Dubs or Derry?

realdub

REALDUB(DUBLIN) Well done to our lads, pretty impressive stuff, now it's show time!

Blowing my own trumpet, by saying well done to Dublin and now it's time for the championship? Erm, I'm missing something here!

Jaysus realdub will you keep the noise down... that trumpet of yours would wake the dead!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 10:30:35    1581180

derry beat them by 6pts in march so they can under perform occasionally

that was a very under strength Dublin team in Derry.they didn't under perform.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/04/2014 10:37:57    1581184

Fionn

oh I agree I wasnt even going to mention the ref
only for seeing ulstermans comments about him
although the camera probably doesnt show these things for arm chair viewers haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2014 10:42:34    1581189

Well done to the Dubs, very easy game but that hardly comes as a surprise, Dublin remain the team to beat and just have that extra gear that no other county has at the minute.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/04/2014 10:53:51    1581203

Ah come on now folks. Clutching at straws here regarding refs and decisions. Dublin are head and sholders above the rest at the moment. They are a joy to watch and although I don't like Connolly he's a genius with the ball at the moment.

Lets give credit where its due. We all moaned about defensive type games over the past few years so lets rejoice in a team who are playing football the way it should be played. I don't care who they I just love watching good football.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 28/04/2014 10:54:40    1581204

Good win for the Dubs. I think Brian McIver was correct in that his team where over awed. It can happen, the Dubs got an extra arsehole for themselves of Kerry in 09. But at the same time Dublin where seriously up for it. Regardless still think Derry are a quality side and I tip them for Ulster.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 28/04/2014 11:04:28    1581215

It will go one of two ways in my view

Either,

A) The Dubs will win by 6 or 7 points doing their usual - playing fantastic for one half only - way of winning games which they seem to have perfected in the last while

Or,

B) The Dubs will win by double figures (ie 10 or more) and just Blitzkrieg Derry.

Beating Dublin in March, in Derry is one thing, They wont do it again in croker with a stronger Dublin XV starting (you'd imagine) than the one that started up in Derry. (take nothing away from Derry back in March they where sensational), But i cant see that happening again.

Regardless, Derry have been the story of the year so far, I just expect Dublin to batter them in a more meaningful game.

We are due to meet, and indeed beat a team in a national final, well... I believe this sunday will be that day.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/04/2014 11:05:23    1581217

Fair play Htaem and Batterburger.

I seriously think though that it will be extremely difficult for us to retain SAM.
I hope I am proven wrong though.

We will need to stay injury free, stay in top gear and get the rub of the green also when games are tight.
Need to take even more of our chances and tighten up at the back.
No way a forgone conclusion that we will win the All Ireland this year again.
It is still only April and form can change between now and September, no matter what the press are saying....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 28/04/2014 11:06:45    1581219

The reality is back to back titles are very difficult , a lot of top teams have tried and failed. We are going into Championship in good form like a lot of teams over the years have but it didn't translate to success for them. Feet firmly on the ground and realise every other county now has that little bit more motivation to be the ones to knock us out of the competition.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/04/2014 12:16:06    1581298

Well done to the Dubs, outstanding performance all over the park. For Derry, I would say that the phrase "startled earwigs" springs to mind!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 28/04/2014 12:17:34    1581301

realdub

REALDUB(DUBLIN) Well done to our lads, pretty impressive stuff, now it's show time!

Blowing my own trumpet, by saying well done to Dublin and now it's time for the championship? Erm, I'm missing something here!

Jaysus realdub will you keep the noise down... that trumpet of yours would wake the dead!

Lol :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/04/2014 12:26:56    1581309

Also realdub...Don't forget to bring that trumpet to the Hill over the summer ... another tool for putting off opposition free takers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 12:44:27    1581329

Lord no Jimbo, you won't find me on the Hill with the drones, I'll be residing with the 'prawn sandwich' brigade as usual :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/04/2014 12:54:39    1581346

realdub

Lord no Jimbo, you won't find me on the Hill with the drones, I'll be residing with the 'prawn sandwich' brigade as usual :)

______

Haha...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 12:58:51    1581351

Now there is a thought Jimbo, a musical song leading section on the Hill inc Trumpet playing..

The Dutch used to have something like that at their games...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 28/04/2014 13:01:43    1581354

no no no trumpets
some young fella had one couple of years ago and was the slowest dullest version of come on you boys in blue ever

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2014 13:12:51    1581370

Fionn

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXU9Ur9QznE

That is all..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 13:15:33    1581375

BRING ON THE TRUMPETS!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/04/2014 13:18:16    1581380

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/859055/

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 13:32:50    1581398

I have no complaints about yesterday's result. It was actually a pleasure to watch such a polished performance from Dublin. Their pace, slick hand and foot passing, men running of the shoulder, tackling and clinical finishing........they have the lot. Dublin were always 2 possible 3 moves ahead of Derry at times. Their attitude and hunger is 1st class and in all honesty I can't see anyt team beating them this year.

Going back to yesterday's match, yes I can cherry pick at certain refereeing decisions but to be honest we can't control what the referee does or doesn't do. We can control the game while in possession but unfortunately poor decision making, lack of pace, no marquee forward and mental belief all cost us yesterday. We had an opportunity to put in a performance against the best team in Ireland and failed. I am not going to be very critical, we are a young and somewhat inexperienced team and Brian McIver is only 18 months into a 5 year plan. There has been huge strides made in Derry football over the last 18 months and we will continue to see improvements. One bad performance doesn't make us a bad team overnight. Management will have learned a lot from yesterday's match and we must strive to be at our best come Donegal in the Ulster Championship.

To the Dubs I hope we meet again later in the summer!

OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 28/04/2014 13:55:52    1581418