Derry v Donegal

Long way to go and Donegal have serious amount of work to do !! But they will fear no one in Ulster and they showed for ten minutes in the second half signs of old greatness .

ballyshannon (Donegal) - Posts: 176 - 25/05/2014 18:47:20    1593259

panned out the way i thought very difficult to break down the blanket and we hadnt the forwards to take long range scores.once donegal got ahead it was an uphill task,frustrating to play against but we always struggled against the blanket defence,difficult to pick us up for the qualifiers but we have no choice but to.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 25/05/2014 19:08:12    1593264

arock

Donegal had 12 minutes of excellent football today helped by an awful ref and they ran out of legs, the rest of the game they were just dreadful. At least six teams would be out of sight against a team which clearly is playing yesterdays game. IMO they won't feature nor will Derry, two very poor teams with some excellant players, but that's not enough anymore.

o
We were not dreadful to day. The tactics were spot on, and if thats what it takes to win away against a team like derry, then bring on more of the same. Re the ref, he did not have a dreadful game, it is an impossible game to ref now, and I think that we can expect many debates between now and the end of the eyar about certain calls that were or were not made. You are correct that donegal nor derry will win sam, but we are still in ulster, which is a competition within a competition. There ar4e 31 odd teams who wont win sam either, but it doesnt stop them trying to be competative.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/05/2014 19:14:48    1593268

Donegal did play well in the second half. wouldn't write them off yet. I thought the referee was quite poor. Some baffling decisions.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 25/05/2014 19:22:48    1593273

Donegal played great when Murphy went in Full Forward. Otherwise the game was a bit of a stalemate. Derry never really seemed to have a proper cut at winning the game especially in the last 5 minutes when they needed a goal but didn't go all out to get one.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 25/05/2014 19:24:26    1593274

once again....hurling entertainment wins the day....

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 740 - 25/05/2014 19:28:59    1593278

Donegal almost looked impenitrable at times in the second half.Certainly not pretty,but very effective.Handy semi final should see them in good spirits going into another Ulster final.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/05/2014 19:34:18    1593283

preddan

It was a good game of hurling but I wouldn't go overboard about.Every half decent game of hurling tin the Munster championship tends to be over hyped. Anyway the attendance at the match was fairly pathetic so obvious.y the public in Waterford and Cork don'y share your view about hurlings entertainment value.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 25/05/2014 19:41:10    1593288

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

It was a good game of hurling but I wouldn't go overboard about.Every half decent game of hurling tin the Munster championship tends to be over hyped. Anyway the attendance at the match was fairly pathetic so obvious.y the public in Waterford and Cork don'y share your view about hurlings entertainment value.

Well put. I think that hurling is a great game to watch too, but it doesnt mean that I was going to stay at home from a football match in derry today, or support our team the next day out v fermanagh or antrim, just because football doesnt have the same openness about it.

We also would be waiting a very long time for kildare to entertain us, football or hurling.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/05/2014 19:51:20    1593291

preddan

once again...... a boring repetitive post about the value of hurling over football. Apples & oranges.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/05/2014 20:02:30    1593295

Watched the first half analysis on BBC today and Martin McHugh was saying it was an awful game of football and a dreadful advertisement for the game. Are BBC always this negative and critical of Ulster football? Is it only the southern media who gives the Ulster championship the respect it deserves?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 25/05/2014 20:12:26    1593301

Well done Donegal, excellent result against a good team - ulster final showdown with Tyrone now ;-)

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 25/05/2014 20:13:12    1593303

Poor game. Shows that league might not be as good indicator as first thought. Donegal have still got a little bite left in them, but doubt they will trouble dubs , same would apply to tyrone, monaghan would be at the moment the best ulster has to offer and may yet prove to be the dark horse for sam. Well done to donegal

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 25/05/2014 20:26:46    1593311

Fair play Donegal, weren't great but still won and that's the main thing. Realistically that's them in the Ulster final now so they have time to improve for that.

Fierce disappointed in Derry. With their form and the side of the draw they had, I was sure this would be the year they'd make the breakthrough in Ulster, but they failed to perform in the championship again.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 25/05/2014 20:55:50    1593321

Well done Donegal great to see ye back[/b. Will be a tight Ulster final with Tyrone, wouldn't like to call it, could be a draw

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 25/05/2014 21:37:47    1593355

Well done Donegal and good to get over that game Always knew Derry would be hard to beat and hope the do well in the back door.

