Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary

Replying To kildare73:  "Pretty simple really. It's the same county board for both Dublin hurlers and footballers doing the complaining."
And? It's not even close to being like for like. You're clutching here.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 04/07/2017 17:38:44    2010589

Replying To bloodyban:  "That's not like for like. You are being obtuse.
Wembley is a neutral venue for Chelsea v Manchester City for instance even though Chelsea is in London. It's the national stadium for England as is Croke Park for Ireland. Dublins home pitch is Parnell Park not Croke Park. Thurles is Tipperarys pitch. It's not a national stadium. It's no higher or lower than Fitzgerald stadium, The Gaelic Grounds or P.u.C. That there's a push always to make it a favourite venue for matches is odd. Clare agreeing to at there instead of Limerick will come back to bite them. They 'll be outnumbered 3 to 1 at least for the final. In limerick it would have been 3 to 2"
Croke Park is the national stadium and Thurles is deemed second, PuC may now compete in terms of national fixtures, the rest are no where.
As someone else said if Croker was available it would be there, as it is not it goes to the next big one.
This is only an issue because its Tipp, if it was anyone else there would'nt be a word.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 04/07/2017 17:46:31    2010594

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "We are always told for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity Croke Park is deemed a neutral venue even when Dublin are playing.

First I've heard of that rationale. Croke Park is considered a neutral venue as Parnell Park is Dublin's home venue. Whether its effectively a home venue for Dublin footballers is a debate that's i) been covered loads of times and ii) is completely off topic for this thread.

Croke Park is unavailable this weekend so now Semple Stadium is being used for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity and is deemed a neutral venue for the weekend even though Tipperary are playing.

Semple has been deemed a neutral venue? First I've heard of that.

Why is Tipperary playing in Tipperary a problem if Dublin playing in Dublin isn't a problem?

Because the original idea was that the venue for the game should be neutral and now its not. Just because you say Semple Stadium is a neutral venue in this instance, this doesn't mean its the case.

Dublin (footballers) playing in Dublin certainly does seem to be a problem based on the number of managers, pundits and keyboard warriors who regularly comment on this.

Just as an aside, I happen to think Thurles is the most logical venue for this weekend's double header. I just can't make head nor tail of your argument."
Not that hard really. It's as neutral in this instance as Croke Park would have been given the pairing involved.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/07/2017 17:53:35    2010599

Replying To kildare73:  "You missed my point. Croke Park is unavailable this weekend so Semple Stadium is deemed the next biggest available and suitable venue. The fact it's in Tipperary is irrelevant now because the national stadium is unavailable. If people don't like it then petition the GAA to not hold concerts in Croke Park during the championship season. Otherwise it is what it is and everyone get on with it."
The games wouldn't have been in croke park any way as they always play hurling quarter finals in thurles when croke park could be used so this is a similiar double header

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2017 18:23:45    2010615

Replying To fathermurphy:  "What is the population of Dublin and what is the population of wexford?? The underage hurling in Dublin is massive and then again you see very few juveniles at the matches..are you trying to tell me the dublin hurlers have better support than the wexford footballer on %population??? Not even up for debate!"
Oh come on the pitch at half time in Parnell does be filled with kids picking around

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2017 18:24:34    2010616

Replying To PremierGold:  "Croke Park is the national stadium and Thurles is deemed second, PuC may now compete in terms of national fixtures, the rest are no where.
As someone else said if Croker was available it would be there, as it is not it goes to the next big one.
This is only an issue because its Tipp, if it was anyone else there would'nt be a word."
Of course there wouldn't be a word as they wouldn't be playing at home.It should not and would not have been in Croker park if available and should have been in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Kilkenny would have been kicking up stink if they were told it was Thurles and rightly so.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/07/2017 18:25:03    2010617

Replying To PremierGold:  "Croke Park is the national stadium and Thurles is deemed second, PuC may now compete in terms of national fixtures, the rest are no where.
This is only an issue because its Tipp, if it was anyone else there would'nt be a word."
Finally, someone who has cop on. Well said.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/07/2017 18:30:25    2010622

The Gaelic Grounds held an All Ireland semi final a few years ago . The Dublin county chairman said that it was the logical 'neutral' venue to have a double header at. I understand it's a trek from Waterford so then have 2 stand alone. Thurles isnt a 2nd national stadium and neither the Gaelic Grounds or Thurles capacity would be tested this weekend either way. Max of 40,000 is being generous.
From next year Thurles is going to be a distant 3rd to the new Cork stadiums facilities but it will have it's geography as a plus point.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2017 18:39:19    2010627

Replying To kildare73:  "
Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "We are always told for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity Croke Park is deemed a neutral venue even when Dublin are playing.

First I've heard of that rationale. Croke Park is considered a neutral venue as Parnell Park is Dublin's home venue. Whether its effectively a home venue for Dublin footballers is a debate that's i) been covered loads of times and ii) is completely off topic for this thread.

Croke Park is unavailable this weekend so now Semple Stadium is being used for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity and is deemed a neutral venue for the weekend even though Tipperary are playing.

Why is Tipperary playing in Tipperary a problem if Dublin playing in Dublin isn't a problem?

