All Ireland u21 football 2014

Congrats 2 the dubs, best team won, but we should change it from football to fistball, the game was just bounce and fist and ah poor cavan!!!

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 19/04/2014 19:18:43    1577216

Pleased to be in the final,We played well for periods and should have been out of sight going into the last 10mins.
However we were very loose and extremely naïve at the back today and in the end we were LUCKY!! and we did get a few handy frees.

On the plus side we have yet to put in a complete performance for 60mins .We will need it in the final and if we get it we will be hard stopped.At least with Dublin we know where we Stand, They will come to play Ball and I expect a high scoring shootout and may
the best team win!!

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 19/04/2014 19:21:45    1577218

I won't condone any intimidation of officials BUT Cavan were fully justfied in their intense anger at the end. They lost the game because of decisions and actions outside their control and the officials gave Dublin absolutely everything in the match. Once again soft frees in Dublin's favour and yellow cards instead of blacks were handed out to Dublin and it influenced the game. The decision at the end was a non free and it cost Cavan the match. We no longer appear to have a level playing field in the GAA anymore, if we ever did. IN 2014 it seems that the Association is being run in GAA financial interests and in Dublin's interests and the rest are just expected to shut up and accept it BUT it is now alienating many Gaels around the country. If this is the future of the GAA where it is just run for Dublin and SKY deals I want no part of it now.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 19/04/2014 19:24:54    1577222

Ulsterman

I won't condone any intimidation of officials BUT Cavan were fully justfied in their intense anger at the end. They lost the game because of decisions and actions outside their control and the officials gave Dublin absolutely everything in the match. Once again soft frees in Dublin's favour and yellow cards instead of blacks were handed out to Dublin and it influenced the game. The decision at the end was a non free and it cost Cavan the match. We no longer appear to have a level playing field in the GAA anymore, if we ever did. IN 2014 it seems that the Association is being run in GAA financial interests and in Dublin's interests and the rest are just expected to shut up and accept it BUT it is now alienating many Gaels around the country. If this is the future of the GAA where it is just run for Dublin and SKY deals I want no part of it now.

Off you pop so.........

Absolute rubbish man and you know it. The fact that you reference a situation where a Dublin player was wrongly yellow carded when he should've received a free kick as the Cavan player cynically pulled him to the ground shows what you're all about man!

C'mon it was a clear as day decision that favoured Cavan (not the only one they got either) but yet you use it as an example of bias towards Dublin. Amazing! Cavan get a dodgy decision but they didn't get enough outta it for you!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 19/04/2014 19:32:18    1577229

Congratulations to Dublin and good luck in the final.Hard luck to the decent Cavan supporters who are posting and were at the game but not to those idiots that carried on like that at the end of the match.I know you will always get a few morons at every game but I was disappointed also with how some of the Cavan players reacted.Obviously not happy to go out but they were constantly goading Dublin players throughout the game and final will be better without them.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 19/04/2014 19:32:28    1577230

Ulsterman very well put

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 19/04/2014 19:34:48    1577232

Not like you Ulsterman to have irrational rant when the Dubs win!

Up the Dubs, by the way :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/04/2014 19:36:45    1577234

ulsterman

amazing to see you try blame dublin on everything
yet did you even watch the first game?
cork had a late free given against them which roscommon scored to win the match
I didnt hear cork whinging or moaning they took the defeat on the chin
cavan supported their team brilliantly today it was only a few idiots let them down after the match

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/04/2014 19:37:28    1577235

HEREBENJI

From a neutrals point of view thought the best team won in the end. We might get a decent final. Refereee not to blame, Moynagh dragged McHugh down on top of him so no black card there and he fouled the Dublin lad just before he shot so ref was entitled to play advantage rule.

Hope the Cavan Co Board are big enough to identify those supporters and mentors that behaved so disgracefully at the end and hand out appropriate punishments.

I'd second this to be honest. I'm a neutral and I actually couldn't see that all that much wrong with the ref's performance. It was a soft enough free at the end but it was probably right. I did feel the Joe Dillon's black card might have been harsh though they didn't show a replay. ( Classic TG4)

I'd be more annoyed if I was a Corkman to be honest. Roscommon got some VERY soft free's.

kevdog (Westmeath) - Posts: 115 - 19/04/2014 19:40:39    1577239

Cavan set themselves up for that beating. There are the only team in the country who have not tried to embrace the new rules and are playing a brand of football which is unattractive for anyone to watch. The dubs have created a new style and brand that is to be applauded and admired and for the benefit and progression of our game it is only right that the team who embraces the game and plays in the right manner wins. What would a person new to GAA make of it if Cavan where on the centre stage playing that football They wouldn't come back. The Dubs and Roscommon will be a classic final played in the right spirit.

