Tyrone V Donegal

He still does good work out the pitch but nothing another player couldn't do, it's not as if he is spraying pin point passes inside. I will say it again, he is absolutely wasted for the last 2 years.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 17/05/2015 21:09:46    1724738

Was at the game & It was impossible for Michael Murphy to play today. Justin McMahon was in his face all day, didn't watch the ball at all. Was pulling & draging him at every opportunity. Looked like he was sledging Murphy as well. Cynicism at its best, Mickey Harte the 'tactical genius'.

92dl (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 17/05/2015 21:28:09    1724751

92dl

Was at the game & It was impossible for Michael Murphy to play today. Justin McMahon was in his face all day, didn't watch the ball at all. Was pulling & draging him at every opportunity. Looked like he was sledging Murphy as well. Cynicism at its best, Mickey Harte the 'tactical genius'.

And the exact same thing happened to Sean Cavanagh for the whole game, bit harsh to highlight Mickey Harte when Donegal were doing the exact same thing.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 17/05/2015 21:34:37    1724757

Murphy would be my first pick for Dublin if there was a transfer system.The man is a collossus.Granted he didnt shine in last years final,or today,but hes being tightly marked,and not being played close to goal enough for me.Still his penultimate free today was a monster score in those conditions.He is an animal in the greatest sense of the word.Id rather him on my side than against,thats for sure.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2015 21:37:55    1724758

Yep cue, him or Colm O'Neill would do nicely :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/05/2015 21:44:50    1724760

Well done Donegal.

They should take Ulster and make it 4 from the last 5 to continue their recent dominance in the province.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 18/05/2015 08:14:19    1724776

First half was a decent game second half wasn't great and it got far too niggly.

Tyrone needed to take a chance and be more direct in the first half when they ahd the wind and they were a little too negative for alot most of the first half which cost them in the end.

I feel sorry for Michaell Murphy he is wasted in the way he plays and to be honest although itss a team game I don't know whye he puts up with it.He hsould never be going past the 45 as he is lethal in close to goal and anybody can do the donkey work that he seems to have to do these days.McIlhinney in midfield was excellent for Donegal.

Although it was enjoyable enough game the match was a great example of what needs to be fixed.2 teams who insisted on playing 14 men behind the ball which result in endless handpassing as the kicked pass is not really a good option in that situation.Imagine how good football would be if the rules meant teams actually had to go out and play football it would be so much better.A way of elimating the blanket defence would improve the game instantly.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 18/05/2015 08:31:35    1724779

Its funny, there were 2 Leinster championship games played at the weekend, not too many topics created to discuss them and we seem to have the majority of Leinster posters who would rather discuss an USFC preliminary game played in May, good stuff.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2015 08:36:45    1724782

brendtheredhand

Its funny, there were 2 Leinster championship games played at the weekend, not too many topics created to discuss them and we seem to have the majority of Leinster posters who would rather discuss an USFC preliminary game played in May, good stuff

It's not really that funny at all though.. the two biggest teams in ulster were playing on the same weekend as louth and westmeath, or carlow and laois!

If meath played dublin the same weekend as fermanagh and antrim I think the majority of talk would be about the former.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 18/05/2015 08:50:52    1724789

Murphy is with the Gooch and possibly Brogan the most influential player in the country. A lot of the work he does around the middle third goes unnoticed but is vital to the team. He is someone who is able to run a game and I would say he is the best exponent of this since Dara O'Se

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 18/05/2015 09:13:02    1724794

Uncle_Fester

1724789 brendtheredhand

Its funny, there were 2 Leinster championship games played at the weekend, not too many topics created to discuss them and we seem to have the majority of Leinster posters who would rather discuss an USFC preliminary game played in May, good stuff

It's not really that funny at all though.. the two biggest teams in ulster were playing on the same weekend as louth and westmeath, or carlow and laois!

