Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary

it doesent matter where it is played at the moment as that is a small worry compared to the problems within the tipp camp

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 04/07/2017 21:32:18    2010716

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah come on down out of your ivory tower Keith it's great craic down here on ground level ;-)

The reason I bring it up is because we can't let ye write ye'r own version of history, ye have every advantage in the game and that must always be told."
Given our advantages Imagine if we were also in a hurling province for the past 125 years playing two games against Clare and Waterford to be in an AI semifinal year after year

Reckon we'd have at least 37 AI titles by now..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2017 21:41:42    2010725

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah come on down out of your ivory tower Keith it's great craic down here on ground level ;-)

The reason I bring it up is because we can't let ye write ye'r own version of history, ye have every advantage in the game and that must always be told."
Given our advantages Imagine if we were also in a hurling province for the past 125 years playing two games against Clare and Waterford to be in an AI semifinal year after year

Reckon we'd have at least 37 AI titles by now..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2017 21:42:19    2010727

From a sporting perspective - I feel genuine empathy with the Dublin hurlers, management and true hurling supporters. All three groups invest too much time and effort to not get a fair crack of the whip in such a pivotal game. Playing in Tipp's back yard is such an advantage that it can't be quantified properly, but it's fair to say it's very substantial

But for Costello, Shanley and Dublin fans to bitch and moan about home advantage is unbelievably rich and suggests a rich spoilt kid mindset that they must get everything their way and to hell with everyone else.

I suppose when you are living in a cosseted existence for as long as the GAA has existed it's hard to see the realities of what everyone else faces

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 04/07/2017 22:32:17    2010757

Aren't those two matches on Sky? So it's Sky's decision to have them at the same venue rather than the GAA's. Of course it's the
GAA's fault that Sky are broadcasting them.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 04/07/2017 22:42:53    2010762

Replying To jimbodub:  "Given our advantages Imagine if we were also in a hurling province for the past 125 years playing two games against Clare and Waterford to be in an AI semifinal year after year

Reckon we'd have at least 37 AI titles by now.."
If we had every game in Killarney , the vast tranche of the funding money and had dozen's of superclubs operating to pick from I'd say we have at least 60 AI's, probably more

They wouldn't mean as much to me though

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 04/07/2017 22:48:31    2010764

Replying To Midleton:  "Aren't those two matches on Sky? So it's Sky's decision to have them at the same venue rather than the GAA's. Of course it's the
GAA's fault that Sky are broadcasting them."
I'm looking ahead at the tv listings on sky plus and rte2 are showing clare v mayo football at 5, sky sports 3 are showing a qualifier (as yet unannounced) at 7 which presumably will be Kilkenny-Waterford, no mention of Dublin-Tipp. So I don't think this is sky's doing.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 04/07/2017 23:03:41    2010772

Replying To Galantis:  "If we had every game in Killarney , the vast tranche of the funding money and had dozen's of superclubs operating to pick from I'd say we have at least 60 AI's, probably more

They wouldn't mean as much to me though"
Dozens of superclub? Name them!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 04/07/2017 23:07:41    2010776

Replying To tiobraidArann:  "it doesent matter where it is played at the moment as that is a small worry compared to the problems within the tipp camp"
There is a lot of rumours going around is there any truth in any off it are things that bad.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 04/07/2017 23:22:57    2010783

Replying To SaffronDon:  "did Kilkenny not beat Tipp in 2013 in the qualifiers on their home pitch?"

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 04/07/2017 23:30:05    2010789

Replying To SaffronDon:  "did Kilkenny not beat Tipp in 2013 in the qualifiers on their home pitch?"
They did they also won the league in nowlan park but that qualifiers match was like last Saturday first out of the hat, also Kilkenny won the league 2014 in Thurles v Tipperary and 2009 against the same opposition won under 21 all Irelands v tipperary. As the old saying around these parts if you are not able to hurl in Thurles hang up your boots great surface enjoy going to Thurles heading home the back roads.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 04/07/2017 23:40:03    2010793

