All Ireland u21 football 2014

Well put Ned stormcrow.
Its almost as if the Cavan players and supporters and just expected to keep their mouths shut and bow down. What a load of rubbish. Don't give me this stiff upper lip crap. Remaining silent in the face of an injustice is a sign of weakness, not strength.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/04/2014 21:46:30    1577396

Mchugh had a great game but lowdnes was motm I don't know how he didn't get it he outstanding from start to finish.

lowndes wasted a lot of ball today he will have to improve his passing if he wants to play at the top level,but he did play to the end maybe he was trying to make up for his poor play earlier on

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 19/04/2014 21:47:03    1577397

Once again a small county is shafted in the interests of trying to retain major sponsorship deals.a Cavan Roscommon final would not have been seen as attractive to potential sponsors. This is the direction our game is now headed. Terrble.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/04/2014 21:49:04    1577398

mayotyroneman

1577372 Ulsterman you are absolutely spot on. This runs deeper than a bad referee today. ALSO can the dinner party set please bet off their high moral ground

Slightly embarresing , listening to you and Ulstermans rants. Two teenage keyboard revolutionaries out to save the world from the Dubs,

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/04/2014 21:49:14    1577399

I thought on the match that we were very poor, no shape and only for a couple of our lads coming good eventually we squeezed through.we were poor against Meath also and being honest we have stumbled into the final, we should of won that game comfortably with the amount of ball we had in the second half and opportunities to put balls over the bar. but we didnt and if Cavan won that game we would have had no one to blame but ourselves. I feel sorry for decent Cavan supporters because they had a great chance of pulling of an upset and it was grabbed from them in the end, but in truth it was because of our teams in ability to put the ball over the bar instead of trying to walk the ball into the net that allowed this.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/04/2014 22:00:38    1577410

Great win for our lads against a county 10 times our population and a massive financial power as well, Murtagh showed some guts kicking the winning free which was a clear free btw, fair play to cork even though the were been outplayed the still never gave in and could have robbed it in the end. I sure the dubs will be warm favs for the final but i am sure our lads will try there best. Hard luck Cavan but in fairness the better team won on the day and it would have been far better financially for the gaa if cavan had got to the final as the would have brought far more support then the dubs will bring, Cork might have brought a bus full if the won.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 20/04/2014 09:04:30    1577421

ros1

haha thats the first time I have ever heard anybody use the population and financial card against cork haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2014 09:51:56    1577435

have to say very one sided reporter on rte teletext on this match yesterday
"And they provided another trio of late scores in the closing minutes to rob Cavan of their place in the decider."
thats a quote from the report,whatever you feel about the ref during the game to say a team of young men robbed the game is very wrong
not even the irate cavan supporters had a gripe with dublin players,dissapointing from the national brodcaster

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2014 09:56:36    1577438

GallantJohnJoe

1577324 Dublin could have blitzed Cavan today, wasted numerous scoring opportunities in the first half especially,HOWEVER when the game was in the balance with 10mins to go, I believe the referee had an impact on the result, something officials should never do! My main gripe is that if Joe Dillon's offence was so dangerous/cynical, how was McHugh's any less so?? Some say McHugh did nothing wrong, IF SO why was he shown yellow? It was either no card or a black card. Total cop-out from the referee. Then to rub salt to the wound, McHugh was instrumental in the winning scores. Can't people understand why Cavan supporters feel so aggrieved? I've never in my life booed a referee off the field but today I couldn't help myself. Anything more than booing, I obviously don't condone!

P.S. Did anyone else think that Roscommon supporters showed a total lack of respect for Dublin/Cavan by invading the pitch after their game? Poor form, in my view.

Apologies for winning an epic game of football with the last kick of the game and actually getting to an all-Ireland final. Apologies for coming on the field to support our heroes in their greatest hour. Apologies for celebrating our greatest day since 2006. Grow up lad.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 20/04/2014 09:59:51    1577439

joncarter

Well put Ned stormcrow.
Its almost as if the Cavan players and supporters and just expected to keep their mouths shut and bow down. What a load of rubbish. Don't give me this stiff upper lip crap. Remaining silent in the face of an injustice is a sign of weakness, not strength.

Good Lord man.

Acting like 5 year old children is in your view standing up in the face of injustice!

Some supporters disgraced themselves yesterday. No question about it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/04/2014 10:04:03    1577444

Look lads the team who wins after 60 mins deserves it whether it be because there more economical or whether it be because they have better forwards. I had not seen cavan play before but for a team that won 4 ulster titles I was disappointed with their display. They had ONE forward who could score. Jack Dillon. The rest were clueless once they got within 30 metres. This defensive system is a joke, focusing on the opposition strengths is a weakness. Its grand beating ulster teams with it but once you play outside Ulster the teams like Dublin and Cork are just better than that. Tyrone also won 4 in a row but they also won 2 all-Irelands with playing great football. Their subsequent players went on to win senior titles. McKiernan, McDermott and Clarke are fine footballers but cant see too many of that team winning all-Irelands. I think cavan have had better sides (the one that lost the all-Ireland in 2011). For the good of football I am glad Dublin won. Dublin were poor, a shadow of that great 2012 side that won the all-Ireland 2 years ago but they deserved to win overall. Cork didn't spit the dummy out like cavan did in the end either. Tremendous respect for the fans and their graciousness in defeat. As I said in an earlier post, I hope those Cavan fans who made a fool of themselves are reprimanded.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 20/04/2014 10:09:34    1577446

What one or two supporters did has no place in the game. The same goes for some of the Cavan subs and the Cavan number 8.

