AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Great game. Disappointing to see some citing ref decisions as turning point. dubs upped the tempo. Great subs and mayo were dead on their feet .

Respect to mayo. Went toe to toe. Just not enough to outgun Dublin.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 05/09/2015 18:58:44    1782924

Ziggy I agree some of the players are on road a long time. However the big game players have many years yet.. likes of O'Connors and O'Sheas etc. Mayo will certainly make a semi final again next year... I think they would benefit from a manager who knows how to get a team over the line to push on.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 05/09/2015 19:04:57    1782931

Dubs too strong today,ran the bench brilliantly with Kev Mc and MDM outstanding when needed.Mayo needed to be more confident when 4 clear.Lost their cohesion,let it slip,or call it whatever you want but they didn't know what to do.Also Philly the hardman from Ballymun,who owns a gym by the way,hit the deck fairly easy today again also lol.Well done the Dubs.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/09/2015 19:05:03    1782932

Congrats to Dublin and best of luck in the final. Well done to Mayo in playing their part in a cracking game.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 05/09/2015 19:07:56    1782935

dissappointed for mayo..... Dubs will win it now.

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 05/09/2015 19:08:03    1782936

Absolutely over the moon with our lads resolve.First half was the best score taking ive ever seen.Commiserations to a brave and gallant Mayo.Kerry,we look forward to yere challenge.Yesssssssssssssss

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/09/2015 19:16:10    1782943

Have to tip my hat to Mayo how they continue to punch above their weight these last 4 or 5 years on pure guts and determination but lets be honest Dublin weren't or didn't need to be at their best to win pulling up today and the benches are like chalk and cheese.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 05/09/2015 19:19:43    1782948

4 points up and in control, Dublin were well rattled, the winning of the game was there for Mayo, make no mistake. However, what can you say about Mayo? We climb high, the oxygen gets thinner and then we get dizzy and fall down. Same old story, when push came to shove, we simply were not good enough. Well done Dublin and I think these games with Mayo will bring them on a ton, the team that have beaten Mayo for the last 3 years have won the Sam and maybe now it will be 4. Good luck to both teams left, hope it's a great final.

Finally, a word for the Mayo team. Guys you have done your county some service. You've been the kings of Connacht for the last 5 years and know that Mayo people all over the world are so proud to have a team that stands amongst the best teams in Ireland. Mayo will be back and the dream never dies. Mayo 4 ever!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 05/09/2015 19:19:47    1782949

God the nerves are shot,, can't believe we're in a final again! Lucky second goal but o'connor fouled the ball for theirs,, best team won.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 05/09/2015 19:21:19    1782953

Don't want to single out players for blame.....but am I only one who thinks Hennelly really contributed to Mayos downfall, tried to run clock at a kick out as a substitute was being made the realised he was pushing his luck on the time taken so rushed his kick out down the throat of a few Dublin players for the first goal and was very weak on the Brogans ball across the square for the second goal. All said well done Dublin stuck at it when seemed game was going against them, as for Mayo ever crossing the finishing line.....what do you say?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 05/09/2015 19:24:32    1782957

Yerrah yeah, we've got the blues now, for sure.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 05/09/2015 19:25:07    1782958

Have to say I have always had a question mark over Gavin's tactical prowess. However for me the game changed with the introduction of Fitzsimmons and MDMA. Great awareness to notice that Andy Moran had to much pace for Cooper, seen it and changed it.

Why Mayo started to go long when Barry Moran and SO'S were off the field I will never.

However if I was a Dub fan I would be slightly worrief. Mayo's not so water tight defence had ye wrapped up for the first 60 minutes.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 05/09/2015 19:31:40    1782964

Very well done Dublin and hard luck mayo. I think that both teams gave all and it was mostly a great game today. I disagree with someone who posted saying that mayo are punching above their weight, they are probably 3rd favorites every year to win sam. It will happen eventually. I am not sure this crop of players can come good though. They ahve been around so long now that it is getting harder and harder to bounce back. But you have got to credit them.

if the dubs rattle the net once in the final, they could do it 3 times, and it would spell curtains for kerry. hard to call the game but we all know what both teams are capable of. Gud luck in the final.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/09/2015 19:32:23    1782966

No complaints. Better team won. Hope the Dubs win the final.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 05/09/2015 19:53:07    1782975

Great game first of all.

Dublin won because of their superior bench.

Andy Moran did great for Mayo but Dublin had McCauley, brogan, mcmenamin.

Can definitely see McCauley start the final.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 05/09/2015 20:08:24    1782987

GAA lover, that's bol***ks. Beaten in two semi replays in a row, and two finals before that, cut the crap. Haven't made it over the line but a quality team

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 05/09/2015 20:08:26    1782988

My God the same old story, what do Mayo have to do, Good luck to Dublin, Kerry in the final, hard luck Mayo, yous have been in some great games over the years, and yous keep coming back, yous will be back, this i am certain, next year, lads it will happen, all the best stay together..........................

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 05/09/2015 20:09:52    1782990

Congrats to the Dubs, they were the better team on the day today, we can't have too many complaints. B.Brogan showed he still has it, always seems to play well against Mayo!

Jimmy192 (Mayo) - Posts: 107 - 05/09/2015 20:13:02    1782994

Enjoyable game.
Dublins second goal probably shouldn't have stood - but maybe O Connors switch to his right hand wasn't 100 pc legit either. In any case not sure it would make a difference. Mayo had the winning of the game and didn't take it . Keegans shot into cluxtons arms a key moment to push on. Also playing keep ball with too long left on the clock and not going for the jugular when they had good counter attacking breaks . Dublins bench made a big difference .

Long way back for Mayo now. Hard to see what they can do that makes the change they need to make that small difference

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 05/09/2015 20:29:36    1783003

Connollys name did not appear on the 26 player list named by Dublin, under the new rules the penalty for playing a player not named on the panel of 26 is forfeiture of the game, I am going by the match programme but surely the programme should have the list of names submitted, the players list must be submitted on the thursday before the game and only goalkeeper can be changed.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 05/09/2015 20:46:57    1783016