Wexford 17-20 Kilkenny 0-0

Name and shame Poolsturgeon.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 17/04/2016 19:02:40    1846488

Disgraceful comments from Nicky Brennan as an ex president to be coming out with.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/04/2016 19:28:55    1846501

Keeper

The Minor C isnt or wasn't scrapped
Tyrone won it in 2015 defeating Mayo in a replay...
Armagh play in Minor B scheduled for August wealso play in the U-21 b

Yes Wiklow werehammered last week - but they are competitive at their level, defeated Armagh in the Minor B last yr and did they not reach the U-21 B final last yr....
Every county at least puts some effort into hurling.... yes Fermanagh aren't going to win LIam, put they have a tiny population, Kilkenny is a big county, a GAA county, Clare has and is having football sucess, Waterford won an JFC all-ireland recently, Limerick reached an U-21 All-Ireland, Tipp have made enormous strides...... but Kilkenny use in as a badge of honour their distaste of football..... as a previous poster noted... bringing the game into disrupute
As Atha Cliath notes why should the Kilkenny GAA benefit to the tune of 20,000Euro for staging the LSFC quarter final.....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 17/04/2016 19:59:26    1846509

I think the county board are going to have to start withholding funding for clubs who don't put forward their best footballers for selection to the county football teams, then people might start taking it seriously.

Most half decent hurlers in kilkenny think they're too good for football and that it's beneath them, so the county team has to be made up of poor saps who aren't near good enough but who make up the numbers. That's why the county board need to get tough on clubs who don't put their best players forward. Twenty years ago, henry shefflin played for the kilkenny minor football team against laois, who were then all ireland champions, and we nearly knocked them out. laois went on to win the all ireland again that year. Shefflin went on to be one of the greatest hurlers of all time. The county football team wasn't beneath him so why do the current bunch of superstars think they're too good to play football for the county?

Anyone who calls himself a gaa man in kilkenny should be embarrassed but unfortunately there will be a fair proportion who won't give a monkeys (and indeed a fair proportion for whom the kilkenny football team couldn't get beaten by enough). Our club's county board delegate was telling us of a meeting where the board were giving every club in the county footballs to promote the game at juvenile level. One of the guys there wasn't too happy and asked "ok, we'll take the footballs, but do we have to inflate them?"

Like others have said, if we're going to field a team in football competitions, it behoves us to give the team the best possible chance of being at least competitive. If we can't do that we should do the honourable thing and withdraw, or enter the team in the UK championship (if there is one at minor). I'm not a football man but it kills me to see my county ritually embarrassed like this.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 17/04/2016 20:13:00    1846517

My son sent me a text message with the score yesterday. At first I thought it was a wind-up too? Unfortunately, it wasn't.

I have to say that I'm baffled. How could you not even register a score. Obviously, Wexford dominated at midfield, and perhaps Kilkenny tried to play it short, so the ball musn't have got past their half-back line. I really feel for those young lads. It is totally unfair on them. How can you ever promote the game when drubbings like that are handed out. I agree with earlier posters, Kilkenny should not take part until Gaelic Football is treated seriously there.
I know, I know....as Kilkenny people will often tell you 'the only reason a young plays Gaelic football is if he's too awkward or clumsy to play hurling! It's a change of attitude that's needed, and I can't see that coming any time soon.

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 17/04/2016 20:18:33    1846520

Maybe Kilkenny football is just as good as anyone else and that Wexford are just that sensesionally good this year- did anyone ever think of that!!

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 17/04/2016 20:25:10    1846525

Well said Ballydane

I remember my grandfather telling a story of an O'Byrne Cup ( or equivalent ) in 1940 Kilkenny drew with Laois, for the replay a different 15 were put out and hammered....he was there the first day.... time and stories probably added but he always said if there was a football in the house it should be burst..... that 70-80 yrs ago...... Kilkenny attitude to football has been there for 3 generations.....

Over the yrs there has been some very good footballers from the marble county representing St. Peter's Wexford, Leinster Colleges winners from Carlow, UCD, UCG etc

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 17/04/2016 20:32:05    1846526

Cuchulainn,

Not sure what you don't understand so I'll say it again. The Minor 'C' has now been scrapped so it doesn't matter who won it last year.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 17/04/2016 21:13:45    1846549

Ollie I been in semple plenty times.
it currently holds 45thousand for health and safety it appears. With 23thousand of that terrace and 22thousand seated.
nowlan park currently holds 24thousand with 18thousand seats and 6thousand terrace but with work set to be done to increase capacity to 30thousand and no work set to be done in thurles by championship time it may well have an extra thousand seats than semple.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/04/2016 21:16:39    1846552

