All Ireland u21 football 2014

clondalkin dub would you give over.
the real black death in football is dublin with all its unfair finances to fund your teams. no one wants to see a game where 1 team rules but i feel thats the way gaa is going with dublin. Cop on. Where where the dubs today aswell? to far a spin?

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 19/04/2014 20:13:01    1577283

Jackthedub

It's bad enough to be 100% wrong once. But twice?? Do your homework man. Cavan have won outside of ulster. Anyone with a clue about GAA knows that.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 19/04/2014 20:22:14    1577292

Some absolute rubbish being written here...

The idea that football won out is nonsense. Dublin were muck, Cavan played clever football but once Dillon went off they didn't have the forwards to see it out.

The referee didn't screw Cavan. I can only remember 1 soft free, the one on Lowndes, not much over the course of a game. The only complaint I'd have is that the ref called it up 30 seconds earlier than he should have. Dublin were killing the clock in injury time.

McHugh shouldn't have been black carded, he put in a poor tackle and Moynagh pulled him down.

Dillon, by the book, deserved a black card. Not the scenario it brought in to deal with but it was a mad tackle.

Nothing against Dublin but I hope the Rossies win it out. Dublin had very little innovation, plan seemed to be to just plough through the middle of Cavan with pace and power. As Jimbo pointed out the ball into a full forward line with 3 of the best U21 players around was garbage.

Very concerned about the potential for the Dubs to dominate Gaelic football. What can be done? You can't divide the county, you can't take funding as they need it to cater for a lot of clubs and a huge population. It's a bye-product of an economy that is very Dublin centric. That's not the fault of Dublin GAA people. Hard to know what will happen- there has to be an accumulative affect of Dublin constantly being in the top 2-3 at all age grades.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 19/04/2014 20:23:53    1577294

Cavan should take up rugby league, they would go far!
About 20 people on pitch had a poor game, the ref possibly one of them but none of them deserve to be physically attacked for it or need a Garda escort off the pitch. As for the suggestions that the GAA are instructing refs to favour Dublin!? Tinfoil hat sales must be through the roof in Ulster

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 19/04/2014 20:34:32    1577303

Did not see the game but from reading these posts here once again the big talking point is the ref. When are we going to get consistence referring ,a black card when it is a black card, giving dubious frees or not giving them at all E McGee and co were the men who brought in the black card or rather it was their idea. How about them having a look at the performances of the referees and don't be blaming players all the time. I think some of these refs are not fit for the job It's one thing loosing a game but if it steams from an error by the ref it's not good enough.
In last years championship Derry should have got a penalty against Cavan and it cost Derry the game Same in Croke park ,Dubs v Cork, Dublin should have got a penalty plus the Leinster Final a few years ago , Louth v Meath Also last years Ulster semi ,Cavan v Monaghan, again bad referring. What I will say is it needs to improve big time before the championship starts or we will have chaos.
This defeat won't help Cavan one bit and I think the posts on HS are gone overboard about Cavan winning Ulster/ All Ireland. They could have a long wait and they will have to change their style if they want towin anything. ( jJMcGuinness had to change in 2012 or we would have won nothing ) They have won 4Ulsters and have failed to win the All Ireland at U21 level.
To me this years senior Ulster title is between Derry /Donegal

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/04/2014 20:54:30    1577323

Dublin could have blitzed Cavan today, wasted numerous scoring opportunities in the first half especially,HOWEVER when the game was in the balance with 10mins to go, I believe the referee had an impact on the result, something officials should never do! My main gripe is that if Joe Dillon's offence was so dangerous/cynical, how was McHugh's any less so?? Some say McHugh did nothing wrong, IF SO why was he shown yellow? It was either no card or a black card. Total cop-out from the referee. Then to rub salt to the wound, McHugh was instrumental in the winning scores. Can't people understand why Cavan supporters feel so aggrieved? I've never in my life booed a referee off the field but today I couldn't help myself. Anything more than booing, I obviously don't condone!

P.S. Did anyone else think that Roscommon supporters showed a total lack of respect for Dublin/Cavan by invading the pitch after their game? Poor form, in my view.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 19/04/2014 20:55:59    1577324

Gaelic Fistball is a hames of a game anyway. All is well though, there'll be hurling on tomorrow :)

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 19/04/2014 20:57:01    1577327

If you tackle from behind you are allowing the referee to make an easy call simple free,the no6 was dead on his feet and most likely caused cavan the game.

I thought cavan were the better team over 60 mins and the dubs were very poor just not good enough at this level must have kick passed 25 balls to cavan players,dessie has a lot of work to do even to get close to the rossies

Thought cork very unlucky with the last free in the game could have gone there way

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 19/04/2014 21:00:02    1577334

Dublin had a poor game this evening no doubt. Some really poor passages of play, not kicking scores. Trying to work goals at inoppertune moments. Got over the line despite a hugely flawed performance.

The referee was appalling...... He was biased and favoured one team......CAVAN. I was at the game, big Cavan crowd there and neutrals were neutral on the Cavan side. The roars from some of these supposed supporters was shocking. Every time Dublin won a ball they wanted a free, every time McCaffery got the ball they were shouting drag him down or he's over carrying.