Double hop
Well posted ,how can anyone tell who is going to win the AI You are very correct in what you say. Saw Mayo draw in Ruislip in 2011 and only won the game in extra time. Then they won Connaught and go beat AI champions in QF Now that day in Ruislip you would give them no hope. But they got to the AI semi final. Donegal had two/three goal chances today and missed them. Plus we started without a recognised midfield plus R Kavanagh was suspended. All in all I was happy and I though our tackling was spot on, some great blocks especially N McGee We Can win Ulster but who will we play ( providing we beat Fermanagh/Antrim )don't know if we met a team like Cork would they like our defensive set up. Time and time again Derry had to go back as they could not get through. The only crib I'd have would be the slow build up and short passing, I think you want to attack at pace.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/05/2014 21:59:54    1593367

Don't know why people take 70 minutes out of their day to watch awful negative rubbish that is the Ulster championship.
Then spend the evening complaining about it.

There was over 15 thousand at Celtic Park today and similar crowds at Omagh and Newry.

In contrast there was barely a thousand people people at the free flowing goalfest in Aughrim last week.

Most Donegal people couldn't give a flying fig what others think of our style of play.

Fact is we're in the next round and right now that's all that matters.

As for our Fermanagh friend who wants to see Donegal hammered. You may get your wish but it won't be at the hands of your lot.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 25/05/2014 22:04:51    1593371

Cleatus

1593371 Don't know why people take 70 minutes out of their day to watch awful negative rubbish that is the Ulster championship.
Then spend the evening complaining about it.

I don't know either, because negative rubbish is certainly what it was.

For me, I had watched in hope. Hope that either team would use their football ability, skill and brains to play good football. I was disgusted watching that game. It was like a bad soccer match. Donegal withdrawing 13 or 14 players inside their 45 and Derry not much better. Not a single player from either team gave anything other than a 100% safe pass. It was sickening to watch and very sad what these teams are doing to the game.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 26/05/2014 08:30:39    1593377

Brolly

Muni an Abu
Fair play to you two Monaghan lads, throw in the towel against Tyrone and let them win. Or ye might be thinking like myself, Monaghan a one season wonder.
Sure you not trying to kid us Donegal folk??? Well I think we will be better organised to meet the Monaghan challenge a lot better this year Taking yesterday's game into account , saw flashes of 2012and if we improve a bit it would be great to meet Monaghan again in the Ulster final( mind you we won't say no to Tyrone,Cavan ,Armagh) but off course we will have to deal with the challenge of Antrim/Fermanagh first nothing easy in Ulster and it's still wide open. But what ever you two do, banish all those negative thoughts about Tyrone, don't be afraid of them and surprise, surprise Monaghan might at last beat Tyrone. Then you could have a Donegal or Antrim/Fermanagh final. But don't be writing off Monaghan chances as I'm sure Jim McGuiness won't (or other teams for that). Can tell you what::: JMcG will be keepinging an eye on ye (Monaghan) or better still He will be keeping TWO EYES on Monaghan. Plus WE have a fairly good minor team. Come July we might want the Anglo -Celt back plus the minor trophy. Lots to play foy boys.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/05/2014 08:58:16    1593380

Ah now that's unfair on Donegal

You should know what to expect by now

That's how they play... and it worked...

Now it's not the type of football that will be talked about in a positive manner, generally because it's not a positive type of football, so you cant expect people to rave about Donegal's footballing ability. Because it's fairly average... that's why McGuinness has them playing like that, he doesn't see them as being capable of much else... a bit like Trap's thoughts about Ireland.

But they play to their strengths... but you know what's coming... Derry just kept their running game going for almost the entire match

Running into 4-5 man tackles... but that's how they play... they don't have long ball options up front so releasing the ball quicker wasn't an option for them and that's what you need to do against Donegal.

Derry's tactics were tailored made for Donegal.

You cant give them all the time they need to drop 13-14 men behind the ball... and that's what Derry did...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/05/2014 09:07:09    1593382