elbowing him, kicking and pulling his jersey and not on one occasion did the umpires bring this to the attention of the referee, so I ask what use is umpires? McGee wasn't booked until around the 66th minute of the game which is unbelievable. I have no complaints about the result, Donegal won the game in the first 12 minutes of second half, what I do have a problem with is people thinking this is a poor Derry team.

In what was a poor first half, I do believe Derry played the better football, Derry had a two via one opportunity just before half-time which Niall Holly for some unknown reason messed-up, had that not been the case we certainly would have had an opportunity for a goal and go in at half-time 5 points but such as life that wasn't the case. When Donegal get ahead of there opposition there is no better team at protecting a lead. They choked the life out of Derry yesterday, personally I don't like or agree with those types of game plans but it worked for Donegal yesterday, fair play and they march on to the semi finals and best of luck to them in the Ulster Championship, we start our journey on the scenic route which I feel will benefit our players later down the line.

I feel Donegal will won Ulster now, they showed glimpses yesterday of their attacking capabilities and everyone knows how strong defensively they are, no matter who comes out the other side I don't think they will topple Donegal. Monaghan caught them cold last year but I would certainly say if they meet again this year it will be different.

OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 26/05/2014 18:05:43    1593781

The referee might have made mistakes yesterday however nobody can argue that the superior team did not win. Derry had a game plan for the first half and executed to near perfection. For the first 10 minutes of the second half, it fell apart and Donegal capitalized. Simple as that really.

I felt going into the game Donegal would win for the simple reason that experience and knowing you've won bigger games can help a lot. A lot of the Donegal players played with the same ruthlessness as two years ago, the McGees, Leo McLoone and Karl Lacey for example. They should ease their way into an Ulster Final and would only need one more big game there to have everyone fearing Jim again!

Derry are a good side no doubt about it and they were facing a seasoned outfit yesterday. They should do well in the qualifiers provided they don't implode. The only area they are really weak in is midfield. Patsy Bradley and Fergal Doherty have been around a while and between the two of them there's been more bad days than good days. Two years ago Derry had 2 big men midfield Joe Diver and Michael Friel and both to my eye looked useful.. They could also do with a few more scoregetters in the forwards someone like James Kielt would take on shots from distance and get most of them. Not to be focusing too much on the negatives though, Gareth McKinless looked a very good promising prospect yesterday. Chrissy McKaigue is one of the best full-backs going too. They are really comfortbale in defence but from 8 forward, there's probably more work to be done.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 26/05/2014 18:31:21    1593794

Former_Poster

The referee might have made mistakes yesterday however nobody can argue that the superior team did not win. Derry had a game plan for the first half and executed to near perfection. For the first 10 minutes of the second half, it fell apart and Donegal capitalized. Simple as that really.

I felt going into the game Donegal would win for the simple reason that experience and knowing you've won bigger games can help a lot. A lot of the Donegal players played with the same ruthlessness as two years ago, the McGees, Leo McLoone and Karl Lacey for example. They should ease their way into an Ulster Final and would only need one more big game there to have everyone fearing Jim again!

Derry are a good side no doubt about it and they were facing a seasoned outfit yesterday. They should do well in the qualifiers provided they don't implode. The only area they are really weak in is midfield. Patsy Bradley and Fergal Doherty have been around a while and between the two of them there's been more bad days than good days. Two years ago Derry had 2 big men midfield Joe Diver and Michael Friel and both to my eye looked useful.. They could also do with a few more scoregetters in the forwards someone like James Kielt would take on shots from distance and get most of them. Not to be focusing too much on the negatives though, Gareth McKinless looked a very good promising prospect yesterday. Chrissy McKaigue is one of the best full-backs going too. They are really comfortbale in defence but from 8 forward, there's probably more work to be done.

I agree very much with the post above, I think people should remember that only for the goal this game would have been a different story, on the other hand it was great to watch when the teams hit their purple patches

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 26/05/2014 18:40:39    1593800

OakGael
County: Derry

Donegal will do whatever it takes within the rules of the game to win. It was evident yesterday and helped in no small part by a poor referee. When Donegal lose possession they quickly revert to the 3 banks of four, and limit the amount of available space for the opposition. Then add in the fact that if the opposition try an attack at pace their first instinct is to foul that player as far away from their goals as possible. This happened on so many occasions yesterday and went unpunished by the referee. I argued with Donegal supporters yesterday about their use of the 'choke tackle' and I was told to 'wise up' but on no fewer than 3 occasions yesterday Donegal blatantly used the 'choke tactical'.