If meath played dublin the same weekend as fermanagh and antrim I think the majority of talk would be about the former.
But this is, we are constantly told, the worst of the 4 provincial championships, full of 'puke', 'muck', pulling. dragging, baby eating, the stuff of nightmares. Surely the free flowing, high scoring fluffiness of Leinster should be the real talking point here.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2015 09:18:21    1724796

Happy to win yesterday, and well done to the lads for putting on a very good display. We will regroup and expect the same from armagh as we got yesterday. You can say what you like about ulster football, but at least it is competitive. I agree that sledging is an unfortunate part of the game, but it has been around a long time now. other than mic up players, what are refs supposed to do? I think that mcmahon did what he had to do against murpny, it wasnt nice to see, but it will do murphy the world of good to come through that experience and not get booked or sent off.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/05/2015 09:20:53    1724797

brendtheredhand

1724782 Its funny, there were 2 Leinster championship games played at the weekend, not too many topics created to discuss them and we seem to have the majority of Leinster posters who would rather discuss an USFC preliminary game played in May, good stuff.

None of those games were pon TV.So you wouldn't get much of a discussion.

When was the ban on non Ulster posters disussing the Ulster Championship introduced?

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 18/05/2015 09:30:50    1724802

Can't believe the state of the pitch , not cut , dandelions growing poor markings , and thus for a championship game , no pride whatsoever ever in presentation

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 18/05/2015 09:30:56    1724803

Fair point Donegalman, Murphy will have a big say in the championship this year come what may, he did well yesterday all things considered. The frustrating thing for me is if Tyrone had concentrated on the football in the second half instead of getting involved in the nasties then they had the beating of Donegal, I really do believe that, so in the end their own indiscipline has cost them so they can't blame anyone else, including poor ref who didn't do either side any favours. Good luck to Donegal, I dont rate Armagh and yous will still be the standard bearers for the province come August.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2015 09:39:18    1724808

Like I say uibhfhaili1986, this forum is filled to over flowing with the dirge of posters who simply can't bring themselves to say anything positive about the USFC, yet they still find themselves absorbed by it and glued to their TV screens all the same. If it offends them so much as a spectacle then I'm sure they could find something else to do with their time on a Sunday afternoon.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2015 09:45:04    1724815

Typically I missed he first half which going by radio sounded great but second half on TV was bad. Donegal deserved it I suppose. Lots of mouthing off between players. Also the referee would want to look at the distance a defender is allowed to stand on front of the free taker....on one stage the Tyrone lad was nearly in on top of Murphy taking a free.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 18/05/2015 09:45:20    1724816

Very happy to get the win.

Television did not do justice to the conditions which were atrocious, so fair play to both sides for giving us a good first half.

Football wise, the less said about the second half the better, it was a war of attrition & a test of character which years ago would have seen Donegal fold like a deck of cards. Not yesterday & Rory Gallagher must be delighted that the players gave him the same effort as they gave JMcG.

Not that everything is sweet in the garden however. Donegal were very loose at the back & coughed up a series of goal chances that would have been unthinkable in the past. This needs sorting as Tyrone's forwards aren't that great & other teams will make hay.

Against that it was great to see Colm McFadden back in good form, himself McBrearty & Murphy will make life interesting for a lot of full back lines this year.

As for Tyrone, I think they will be happy enough & they will have a good run in the qualifiers. I'll be happy not to see hide nor hair of them for the forseeable.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/05/2015 09:48:02    1724819

Murphy is top class. That 45 he put over near the end was worth its weight in gold. His work rate was excellent as usual. The fact that Tyrone sacrificed Justin McM says a lot about what they think about Murphy. Also, I don't think the ref had a bad game. It was impossible to ref due to all the theatrics from both sets of players. Joe McM and that Tyrone Maor Foirne getting involved with the Donegal players at half time. Both of them should be suspended for next game.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 18/05/2015 09:50:48    1724823

royalpainter

Can't believe the state of the pitch , not cut , dandelions growing poor markings , and thus for a championship game , no pride whatsoever ever in presentation.

Cop yourself on, dandelions indeed!!!

This coming from a man who boasts Navan as his county ground.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/05/2015 09:50:56    1724824