Dubs or Derry?

Muckross

The real Jim will have no problems managing 'the hype'. It'll lookafter itself. I'm in absolute awe of Dublin. They are they greatest team ever. I see 5 in a row, National League and AI. A commission should be set up straight away to decide how great they are AND how many pieces it should be split into.

Aido

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 27/04/2014 20:42:56    1580982

Fair play RD..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 27/04/2014 20:46:06    1580985

Miler

I hear they're talking of an unprecedented 5-in -a -row.

The Culchie Hype machine will go into over drive as usual.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 27/04/2014 20:50:26    1580993

Ulsterman

No doubt Dublin are the best team in a very, very poor football era and even when they are on top in games they STILL get ALL the decisions going. When Derry scored their goal Dublin immediately got 3 of the softest frees going to put them ahead and when Derry are denied a blatant penalty what chance do teams have now against Dublin? Surely time to change the Association's name to the DAA, Dublin Athletic Association. Croke Park seem quite content now for them and everyone else to revolve around Dublin's interests. No wonder the Association is dying on it's ar*e in rural parts of Ireland and in places like Belfast.

A lone voice in a sea of madness. I would pay to watch you live. I have touched cloth laughing.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/04/2014 20:58:00    1581008

Ulsterman

1580979 No doubt Dublin are the best team in a very, very poor football era and even when they are on top in games they STILL get ALL the decisions going. When Derry scored their goal Dublin immediately got 3 of the softest frees going to put them ahead and when Derry are denied a blatant penalty what chance do teams have now against Dublin? Surely time to change the Association's name to the DAA, Dublin Athletic Association. Croke Park seem quite content now for them and everyone else to revolve around Dublin's interests. No wonder the Association is dying on it's ar*e in rural parts of Ireland and in places like Belfast.

Open your eyes man, some of Dublins football was brilliant today , Johnny cooper running the length of pitch to score a lovely point and still able to not let Lynch get a sniff in the game even though much smaller than him. Brogans points were class and O gara showed great strength against Derry.. Im sure you would love this turn into an ulster against the world rant but sorry your the only bigot on these threads. Derry I hope do well in the championship although personalyi i think Donegal will beat them. Monaghan played some lovely football at times also and Ulster will have a big say in Sam this year.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/04/2014 21:16:46    1581036

UM

Your talking thru your h%%p. I live in a rural part of Ireland and my sons club is thriving despite Dublins best efforts and your hyperbole. Derry were beaten today because the opposition was better. Reilly did his best to keep them in it. Ignoring pulling, dragging, footblocks etc.
A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 27/04/2014 21:22:04    1581040

Mrs Amis...........The Culchie Hype machine will go into over drive as usual. Don't think ye need any help from outside the pale. Jackeeens well able to blow their own trumpets, have a look at a selection of comments from this thread.
Arock (Dublin)That's a demolition, end off, you can resent it, hate it, loathe it, but get used to it cause you're going to have to live with it, for a long while yet. I thought Diarmuid Connolly's goal was sublime, the space he made for himself, the guy is class.
Fionn (Dublin)Back 2 Back League Champions. Great performance. And still some players missing. Atha Cliath abú.
JIMBO (DUBLIN) Bernard Brogans goal was prob the best Ive ever seen, they were brave, full of heart and with a never say die attitude...
I want to thank the Dublin players and management for the massive amont of heart shown right from the Kerry game
It's an honour to have supported these men from that 1st night against Kerry and I can't thank them enough for what they achieved as a group
A proud day for Dublin GAA
Dublin - 2014 NFL Div 1 Champions
REALDUB(DUBLIN) Well done to our lads, pretty impressive stuff, now it's show time!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 27/04/2014 21:25:44    1581048

back to back national football league titles for the first time
great day for dublin football
fanatastic performance today from 1-15 and the subs
the most complete performance I have ever seen from this dublin team I would reckon
throw in the fact we could afford 17 wides
on a side note
would have to ask the question why croke park did not open section A of Hill 16 today
they continued to pile everybody into section B
and the isles were even full
the Gardai even admitted it was dangerous and wanted to allow people into section A

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/04/2014 21:41:49    1581068

Miler

You have misquoted me there

I said BB's goal was the best Ive seen from a Dublin player

If you're using my words as an example

Please quote me properly and don't cherry pick my words

No need for apologies or anything

But don't do it again... cheers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 27/04/2014 21:44:05    1581071

Miler

Dubs never did modesty. Afraid you'll have to suck it up for a while. We've had it served up to us allthru '00.

Great example of culchie hype machine this evening. LeaguevSunday. T O Sé (huge respect for him) and Mc Stay . Dubline were awesome. A flawless performance. Powerplays. Blah, blah. Dont start about Jackeens. Setting us up. Waiting For us to fall. (Dont hold yer breath.)
A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 27/04/2014 21:48:39    1581080

Jimbo..........they were brave, full of heart and with a never say die attitude...
I want to thank the Dublin players and management for the massive amont of heart shown right from the Kerry game
It's an honour to have supported these men from that 1st night against Kerry and I can't thank them enough for what they achieved as a group
Sound like you lost no time celebrating in hostelries around Croker!!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 27/04/2014 21:58:31    1581091

PS

Championayzzze Chamionayzzze are we are we are we...

