Dubs or Derry?

Well done the Dubs. By all accounts pretty comprehensive stuff.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 27/04/2014 18:17:09    1580822

We were being told by the Ulster lads that Derry wouldn't fold like Cork did. We'll in fairness, Dublin didn't come out of second gear and still trashed Derry. This is an awesome Dublin outfit and I can't believe that certain posters on here still can't give them the credit they're due.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 27/04/2014 18:27:08    1580827

Dublin completely dominated Derry in every sector of the game, and they didn't have to move out of second gear to do it. This has to be the best squad of players ever. Simply Unbeatable.

What people are saying has been proven true, the closest game Dublin will get this year will be on their own training ground, the best two teams in Ireland are the Dublin A team and the Dublin B team.

Congrats to all the dub supporters, the future is Sky Blue all the way.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 27/04/2014 18:27:47    1580828

Hey look I'm no fan of Dublin football but credit where credit is due. That panel IS the greatest EVER football team to take to the field of play. Better than Meath of 80s 90s better than Kerry of 70s 80s. Better than anything from Ulster ever.
They are simply unreal. Rather than criticism they should be lauded . I never thought I'd live to see 5 in a row after Kerry missed it v Offaly, but I will be amazed if Dublin don't do at least 5. They are unbeatable . Fact

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/04/2014 18:34:42    1580835

I think there's a crazy lot of yerra being floated around. Building us up for a fall? No team is unbeatable. Derry were abysmal today. Not the same Derry that were so impressive in other games. That said I think O'Gara, BB, Flynn, ROC & Mdma were immense today. Delighted with the back to back league title as dubs have never done it!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/04/2014 18:36:05    1580836

Derry were poor but they still walked through us easy enough at times. And some of our shooting and shot selection was poor at times as well.

There's work to be done defo yet which is encouraging.

I was shocked though by Derry's performance I have to say. Who knows what type of training they're doing at the moment though as at the end of the day it's only the league and people shouldn't read too much into it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 27/04/2014 18:45:21    1580844

Give over the building up lads it only takes one off day in August and your out on your ear, great win today how some people can give out about the ref is laughable after the performance we put in today. Hard luck to Derry today never nice to get a hammering like that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/04/2014 18:49:19    1580851

I agree jackeen, it's the best Dublin have played this season but we aren't unbeatable. Derry were dreadful today and people need to remember that.

The signs are good though, we've been quality the last 1.5 games we've played. Things are looking a lot brighter for us Dubs right now than they were a month or 2 so ago when we weren't playing near as well and had Connolly, BB, ROC and Flynn in dire need of game time.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 27/04/2014 18:52:52    1580856

Bernards goal!!.....So fast that everyone thought it had hit the crossbar or post so nobody cheered!!

Derry didnt handle the favourites tag easily!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/04/2014 19:08:14    1580868

Well done to our lads, pretty impressive stuff, now it's show time!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 27/04/2014 19:11:37    1580872

Has to be said. DUBLIN WILL DOMINATE FOR YEARS AND YEARS! They were unreal today, I won't begrudge them. Class Act. Congratulations Dublin.

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 27/04/2014 19:12:39    1580874

wile_man_sir

Has to be said. DUBLIN WILL DOMINATE FOR YEARS AND YEARS!

Give over.

It was a league final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 27/04/2014 19:17:24    1580877

Ulsterman.

what did you think of that!!!
The future is blue so get used to it!

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 27/04/2014 19:20:59    1580883

I think that's the best Dub performance under Gavin so far

I doubt he'll be happy with some of the shot selection though and at times we were a bit greedy

But it's like a shark detecting blood in the water... when there's scores for the taking a wee bit of control and leadership is required

Still lots to work on which is a good thing

Some of what's being written is way OTT

Dublin have done very well considering that we weren't at our best throughout the league

Dublin lost against Cork / Derry but we paid them back for those defeats

But you couldn't say Dublin were sublime throughout the league

But they were brave, full of heart and with a never say die attitude...

I want to thank the Dublin players and management for the massive amont of heart shown right from the Kerry game

It's an honour to have supported these men from that 1st night against Kerry and I can't thank them enough for what they achieved as a group

A proud day for Dublin GAA

Dublin - 2014 NFL Div 1 Champions

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 27/04/2014 19:37:13    1580897

You have to give Dublin credit for their display today,they will be very hard to beat in the championship

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 27/04/2014 19:38:03    1580900

Hugely impressive performance from Dublin today. Going forward they are the best team I have ever seen.

They are, I think, still very open at the back but I don't see anyone around who can get at them in a sustained way.

As a spectacle today's game was disappointing but I did enjoy watching Dublin go about their business.

Jim Gavin's biggest problem now will be managing the hype.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/04/2014 19:42:08    1580905

I thought Diarmuid Connolly's goal was sublime, the space he made for himself, the guy is class.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 27/04/2014 20:21:36    1580948

Great all round performance from us, Derry I felt sorry for them, but truth is it could of happened a lot of other teams the way we played today.
Our intensity and fighting for every ball until the end and our point taking was ferocious . We are league and All Ireland Champions and as a Dub I feel very proud watching this group of players, its brilliant. But Focus is everything and understandably the hype machine will now go into overdrive , but this team is the real deal and they know a poor performance in championship and they are out, so now everything is about focus for THE BIG ONE.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/04/2014 20:30:59    1580964

I hear they're talking of an unprecedented 5-in -a -row.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 27/04/2014 20:38:51    1580978

No doubt Dublin are the best team in a very, very poor football era and even when they are on top in games they STILL get ALL the decisions going. When Derry scored their goal Dublin immediately got 3 of the softest frees going to put them ahead and when Derry are denied a blatant penalty what chance do teams have now against Dublin? Surely time to change the Association's name to the DAA, Dublin Athletic Association. Croke Park seem quite content now for them and everyone else to revolve around Dublin's interests. No wonder the Association is dying on it's ar*e in rural parts of Ireland and in places like Belfast.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/04/2014 20:40:11    1580979