Because the original idea was that the venue for the game should be neutral and now its not. Just because you say Semple Stadium is a neutral venue in this instance, this doesn't mean its the case.

Dublin (footballers) playing in Dublin certainly does seem to be a problem based on the number of managers, pundits and keyboard warriors who regularly comment on this.

Just as an aside, I happen to think Thurles is the most logical venue for this weekend's double header. I just can't make head nor tail of your argument."
Not that hard really. It's as neutral in this instance as Croke Park would have been given the pairing involved."
So by that insane logic Galway v Roscommon this weekend in Pearse could actually be a neutral venue if Croke Park deem it so even though it's Galways home pitch..!!

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2017 18:42:01    2010629

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Course it's unfair. But RTE's hurling pundits decide the venues. Don't know why they bother holding a CCCC meeting at all when Mulcahy and Eddie Brennan pick the venue for them the night before."
You nailed it with who is calling the shots. This again proves that the CCCC are glued to the T.V. when these pundits are on. They determine who get suspended and research the rules for the CCCC. Anyone who believes other wise is dreaming.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 04/07/2017 18:59:53    2010640

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "We are always told for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity Croke Park is deemed a neutral venue even when Dublin are playing.

Not that hard really. It's as neutral in this instance as Croke Park would have been given the pairing involved."
So by that insane logic Galway v Roscommon this weekend in Pearse could actually be a neutral venue if Croke Park deem it so even though it's Galways home pitch..!!"]Exactly. It is just amazing that this is so difficult for some to grasp. Complete gombeenism if you ask me.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/07/2017 19:00:32    2010643

For a double header with the 4 counties involved Thurles is probably the best available option. A good pitch in a decent enough ground. We'll be down easy enough from Dublin, motorway or train etc so from a fans point of view it's grand.

It's the luck of the draw really.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/07/2017 19:05:25    2010646

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "We are always told for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity Croke Park is deemed a neutral venue even when Dublin are playing.

So by that insane logic Galway v Roscommon this weekend in Pearse could actually be a neutral venue if Croke Park deem it so even though it's Galways home pitch..!!"]Every ground in the country is someone's home pitch. By your "insane logic", where do you want matches to be played.........the moon?? Thurles is the venue this weekend, end of.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/07/2017 19:08:00    2010649

Replying To catch22:  "Of course there wouldn't be a word as they wouldn't be playing at home.It should not and would not have been in Croker park if available and should have been in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Kilkenny would have been kicking up stink if they were told it was Thurles and rightly so."
did Kilkenny not beat Tipp in 2013 in the qualifiers on their home pitch?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 04/07/2017 19:15:00    2010653

Replying To bloodyban:  "The Gaelic Grounds held an All Ireland semi final a few years ago . The Dublin county chairman said that it was the logical 'neutral' venue to have a double header at. I understand it's a trek from Waterford so then have 2 stand alone. Thurles isnt a 2nd national stadium and neither the Gaelic Grounds or Thurles capacity would be tested this weekend either way. Max of 40,000 is being generous.
From next year Thurles is going to be a distant 3rd to the new Cork stadiums facilities but it will have it's geography as a plus point."
Depends on what you are there for I suppose,a burger and a pint cork ,best hurling surface in the country,tom samples field. Which by the way won 2017 stadium of the year today!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 04/07/2017 20:50:31    2010691

Replying To keithlemon:  "Ah look, I'm not coming down to your level for the sake of this debate
It's a shame you feel the need to do this on most threads"
Ah come on down out of your ivory tower Keith it's great craic down here on ground level ;-)

The reason I bring it up is because we can't let ye write ye'r own version of history, ye have every advantage in the game and that must always be told.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2017 21:05:23    2010698

If I took away nothing else from this thread, it's that Bloodyban hates Tipp.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/07/2017 21:09:42    2010702

Replying To kildare73:  "
Replying To bloodyban:  "[quote=kildare73:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "We are always told for reasons of maximising revenues and capacity Croke Park is deemed a neutral venue even when Dublin are playing.

So by that insane logic Galway v Roscommon this weekend in Pearse could actually be a neutral venue if Croke Park deem it so even though it's Galways home pitch..!!"]Every ground in the country is someone's home pitch. By your "insane logic", where do you want matches to be played.........the moon?? Thurles is the venue this weekend, end of."]Croke Park isn't anyone's home pitch......or is it????

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 04/07/2017 21:14:18    2010705

Replying To SaffronDon:  "did Kilkenny not beat Tipp in 2013 in the qualifiers on their home pitch?"
They did and it proved decisive which is mainly the point regarding home venue for Tipp.
They've enjoyed quiet a few run outs in semple now and an underdog should at least get to play a top team in a neutral ground.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/07/2017 21:14:40    2010707

Replying To SaffronDon:  "did Kilkenny not beat Tipp in 2013 in the qualifiers on their home pitch?"
I believe that wasn't at this stage of the qualifiers though.

The first round of hurling qualifiers are on a basis of teams are drawn to decide who gets home advantage (just like last weekend for example)

However this round of qualifiers has always been at a neutral venue.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 04/07/2017 21:28:33    2010715