This Mayo team will never have a better chance!

Replying To jimbodub:  "Blah Blah Blah

You cant be All Ireland champions if you're not even champions of your province"
Seriously man, are you on the sauce or just an actual troll?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 16/08/2016 16:15:20    1901934

Replying To Whammo86:  "Can someone let Real Madrid know they didn't really win their last 2 champions leagues. They didn't win Spain ffs!"
Not a valid comparison

I'm not saying they cant win the Championship

But here in Ireland. In our sport..

We have a term called All Ireland Champions

It still applied to our club championships, the U-21 and minor championships

But sadly since the introduction of the back door on certain years that once great accolade can be tarnished in our senior setups!

How can you be champion of ALL when you're not even champion of your own province?

Only two teams remain that can truly claim that title without the gnawing truth that your nearest and dearest rivals have a victory over you in their back pocket and claim the bragging rights on your own door step!!

That's not a true All Ireland victory

Listen I wouldn't expect Antrim / Mayo men to understand so yiz are grand... ye would take anything at this stage!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 16:27:50    1901941

Mayo lads

Listen it's always been my view long before Mayo had a chance of winning an AI through the back door!

You simply cant be champions of all if you aren't champions of your province... it's a devalued achievement!

I mean we're talking about victory here.. you know yourselves what that means.. how specc.. or well.. no, sorry, ehhm this is awkward.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 16:41:11    1901948

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not a valid comparison

But sadly since the introduction of the back door on certain years that once great accolade can be tarnished in our senior setups!

How can you be champion of ALL when you're not even champion of your own province?

Only two teams remain that can truly claim that title without the gnawing truth that your nearest and dearest rivals have a victory over you in their back pocket and claim the bragging rights on your own door step!!

Listen I wouldn't expect Antrim / Mayo men to understand so yiz are grand... ye would take anything at this stage!"
jimbodub - The "All" in the All Ireland Championships refers to every county in Ireland not not if you win or loose a game. I wouldn't have excepted you to understand that. No doubt IF Mayo win Sam you will be on here with your nonsense thread's taking it down.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 16/08/2016 16:41:31    1901949

Listen I wouldn't expect Antrim / Mayo men to understand so yiz are grand... ye would take anything at this stage!"
What you mean Antrim men wouldn't know.

We won the 2008 Tommy Murphy cup sure. Beat Wicklow in the final and everything avenging the heart breaking final loss in 07!

Agree with you about those Mayo chokers though.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 16/08/2016 16:51:24    1901954

Replying To yew_tree:  "jimbodub - The "All" in the All Ireland Championships refers to every county in Ireland not not if you win or loose a game. I wouldn't have excepted you to understand that. No doubt IF Mayo win Sam you will be on here with your nonsense thread's taking it down."
I wont say a thing you have my word.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 17:04:37    1901966

Replying To Whammo86:  "What you mean Antrim men wouldn't know.

We won the 2008 Tommy Murphy cup sure. Beat Wicklow in the final and everything avenging the heart breaking final loss in 07!

Agree with you about those Mayo chokers though."
Very true.

I retract it.

Some of the finest fans I've even come across have been from your county

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 17:06:26    1901968

Replying To jimbodub:  "Get out of that

Keep your soccer comparisons for the soccer forum please...

This is GAA and if you aren't champions of your own province how on earth can you be All Ireland Champions

I understand your issue being a Tyrone man

You've benefited greatly from the back door yourselves - having one two of you 3 titles as 3/4 AI Champions

But it's not rocket science here.. you cant be All Ireland Champions if you're not champions of your own province

Simple stuff."
It is just a comparison, no more .I could ask you to keep your trolling to your youtube account but that would be pointless.

Yes you keep saying that .I get your point Dublin have a 100% record winning their championships but until the rules change, both ways, either by back door or by front are equal in their validity . It might not be true in your eyes but a subject truth is not an objective fact.It doesn't matter how many times you repeat your dribble ,if myself or others believe don't believe it to be true , to us it is not and it's a waste of time trying to convince anyone otherwise.

Mock Tyrone all you like.I know we have a few '3/4 championships' under our belts and I didn't celebrate anyone of the three any more than the other because it didn't matter to me or anyone else I knew.

If your view is that we have won 3/4 championships fair enough just as long as you understand If Mayo( or really against the odds Tipperary) do it this year by the backdoor route they won't give a F what an arrogant Dub has to say on the issue.You'll be still here trolling the 3/4 crap no doubt looking for a reaction but it will only mean something to yourself not to the Mayo fans.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/08/2016 17:28:28    1901980

They obviously do!!

They seem very worried of me bringing it up again!

But I wont...