I must look out for this choke tackle. I didnt see anything in yesterdays game that makes the state of affairs on the pitch any different than it has been over the past decade. I think the sunday game have come up with a new buzz word for the season. I also think that Derry are well able to hold their own when it comes to tackling, im sure they will get it right for the next day. The ref was not poor, he allowed the game to keep moving, and to the players credit, there were very few stoppages compared to a lot of other games in recent times.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/05/2014 18:47:52    1593802

SamOnErrigal and other Donegal fans shouldn't be so fixated on Monaghan regarding revenge and retribution. We have a tough encounter with Tyrone and might not get through, but if we do, then it's Cavan or Armagh in the semi. However, if we are lucky enough do make it to the final, I for one would be confident of beating any of the other three teams from the other side, I was last year and it stood me in good stead, so I don't understand where you are coming from about how Monaghan people couldn't be confident facing Donegal. I'll give you a hint - successful long range shooting from out past the 45, sir.

drumlinbelt (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 26/05/2014 19:22:45    1593820

Muckross

There is little doubt about that

There's a lot more country girls shaked up Dublin men than vice versa

Can't wait to get away from the muckers in their own county

Sure trust me... Myself and the lads did very well living around St Pats...

All country girls... all you had to do was turn on the Dublin charm / wit

Of course there's plenty of country blood in Dublin... sure your women can't get enough of us man!

Couldn't wait to get out and find a real man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/05/2014 19:40:56    1593831

jimbo

I have a couple of sisters who went to Pats & I asked them about Dub fellas hanging about making a nuisance of themselves.

They did remember one sad, bow legged, crosseyed Dub always looking for butts. Was that you?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/05/2014 19:54:13    1593839

Some folk just aren't as skillful as others and so have to resort to such to win games.

Nothing wrong with that
-----
Very true - I'm sure Karl Lacey or Colm Cooper would agree - both have had their skill well and truly nullified in recent All Ireland semi finals

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 26/05/2014 19:56:22    1593842

Muck

No that was some guy called Liam

A southsider with a culchie accent...nice fella

It was still more than enough to top what these girls were used to though

As I said... there's a very good reason for the country blood in Dublin

Country girls with taste and intelligence can't get enough of us Dubs...

And who can blame them...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/05/2014 20:37:22    1593860

Drumlinbelt
Was just answering back a few Monaghan posters last night::: their predictions Donegal v Tyrone Ulster Final. By the way the posted they did not give Monaghan much chance(just having us on probably) but what I'd like to say is if Monaghan get through and we get through You will be meeting a different Donegal team from last year. Better prepared, hopefully no injuries and all of the panel will have come through all the training sessionsLast year some of our main players missed up to fifty percent of the training sessions. Offering no excuses for last year , Monaghan beat us fair and square but this is a different year. Derry played in Div one and beat some good teams and got to the div I final yet failed yesterday. I admit Monaghan are out in front of Antrim/Fermanagh but I still think we can get the upper hand of ye and would be better placed to progress further down the line in the championship. Don't forget everything went right for ye last year in Clones and we were not at the races but up until the last ten minutes there were only four points in it. And that was with us not performing at all. As I see it now if we get to the Ulster final I think we would have a better chance of beating Monaghan than say Tyrone. And I'm not talking revenge. Still class the Donegal team of the last four years (11/12/13/14) as a better team than Monaghan and more capable of beating some of the BIG boys (Kerry,Cork,Dublin Mayo andTyrone) than Monaghan would be.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 21:21:16    1593897

Hoganstand got it,s facts wrong in it's report on mcquillans performance. Doherty was not felled by a Donegal player which caused his injury...it was his own man who injured him. Get your facts right

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/05/2014 21:42:55    1593916

SamonErrigal, you're the one who started this whole Monaghan talk in this thread and you're still banging on about it, making excuses for a game played nearly a year ago no less. No point in going on about how confident you are of winning a hypothetical game that is a long way away. We've a big game of our own in a couple of weeks that we are focusing on, just you worry about Antrim and Fermanagh.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 26/05/2014 21:46:38    1593922

How long is McManus out for?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/05/2014 08:55:52    1593949