Cuderocket is not coming to town who cares as a taxi man I say you be very mean

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 17/04/2016 21:41:48    1846563

cuchulainn35 (Armagh)
Yes Wiklow werehammered last week - but they are competitive at their level, defeated Armagh in the Minor B last yr and did they not reach the U-21 B final last yr....
Every county at least puts some effort into hurling.... yes Fermanagh aren't going to win LIam, put they have a tiny population, Kilkenny is a big county, a GAA county

Yes, they're competitive, at their level. But if they played Wexford in hurling, how would they get on? It would be a similar scoreline I fear. There is no-one else at Kilkenny's level at football, because nearly every other county puts a minimum level of investment in football. In hurling, a large number of counties put less than that minimal effort into hurling, so there are tiers of counties at the same competitive level. We also have B and had C grades in minor hurling. Wicklow got beaten by 45 points by Meath in the B grade last week. They got beaten by 34 points by Westmeath in the B championship last year. If they were to play in the top Minor hurling tier, like Kilkenny footballers essentially did, what do you think would happen? And the thing is, plenty of counties put less effort into hurling than Wicklow do! Why do you think hurling has tiers, and B and C grades, and football doesn't?

That said, 2 wrongs don't make a right, and other counties not putting an effort into hurling doesn't excuse Kilkenny's poor approach to football. And the ex president's comments are very poor indeed. So have a go at Kilkenny if you like, they do deserve it. But the situation is worse in hurling.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 17/04/2016 21:51:38    1846568

Mayo and Sligo have a minor hurling team
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts:1283 - 17/04/2016 10:11:57

Fair play to them!

Are they made to play Galway in the Minor Championship?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 18/04/2016 08:09:00    1846576

Would Kilkenny miss the match that weekend I don't think so because the place is booked out the cat laughs is on that weekend.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 18/04/2016 08:42:24    1846583

As Ros1 calls out, possibly one of the most shameful things is the disgraceful comments of Nicky Brennan an ex president of the GAA but if a former president made similar comments about hurling there would be uproar......

Kilkenny's attitude to football provides a smokescreen up and down the country for hurling to be treated with disdain by 'football' counties.....yes you can criticise the likes of Mayo, Sligo etc but they are all playing in the u17 Celtic challenge, all putting resources and some effort into it......I'm sorry but I fail to believe that any team properly prepared and motivated can take such a beating in football....far easier to keep the score down in football than hurling.

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 18/04/2016 09:29:58    1846601

Kilkenny have to be taking the mick with that performance .Did they put any preparation into the game?They simply cannot be that bad.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 18/04/2016 09:30:07    1846602

Cuderocket is not coming to town who cares as a taxi man I say you be very mean

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts:181 - 17/04/2016 21:41:48 1846563

Cue is being a bit melodramatic with this little boycott he's got going on, maybe he's hoping for a Nobel Peace Prize nomination similar to the Apartheid protestors of the 1980s. I mean, if Kilkenny were somehow drawn to play a championship hurling match in, say, Clones, it wouldn't even dawn on me to boycott the match due to the Monaghan County Board's poor treatment of hurling.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/04/2016 12:05:53    1846722

PaudieSull1 football counties have been treating hurling with distain for decades and there hasn't been an uproar, but one hurling county treats football with 'distain' and all the blabber mouths are on every social media outlet in 'uproar'. wind the neck in and roar your distain that your county has less hurling teams than Kilkenny have football teams. Kilkenny County have 11 Senior football Teams, and 8 Intermediate/Junior football teams that equals 19 Adult Clubs playing football. Give us the breakdown of Hurling teams in Down, Down about 13 adult hurling teams (that includes the six that Antrim County Board accommodate. What about hurling in Fermanagh, Mayo, Longford, Cavan, etc. Why are you not highlighting the lack of effort being put into hurling in most of the 'football' counties in Ireland. I believe Mayo has a population similar to Kilkenny with only four adult hurling teams, Cavan don't even have a fixture list for adult hurling. My distain is with people who can't get their own house in order but love to tell others how to run their house.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 18/04/2016 12:11:40    1846725

Kilkenny chairman apologises to the Kilkenny minors:

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/04/2016 12:28:13    1846737

Has nobody came up with the conclusion yet that maybe Wexford have a very superior Minor team this year?????

lasttoknow (Tyrone) - Posts: 99 - 18/04/2016 12:40:08    1846746

Ballydallane,i never called for any boycott or asked anybody to do so.Don't know where your getting that from.As soon as the fixture was announced,if you care to go back over it,i said i wouldn't go near Kilkenny for the game,and gave my reasons.I posted that almost immediately ; not trying to curry any favour with anybody,not even looking for a mini Nobel Peace Prize.I wouldn't be so pompous or arrogant to call for any boycott.I remain 100% of the same view a few weeks on.The fact that some others agree with my stance just shows i'm not alone on my thoughts on the matter.Can you not accept that it is my genuine belief instead of accusing me of being melodramatic and looking for Nobel prizes?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/04/2016 12:41:24    1846747