Players Who Were Not On The Meath Panel Last Year.

22 out of 30?? That is a bad sign.. any of them considered first teamers?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/08/2015 14:03:59    1778988

8 out of 30 didn't attend a meeting the week after the final group stages of the championship.
How many lads were away on holiday or unable to attend and how many just didn't bother attending?

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 31/08/2015 14:23:18    1779021

Agree with above, its August, a lot of lads are in the business end of championships, others will be wanting to get as far away from football for a few weeks. No need for the panic button just yet.

Theheinoking (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 31/08/2015 14:50:17    1779053

Royal Gunner

fair point,we just do not know..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/08/2015 15:50:50    1779119

What was meeting about? Did MOD know it was taking place. Would seem strange to call a meeting if 30% were unable to attend.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 31/08/2015 20:00:49    1779389

Lads ye should be embarrassed by the absolutely desperate guesswork conjecture, and goalpost shifting ye're coming up with to try and paint MOD in a bad light.

When our top players came out publicly supporting MOD, ye responded saying it's irrelevant, since apparently the players would say that anyway. Some even suggested that if the players like the manager, the manager should be gotten rid of, as he must be too soft.

Yet when unsubstantiated rumours arise of a players meeting (in August, months before a panel will even be assembled) missing 8 lads during the business end of the club championship, when lads could also easily be working or on holidays, suddenly you are all full sure that the players must all want MOD out, and their opinions are now to be respected.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 31/08/2015 20:36:38    1779427

I think if i am not mistaken there was 20 players at the meeting this time last year..so MOD shares this year on the nasdaq index is that he is up a full 6%.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 31/08/2015 21:37:34    1779500

castlebravo....its not guess work i can guarantee you.You may just wait and see for yourself in a few months.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 31/08/2015 21:44:06    1779509

Thelutch
I would love to know where you get your information from. You are 100% wrong about the players meeting regarding numbers and players. I would sack my informer if I were you.

Krankyfred (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 01/09/2015 11:23:29    1779693

thelutch

Your wrong about this one thelutch I also know that for a fact, you've being fed a porky pie there

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 01/09/2015 18:14:22    1780174

Not from Trim but Alan Douglas and James Toher are definitely good enough.
Cannot understand why they are not on Panel at least.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 02/09/2015 09:41:42    1780394

I have heard of bit of Douglas alright,I haven't seen him play though.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/09/2015 10:42:02    1780458

Thoughts of Shane Geraghty and Conor Downey? Worth looking at?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/09/2015 08:23:12    1785442

I would like to see Geraghty given a shot as he is a very good keeper. I know that paddy has a massive kick out(very poor accuracy) but he hardly covered himself in glory this year. I know people will probably jump all over me for mentioning this, but what about paddy at full forward?

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 10/09/2015 08:56:03    1785458

Definitely Shane geraghty worth looking at as I believe overall he is better than o'rourke. As he is more calm and is very accurate with kick outs. Also I feel the best shot stopper in the county. But we all know micko won't pick geraghty over o'rourke but at least have him on the panel as someone genuine that can challenge o'rourke instead of the likes of mchugh, Markey , colgan etc.

royalballer23 (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 10/09/2015 09:26:44    1785478

Irish-downunder

I totaly agree. Lets give Geraghty a go...and let O'Rourke compete for a place out the field.

Hes big and strong...up to himself to get into good enough physical shape to compete for a position out the field. In a league game against Tyone a few years ago under Banty he played full forward and he was unplayable at times when the right ball came into him, even though he was marking Justin McMahon.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 10/09/2015 10:20:44    1785513

Didn't Paddy O'Rourke play a couple of championship games at FF under Banty, as I recall he didn't exactly set the world and wasn't even a great fielder for such a big man although the service in wasn't brilliant either to be fair to him, I think he's welcome to fight for his place but I wouldn't have him as a starter anywhere on the pitch at the minute.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/09/2015 10:44:06    1785527

Paddy O'Rourke is not an Inter-county full forward.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/09/2015 12:38:14    1785581

Severe deja vu there, Paddy O'Rourke was tried for a whole year at full forward in 2011. It was clear he couldn't cut it outfield at inter county level, even he himself admitted it was crazy in an interview. Amazing how people seem to forget so soon.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 10/09/2015 13:01:11    1785594

"I'll never play for Meath outfield again. I think that was a season of madness. At county level it's definitely going to be where I'll play for the rest of my career. It seems more natural to be in goals. Nerves or that don't really affect me coming up to games in goals whereas they would even playing club outfield. When I was outfield with Meath It really got to me with the pressure involved."

Words from O'Rourke's mouth in 2014. That settles that.

TrimRedWhite87 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 10/09/2015 14:06:57    1785642