Anyone know why Mulkerrins wasn't playing yesterday? Sean Andy not up to it. We need to get injuries sorted fast and get our best 15 out there. Other counties aren't picking up injuries after the long layoff and all other teams had their best 15 out. Why hadn't we? Obviously our lads were doing damn all. Carrying a lot of timber some of them. My changes would be the below Gleeson / Lavelle Campbell / Kelly Sean Andy / Mulkerrins Heaney / Heaney Silke / Silke Duane / O'Donnell McDaid / McDaid Maher / Flynn (if can get fit) Darcy / Conroy Brannigan / Brannigan Comer / Comer Leonard / Daly Finnerty / Burke Burke / Walsh Conroy / Varley hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 311 - 19/10/2020 09:54:38 2299037 Link 0 |
To be fair Mayo played very well yesterday but we have been totally dominant over Mayo at all ages underage for the last 6 years. What happened yesterday is a mystery but hopefully we can get it together for Sunday. One huge positive was the strength in depth we have coming through after the u20's performance on Saturday. Looked miles ahead of a much vaunted Kerry team in terms of skill and game sense. philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 19/10/2020 10:06:23 2299044 Link 0 |
You haven't got a clue !!
Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 119 - 19/10/2020 10:19:43 2299048 Link 0 |
Is Comer becoming a better player because he's injured? hasn't played well for Galway since early 2018. Not sure why he gets so much credit on here. People talking about commitment issues, the guy got injured playing soccer. candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 234 - 19/10/2020 10:23:16 2299050 Link 1 |
Correct, few of them are definitely carrying timber. No more than myself i should add. MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 19/10/2020 10:47:54 2299067 Link 0 |
did we not play most of league without Comer and played well. Agree Shane Walsh is a loss but Mayo also had injuries. PJ looked at well over 100 lads when he took up the job. I know some brilliant lads that he didn't even give a run to. This is why there's a panel of over 35 players. As regards not throwing the lads who played under the bus, why should he.There is no point in picking lads cause of what club they are from. The book stops with management. PJ is the one who picked this panel and if they aren't up to it they shouldn't be on panel Toman (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 19/10/2020 10:49:11 2299069 Link 1 |
Lads would ye relax. Yes, Galway had a bad day at the office but that doesnt make them bad players overnight. Mayo were really good yesterday and had their homework done on Galways kickouts. It's still early days and I can still see the Rossies beating Mayo in Connacht Ayeartilmonday (Galway) - Posts: 63 - 19/10/2020 10:51:38 2299072 Link 0 |
Ok....the day after. emotions are a bit more stable and time for critical analysis. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1301 - 19/10/2020 10:59:19 2299079 Link 0 |
100% correct and baffling that there isn't a keeper in the county that can do the basics i.e command the square, not make obvious mistakes and find a maroon Jersey with a kick out, to my mind Paul Doherty or Adrian Flaherty were the last Galway keepers that I would describe as solid
johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 469 - 19/10/2020 11:11:35 2299089 Link 1 |
very difficult to turn that performance yesterday around in a few weeks
johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 469 - 19/10/2020 11:13:24 2299092 Link 1 |
A lot more than that wrong yesterday, selection, shape, defensive game plan, attacking game plan, not tracking runners, substitutions, very poor day on the line
johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 469 - 19/10/2020 11:15:34 2299094 Link 0 |
Its not early days, we were miles off and the Connacht Final is next month. We have injuries and players not looking match fit after about 6 months away from intercounty
johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 469 - 19/10/2020 11:17:21 2299096 Link 0 |
The half back line got absolutely demolished yesterday. I've never seen a HB line be some completely and utterly torn asunder,but you've left it broadly unchanged. Only for GOD getting to grips with Moran it would have been even worse.
WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 275 - 19/10/2020 11:24:05 2299099 Link 0 |
Who was picking up Oisin Mullen. For the Durkin goal whoever it was didn't track him and if that was a Dublin player under Gavin they would have been taken off after. johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 469 - 19/10/2020 11:26:13 2299100 Link 0 |
Very like the game in Limerick v Mayo all over again rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 19/10/2020 11:28:14 2299103 Link 0 |
This forum is so negative!! Fair enough, yesterday was a dark day for Galway and there will be a lot of soul searching but some people here seem to get a kick out of seeing players/mgmt have a bad day?! tribesman123 (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 19/10/2020 11:35:07 2299105 Link 0 |
When is the last time Liam Silke played well for Galway? Charlie (Kerry) - Posts: 496 - 19/10/2020 11:56:27 2299111 Link 4 |
It will be a kick in the ass for players and management and there is time to rectify it. There will be a few home truths said with the video analysis and there will be a good reaction from the players. IF shane walsh is back for the dubs game I can see Galway beating Dublin.
Ayeartilmonday (Galway) - Posts: 63 - 19/10/2020 11:58:58 2299112 Link 0 |
It's not one or the other. I'll always support Galway and I'll be right behind them, shouting at the telly next weekend against Dublin. As soon, as we can go to games again, I'll be there too. However, we can also at the same time call out a terrible performance. The first half yesterday was as bad as I've ever seen from a Galway senior team. The lads and management know this better than anyone of course. Poor play is one thing, but there was a distinct lack of work-rate yesterday, which isn't acceptable. Effort, aggression and work-rate should be a given, regardless of everything else. Without these, you don't have chance and any good team will tear you to shreds. Next week needs a huge step up in these areas alone. I'd be hopeful that we see this, regardless of the result. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 930 - 19/10/2020 12:07:31 2299117 Link 0 |
Anyone calling for Lavelle to come back needs their head examined he is not even on the panel. gaa190 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 19/10/2020 12:08:28 2299118 Link 0 |