An honour to support this unquestionably great team

All the culchie passive aggressive praise is water off a ducks back to this Dublin team

It's not 2008 anymore

They are above and beyond your bitterest of praise...

Dublin were equally as hyped in 2013

It didn't work then... so keep up the noise

Miler get working on those open letters to the Mayo team

Always good for a laugh them

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 27/04/2014 21:59:16    1581093

Miler

Perfect example in you buddy. Cherry picking quotes that couldn't be described as hype at all - With the exception of a rock's comments that is but you quoted 4 Dublin posters and only one was in any way predicting Dublin to do well!

Hilarious stuff.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/04/2014 08:30:36    1581105

Ulsterman

1580979 No doubt Dublin are the best team in a very, very poor football era and even when they are on top in games they STILL get ALL the decisions going. When Derry scored their goal Dublin immediately got 3 of the softest frees going to put them ahead and when Derry are denied a blatant penalty what chance do teams have now against Dublin? Surely time to change the Association's name to the DAA, Dublin Athletic Association. Croke Park seem quite content now for them and everyone else to revolve around Dublin's interests. No wonder the Association is dying on it's ar*e in rural parts of Ireland and in places like Belfast.

I thought personally Derry's goal in the first few minutes should have been a free out for a push in the back. Didn't bother us at all but if you are going to bring up refereeing decisions to make your point, well then we can too!

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 28/04/2014 08:32:04    1581106

MesAmis

Miler

Perfect example in you buddy. Cherry picking quotes that couldn't be described as hype at all - With the exception of a rock's comments that is but you quoted 4 Dublin posters and only one was in any way predicting Dublin to do well!

Hilarious stuff.

_______

Gas isn't it... thinks he's actually making a point but all he's doing is proving the exact opposite :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 09:34:19    1581140

Miler

This is what I posted in full

You chose to cherry pick the highlighted segment and claim it as hype???????

As you can see... you kind of missed a whole big chunk there didn't ya... you also misquoted my praise of Bearnard's goal... haha

Seriously man... I know you're a newbie but don't make it so easy... ;)

I think that's the best Dub performance under Gavin so far

I doubt he'll be happy with some of the shot selection though and at times we were a bit greedy

But it's like a shark detecting blood in the water... when there's scores for the taking a wee bit of control and leadership is required

Still lots to work on which is a good thing

Some of what's being written is way OTT

Dublin have done very well considering that we weren't at our best throughout the league

Dublin lost against Cork / Derry but we paid them back for those defeats

But you couldn't say Dublin were sublime throughout the league

But they were brave, full of heart and with a never say die attitude...

It's an honor to have supported these men from that 1st night against Kerry and I can't thank them enough for what they achieved as a group

Dublin - 2014 NFL Div 1 Champions

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/04/2014 09:45:56    1581147

ulsterman

if you want to talk about ref decisions
why dont you point out the fact that
a derry player unched davy byrne right under the refs nose and he did nothing about it
that the ref failed to use the advantage rule at least twice
when o gara had a man hanging off his arm and shot wide of the post
and kev mac was pushed in the back when shooting for goal
where was the advantage rule seen as they both missed?
also throw in that o gara had the derry player consitently fouling him by pulling out of him
and on several occasions the ref indeed did have his arm up for to show he was playing an advantage
but just because he didnt call a free the derry full back got away with persitenet fouling for a very long time
its a strange rule because of he had of called the free he would have yellow carded the player
but because he plays advantage the player gets away scot free haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2014 09:46:00    1581148

well done to the dubs they are the benchmark but as the recent years have shown back to back all irelands are difficult to acheive so we will see later in sept can they do it.will the hunger be their?they at the minute are well placed to do it but in a semi or final could be caught,derry beat them by 6pts in march so they can under perform occasionally but at croke park they are a different proposition we got payed back for the celtic park defeat.It was a reality check for our young side who had a decent league campaign so we need to dust ourselves down and prepare for donegal and being at celtic park gives us a chance.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 28/04/2014 10:01:01    1581158

Hill I agree with you about the ref decisions.
Played advantage but when none materialised he didn't bring it back.
O'Gara got some abuse in that match too, but he kept his cool and played well.

They were also winding Alan up off the ball and Davy Byrne was roughed up when he came on too.

But let us not follow other counties and dwell on it too much.

The Derry tactics failed and football won out.
Let's leave it at that..

Anyway, I think Derry will give Donegal a good auld rattle and with home advantage I think they might win.
Disappointed with Donegal yesterday. So one dimensional.. Monaghan were much better imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 28/04/2014 10:17:51    1581172

REALDUB(DUBLIN) Well done to our lads, pretty impressive stuff, now it's show time!

Blowing my own trumpet, by saying well done to Dublin and now it's time for the championship? Erm, I'm missing something here!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/04/2014 10:26:41    1581177