The ref should have gave given to three black cards, to three Cavan players. Three off the ball, late tackles aimed at stopping Dublin runners. Think Lowndes took 2 shocking late hits. Seen by ref and linesman both times, ref signalled he seen one of em and didn't come back to the incident. The black card Cavan got was a free out and nothing more. McHugh should have got a free, the Cavan 6 grabbed his arm and dragged him down. Cavan won a few high balls, player came down, surrounded by Dubs and jumped on the ground. No tackle. Free. The ref done Dublin no favours. The Cavan support need to stop fooling themselves if they keep blaming the ref.

The ref gave Dublin a free at the end of the game........because it was a free!

Scenes at the end were a disgrace.

Dublin deserved to win, didn't execute their game to the best of their ability. But were the only team trying to win. Cavan 4 up tried keep ball. Handed initiative to Dublin.

Rossies looked good.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 19/04/2014 21:01:47    1577339

Roundball
Don't be concerned about Dublin dominating as it is not going to happen Since I started to follow football ,around 1963 Kerry are the only team who dominated 1978/1981/1984/1986 They won seven titles from 1978 to1986 Yet they failed to break the record and so did Kilkenny in hurling In my book this Dublin team might win 2/3 All Ireland's in the next 5 years or they might not We can expect Kerry to have a team fit to challenge again inside the next 5years. What about Meath??you can be sure they will put it up to Dublin over the next 5 years A few other counties have the ability to challenge for Sam , Cork,Mayo , Down Galway ,Derry and possible Donegal/Cavan

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/04/2014 21:09:26    1577354

Yes bisto kid69 with the aid of the ref ,ponder that my friend ,and get your own name with your all ten posts. You will be glad to see him in charge of a Dublin game again , good luck to ya

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 19/04/2014 21:10:22    1577357

Having watched the match on TG4 as a neutral supporter,I felt sorry for Cavan ,some of the refs decisions were poor,but the bigger picture as the summer comes as the complete and total lack of consistency with inter county referees ,a lot of strange decisions at last weekends semis in the league,same at 3 league matches I attended this year,now if the gaa are really serious about developing the game here and abroad ,let them put some of the massive revenue they have into training referees,linesmen and umpires,so that players and supporters can enjoy the game and understand the decisions without frustration and scenes that were experienced today in Portlaoise.It's not all about money,respect the players who give so much time and effort for little reward,and the paying supporters who are the GAAs bread and butter.

true (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 19/04/2014 21:13:20    1577359

Mchugh had both hand around the cavan player and was taking down as the cavan player put his hand on his jersey
dublin players were also being let take well more then 4 steps coming up to the end

psychomick (Meath) - Posts: 42 - 19/04/2014 21:21:09    1577371

Ulsterman you are absolutely spot on. This runs deeper than a bad referee today. ALSO can the dinner party set please bet off their high moral ground

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/04/2014 21:21:10    1577372

Mchugh had a great game but lowdnes was motm I don't know how he didn't get it he outstanding from start to finish.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/04/2014 21:28:52    1577380

Dublin won game fair and squarely..they should have won it handy if they had only taken half of the wides they posted.

Should be a cracker of a final.

Very disappointing to see the scenes at the end of the game. I'm sure the genuine Cavan supporters will embarasssed and annoyed at the antics of some of their supporters not to mention the mentors and some players...

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 283 - 19/04/2014 21:35:01    1577383

We didn't play well but we got over the line in the end and deservedly so in my opinion.
I think it was a free at the end, the problem is refs usually don't award frees for that in the last minute with the sides level.
Consistency or the lack of it in reffing is the problem.
Bad scenes at the end the people involved really should know better.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 19/04/2014 21:38:11    1577386

I don't condone the behaviour towards the referee in any way.

Nonetheless, I can fully understand the sheer frustration, the anger, the annoyance felt by us. Cavan is a football county. We are fanatical about Gaelic Football. No other county comes close to having the passion we have, well Mayo perhaps, but the expectations and hunger of the Cavan people for football is second to none. We take tremendous pride in our team. We have been down in the doldrums for a while, but we are making a comeback.

And to lose in that manner is nothing short of sickening. Take a look at the odds before the game. We were rank outsiders. Nobody gave us a prayer. But we went toe to toe with a superpower of the GAA and matched them all the way. It was a decision beyond our control that cost us the game.

We have to live with that. We have to digest the referee's performance and are expected to shut up and bow down. The referee will be fine, he'll be out again for his next match and not a word about the players whose hard work, dedication and commitment that has been crushed.

Best of luck to the Dubs in the final, I am not a bitter man, I recognise a good football team when I see one and I admire Dublin's attack minded philosophy.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/04/2014 21:41:29    1577389

blueskies

clondalkin dub would you give over.
the real black death in football is dublin with all its unfair finances to fund your teams. no one wants to see a game where 1 team rules but i feel thats the way gaa is going with dublin. Cop on. Where where the dubs today aswell? to far a spin?
-----
Bigger fish to fry pal. That was Cavan's big day out. Dubs have senior football and hurling to look forward to.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/04/2014 21:44:12    1577391

BINMAM53 monaghan, cant believe u would say that, what will u say after next week ha,ha,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 19/04/2014 21:44:36    1577393