This Mayo team will never have a better chance!

Replying To yew_tree:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "Get out of that

Keep your soccer comparisons for the soccer forum please...

This is GAA and if you aren't champions of your own province how on earth can you be All Ireland Champions

I understand your issue being a Tyrone man

You've benefited greatly from the back door yourselves - having one two of you 3 titles as 3/4 AI Champions

But it's not rocket science here.. you cant be All Ireland Champions if you're not champions of your own province

Simple stuff."
Yeah it's a bit like claiming to be "All Ireland" champion's when you play all your game's at home....All Dublin more like."
Where did you play most of your games this year Yew Tree?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 14:36:24    1901838

Replying To jimbodub:  "Why would you reference Dublin at length in a post about mayo having Kerry's number though?

I explained that but sure if you need the sock puppet approach then I'll humour you

I was giving examples of how and why I think Mayo have a great chance by giving examples of the weaknesses of the current Tipp / Kerry and Dublin panels.

I stated an opinion

"This Mayo team will never have a better chance"

Then I gave the examples why and in order to do so, you have to give examples of each team they may have to face

Tipp / Kerry / Dublin

I cant dumb it down anymore than that

It's a huge opportunity for Mayo with so much falling in place for them....

The on paper handiest semi-final they've had in many a year, followed by a match up against a weaker Dublin / Kerry outfit that they've ever faced in an All Ireland final!

I don't understand the outrage of such an idea. It's just stating facts...

This Mayo team will never have a better chance"
The same point could be made about Dublin winning two in a row though. Kerry aging, mayo not even able to win Connacht and losing the best full back in the country to injury etc etc. Surely Dublin cant throw it away at this stage?

But then it wouldn't be a real two in a row, or even a real all Ireland, as you have already clarified. Hopefully they get there one day.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 14:42:47    1901842

Replying To oletothegaa:  "Interesting to hear that unless you win your province you are not entitled to win an All-Ireland
mmmmm! So im assuming this poster wants to scrap the qualifers."
They've completely devalued the Provincial championships

And really only benefited the stronger teams - helping them win championships

I mean for heaven sake

How can you be Champions of all when you're not even champions of your own patch

Sure - it's an "All Ireland" whatever you say...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 14:42:47    1901843

Replying To TheMaster:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "Why would you reference Dublin at length in a post about mayo having Kerry's number though?

I explained that but sure if you need the sock puppet approach then I'll humour you

I was giving examples of how and why I think Mayo have a great chance by giving examples of the weaknesses of the current Tipp / Kerry and Dublin panels.

I stated an opinion

"This Mayo team will never have a better chance"

Then I gave the examples why and in order to do so, you have to give examples of each team they may have to face

Tipp / Kerry / Dublin

I cant dumb it down anymore than that

It's a huge opportunity for Mayo with so much falling in place for them....

The on paper handiest semi-final they've had in many a year, followed by a match up against a weaker Dublin / Kerry outfit that they've ever faced in an All Ireland final!

I don't understand the outrage of such an idea. It's just stating facts...

This Mayo team will never have a better chance"
The same point could be made about Dublin winning two in a row though. Kerry aging, mayo not even able to win Connacht and losing the best full back in the country to injury etc etc. Surely Dublin cant throw it away at this stage?

But then it wouldn't be a real two in a row, or even a real all Ireland, as you have already clarified. Hopefully they get there one day."
themater

Who's the best FB in the country again?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 14:54:11    1901855

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To yew_tree:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Get out of that

This is GAA and if you aren't champions of your own province how on earth can you be All Ireland Champions

You've benefited greatly from the back door yourselves - having one two of you 3 titles as 3/4 AI Champions

But it's not rocket science here.. you cant be All Ireland Champions if you're not champions of your own province

Simple stuff."
Yeah it's a bit like claiming to be "All Ireland" champion's when you play all your game's at home....All Dublin more like."
Where did you play most of your games this year Yew Tree?"]4 Home games Jimbo but that's the luck of the draw. Some year's we play zero games at home.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 16/08/2016 14:56:12    1901857

Replying To yew_tree:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=yew_tree:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Get out of that

Simple stuff."
Where did you play most of your games this year Yew Tree?"]4 Home games Jimbo but that's the luck of the draw. Some year's we play zero games at home."]Oh right

And we decide where we play is it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 15:00:38    1901865

Jimbo - Who's the best FB in the country again?
Well obviously Ger Cafferkey. Donaghy is terrified of him

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 16/08/2016 15:05:42    1901869

Replying To yew_tree:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=yew_tree:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Get out of that

Simple stuff."
Where did you play most of your games this year Yew Tree?"]4 Home games Jimbo but that's the luck of the draw. Some year's we play zero games at home."]Oh right

And we decide where we play is it?"]Jimbo come on man we all know Croke Parlk is home. If Croke Park was in Castlebar or Killarney it would be home for that county. Even the seats in Croke Park are in the Dublin county colors.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 16/08/2016 15:10:29    1901878

This Dublin team have won the last 4 NFL Div 1 titles

Playing games home and away.. 4 in a row folks.. going unbeaten in 2016

Last time I looked Dublin hammered Mayo away from home in 2015, and despite Mayo playing 14 behind the ball and yiz didn't even bother to cut the grass in order to try and slow us down we beat you again in 2016 inside your grand white elephant! Two on the trot... away from home.

Ye played better in CP against us for heaven sake!