However at the final whistle, I felt there had been an injustice and perhaps if referees were to be punished for bad performances, supporters/players would not take upon themselves to confront them after games.

That's part of the problem too. You'll probably get Pat McEnaney or Mick Curley on the radio today applauding the referees. Blatant ignorance of the problem!

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 20/04/2014 10:13:50    1577450

GallantJohnJoe

1577324 Dublin could have blitzed Cavan today, wasted numerous scoring opportunities in the first half especially,HOWEVER when the game was in the balance with 10mins to go, I believe the referee had an impact on the result, something officials should never do! My main gripe is that if Joe Dillon's offence was so dangerous/cynical, how was McHugh's any less so?? Some say McHugh did nothing wrong, IF SO why was he shown yellow? It was either no card or a black card. Total cop-out from the referee. Then to rub salt to the wound, McHugh was instrumental in the winning scores. Can't people understand why Cavan supporters feel so aggrieved? I've never in my life booed a referee off the field but today I couldn't help myself. Anything more than booing, I obviously don't condone!

This is brilliant!! I'm gonna presume you havn't seen the incident with McHugh's yellow card back on TV yet because if you had you certainly wouldn't be bringing it up as an example where the ref favoured Dublin!

I mean tha is one of the Cavan supporters (as well as the tinfoil hat brigade) main gripes with the ref. An incident where the ref actually favourd Cavan wrongly! I mean I don't want to come across as mean or anything but if that was your problem with the ref then it shows how awfully yous behaved at the end.

He got the incident wrong with McHugh. It should have been a free to Dublin and a black card to the Cavan player. The ref got it wrong and punished Mchugh with a yellow and a Cavan free - and the Cavan fans are using this as an example of the ref being against them.

I suppose you can only laugh at the ridiculousness of it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/04/2014 10:17:14    1577452

bluskies

hardly a big crowd there from any county considering the attendance was only 7 thousand

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2014 10:43:11    1577472

Im after seeing a few different people have different views on the final free to dublin yesterday. What actually happened, did the ref blow for the free before ivory got his shot away which hit the post and went wide or did he allow advantage and only give the free after the shot was missed? For me if it was that he allow the advantage and brought it back after the wide its a terrible decision and cavan have every right to feel aggrieved (doesnt condone their actions) but if he did blow for the free before the ball was kicked then fair enough and for me a massive over reaction from some cavan people and just looking for someone to blame rather than looking at their own failings

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 20/04/2014 10:50:20    1577475

Maybe I don't understand the rule 100% and if so feel free to correct me but after the referee played advantage at the end and the dublin player took the shot, was that not the advantage over? Playing advantage does not mean scoring a point, it surely means just getting a chance to take on the shot. The fact that he missed should have meant that there was no reason to come back for a free.

anon1234 (Kerry) - Posts: 19 - 20/04/2014 10:51:43    1577477

Former_Poster

What one or two supporters did has no place in the game. The same goes for some of the Cavan subs and the Cavan number 8.

However at the final whistle, I felt there had been an injustice and perhaps if referees were to be punished for bad performances, supporters/players would not take upon themselves to confront them after games.

That's part of the problem too. You'll probably get Pat McEnaney or Mick Curley on the radio today applauding the referees. Blatant ignorance of the problem!

Exactly. Spot on with that post.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 20/04/2014 10:57:34    1577486

anon1234

Maybe I don't understand the rule 100% and if so feel free to correct me but after the referee played advantage at the end and the dublin player took the shot, was that not the advantage over?

No. The ref can bring it back even if a shot is taken.

Has been happening throughout the National League so shouldn't be too surprising to people.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/04/2014 11:05:23    1577493

anon1234

Maybe I don't understand the rule 100% and if so feel free to correct me but after the referee played advantage at the end and the dublin player took the shot, was that not the advantage over? Playing advantage does not mean scoring a point, it surely means just getting a chance to take on the shot. The fact that he missed should have meant that there was no reason to come back for a free.

no the rule is the same as rugby
if he had of put the ball over the bar the score would be awarded
but because he missed within the 5 seconds the ball is brought back for the free
as he didnt get the score
that is the rule

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2014 11:06:09    1577495

Tipp11 and anon; the rule is if your being fouled and get your shot off and it goes wide the ref can bring it back to where your foul originally, stupid rule once he gets his shot off that should be the end of the advantage but not in the Gaa rule book ,the exact same thing happened in the first game but no one has mentioned that incident.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/04/2014 11:09:33    1577498