This Mayo team will never have a better chance!

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You really are an example to the rest of us on how to rise above adversity and defy the odds.

https://youtu.be/bWcASV2sey0

It's probably just me but I pictured Bonnie Tyler on the radio singing Holding out for a Hero when you were typing that awesome tribute. Truly inspirational stuff, etc"
And straight from the heart..........honest!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/08/2016 23:06:45    1902536

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Jimbo I'm agreeing with you 100%. The good is gone out of it now. Losing to Galway ffs. No matter who gets to the final it's devalued so I can't see either ourselves or Tipp putting in much of an effort. And thanks for the B2. I was expecting something around the D mark, so it just shows you're only 3/4 bad. Oh and congratulations again on your fine achievements last year and so far this year. You really are an example to the rest of us on how to rise above adversity and defy the odds."
Sure a B2 will do ,leaving cert out yesterday Mayo might have to repeat

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 18/08/2016 08:22:23    1902574

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Sure a B2 will do ,leaving cert out yesterday Mayo might have to repeat"
2 of the highest exam results in the country yesterday were recorded by Mayo students ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 18/08/2016 10:08:09    1902606

Replying To yew_tree:  "2 of the highest exam results in the country yesterday were recorded by Mayo students ;)"
Yep

And they'll soon be up in Dublin urinating on the street away from the twitching net curtains

Easy to do well when you've only 2 other students in your class

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 10:20:33    1902617

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yep

And they'll soon be up in Dublin urinating on the street away from the twitching net curtains

Easy to do well when you've only 2 other students in your class"
no northsiders either jimbo.

maigheoabu2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 17 - 18/08/2016 10:48:54    1902636

Or they will be running the city paying taxes supporting the masses who couldn't bothered to get a job ;) - we can go on all day. By the way Jimbo...I see you were over on the Mayo fans forum...great to see ya.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 18/08/2016 10:58:29    1902640

Replying To yew_tree:  "Or they will be running the city paying taxes supporting the masses who couldn't bothered to get a job ;) - we can go on all day. By the way Jimbo...I see you were over on the Mayo fans forum...great to see ya."
No I wasn't

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 11:19:03    1902656

Replying To yew_tree:  "Or they will be running the city paying taxes supporting the masses who couldn't bothered to get a job ;) - we can go on all day. By the way Jimbo...I see you were over on the Mayo fans forum...great to see ya."
Think you'd want to revise you're silly notions

Mayo people have left this island en masse for generations bringing their tax generating with them to other counties

You have little industrial sway whatsoever as county

Where is this tax money you think you've greatly contributed?

Yes people are sadly unemployed - see mass exodus from rural Ireland because of that factor

Dublin is leading this economic recovery and there are a lot more Dublin people over the generations responsible for getting us to where we are now

We've not left en masse whenever the going got tough

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 11:33:00    1902664

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think you'd want to revise you're silly notions

Mayo people have left this island en masse for generations bringing their tax generating with them to other counties

Yes people are sadly unemployed - see mass exodus from rural Ireland because of that factor

Dublin is leading this economic recovery and there are a lot more Dublin people over the generations responsible for getting us to where we are now

We've not left en masse whenever the going got tough"
Eh, yeah Dublin people have! I meet Dublin people of all ages involved in GAA abroad, and in fact they make up the largest county cohort in my club. Many, many Dubs do leave the country for greener pastures.

And let me remind you that Taoisigh from Dublin have presided over the two most recent economically-disastrous periods in the history of our State, while the present recovery (such as it is) has taken place under a Mayo Taoiseach ;) Seems like you have a few silly notions yourself Jimbo.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2016 12:12:01    1902695

There are over 400 students in the closest secondary school to me. At three students per class that would call for around 130 teachers. I bet the teachers are all down from feckin Dublin, taking advantage of the lovely scenery and low rents. Our lads in the meantime are going up to Dublin, living five to a room and working in MacDonalds. There's no justice. Just wait till we get a Mayo Taoiseach!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 18/08/2016 12:18:56    1902701

Would yiz stop

Of course Dubs go abroad but nothing compared to the mass migrations from rural Ireland over the generations

Stop talking nonsense

So all this mega tax money you bring in... give me a break!!

The West is a drain on our economy not an addition. It needs outrageous amounts of investment just to bring it up to standard

Plus Enda saving our country... HAHAHAHA

Did such a bad job that FF won the last election.... FF !!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 12:28:31    1902711

ohhh I have hot a nerve there....Jimbo you can give but can't take it. As for Mayo people generating Tax it's true generations have left the county. There are an estimated 8.5 million Americans alone with Mayo blood in them. I think we do quiet well for a county of 130,000 people. Your petty remark "there are a lot more Dublin people over the generations responsible for getting us to where we are now" is down to population but you funnily don't think it is a factor in GAA...nope?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 18/08/2016 12:35:49    1902715

Dublin should declare independence to free itself from the burden of supporting the rest of us. Seriously how mean spirited can this poster be?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 18/08/2016 12:45:37    1902719

Replying To jimbodub:  "Would yiz stop

Of course Dubs go abroad but nothing compared to the mass migrations from rural Ireland over the generations

Stop talking nonsense

So all this mega tax money you bring in... give me a break!!

