Tyrone V Donegal

Well done Donegal glad to see Tyrone out!

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 17/05/2015 17:54:16    1724586

Some nice scores but in general it was petty, cynical, niggily rubbish

the_post (USA) - Posts: 185 - 17/05/2015 17:56:40    1724589

Mcquillan was awful, lucky dip with frees and cards, the players rules the game. Awful muck.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 17/05/2015 17:58:18    1724591

A Donegal 3 point lead is the equivalent to a 6 point lead in an average club game. Once Neil Gallagher got sent off I knew that was it, they would pack the defnce and see it out. Game overall was intriguing in very difficult conditions.

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 17/05/2015 17:58:58    1724592

Different type of game in 2nd half.Not as open and free flowing.Donegal were dederved winners.Tyrones lack of firepower was evident in second half.McCurrys poor wide from a free in 62 min was a body blow.That would have closed the gap to a single point.
Not sure how Tyrone will react to another run through the back door.They have some fine footballers,but not enough.Another loss for Micky Harte to Donegal.Must be hard to take.They are a resilient county though so theres always hope.
As for Donegal,they looked strong in second half.Murphy hit some crucial frees but will play a lot better.Defence was opened up a couple of times in first half but tightened up thereafter.McGlynn had a powerful game.Definately a hard team to beat.Donegal can rightly think of winning the big prize.
Overall it was a good,hard game,with the end result in doubt up to last minute.A lot of unsightly off-the-ball shoulders,hand bags and verbals,but that shouldnt take away from the good entertainment provided.There was a lot at stake.Tempers were frayed.Congrats to Donegal.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2015 18:01:51    1724596

I enjoyed that . Two teams gave everything. I do think the winding up goes too far and adds nothing to the game.
But in general game had a bit of everything and if Tyrone had a bit more belief in themselves could of won that game.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/05/2015 18:07:33    1724601

brentheredhand

Was waiting for the first muck reference, we have a winner. Off you go lad and enjoy the 'intensity' of the Leinster championship, me, I like my football 'earthy'.

I know your a very proud Tyrone man but your mad if you can decsribe that second half as anything positive, that wasn't intense, play was halted every few plays with cynical fouling, shoving and pulling, Donegal scored one point from play with that wind. The first half was very good, real intensity and quick counter-attacking. I'd take the Leinster championship any day over some of the games we'll see in Ulster this year and your only kidding yourself if you think its entertaining.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 17/05/2015 18:12:45    1724605

Bit of a missed opportunity for Tyrone there. Couldn't believe Cavanagh got himself sent off, what was he thinking. Tyrone have improved a bit but Donegal are possibly not as formidable as they were. Lacey look liked there was something wrong with him in the last 15mins, maybe some niggly injury.

Over all thought it was a very high standard game. The niggly stuff was more obvious in the second half. I think it was due in a lot of ways to the tension as the final whistle crept closer and the game was very close. Wasn't really anything dirty though. When there's a lot of tension and games are competitive you'll always get some of that. the two teams just wanted to win badly.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 17/05/2015 18:13:20    1724606

It was entertaining.Im not kidding either.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2015 18:14:48    1724608

Delighted with the win. Thought Tyrone played very well even though McQuillan kept them in it in the first half with a succession of soft frees. How Jordan managed to make it to the 62nd minute without being carded was incredible. Patchy performance from Donegal, but it was all about getting the win today. A couple of immense frees from Murphy in the end. Probably an even harder game ahead next time out, but that's the nature of the draw.

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 17/05/2015 18:15:06    1724609

Admittedly disappointed with the end result but can't fault the efforts of the Tyrone players today. In fairness Donegal just about deserved it and I wish them all the best for Ulster, still the team to beat in these parts and proved that today. For Tyrone, its yet another long road through the qualifiers till August, if the will is there then its possible but there are still too many weak links to make them viable contenders. All in all a good game played in some miserable conditions and I'm pleased that we in Ulster can provide the entertainment to our southern brothers that's sadly lacking in their own provincial championships. But hey ho, lets just see what happens. The big plus today was the performance of Mickey O'Neill in goal, you'd struggle to see a better performance all year.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 17/05/2015 18:17:44    1724611

PoppinPoints

Once Neil Gallagher got sent off I knew that was it, they would pack the defence and see it out.

