Clare v Limerick. Lack of Build Up

Have to say the ref was poor. How was there only 1 minute added on. Limerick scrape through. Made it hard for themselves. Tipperary up next who they seem to love playing and this time in limerick. Should be a cracking game. If they make the final they're probably better off losing and playing a quarter final. They're not a team like Kilkenny where a long break doesn't bother them. Anyway a waterford v limerick final in thurlas would be perfect.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/05/2015 19:14:18    1727806

Maroonatic - A dig in the ribs with the butt of a hurl merits a red card.

Your 100% correct - but its happens in every game God knows how many times so why punish on this occasion?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 24/05/2015 19:44:21    1727823

A very average match today by munster hurling standards, the ref gave some of the softest frees of all time in the first half mostly to limerick, his umpire couldn't make a decision about Dowlings point or not , the linesman couldn't organise subs, how there was only 1 minute injury time beggers belief, theres a danger referees like todays will destroy hurling.If he had done the same to Limerick, he wouldn't have got to the tunnel.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 24/05/2015 21:10:55    1727876

Davy's tactics were exposed yet again.
Limerick won but I doubt they will trouble Tipp .
Both red cards were correct but the ref was poor, how he only play one additional minute is beyond me.
If Clare get everyone back fit and adjust their tactics they could still go far this summer, in my opinion Davy is holding them back.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 24/05/2015 21:13:13    1727880

Hurler32 fair play you called it spot on

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 24/05/2015 21:30:27    1727890

Why do the Referees seem to hate Clare. Limerick scored about double from the frees today and Dowling missed at least 3 easy ones. Clare 1 free scored in the second half. The refs are worse when Clare play CORK.

I Hope Galway never play Cork as the refs help them all the time and its hard to stomach.

Sheedy (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 24/05/2015 21:35:24    1727893

If the second red card was correct,as some agree here,there would be 10 sendings off in every game.Ive seen those hip-to-hip and shoulder jostles in just about every game ive ever seen.The difference here being,the Clare player hitting the deck,and making it look worse than it was.It was a nothing incident.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/05/2015 21:43:20    1727900

hurler32 +1

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 24/05/2015 21:48:39    1727903

Refs don't hate Clare. It's the indiscipline that is costing them games, a player sent off today, 3 players sent off last year in the games v Wexford. I actually thought Clare were better than Limerick in their use of the ball today, and might have won the game with a little luck. Clare will have a big say in this year's championship.
Limerick will need to improve v Tipperary the next day. I wish Limerick and Clare all the best in the championship, a change would be nice for the game.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 24/05/2015 21:50:17    1727904

Any word on Donal O'Grady's condition? After receiving such extensive treatment and being stretchered off with a bandaged head, I was surprised to see him take the field in the second half..I heard he gave an interview after the game and he seemed to have shaken off the effects on the incident with Donnellan, thank God

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 25/05/2015 08:31:23    1727919

what was the attendence after? It looked like a pretty good atmosphere. Second half very entertaining stuff.

the_post (USA) - Posts: 185 - 25/05/2015 08:48:26    1727923

In fairness, all the talk about the injury time, but when the whistle was blown mulcahy was about to score so Limerick would have been two up with max couple of mins left and the momentum.

Limerick are being labelled average but it was clares defensive tactics and fouling that pulled the game down. Limerick Tipp should be a 15 on 15 cracker like the last 3 years..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 25/05/2015 08:57:56    1727927

It's a fair point that Limerick looked like they were going to go two up when the final whistle blew. But I can see Clare's frustration too. I know everyone is say it was a poor match and so on but I wouldn't expect either team to be firing on all cylinders at the end of May. You need to hold something back for July and beyond.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/05/2015 09:27:02    1727936

Any word on Donal O'Grady's condition? After receiving such extensive treatment and being stretchered off with a bandaged head, I was surprised to see him take the field in the second half..I heard he gave an interview after the game and he seemed to have shaken off the effects on the incident with Donnellan, thank God

Have to say I agree. While by the letter of the laew, it was a red card, it is different to the hurling we grew up with. Donnellan didn't injure him and while Donal might have got a nick or something, he was fine. Hurling is a physical game and I think both red cards were a joke.

Delighted to win, but we don't want hurling to be like knitting surely.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/05/2015 09:37:12    1727944

If you dive or play act in gaa nowadays you will get rewarded by the ref sad but true, limerick are average if Clare had some of there missing players and 15 men on the field they'd hammer them.

If
If
They Would

C'mon, surely you can do better analysis than that?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/05/2015 09:41:49    1727946

On the red cards, for me Donnelan had to go. He lost control of himself and acted dangerously. It wasn't manly or tough or anything like it. Red fully deserved.

Tobin was unlucky in that both players were getting stuck into each other and because one went down the other got the line despite the fact that both players were equally at fault imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2015 09:57:19    1727953

cuederocket

1727733 Congrats to the treaty men.I see Davy chasing the referee down the tunnel.Is it a wonder hes not well liked?Another red card damaged the banners chances.Im sticking with Clare for the All Ireland,but they need 3/4 of their All Stars back.Overall,excellent second half,exciting to the end.Limerick deserved to win.

Just checked the odds cue clare are 14/1 to win the all irl which they still could do in spite of Fitz.This tactic he's playing is cr#p and he should let the fine players he has at his disposal to just hurl off the cuff.Regarding Limerick I thought we were very sluggish and I suppose we had to be after the league debacle but get a few injured lads back and another months training we won't be far away, yesterday was worth 3 weeks training and we will only improve

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 25/05/2015 10:39:06    1727974

Fair play Slayer, my thoughts exactly. Both Donnellan and Tobin have only themselves to blame for being sent off, I'd prefer a modern game where both received only yellows but the theatrics that accompanied each incident were embarrassing to watch

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 25/05/2015 10:51:21    1727982

Slayer I'm netrual here I don't care for either team i honestly think limerick are an average team and if Clare hadn't there captain sent off they would of won comfortably , your full back is there for the taking every time the ball goes in he's too slow , Look at your goal even a freakish goal compared to Clare's two screamers , also Dowlings free was wide and your 45 just after ht should of been a Clare puck out it clearly hit the Limerick forward and then the amount of soft frees the ref gave yous was frightening. Listen id love to see limerick do well I honestly would but I don't think they've any hope of winning Munster or Liam.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/05/2015 11:00:35    1727989

When a lunatic is in charge of an asylum there can never be any law and order!
Davy Fitz....the one man that will hold Clare back from winning the All Ireland.
Not calling Clare an asylum but as seen by the u21s the best talent in the country is ion Clare at the moment. Davy is going to stay too long and that talent is going to go to waste

His spiel about his team been written off has got so old at this stage. zzzzzzzzzzz

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/05/2015 11:01:12    1727990