The West is a drain on our economy not an addition. It needs outrageous amounts of investment just to bring it up to standard

Plus Enda saving our country... HAHAHAHA

Did such a bad job that FF won the last election.... FF !!"
Facts are facts, Jimbo. I'm not the biggest Kenny fan in the world actually, but contrast where the country was before his premiership and is now in terms of employment, growth etc. : there's no comparison. Dublin Taoisigh have run this country aground on several occasions since the foundation of the State.

FF (narrowly) won less seats than FG at the last election, so I don't really see how you claim that they won the election, but then you make all sorts of claims that don't really correspond to reality.

Dublin people emigrate in large numbers and have done for decades. Even if I was to accept your premise that they don't generally emigrate, it's hardly a mark of virtue: it's much more likely to be explained by the greater employment options in the capital of a country than in a provincial town or county.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2016 12:45:54    1902720

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "There are over 400 students in the closest secondary school to me. At three students per class that would call for around 130 teachers. I bet the teachers are all down from feckin Dublin, taking advantage of the lovely scenery and low rents. Our lads in the meantime are going up to Dublin, living five to a room and working in MacDonalds. There's no justice. Just wait till we get a Mayo Taoiseach!!!"
hilarious...what about Supermacs?

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1674 - 18/08/2016 12:47:42    1902722

OK YT

If it makes you feel better...

You mentioned this tax nonsense thing a few times but lets put that to bed now

Its as if you believe it or something?!?!

Mass migration is engrained in Mayo's history and that's not overly constructive on the aul tax generating mechanisms seen in Ireland.

Maybe in America/Canada./Australia or where those 4th class tickets took yiz... but not here!

So lets burst that bubble...

You're generally a very nice bunch but don't be overselling your limited hand there fella.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 12:58:32    1902730

Replying To Gleebo:  "Facts are facts, Jimbo. I'm not the biggest Kenny fan in the world actually, but contrast where the country was before his premiership and is now in terms of employment, growth etc. : there's no comparison. Dublin Taoisigh have run this country aground on several occasions since the foundation of the State.

FF (narrowly) won less seats than FG at the last election, so I don't really see how you claim that they won the election, but then you make all sorts of claims that don't really correspond to reality.

Dublin people emigrate in large numbers and have done for decades. Even if I was to accept your premise that they don't generally emigrate, it's hardly a mark of virtue: it's much more likely to be explained by the greater employment options in the capital of a country than in a provincial town or county."
He's done nothing but what he was told to do by Europe.

They were checking our books FFS...

That Dublin Taoiseach was the leader of a political party, with a long list of various leaders from different parts of Ireland and a very long list of corruption on many levels.

The same Taoiseach was voted in by a huge margin during his last general election campaign despite all of that party's history, and evidence linking various former leaders to corruption

Remember the slogan "Lots done, more to do"

Yep.. it was eaten up.

I have never in my life voted for FF, but they have always enjoyed a huge rural Ireland vote, as could be seen once again during the last GE. Despite everything that happened!

So if you're looking to blame one man for what happened to this country, you really have no idea what you are talking about.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 13:11:26    1902740

Replying To Gleebo:  "Eh, yeah Dublin people have! I meet Dublin people of all ages involved in GAA abroad, and in fact they make up the largest county cohort in my club. Many, many Dubs do leave the country for greener pastures.

And let me remind you that Taoisigh from Dublin have presided over the two most recent economically-disastrous periods in the history of our State, while the present recovery (such as it is) has taken place under a Mayo Taoiseach ;) Seems like you have a few silly notions yourself Jimbo."
Wasn't Charlie from Castlebar?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 18/08/2016 13:47:54    1902762

Yes, 'Dublin is leading this economic revival' and as we all know (or at least anyone devoid of common sense / the most basic knowledge of economics ), all Dublin-based corporations are staffed solely by employees born in Dublin. Sure, haven't Google, Facebook, JP Morgan, Fidelity, BlackRock & Deutsche all cited 'the superior intellectual capital of the clever Dubs' as the pre-eminent reason for locating here, a far bigger factor than preferential corporation rates. If only us country folk could figure out a way of tapping into the bountiful jobs market over there in the East. Instead, we have to flee 'out foreign' in search of greener pastures.

JayReale (Mayo) - Posts: 25 - 18/08/2016 14:08:40    1902770

Replying To jimbodub:  "OK YT

If it makes you feel better...

You mentioned this tax nonsense thing a few times but lets put that to bed now

Its as if you believe it or something?!?!

Mass migration is engrained in Mayo's history and that's not overly constructive on the aul tax generating mechanisms seen in Ireland.

Maybe in America/Canada./Australia or where those 4th class tickets took yiz... but not here!

So lets burst that bubble...

You're generally a very nice bunch but don't be overselling your limited hand there fella."
Of course Mass immigration is ingrained in Mayo like most west of Ireland counties. Mayo lost more people in the famine than any other county.
It's not our fault the poor land, resources and population is not here today to sustain people.
The biggest city in many countries is the driving force of the economy...see London. It is true more taxes is collected in Dublin than anywhere else but Dublin is fed from the country, we supply our youth, take your garbage and soon to be supplying the city with water. I fail to see your point though...a strain on the economy. Yu want the rest of the country to be cut off or declared a city state?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 18/08/2016 14:20:52    1902773