And by the way I am a neutral

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 19/04/2014 19:42:53    1577240

Ulsterman

were you at the game???? Or is this your usual bxxxxxt tripe you come out with anytime Dublin were involved.

Dublin were the better team 15 wides they shot tells the tale.

Cavan need to alter there game plan. The overly defensive game will win an ulster title and nothing more.

4 years they won ulster and get knocked out at the semi final stage, that tells its own story.

Speaking to a cavan fan at the end and his simple response was we don't have the forwards.

Finally well done to the Dubs particulary Niall scully and Costello who really stood up in that second half.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/04/2014 19:44:46    1577243

A great pity and very sad to see the scenes at the end for sure, no one wants those kind of scenes at our games. The referee has poor game and irregardless of a teams faults and failings during the game no one deserves to loose a game in that fashion. Dublin were quite poor for the second game in a row but in both cases the opposition didn't have the scores put up when in control to build a match winning lead, Roscommon however appear to be a team capable of doing such scoring. A lot of beating Dublin is down to belief, Dublin have been built up as this unstoppable footballing dynasty set to dominate for years to come, that is not the case but teams at all levels seem to be buying that very notion and letting it get into their heads. Cavan looked like a team with doubts in their heads today, that and some abject refereeing at the end has them heading home sad men tonight

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/04/2014 19:45:43    1577246

Utter tripe UM

Mes has already made you look daft

That's good enough... saves me the bother

Calling for a black card on McHugh.... feckin daft stuff

Cavan were woeful in 2nd half... a very poor game but this cry baby stuff is just painful

It was a free... hands around waist... no attempt to play the ball

Only intent was to play the man, and once you start grappling the man in possession around the waist

Likely hood is you give away the free...

UM don't let the door hit you on the way out

You're no loss whatsoever

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 19/04/2014 19:46:06    1577247

A great pity and very sad to see the scenes at the end for sure, no one wants those kind of scenes at our games. The referee has an exceptionally poor game and irregardless of a teams faults and failings during the game no one deserves to loose a game in that fashion. Dublin were quite poor for the second game in a row but in both cases the opposition didn't have the scores put up when in control to build a match winning lead, Roscommon however appear to be a team capable of doing such scoring. A lot of beating Dublin is down to belief, Dublin have been built up as this unstoppable footballing dynasty set to dominate for years to come, that is not the case but teams at all levels seem to be buying that very notion and letting it get into their heads. Cavan looked like a team with doubts in their heads today, that and some abject refereeing at the end has them heading home sad men tonight

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/04/2014 19:47:38    1577248

Hahahaha

Imagine if Dub fans / players / management acted like that towards a ref at the end of game

Once again it's the culchies making a holy show of the organisation

It wasn't a black card and it was a free

Deal with it you feckin whinging sorry excuse for GAA people

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 19/04/2014 19:52:23    1577257

Its amazing the neutral view when you take out Bias view from our friendly folk from the north!!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/04/2014 19:56:24    1577264

Lads Cavan can feel rightly furious with some of those calls this evening.
Tough enough playing a county that has all the chips stacked in it's favour
without poor calls going against them.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/04/2014 19:58:42    1577267

I was at the game and to say the best team lost is a joke we missed 2-8 in the first half against a team that play with 12 men behind the ball ffs , thank god football won cause this rugby league rubbish is shocking to watch and sky won't be happy hahaha up the dubs football won out in the end thank god

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/04/2014 19:59:36    1577269

The free that Dublin got in front of the goal at the end was never a free.
The refereeing was poor.
However Dublin shaded the game for me and deserved to win. I wish them well in the final.
The complaints are not about Dublin winning but about the refereeing decisions.
I thought the ref in the early game gave a lot of poor decisions against Cork too and posted on that during the game.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/04/2014 20:10:26    1577279

Blaming the Ref is an easy out.

Cavan didn't have the stones to take the game by the scruff of the neck.

They got the ideal start at the start of the 2nd with 2 quick pts but didn't kick on.

Persisted with this blanket defence crap and didn't commit men forward.

At least the team who tried to play football won.

I would be asking questions of the whole cavan style of play, for all there ulster success they havnt won a game outside of the provence, reminds me of a Dublin team in the 00's.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/04/2014 20:12:01    1577282