Hurling qualifiers

Should be two good games today. Wexford gave Clare a good game last year. Home advantage can be a help in the qualifiers. I know some Tipp lads who aren't confident in their lot at all. In Thurles they should win.
Predictions: Clare and Tipperary to win. It'll be an interesting tie if they draw each other in the next round.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 05/07/2014 10:52:32    1614027

Clare are very sluggish, still plenty left to turn it around, fair play to Wexford tore out at the start, but struggling in second half. Clare very disappointing all round they look tired, might stagger over the line yet.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 05/07/2014 16:41:10    1614105

Clare will push on from here, they're back to 15. Wexford have thrown the game away for the second year in a row.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 05/07/2014 17:05:03    1614118

Ridiculous rule that you can go back to 15 for extra time as its a "new game"

Think Clare will win by 2 or 3 points

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/07/2014 17:13:09    1614122

Wide after wide. Plenty of goal chances. Gutted but you never know in extra time.

fecksakeref (Wexford) - Posts: 111 - 05/07/2014 17:16:17    1614124

Wexford still in there! Tension is unreal, fair play to both teams these guys are out on their feet.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 05/07/2014 17:41:31    1614132

Excellent game.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 05/07/2014 17:42:24    1614133

Clare v Wexford. Qualifier classic.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 05/07/2014 17:43:53    1614134

A draw is about right in the end, Wexford will feel they should have hadbit. Clare get a chance to put that shocking first half behind them. Wexford hurling is being quietly put right well done impressed.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 05/07/2014 17:46:11    1614135

We certainly should have won it but I'm delighted with the effort. Where's everyone who said we'd be hammered ???

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2709 - 05/07/2014 17:47:07    1614136

Trying to measure where Dublin, Wexford and Clare are after that result. I think Wexford and Dublin have improved on last year and Clare have not hits the heights of 2013.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/07/2014 17:57:58    1614141

Wexford will be kicking themselves. They should have put this game to bed midway through the second half, however the proceeded to hit wide after wide. Can't do that when you have the winning of the game.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 05/07/2014 18:09:02    1614147

so stories emerging of a mass brawl in the tunnell....i won't hold my breath waiting on the condemnation from the hysterical posters on here...if it happened in clones tomorrow we wouldn't hear the end of it

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 05/07/2014 18:30:50    1614155

Im one of those who predicted a big Clare win.Great effort from Wexford.Really should have won.Some of the wides were so poor at a time when another one or two points would have finished Clare off.Thats more like the Wexford we all know and love.Hope ye finish it off in replay.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/07/2014 18:33:29    1614160

If anyone sounds hysterical its you mayotyroneman. NO ONE says that violence never happens down south, they just say it happens less.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 05/07/2014 18:48:49    1614165

Jesus we were definitely the better team. Lucky to get the peno but then again Clare go so many easy frees.
I don't know what it is about this Wexford team they look a bit too relaxed. They don't seem to panic but sometimes ya feel like they need to and raise the intensity.
Where did our full forward line disappear to in the second half of extra time? If we had a couple of boys up there the game was ours.
Still fair play to them. Se performance. And before I hear all the crowd who predicted a huge win telling how they true it all away.
Keep in mind u were predicting a 10 point lose against the champions in their own back yard and this team came out with a draw.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 05/07/2014 18:52:14    1614167

mayotyroneman

so stories emerging of a mass brawl in the tunnell....i won't hold my breath waiting on the condemnation from the hysterical posters on here...if it happened in clones tomorrow we wouldn't hear the end of it

But what did you think of the game? Why would you even bother saying that without anything to back it up. I am sure you aren't there and was nothing on TV about it.
You boys in Tyrone need to get over the siege mentality thing.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 05/07/2014 18:57:39    1614172

As a Clareman I feel extremely lucky to still be in the Championship. Massive credit to Wexford, some people said Wexford would be hammered, I think you all have your answers now. We are delighted to still be in it and I am immensely proud if the way our lads stood up like champions and refused to lose a game we had no right to get anything out of. There is something missing at the moment with Clare, but no one can question our heart. Full credit to Wexford and genuinely you must be gutted to not have won.

On a separate note I felt the sending off of Podge Collins was so harsh but yes it's the rule. A harsh lesson he will certainly have to learn. It wasn't dangerous but oh well, we will move on. I don't think the referee favoured Clare the foul count was 20/18 to Clare but the penalty to Wexford was an awful decision. But to even mention the man in the middle would be an injustice to a great match. I won't even call a winner because the truth is I just don't know.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 05/07/2014 19:27:22    1614183

wow wee,

What an absolute breath taking game. 54 scores!! Both teams 100 % committed taking the hard knocks and still delivering a savage skill set.

Wexford will be disappointed not to have won in both normal and extra but it's another solid game under their belts.

Then again it could be what Clare needed also.

Podge Collins call correct. Ref done ok. Few bad calls but over 90 minutes of frantic hurling that will happen.

This Wexford team look serious and it'll be interesting to see how they progress in the next 3-4 years under Dunne.

Eventually though they are going to have to take one of these big scalps in order to kick on.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 05/07/2014 19:31:31    1614184

the likes of loughnane calling this a classic is madness
it was a close exciting game filled with some very poor hurling
and awful wides
the fact clare are all ireland champions and were ten points down at one stage
and the game went to extra time and finished level masks alot of hurling analysts views of a match
enjoyable game to watch but if either side were playing any of the other big guns they would be out of the championship this evening

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/07/2014 19:47:57    1614195