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 15:12:54    1901880

Replying To jimbodub:  "No disrespect to Tipp

They are 100% there on merit but lets not forget just how handy Kerry won Munster this year!

It would be a massive shock if Mayo lost - this is as handy a route to a final that they've had in a long time

Mayo have all the necessary experience and we've seen the lengths they are willing to go to win this year

Then just add it all up here

Dublin are missing 3 of their best players and are trying to do a back to back All Ireland titles - in fact back to back Trebles

Straight away trying to do a back to back is a massive disadvantage to any defending champion and this has long since been proven

Many of Mayo's big wins over the last 5 years have come against defending/deflated AI Champions not being the team they were...

Kerry although still capable of great things are not the truly great side they once were

Mayo have proven they are their equal in recent games against them and in fact should have beaten Kerry in 2014 when Kerry went onto win the All Ireland.

Its all there for Mayo in 2016 - the luck is also with them, all those home draws in the qualifiers, we know what AOS got up to and got away with, and then Tyrone missing several sitters, Mayo once again targeting players and getting them sent off with no retribution...

No it's going to happen at long last for Mayo - Mayo for Sam 2016

It's all adding up!"
I do get where youre coming from and 100% playing ourselves in a semi is a hell of alot better than playing kerry/dublin. I dont buy the whole how easy kerry won munster thing though....if you go down that road can talk of mayo losing to galway and us hammering them. Non of that matters, can only take each match on its own.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 16/08/2016 15:17:44    1901884

Oh right
And we decide where we play is it?

Yes. You voted to keep Dublin in croke park, the same as the other leinster counties. You also took the government money a few years back where they got the country folk to teach the dubs how to play football, and over 50% of the gaa money every year - 75% of which comes from counties outside Dublin.
Jesus, in fairness, how much more can we do to get ye to win something? I heard the Kerry lads are knocking lumps out of JOD's shoulder all week. At the end of the day, we have vanity projects to build and we are getting ye to fund them, so hurry up and buy your ticket now theres a good lad, maybe we can get another replay out of ye. $$$

Shame it isn't a real all Ireland though. But, hopefully, some day.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 15:27:05    1901894

Replying To keithlemon:  "Jimbo - Who's the best FB in the country again?
Well obviously Ger Cafferkey. Donaghy is terrified of him"
Hahaha...

Dear oh dear

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 15:27:09    1901895

Replying To yew_tree:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=yew_tree:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Get out of that

Simple stuff."

And we decide where we play is it?"]Of course not.

It's just that any all ireland that dublin win is tainted since they play the quarter, semi and final in Dublin. They've an unfair advantage.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 16/08/2016 15:27:47    1901896

Replying To jimbodub:  "This Dublin team have won the last 4 NFL Div 1 titles

Playing games home and away.. 4 in a row folks.. going unbeaten in 2016

Last time I looked Dublin hammered Mayo away from home in 2015, and despite Mayo playing 14 behind the ball and yiz didn't even bother to cut the grass in order to try and slow us down we beat you again in 2016 inside your grand white elephant! Two on the trot... away from home.

Ye played better in CP against us for heaven sake!

;)"
Sure we can't afford to cut the grass with our "White Elephant"....no wonder we prefer playing in Croke Park. And all that money Mayo fans spend on our numerous trips to Croke Park every year. As Dublin bar man said, he loves to see us coming as Mayo people spend big in Dublin :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 16/08/2016 15:29:56    1901900

Replying To tipp11:  "I do get where youre coming from and 100% playing ourselves in a semi is a hell of alot better than playing kerry/dublin. I dont buy the whole how easy kerry won munster thing though....if you go down that road can talk of mayo losing to galway and us hammering them. Non of that matters, can only take each match on its own."
Do you know what

That's 100% fair enough and well said

I shouldn't have been as dismissive and it came across in a way that was unattended

Trust me.. the whole country will be shouting for you against that shower of divers!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 15:32:40    1901902

So hypothetically, if Waterford had beaten the Cats and Galway had come out the right side against Tipp what would have taken place on the first Sunday of September Jimbo? What would the winner be in your version of reality?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/08/2016 15:37:58    1901904

Replying To Pericles:  "So hypothetically, if Waterford had beaten the Cats and Galway had come out the right side against Tipp what would have taken place on the first Sunday of September Jimbo? What would the winner be in your version of reality?"
Blah Blah Blah

You cant be All Ireland champions if you're not even champions of your province

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 15:55:52    1901917

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure we can't afford to cut the grass with our "White Elephant"....no wonder we prefer playing in Croke Park. And all that money Mayo fans spend on our numerous trips to Croke Park every year. As Dublin bar man said, he loves to see us coming as Mayo people spend big in Dublin :)"
Dublin bar men own those pubs do they?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 15:57:12    1901920

Replying To jimbodub:  "They've completely devalued the Provincial championships

And really only benefited the stronger teams - helping them win championships

I mean for heaven sake

How can you be Champions of all when you're not even champions of your own patch

Sure - it's an "All Ireland" whatever you say..."
Can someone let Real Madrid know they didn't really win their last 2 champions leagues. They didn't win Spain ffs!

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 16/08/2016 16:12:49    1901930

Replying To jimbodub:  "Blah Blah Blah

You cant be All Ireland champions if you're not even champions of your province"
Now now, no need to be knocking kerrys 2009 all Ireland winning team. You are really sticking the boot into them today. You should really show them a bit more respect, like we are with Tipperary.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 16:14:31    1901931