They nearly didn't see it out considering Tyrone hit the bar in the last few seconds.

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 17/05/2015 18:21:17    1724613

If there's one thing I despise about the game today it's this goading and sledging that's constantly on show. both teams are equally guilty. The sooner there is a clampdown on any member of a management team going onto a pitch unless signalled by a referee the better. Running on goading players, pathetic. How come a manager never has to leave his box in a soccer match??? The linesmen and 4th official should take should be taking note and fines/bans handed out retrospectively. All the media coverage will be about this and forget there was 2 goals and 23 points scored in terrible conditions.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 17/05/2015 18:28:52    1724616

It's time this verbal abuse was removed from our games, it isn't sportsmanship. If people took off their county caps and viewed games as neutrals then you would be shocked at the state of our game, forget the puke football argument, the amount of diving, whinging to referees, pulling down opponents and then looking for a free, telling the ref to book players, a mellee when a player is knocked to the ground, abuse to opposing players, constant off the ball incidents, kicking or pushing players after the ball is kicked or handpassed away, and lately this craic of all in for 1, both players and bench, if some incident happens near the sidelong is destroying our game, this crap was going on for long enough at club junior football level and now is in our senior counties. No point fining counties as they pass the fine down to the clubs, time to ban players and no reprieve and if necessary removal of the team from the AllIreland championship, that may put manners on every team. I know most people will disagree with what I'm saying but what would have happened if a fan or fans had run down to the wire at halftime in Ballyboffey and thrown a punch, players would have retaliated and if a child was nearby they could have been seriously hurt. Play the game within the rules and shake hands afterwards

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 17/05/2015 18:29:00    1724617

Agree with you there brend. O Neill made two save of the year candidates. The one from McBrearty in the second half was unbelievable. He is huge as well must be 6'5, will be interesting to see how it unfolds between himself and Morgan for the number 1 jersey.

Overall, I thought it was a great game, considering the conditions. Bit niggly, but that was to be expected in a derby like that. We were a bit up and down at times, would like to see us a more consistent over the 70 minutes. I think the hard work was done in the first half and we just needed to control the second half, which we did. Great performances from Frank McGlynn and McElhinney. Really love watching Odhran McNeilis play as well, even if he wasn't too influential today. Can't think of a more elegant footballer in the country. Very uncharacteristic performance from Karl Lacey though, thought he was off the pace today even if he popped up with a great score. McCurry will be kicking himself after missing a couple of very scorable frees

Most disappointing thing was the ref's performance though. Poor for both teams

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 17/05/2015 18:35:33    1724618

The Ulster championship is competitive with a lot of local rivalries going on, when our own provincial championship was up for grabs back in the day, there was as much if not more goading/sledging, and that was on a good day. Move on!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/05/2015 18:43:51    1724623

Well my prediction was not to far of the mark' Given some fantastic saves by the Stand in Tyrone Keeper'especially Patrick mcBreartys effort.

Enjoyable Game' apart from Cavanaghs constant Diving and as far as I seen he had alot to do with triggering the half time Scuffle.

Donegal as I expected started off with some great attacking football and should really have been out of sight in the 1st half. Fair play to Tyrone for clawing their way back into the game.

We were deserved winners on the day and remember this is only the first game of the Championship' Ulster football at its Best. Spillane at his oul guff again' early days yet Pat..plenty off time to shake off the "ring rust".

Expecting another almighty tussle with the Orchard men..However we put our marker down today.

Well done Lads' both Seniors and minors.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 17/05/2015 18:45:21    1724624

Bit unfair that Donegal and Tyrone had to potentially peak today and fight out for the victory and Donegal will have to do it again against Armagh whereas Kerry possibly mightn't have to peak until August. Definately something that needs addressing

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 17/05/2015 18:49:22    1724626

Brollys "3 point trashing" remark was way off.
Tyrone could have won that if they cut out the unforced errors and on another day would have won.
Theyll be in Croker before the year is out.
As a side note these two sides really dont like each other do they?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 17/05/2015 18:49:34    1724627

Handballref:

Lacey doesn't look fully right to me. The longer the game went on the more his body looked to be failing him

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 17/05/2015 18:53:50    1724633