This Mayo team will never have a better chance!

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Wasn't Charlie from Castlebar?"
He was born there, but had no connections to the place and spent his entire life in Dublin. He also always stated that he was from Dublin (via Derry).

To my knowledge, Bartholomew Ahern has no Mayo connections either ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2016 14:23:42    1902777

Without getting drawn into a political mess of an argument, I will just say one thing. . .

Trying to say that Enda Kenny is in any way a good Taoiseach is not going to adhere yourself or anyone from Mayo to the rest of the country Gleebo.

If you want to move over to the non-sport forum to discuss further just let me know.

First, I need to renew my car insurance. . .i'm sure its gone down since last year seeing as I have no penalty points and have another year no claims. Happy days indeed!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 18/08/2016 14:30:33    1902784

Replying To jimbodub:  "He's done nothing but what he was told to do by Europe.

They were checking our books FFS...

That Dublin Taoiseach was the leader of a political party, with a long list of various leaders from different parts of Ireland and a very long list of corruption on many levels.

The same Taoiseach was voted in by a huge margin during his last general election campaign despite all of that party's history, and evidence linking various former leaders to corruption

Remember the slogan "Lots done, more to do"

Yep.. it was eaten up.

I have never in my life voted for FF, but they have always enjoyed a huge rural Ireland vote, as could be seen once again during the last GE. Despite everything that happened!

So if you're looking to blame one man for what happened to this country, you really have no idea what you are talking about."
I actually work in this field, so I dare say I have some insider knowledge that you're not privy to. I didn't claim that one man was solely responsible for the crash of the Celtic Tiger, that would be preposterous. However, as Taoiseach you carry overall responsibility for steering the ship of state, and as such, he must take the biggest share of blame for what happened to our country post-2007. No amount of excuses such as "no one told me what was going on in the banks" or "I couldn't predict Bear Sterns crashing" will wash (especially as two separate enquiries have stated that Ireland was headed for a banking crisis irrespective of global economic conditions).

It's fashionable to knock Enda and the man has his faults (I have severe objections to the likes of Job Bridge, for example), but his government have managed to restore economic growth and right the public finances somewhat since the dark days of 2011. I haven't yet heard of an example of an indebted country managing to avoid any supervision from creditors/ international monetary institutions post-bailout without burning bondholders á la Argentina, and that approach is fraught with serious risk, as that country has found to its cost over the past several years.

While I have my issues with Irish voting behaviour and political culture generally, it is nonsense to think Dublin is much better when it comes to the calibre of their political representation- Liam Lawlor, Ivor Callely, Bertie, Rafael Burke, CJH- need I go on?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2016 14:42:30    1902793

Admin... get your act together, this is a gaa site!!!

daftdave (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 18/08/2016 14:45:38    1902794

Sure we had a Mayo man calling Dublin people Nazi's on the Dubs forum the other day!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/08/2016 15:05:36    1902816

i was avoiding this thread
came in for a look
Jaysus lads!!! Take it aisy will ye
AISY!

This is mayos best chance alright
since 2015
which was their best chance since 2014
which was their best chance since 2013
which was their best chance since 2012, which was their really big chance.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 17:11:38    1902896

Mayo and the Dub lads having it out on here I see, getting the early punches in.....
I wonder if thats a signal that both sets of supporters already thinking that both are already in the final..?
Bet the Tipp lads and the cute hoors down in Kerry are rubbing their hands in glee...

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 18/08/2016 22:13:00    1903020

Replying To Vishred:  "Mayo and the Dub lads having it out on here I see, getting the early punches in.....
I wonder if thats a signal that both sets of supporters already thinking that both are already in the final..?
Bet the Tipp lads and the cute hoors down in Kerry are rubbing their hands in glee..."
Check out who started the thread and who's been slabbering away for most of it, Mayo posters have just been returning fire. I think that Tipp will put it up to Mayo and that we're in trouble if we show any of the signs of complacency evident in the early rounds of the championship.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2016 08:54:15    1903077

We've not left en masse whenever the going got tough
jimbodub (Dublin)

Are you expanding this one out from a Dubs v Mayo WWE style slugfest to have a pop at all the exiles and, by extension, the diaspora now then Jimbo?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/08/2016 09:48:54    1903098

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Wasn't Charlie from Castlebar?"
Speaking of Charlie, it's a shame he wasn't about when them banker type lads were telling us we had plenty of money when we were basically broke. Charlie would be telling us we hadn't a penny even if we were well off. Mind you he might have bought an island or two in the meantime, one of them probably being Ireland. Still it would be better one of our own telling us what to do rather than them German lads. He wouldn't be kissing Angie's feet either, like some of them other bucks. He'd have invited her out on his boat, fed her medium rare bacon and cabbage, told her she was some woman for one woman and she'd have all those junior bondholders burned before you could say Daithi O Shea. Ah Charlie was part of the good old days when men were men and the Dubs weren't winning All Irelands.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/08/2016 16:08:28    1903267

Jes had to check there if this thread was started back in 2012!! LOL yeah Mayo had a great chance in 2012, lasted about 15 mins though,
what's all the political talk about? sure we all know Enda is a great Mayo man.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/08/2016 21:09:25    1903371

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not a valid comparison

I'm not saying they cant win the Championship

But here in Ireland. In our sport..

We have a term called All Ireland Champions

It still applied to our club championships, the U-21 and minor championships

But sadly since the introduction of the back door on certain years that once great accolade can be tarnished in our senior setups!

How can you be champion of ALL when you're not even champion of your own province?

Only two teams remain that can truly claim that title without the gnawing truth that your nearest and dearest rivals have a victory over you in their back pocket and claim the bragging rights on your own door step!!

That's not a true All Ireland victory

Listen I wouldn't expect Antrim / Mayo men to understand so yiz are grand... ye would take anything at this stage!"
That's just how the structure of the championship. Deal with it. The same can be said for any other team like dublin or kerry. They cant be true champions of all even though they havn't played every other team in the country

MayoMonkey (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 19/08/2016 23:42:06    1903414

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sure we had a Mayo man calling Dublin people Nazi's on the Dubs forum the other day!"
and it was reciprocated on national forum

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 20/08/2016 11:39:36    1903473

Replying To liner:  "and it was reciprocated on national forum"
..........by your good self. Glad to see your comment got a high number of thumbs-down

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 20/08/2016 11:56:19    1903479

This is said eveything year. Sooner or later it's bound to happen.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 20/08/2016 16:31:54    1903590

Love to see mayo win it (sacrilege from a Galway man I know) but tbh im not sure theyll make the final, and even if they do, the way the defence performed against Tyrone, they'll do well not to concede 5 goals against the dubs in the final.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/08/2016 17:14:13    1903602

I'll say what was said to the Dubs pre 2011.....every dog has its day!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2016 18:17:21    1903619

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Jes had to check there if this thread was started back in 2012!! LOL yeah Mayo had a great chance in 2012, lasted about 15 mins though,
what's all the political talk about? sure we all know Enda is a great Mayo man."
Donegal gone away for another twenty years

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 20/08/2016 21:46:53    1903679

May I say it again, the GAA side of HS is absolute rubbish due to threads like this. Honestly pathetic stuff all round.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/08/2016 22:20:38    1903688

Replying To liner:  "Donegal gone away for another twenty years"
I've been there to see Donegal win the All Ireland twice, and we'll still be challenging again when our current crop of young players get their chance, hopefully under new management,
I've seen Mayo flop year in year out when it counts, must be painful to watch for you. Hope Tipp win tomorrow, it's the year of the underdog it seems.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 20/08/2016 23:01:35    1903695