All Ireland u21 football 2014

Happy Easter everyone,
Dublin didn't play well yesterday because they weren't allow play well. same way that derry didn't play well, tyrone didn't play well, monaghan didn't play well and Donegal didn't play well. The ref wasn't any worse than most refs I have seen this year.
In fact the ref in the first game was worse and I'm surprised that there aren't more Cork supporters on here complaining that they were robbed. I counted at least 3 if not more frees awarded to Roscommon that resulted in points. as for Cavan, well we only have ourselves to blame. alot of people losing perspective at the match and on here. I was bitterly dissapointed at the end but I couldn't understand why the whole management team saw fit to confront the ref at the end. maybe it was to deflect from their own shortcommings. why woulld you take a man off because he is injured and then bring him back on still injured and not warmed up. why would you bring a big man (greg McGovern) on with seconds to go when you should clearly have brought him on earlier. Congratulations to Dublin. However I must say I was immensely proud of our lads yesterday, To a man they played their hearts out and played with skill and poise. to those who say that Cavan's stle will get you out of ulster but not win when you come up against other teams, well it nearly worked yesterday, only a kick ofa ball in it, so that clearly is nonsense. I think Conor Moynagh was having a marvellous game until he got injured . I am very impressed with Tom Hayes every time I see him, reminds me of a young Kevin cmanaman. Also Dillon was good as was faulkner, the 2 big lads in the middle were immense, so was watson,fortune, mcvitty linked play up well and carried the ball well. Gerry smith was unlucky a few times. he is a fine player but made one or two wrong decisions yesteday. Thought McHugh was MOTM, he took the game to cavan and scored the vital scores. I actually expect Dublin to win the final.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/04/2014 11:27:03    1577514

My God people the rule could not be any clearer and so absolutely obvious.
It beggars belief that there's confusion around the advantage rule. It's the best rule change we've had when implemented correctly.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/04/2014 11:35:53    1577527

My God people the rule could not be any clearer and so absolutely obvious.
It beggars belief that there's confusion around the advantage rule. It's the best rule change we've had when implemented correctly.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/04/2014 11:36:04    1577528

Fair play Goldrick. A bit of perspective is a rare thing to see on this forum of late.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/04/2014 11:38:40    1577533

Good post S Goldrick, I agree with almost all of it. Getting away from the referee's ineptitude, why did Conor Moynagh come back on for the last 15 minutes when clearly not 100%? Remember, it was Conor who was penalised for the key foul at the end. Just to clear up, it was actually Brian Sankey who came on in the closing moments, not Greg McGovern as TV stated.

Cavan are beaten, we're all sick about the result and the nature of the result, we really could've won. Now let's just get it out of our system and move on, hopefully with a win in Croker next Saturday for the seniors. Who do people think can make the step up from u21 to the Cavan seniors? Dillon? Faulkner and Hayes v young but surely have an exciting future in blue ahead of them. I think the goalkeeper could be Cavan's first choice in the future...

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 20/04/2014 11:39:13    1577534

A well deserved win for us yesterday the full time scoreline didn't do our performance justice TBH the goals for Cork kept them in it and another day the last goal could have flew over the bar or hit one of our defenders on the line. That last goal brought late drama but the last free that many were complaining about was the correct call.

Cavan defended great throughout and i didn't see none of this blanket stuff? if we had a defence as strong as theirs i would fancy our chances more in the final however we have the forwards and midfield to win and it promises to be a great game in two weeks.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 20/04/2014 11:48:39    1577543

Floops. Relax chief, I was only asking a question. Maybe try to climb down from your high horse for 5 minutes and realise that not everyone knows all the new rules inside out just yet. There's no harm in asking a question.

anon1234 (Kerry) - Posts: 19 - 20/04/2014 11:54:57    1577545

First of all congratulations to Dublin. They won because they were the better team and no ifs or buts about it. We could have stolen it but we didn't so let's move on.
This style of football is alien to Cavan supporters and we don't like it any more than any other county. But in fairness something had to be done. We were a shambles at underage football in 2010. Since then we've won 4 Ulster U-21s and 1 minor. Now that we've learned to defend and hold our own at midfield we need to learn to score and attack defences. I expect our Senior team to start doing that soon. That'll take a few years so we need to settle down and wait and hope.

I have no quibble with the late free. That's the advantage rule but a lot of people don't seem to understand it. I think there were at least three thousand Cavan fans at the game, maybe more and that's how it was for every match. It's not fair to blame us for the behaviour of a few hot heads. Everyone I've spoken to since is of the same opinion. We lost because we weren't just good enough.

The incident that upset everyone in my opinion was the one that followed the Dublin free. Costello hopped the ball twice in succession and wasn't blown up for it. Check it on the video if you have a recording. A free to us at that stage might have led to an equaliser - who knows? Coming so quickly after the free incident made some people feel like the referee was not giving us fair play. But most people thought the ref was fair enough overall.
Best of luck to Dublin in the final.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 20/04/2014 11:58:53    1577549