But again chief.. it's only my honest opinion

You have benefited greatly from the back door, as you saw yourself the advantage Mayo had over you the other day with all that game time in their legs from playing competitive football

You boys looked flat to me after not kicking a ball for what was it 3-4 weeks

There are big advantages to going through the back door for the better teams and Tyrone are a case in point on that front!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 17:38:40    1901983

I'll congratulate Mayo winning the Championship

But they wont be All Ireland champs in my book

And well they'll just have to get over that wont they!

I mean if its so unimportant... what's the issue

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 17:43:04    1901986

Replying To jimbodub:  "Blah Blah Blah

You cant be All Ireland champions if you're not even champions of your province"
You're losing it Jim... a simpler question, would a Galway/Waterford final have been an All Ireland one or would the Liam McCarthy not have been presented? And if a qualifier team winning is a devaluation, then surely beating a qualifier in a final is also a devalued victory. So whoever wins the football this year is only wasting their time, because they'll only be achieving less than the full Jimbo.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/08/2016 18:50:40    1902002

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'll congratulate Mayo winning the Championship

But they wont be All Ireland champs in my book

And well they'll just have to get over that wont they!

I mean if its so unimportant... what's the issue"
They won't careless .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/08/2016 19:41:07    1902012

Indeed, the second biggest city on this island, Belfast and it's county Antrim, would certainly have TAKEN a fraction of the 16 million your lot got from Croke Park over the past decade; who knows, it may even have halted the terminal decline of Gaelic Games in the county?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 16/08/2016 22:22:58    1902058

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meh

Galway will still have beaten you (your arch rivals) and gone onto win the Connacht Championship while taking it from you

Jaysus it would be like Meath beating Dublin in CP.. couldn't properly enjoy a Sam knowing they had one over us in Leinster!

It just wouldn't be pure...

3/4 AI Champs is best you can hope for in 2016

Take what Dublin did in 2015 - Won all 4 competitions they had to win... winning a Treble

There are degrees of champion - We'd be going for an A1 win this year... yourselves will be a B2 at best"
Jimbo I'm agreeing with you 100%. The good is gone out of it now. Losing to Galway ffs. No matter who gets to the final it's devalued so I can't see either ourselves or Tipp putting in much of an effort. And thanks for the B2. I was expecting something around the D mark, so it just shows you're only 3/4 bad. Oh and congratulations again on your fine achievements last year and so far this year. You really are an example to the rest of us on how to rise above adversity and defy the odds.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 16/08/2016 22:38:53    1902068

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Jimbo I'm agreeing with you 100%. The good is gone out of it now. Losing to Galway ffs. No matter who gets to the final it's devalued so I can't see either ourselves or Tipp putting in much of an effort. And thanks for the B2. I was expecting something around the D mark, so it just shows you're only 3/4 bad. Oh and congratulations again on your fine achievements last year and so far this year. You really are an example to the rest of us on how to rise above adversity and defy the odds."
No curse, easy semi final, Mayo are a shoe in this year. Its Mayos to lose.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/08/2016 11:51:18    1902213

Replying To JayP:  "No curse, easy semi final, Mayo are a shoe in this year. Its Mayos to lose."
Down to the bookies with you lad if you're that confident. A handy few bob to be made.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/08/2016 15:06:25    1902321

It could be mayo year.they will sunday by at least 20 points. Would be great to play them in final as we would be going in as underdogs?

kerryforsam2016 (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 17/08/2016 17:23:42    1902387

Replying To kerryforsam2016:  "It could be mayo year.they will sunday by at least 20 points. Would be great to play them in final as we would be going in as underdogs?"
Thanks my friend. That's the best laugh I had all week.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/08/2016 20:28:24    1902464

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Jimbo I'm agreeing with you 100%. The good is gone out of it now. Losing to Galway ffs. No matter who gets to the final it's devalued so I can't see either ourselves or Tipp putting in much of an effort. And thanks for the B2. I was expecting something around the D mark, so it just shows you're only 3/4 bad. Oh and congratulations again on your fine achievements last year and so far this year. You really are an example to the rest of us on how to rise above adversity and defy the odds."
You really are an example to the rest of us on how to rise above adversity and defy the odds.

https://youtu.be/bWcASV2sey0

It's probably just me but I pictured Bonnie Tyler on the radio singing Holding out for a Hero when you were typing that awesome tribute. Truly inspirational stuff, etc

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 17/08/2016 20:34:50    1902467

Ha ha ha ha, had to check to see if today is April 1st, funny to read Kerry and Dublin supporters claiming they will be underdogs in the final if Mayo win on Sunday but ye forget to see if Tipp win then they will have beaten a team that ye are claiming is better than both Kerry and Dublin. Mayo to win on Sunday but would love to see a Tipperary hurling and football All Ireland title double, it's 96 years since Tipp last appeared and won an All Ireland football title

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 17/08/2016 21:49:17    1902503