Replying To Canuck:  "You nailed it with who is calling the shots. This again proves that the CCCC are glued to the T.V. when these pundits are on. They determine who get suspended and research the rules for the CCCC. Anyone who believes other wise is dreaming."
What an empty statement.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 04/07/2017 23:43:54    2010795

Replying To Midleton:  "Aren't those two matches on Sky? So it's Sky's decision to have them at the same venue rather than the GAA's. Of course it's the
GAA's fault that Sky are broadcasting them."
No. Sky said they had the pick of the hurling qualifiers this weekend and they've confirmed it's Waterford vs Kilkenny at 7pm. Sky don't choose the venues! Even if they did have two matches, they wouldn't have to be at the same venue for them to broadcast them! Rte always have two matches on with different venues. That'd be like rte insisting on playing the Leinster hurling final in Killarney after the Munster football final because they were showing both matches!

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 05/07/2017 01:59:53    2010813

Replying To tearintom:  "I believe that wasn't at this stage of the qualifiers though.

The first round of hurling qualifiers are on a basis of teams are drawn to decide who gets home advantage (just like last weekend for example)

However this round of qualifiers has always been at a neutral venue."
is that the case though? or is it just that Tipp are usually still in the Munster championship at this stage? I remember several double headers at Thurles on the Saturday while Tipp were gearing up for the Munster final on the Sunday. Geographically, Thurles wouldn't always be the best neutral venue between two counties but the pitch is top class and the venue tends to draw the crowds more than others.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/07/2017 12:14:44    2010912

Replying To catch22:  "They did and it proved decisive which is mainly the point regarding home venue for Tipp.
They've enjoyed quiet a few run outs in semple now and an underdog should at least get to play a top team in a neutral ground."
I don't think Tipp were blaming Nowlan Park when losing to Kilkenny in 13. Thurles is probably the best hurling pitch in Ireland and a double header always draws a bigger crowd. This all seems logical when Dublin footballers play at Croker.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/07/2017 12:22:03    2010923

Replying To johnwhite12:  "They did they also won the league in nowlan park but that qualifiers match was like last Saturday first out of the hat, also Kilkenny won the league 2014 in Thurles v Tipperary and 2009 against the same opposition won under 21 all Irelands v tipperary. As the old saying around these parts if you are not able to hurl in Thurles hang up your boots great surface enjoy going to Thurles heading home the back roads."
100%. There is generally only ever a puck of a ball between Kilkenny and Tipp yet I don't hear home advantage ever being used as a scapegoat.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/07/2017 12:31:19    2010931

Replying To fathermurphy:  "Dublin hurling never have an athmosphere to start with..and its good nuff for them!! as Dublin people never come out to support in the first place so they will always get shot down in decisions like this...look at wexford a population of 70000 and 50000 wexford people traveled to croke park last sunday! I have no sympathy for Dublin people they deserve what they get!"
Were you just counting the men in County Wexford and then because the are such big men the count for more than one at the game? stupid post

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 05/07/2017 15:54:34    2011046

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I don't think Tipp were blaming Nowlan Park when losing to Kilkenny in 13. Thurles is probably the best hurling pitch in Ireland and a double header always draws a bigger crowd. This all seems logical when Dublin footballers play at Croker."
Not suggesting that Tipp blamed it on Nowlan park for one minute.
The point is that not just Dublin but any county trying hard to grow the game of hurling or football should be given fair play and not play a top team in their backyard.
Thurles is a fabulous pitch and again not the point.
Dublin football doesn't choose the venue either so they play games where they are told not that that has anything to do with the match on Saturday.
Bye the way , I would say exactly the same if it was Antrim so let's not start from two different places here.I would think you should see the logic to having the game on at the very least a neutral ground if not in Parnell park .

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/07/2017 16:11:45    2011052

Replying To zinny:  "Were you just counting the men in County Wexford and then because the are such big men the count for more than one at the game? stupid post"
Zinny,every county has these lads.
This place is like a sweet shop to a kid for them.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/07/2017 16:24:30    2011060

Replying To zinny:  "Were you just counting the men in County Wexford and then because the are such big men the count for more than one at the game? stupid post"
I cant even understand yours! Makes no sence!

fathermurphy (Wexford) - Posts: 315 - 05/07/2017 17:11:30    2011080