20/04/2014 11:28:21
Damothedub

Dubs very poor , played like a collection of players playing together for the first time , no game plan , a lot of selfish decisions made , running up alleways and into the tackle without support ,
Mannion not fit , killed in midfield particularly the first half ,
The shooting from distance of Cavan to be applauded in first half , however through all of that the boys dug deep and I mean rally deep , pulled it out of the bag .
Regards the ref some shocking decisions , Id be very disappointed if they had gone against us ,
Regards the scenes at the end , its important to distinguish , some fans near me gave a right verbal volley , no problem there , but I witnessed spitting in the refs direction again one individual , disgusting .
The players most Cavan players were too distraught to comprehend what had happened , most did give a handshake , some however ( subs mainly ) did make a major beeline totwards ref as did the coaches . Not the way I wanted us to proceed but a final it is and hope fans get off their backsides and travel .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/04/2014 12:05:43    1577553

thank god for the first game, open football plenty of scores, well done roscommon and cork. now to that fiasco of cavan v dublin.look at the amount of wides , the defensive system cavan use if they can break quickly its fine, but no sign of it yesterday, because its not there.come out and play football for gods sake.then we have the spectacle of reilly out on the pitch 2 or 3 times moaning to the referee.have you ever seen cody or gavin or harte at this.
i was prepared to leave had that game gone to extra time and i am a dublin supporter.
will rossies beat dublin. yes i think so, but there wont be more than a point in it.should be a great open game of football.
thank god sky were not televising that second game.

toomevara (Dublin) - Posts: 6 - 20/04/2014 12:17:07    1577561

Roscommon got 2 what are called "handy frees" yesterday no doubt about that, but that last call was definitely a free, but but but
what about Cadogins goal for Cork, he took 7 steps solo seven more steps hop kick, goal, look back at it again, FREE OUT, but but but what about Corks third goal a 13mtr free taken from 11mtrs out, HOP BALL ON THE 13MTR LINE, CORRECT FINAL SCORE TAKING AWAY THOSE 2 HANDY FREES AND GIVING YE ONE MORE POINT FOR LUCK Ros 1-16 Cork 1-12,get a bit of balance into this, Roscommon were the best team on show yesterday by a mile, they played brilliant football from start to finish and not a dirty tackle in the game. football as it should be played,I have come away from many games over the years thinking hard done by, but have always asked the question did the best team win.
Answer yesterday, yes The Rossies were the best team on show. END OF

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 20/04/2014 12:20:46    1577562

Thats a very exact prediction for the final Toomevara.Roscommon by 1 point.50/50 for me.Its on the day.Bit of luck 1 way or the other.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/04/2014 12:49:24    1577575

First semi final Roscommon by far the better footballing side and but for allowing Cork back into to game with some weak defending they would have won pulling up. Second semi final Cavan unlucky they deserved at least extra time. Poor display by Dublin however they know they won't play as poorly again a should have enough to win another All Ireland.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 20/04/2014 12:50:55    1577576

anon1234 climb down off my high horse? Not a chance I like it up here.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/04/2014 12:51:15    1577578

Interesting both Cork and Cavan have done 4 in a row in Munster and Ulster but haven't won the All Ireland,Havent even got close in fairness which say a lot for the standard in both province's.

First game was great,Roscommon were the better team, again Cork showed in bits what they can do but it is never enough.If the go on a shoot out with Dublin in the final they could come up short.

The second game was as i expected despreate.Dublin were there to play open attacking football,Cavan were there to keep the score down.Horrible to watch.

For the 4th year in a row Cavan have made it this far doing the same thing,im not counting the win over Wexford,but they havent learned that the 12 man defence wont win you an All Ireland,plus they dont have enough scoring power to win it.

I still think Roscommon would of beat Cavan in the final,although Dublin will love a shoot out,which will suit them better.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 20/04/2014 12:57:51    1577584

Good luck to both teams in the final, hopefully it will be remembered for the right reasons. But there is a responsibility on players to play the game. The last minute of the ulster final is a great example of this, when the game was virtually over, cavan only scoring a point from play in the entire match, suddenly scored 1-3 in a few minutes simply because they had to. their mid fielder took responsibility to break away from the system and solo the ball into the danger area. End of. It was very disappointing to read posts about how he should have been fouled rather than being allowed to go on a run. It kind of shows that if you can mix up direct football with a tactical game rather than playing a very closed game all the time, you will eventually make hay. Feel sorry for cavan football this morning, but i do think that their tactics got found out yesterday.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/04/2014 12:59:33    1577585

Disappointed with Cavan's carry on yesterday. Classless.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1579 - 20/04/2014 16:45:43    1577675

ahsure

I agree,maybe the ref was poor,but to carry on like that at the end is not right..In general the standard of the referees is poor though..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/04/2014 16:52:31    1577681

The Cavan response yesterday was appalling and should not be tolerated. In my view the GAA should go to town on them. Its not good enough at any game, but at an underage game its arguably worse! Everyone appreciates a lot was at stake, but a referee should not require an escort from a GAA field of play for his/her own safety. Its not passion its blatant thuggery and it needs to be addressed.

Close games are inevitably deemed to fall foul of contentious decisions. It would help if some people actually knew the rules before attacking referees. Cavan had a huge amount of work done yesterday and simply must take responsibility for the fact they didn't close the game out. If they learn and develop they will be in a good place. We didn't play well but did enough to grind out a win. It was a forgettable match in my opinion.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 20/04/2014 17:11:09    1577686

Seany 16,

It was poor form from some of the Cavan supporters alright BUT what needs to be addressed is the diabolical refereeing, not just yesterday, but nearly every week.
Nothing has changed since Sludden allowed Meath's goal.
I also find it a bit rich reading some of the comments from a few Dublin supporters regardin the Cavan supporters behaviour. They have short memories.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/04/2014 17:19:48    1577688